0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Akai Professional MPC Renaissance Music Production Hardware Controller with MPC Software Reviews

4.0 stars based on 20 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nicholas Weaver

    The MPC Renaissance is my go-to controller for sampling and editing. Its intuitive design and software integration gives me the hands-on control I want. Plus, it's super-easy to set up and does a great job staying out of my way. Definitely a must-have for a studio or performance rig!

  • David Snyder

    The key word with the Akai MPC Renaissance is flexibility. I really enjoy editing beats and importing samples inside the software, but when performing, the pads are the only way to go, and these feel great they are solid and responsive. It's a totally integrated system that keeps me focused and in the zone. The phono and audio ins are a big plus for me, since I pull in a lot of samples from my vinyl collection, and the multiple audio outs rock for printing stems. Bottom line with the MPC Renaissance, nothing interrupts my creativity.

  • Aaron Karsh
    from Pittsburgh, PA August 12, 2015Music Background:
    Music Producer, Audio Engineer

    You Won't Regret this

    I have been using maschine all my life and I can honestly say that both are solid products. I find it easier to wrap my head around this piece of gear then the maschine. Both workflows are very intuitive, but for some reason the vintage mode on this just makes your drums and samples sound warmer and punchier. you can also get a decent work flow using maschine and the mpc together. I love my mpc.

  • Charles Thomas
    from Temple TX January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Producer,Sound Engineer,Recording

    MPC Renaissance

    Everything I expected this is an awesome unit!! Highly recommended my sales guy Jeff Jent your the man thanks again!

  • International Mont
    from Roanoke, VA USA January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician

    I love the MPC RENAISSANCE

    Im new to MPC but this is one of the best machines ever. Im inspired. Just a matter of time before you hear my beats. Great production. Thanks to sweetwater your one stop shop for music gear.

  • Customer
    from January 12, 2015

    MPC the next Generation!

    this MPC knocked the ball out the park.....

  • Calvin Watkins
    from United States January 7, 2015Music Background:
    DJ, Producer, Hobbyist.

    Still King

    With the bugs from the original software I was very disappointed about this controller. No wonder Machine stole all the glory from MPC because of Akai lack to address software issues back in the day. Now Akai is listening and answered with a 1.7 update to this awesome gear. Of course the legendary MPC workflow is there and better than ever. And with the processing power of your PC, things run a lot smoother. It reads all the files from the older versions MPC. And even mimics the 60, 3000 model MPC top producers made hits from. Ole school to new baby! Everybody have in opinion on what is best but the fact is Machine is NOT a MPC!

  • J
    from February 4, 2014

    MPC RENAISSANCE...AMAZING!!!!

    I love the workflow of this machine!! I'm able to compose instrumentals wihtin minutes thanks to software's capabilities making it very user friendly. I definitley recommend this to anyone who's wanting to take their production progress to another level. Nothing beats me being able to use my Numark record player, Studio Microphone, MicroKorg Synth all at once right into the hardware!!!!

  • Pastor Tomas M Alejandro
    from November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Professional

    Church 102

    This equipment is so amazing! With this product we can do everything. Eevrybody needs to know how great this product is. Robert at Sweetwater is the best advisor and best a customer can have. I had issues and I was not satified with how the other sale people handled me, but thank God for Robert Johnson! He made doing business at Sweetwater a need.

  • Charles Cri$topher
    from The Coast, CA USA November 3, 2012Music Background:
    DJ, Music Composer, Engineer

    All PREFERNCE!!!

    For someone whom has never put their hands on an MPC could feel right at home on this machine. The more experienced MPC user will feel as if they are right at home. Akai put all of the details and nuances of classic Akai MPC's in a digital space. No one after putting their hands on one can speak otherwise. As the updates keep flowing the machine will only get better and progress further beyond what old MPC are capable of. You can't understand the plight of MPC user unless you are one. The nostalgic feeling we get when creating on this classic piece is indescribable. "MASCHINE is not better, just different!" All preference, Akai is not better just different. Both units I own, and they both serve their purpose in my studio/club dj environment. Don't get caught up in the hype of which is better make your own decision based on YOUR OWN OPINION. My opinion is that Akai really delivered after a slew of disappointing products. Renaissance is simply amazing to me.

  • Terrez "Rezz Wolf" Teague
    from Winston Salem, NC USA November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Artist

    WHAT NI WAS TRYING TO BUILD

    For starters this is a great interface ,and maschine is ok but the whole 16-Pad Sample idea came from the mpc so why not go with the original.

  • Eric "BigFuzzz" Taylor
    from Coamo, Puerto Rico September 22, 2012Music Background:
    A-List Mixing Engineer, Producer, Songwriter!

    Bout Time

    Been using MPC's since they came out,... that means I'm old. I still have everyone that I purchased. I moved to the NI Maschine and just got comfy with it, but truly hated the work flow. Now,... I'M BAAAAaaak cause this piece is the truth. The workflow, the non-stop action while creating grooves and the ability to record/sample right into the piece, without having another interface to do so. These three areas are what makes me happy again!!

  • Thomas Beck
    from Seattle, WA USA September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Live Electronic Music Performer

    Meet the MPC King!

    This is the MPC I have been waiting for a very long time. I had an MPC 2000 when that was new, then went the way of software and controllers and never felt satisfied. Finally, tried the MPC 5000, while that was a great machine, the PC interface workflow was less than great. Then came Maschine, that seemed to be the holy grail, but the workflow was not like the MPC, not as intuitive, too many key combos to remember. The MPC Renaissance finally delivers what I had been waiting for. MPC workflow with perfect PC/Mac integration. The VST control mapping works great, the touch sensitive rotary controllers are amazing for mutes, and the lights around the controllers are super quick as you page through parameters. The build is solid, the pads with the lights really help with real time editing (erase etc) and pad assignment. The only thing I think is missing is rewire support. But I am guessing that may be in a future release. Plus the included Akai VSTs are a nice plus.

  • Bairah Recordings
    from Bradenton,FL September 15, 2012Music Background:
    Concept Productionist/Mix & Mastering Engineer

    Mpc Renaissance

    I pre-ordered the MPC Renaissace in advance when it first premiered, so when it finally made it into sweetwater I had it before some people my sweetwater sales rep Matt Adams made sure of that, so with that being said when the MPC Renaissace arrived and I took it out the box I most say it had a solid feel and build of great quality, it didnt have that feel or build as if it has a toy from Toys R Us and alot of you Native Instruments Maschine users arnt going to like what I have to say, but its the truth and I'm only being honest, but the look , feel and build of the MPC Renaissace is better then the Native Instruments Maschine and that goes for the new Maschine 2 as well, and as matter of fact it isnt even on the same level as far as the build and looks because the MPC Renaissace looks amazing in the studio to the point of me maybe buying another one.LOL

  • King
    from NewYork May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Artist/producer

    Amazing!!!

    Amazing workflow, capabilities are limitless. Well worth it.

  • Anthony Rout
    from New Orleans, La USA January 14, 2013Music Background:
    DJ and Muisc Producer

    Working with the Akai Professional MPC Renaissance

    I love the easy work flow it has allowed me to create music faster and easy to load and save my songs. The best hardware and software system ever.

  • RKM
    from Maryland September 24, 2015

    Too much for my brain!!

    Excellent as an addition to any studio. But the thought of having to deal with software constantly was annoying. Back to the 2500 I go. 5star customer service and tech support from Nick.

  • M.Knox aka BobbyBaki
    from Philly, PA September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Love the MPC workflow!

    I love my Ren. I didnt give it 5 stars because there are still some updates that are needed but it is still the best to me because I get to have my MPC workflow back. I'm really looking forward to whats in store in future updates. I love the sequencing and song play features along with the chop features as well. That is something I've been missing for a long time since I went to software based DAWs. Using my favorite vst/vsti's is the icing on the cake for me. I recommend this to all urban and non urban based producers alike. Great move AKAI!

  • david johnson
    from fort wayne February 7, 2015Music Background:
    music stucent

    good but still stuck to a computer

    this thing looks and feels like the good ol MPCs from back in the 90s and early 00s however like most beat machines these days your stuck to a computer. which is good and all but makes it so you have another thing to carry with you from gig to gig...

  • Daw
    from Washington dc October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Living in the past

    Chopping on the renaissance is stone age, compared to the maschine, and slicer x. Organizing your sample Library is also non in void on this mpc. The Sequencer is Amazing, but over all maschine is better hands down.

  • kenny
    from panama City,Fl March 7, 2016

    the worst

    The downloading process was awful. The manual said to download the cds used for installation but the cds were out of date. The expansions would not download on the computer or on the mpc. I had to call akai professional and were of no help of how to install the product. It has been 3 mounths and the mpc has still not installed and still does not work. The samples would not play even when you clicked on the sample. The mpc is an awful product if you want to be confused how to use the mpc buy this product. If you want to have a product that is strait forward and be able to use it the next day then don't buy this product.

  • Bob Roberts III
    from Wheaton, MO November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Banjo Player, MPC Specialist

    Doesn't come close to the MPC glory days!

    I have been an Akai user for over 10 years, and I recently picked up a Renaissance with high hopes. Well those hopes have been dashed once I realized the Renaissance can't do what a normal MPC (2000xl, 2500) can do. The software is buggy and crashes all the time, and most importantly it have become so convoluted that the classic "MPC workflow" we all know and love, is gone! I hope that Akai wises up and offers hardware functionality along with the software. I wish I could use the Renaissance just like a regular hardware MPC. There is a reason that I used an MPC and not a computer in the past for making music, but with this new MPC Renaissance I am forced to use the computer for song construction, and I can't simply just use the MPC controller. The Renaissance is clearly just a fancy looking, but feature-less, midi controller that happens to look like the MPCs of old.

Questions about the Akai Professional MPC Renaissance Music Production Hardware Controller with MPC Software?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway