0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Akai Professional MPC1000 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Austin Moss

    Whether doing remix work or creating original ideas in hardware and or software environment, this is the simplest sequencer to lay it down with. The sampler is hands down the quickest way to grab sounds. USB functionality! What else do you need?

  • from NYC October 29, 2016Music Background:
    Musical Engineering and production

    Mpc 1000 close maxed out

    I only give it 5stars after the upgrades, pads, ram, memory and screen. With those upgrades it's hands down an amazing machine much more than even my 2500 with upgrades.

  • from Minneapolis March 18, 2009Music Background:
    Hands on Learner

    The Workhorse

    The MPC 1000 is my workhorse in my project studio. The first piece of equipment I always go to first is my MPC. There is nothing that compares to the workability that this unit has. However, the MPC out-of-the-box is quite limited in its capabilities. If you decide to purchase an MPC also look at the MPC forums, for there are hundreds of entries that list necessary upgrades to make the MPC the heart your studio or project studio. Nonetheless, you should get a 256mb RAM card upgrade, the 80GB internal hard drive to save all your samples, sounds, beats, etc. The JJ OS1 is a good start, but isn't completely necessary until you understand the funcionts of the MPC. Furthermore, it does take a bit of learning to really get the sounds and feeling you want. Of course, you can jump right in and get a feel for everything, but as soon as you start opening up different functions, you'll notice there is quite a bit of learning. Try reading the eBook called "beatmaking on the MPC 1000." It will get you started. All-in-all, I still haven't fully mastered this thing, but I keep building my studio around it. Highly integratable. Buy it, you won't regret it. There is so much internet help from other users as well as a world of possibilities.

  • from chicago March 10, 2008Music Background:
    pro musician

    mpc 1000

    yo this thing is sick..its an mpc. what else can you want.

  • from August 22, 2006

    one of the best

    blows the 2000xl up. love this thing use it on the drums and samples for all my beats. Akai has a winner
    here. got way more than what i payed for.

  • from Indianapolis, IN - USA June 25, 2008Music Background:
    Hip-Hop/Rap Producer, Recording/ Mixing Engineer

    This thing is a BEAST!!!

    I produce Hip-Hop/Rap and before I had the MPC 1000, I was using a ZOOM Streetboox, which, even though it tries hard, is not an MPC, not even close. Bottotm line, if you're looking to take your productions to the next level you have to own an MPC, and the MPC 1000 is an excellent choice. I wouldnt see any other way of doing my drum patterns or samples.

    Compared to the MPC 2500 and MPC 4000, this unit is the best bang for your buck, the MPC 4000 is a little exspensive unless you have money rolling in, and since you can get the same OS feature that the 2500 has, on the 1000 with the JJ OS, buying the MPC 2500 doesnt make sense. Not to mention you can upgrade the pads on the MPC 1000 to make them like its previous MPC ancestors.

    I dont really have too much to complain about, the jog wheel feels like it will fall off if you spin it too hard, but I beat it up and it still works. Some complain about the pads going dead so quickly, but I've had mine for a year and only one is dead, it still works but it plays all the samples assigned to ALL the banks instead of just the one its on, but this was like that when I got it.

    Bottom line the MPC 1000 is an amazing tool, it can do so much for your productions, if you make Hip-Hop/Rap, R&B or any other form of electronic music, you need an MPC, why not get the MPC 1000

  • from Louisville, Usa September 23, 2010Music Background:
    engineer

    BULL

    The pads on this thing are CRAP all of mine went out within a year! Search the Internet and see just how many people are having problems with this machine since Akai went to Alesis individual pads that cost 8 bucks that will go out again and again because they are Cheap!

    They didn't even have a recall but supposely went back to akai origina senor pads but I know guys that have bought them and they are still shipping them out just to get paid! Plus charge u $200 bucks for the upgrade senor pad! My advice go with another beat Machine! Akai has lowered their standards since Alesis brought the compnay

  • from new york November 1, 2005

    AWESOME MACHINE & GREAT COMPATIBILITY

    I have the mpc1000 and the mpc4000.

    I bought the mpc1000 to use at work. I work graveyard shift at a gas station and I can make beats all night. The thing is portable and very durable! I was also real glad to see that the drum library i use in my 4000 was 100% compatible. Bangin-Beats.com provided me with the support (Akai's support was kinda lacking) to load everything and map their drums across the pads with a couple clicks. Perfecto! (The drums that come in the thing are pretty useless). I been loving this machine and believe it or not, a label is buying a beat I made on this for a semi-major artist. Completely overlooked my 4000 beats! ha!

    A great machine in and out. Highly recommended!

  • from Brooklyn, NY October 1, 2005

    MPC 1000

    On friday I recieved a related family member to the MPC 4000. Instantly, I fell in love with the
    quality of the sound, the swing, and the simplicity of the unit. This past summer, I purchased the Roland MV8000 and I was not impressed with the quality of the sound, the groove or style, ect. In any case the MV8000 was shipped back the next business day. In my personal opinion, anyone who is interested in making good quality music should have this in their studio. It is best to learn the basics of this unit because the MPC 4000 has a very strong learning curve as well as a hefty price tag. Again in my opinion the MPC 4000 should only be purchased by producers, writers who are serious about the art of producing. For those who are still unsure please check out onestopbeats, sonicstate, MPC sounds, future producers, Scratch Magazine and you would see that all the hit producers are using akai to keep the lights on. In any case, I would like to say thanks again to Tim Henderson for making my purchase such wonderful experience. " Lets all make good music "

    Powerhouse

  • from Philly September 1, 2005

    Amazing....

    This machine is that. To me it's the 2000xl but smaller. Making beats is a sinch. Great sampling and looping features. Hip Hop has never been so easy since I've picked this up. Once again to my sales rep. Austin Moss..Great suggestion!! Your know your stuff! I love this machine!!!

  • April 1, 2005

    Hot MPC; A Must Have!

    This MPC is Rock Hard. You you have a computer setup and a USB port you will love using this sampler, sequencer. It has all of the top main features of the big brother (2000XL) but in a smaller more compact formula. The sound is excellent, Workflow is simple and effective. Loading samples is super easy with the CF card. If you making hip-hop and R&B music this is a must have in your gear arsenal. Havent used the MIDI yet but it seems easy enough to work with. The digital coaxial output is clean, (an extra price on the 2000XL) and this thing also has 4 individual outs! (also a additional option on the 2000XL) Intergrating this into your studio is a cinch. Super hot straight out the box and as rock solid on the stage. Tap the tempo, hit start and boom. The beat is dropping. Don't ask me though, just try it yourself and you will be sold on one for sure!

  • from LA, California January 1, 2005

    MPC 1000

    This is a nice unit. I love the portability and performance. The MPC 1000 comes with good sounds out the box. BEAT TALK did a good review. The MPC 1000 is more than a beginners tool.

  • from Long Island,Ny January 1, 2005

    The MPC 1000 can produce a professional sound and here is proof.

    visit www.soundclick.com/apexproductionz this guy does all his beats and samples with an mpc 1000 and his hiphop music sounds amazing.Listening to his music made me get one the following day.It comes with a nice group of sound programs plus a 16 mb flash card maxed with more sounds and drums.nice big clean sound.Damn Akai is good.Don't beleive me just listen to this guys beats off of a 1000.Hope this was helpful.

  • March 1, 2004

    sounds pretty good

    sounds pretty good from what i hear, but i dont have mine yet. but as soon as i get it check some of the beats out at www.sweet-beets.com

Questions about the Akai Professional MPC1000?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway