0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Behringer Minimon MON800 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • Mike Halloran
    from San Francisco Bay Area May 9, 2015Music Background:
    Music Industry Professional

    Sounds great, quiet, good feature set

    I was feeling pinched in the wallet, rolled the dice and came up a winner. Great piece of gear. For $70, even better. No added noise, frequency response is spot on, pots are smooth without crackling.

    The Mono sum button was an unexpected plus -- not all monitor mixers have this. In the analog days, this was easy but with DAWs, this can be complicated or time consuming. I had forgotten how nice it was to hit a button and have instant mono.

    The -20dB button is great, too. Sometimes, you need it instantly quieter. Voila!

    I wish it had a big knob like the Presonus. And it would be great to have a 5.1 (better -- a 7.1) version. A little more heft would be nice (I like the earlier reviewer's suggestion to double-stick tape it to the desk). Minor quibbles -- if I wanted the Presonus that badly, I would have found the extra $220, right?

    Still 5 stars from me.

  • Customer
    from February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Home Recording Enginneer

    A true asset to a home studio

    I was looking for a solution to my problem of having 2 monitors and a subwoofer (with no signal through) and only a left and right output from my interface. I needed a way to create a 3rd output of the summed left and right signals without them sending the mono signal back to my monitors. I tried building a few circuits to accomplish this, but it got very complicated very quickly and was all way over my head. Enter the Minimon. With this I have the B output going to my monitors and the C output summed to mono with a cable I made going to my subwoofer. Easily control all 3 with 1 rotary knob, and it's very simple to drop the sub out of the mix to see what it sounds like then. I just turn off the C output path and its gone. The mute and mono buttons also come in handy as well as what is essentially a pad in the output path with a 20 decibel drop in level.

    The only 2 things I don't like about this guy is alot of the outputs are RCA type connectors and it doesn't weigh much of anything, so hanging cables will pull it around. Neither one of those is really much of a problem though, so it still gets a 5 out of 5. A truly great piece of gear for an amazing price.

  • Wayne Farrell
    from November 24, 2013

    Very Capable....

    I needed a quick solution for controlling three outputs: my reference monitors, some Bose units and a low-end set at the bottom end.
    This is to check to see how levels are sounding on different quality systems for the audiobooks that I narrate in my spare time.
    The Minimon 800 looked like just the ticket. Low cost and not too complicated. I was basically looking for a switchable selector.
    Simon Picazo had the unit flown half way around the world for me within three days, and I am very happy with the box. Ten minutes to set it up, five minutes to calibrate it. Job done!

  • Tim
    from United States October 12, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur DJ,Producer,Engineer & Enthusiast

    Great for the price!

    Yea, it's light, it's a plastic housing, and a few people said it makes extra noise. (I've had quite a few Behringer products that had that happen) But fortunately for me the one I've bought was not the case. I am very happy with the overall quality of the product. Although from what I've learned that many Behringer products are either a hit or miss, this is a definite hit for the price. Been using this for a few weeks and I can definitely say it's a good product for any that are looking for a good priced monitor management.

  • Matt Bauer
    from San Francisco December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Designer & Recording Engineer.

    Amazing !!

    Ok, so let's begin by being real, this thing is in the $60 ballpark.
    The construction is a lightweight plastic, light enough that I had to stick it to the desk with double sided tape, because the cable weight on the back would cause it to tip up.

    But that's the only complaint I've got..

    I've had my Minimon in a home studio environment for over 6 years now, use it every single day, and it performs perfectly. Absolutely no added noise, no scratch-i-ness when turning the pots, it's just works exactly as it's supposed to.

    If only they made a 5.1 version, I'd buy it in a heartbeat.
    This little guy is fantastic and it's value is well beyond it's tiny pricetag.

  • Kevin
    from Southlake Texes December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Come on man!

    Yea, so if you only pay $70 for a piece of gear, do you really think it should sound amazing?!! This little unit is great for the price and what you will use it for. I just purchased this so I could go out from Pro Tools, Computer, iPhone & a keyboard to DynAudio BM5A's. This unit is quiet, versatile, inexpensive, and does the job. No noise. I also wanted this so while mixing, if I wanted to have another set of monitors to reference, I could A-B the mix easy w/o tainting the mix in anyway. Works Great!

  • Jeff
    from Mountain View, Hawaii (USA) July 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Behringer Minimon MON800 - A good buy

    Inexpensive studio monitor that lets you connect multiple speakers. 2 headphone jacks. Works great in my small home studio audio interface. Loudness knobs seem kind of frail. Other than that, it is a good buy.

  • Jonathan
    from Cleveland, OH March 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, Artist Developer

    Used only for talkback

    I only use this for talkback, not for monitor management. That said, this is an affordable tool if that's what you're looking for.

  • Customer
    from May 18, 2015Music Background:
    hardware based eletronic music producer

    Prone to EMI

    Really really prone to EMI. (electromagnetic interference). When used with my hybrid PC/hardware setup I could hear mouse movements while using the minimon and in my UB222FX Pro also made by Behringer, but I'd rate that mixer 5 out of 5. But this monitor mixer, 1 out of 5. That wall wart on this thing introduces so much noise into my system

Questions about the Behringer Minimon MON800?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway