0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sennheiser MKH 416 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser MKH 416?

Questions about the Sennheiser MKH 416?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Bart Good

    This microphone is the movie mic! The Sennheiser MKH 416 has been used on pretty much every major motion picture in recent memory. I own this microphone and have used it on countless productions. If you want the best microphone for capturing quality dialog at a distance, this is it!

  • from April 20, 2017

    Best investment EVER!

    The 416 has made such a big difference in my voice overs. Clear, crisp full body sound. The best investment in my gear collection so far.

  • from Sunnyvale, CA March 18, 2017

    Industry Standard

    I've been using this mic for 15 years and it's never disappointed. This mic may be 20-odd years on the market, but it's a proven workhorse. Solid build for many enviromental conditions. Clean, full sound from highs to lows, very little hiss and just great all-around. Phantom power would be nice, but for all it's pluses it's hard to nit-pick

  • from keene NH October 18, 2016Music Background:
    professional VO talent and musician

    The Industry Standard

    The Sennheiser 416 is, simply, THE go-to mic for nearly EVERY industry application. Its popularity with VO talent is unmatched. I've personally owned every mic in the business but kept coming back to the 416. And most who use this mic the first time don't want to give it up, either. Worth it at twice--even three times--the price.

  • from September 19, 2016

    Sweet mic

    Purchased for recording VO promos. This mic does not disappoint. Great sound; it's gonna be my workhorse.

  • from Nashville, TN September 17, 2016Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    Fantastic Mic

    I'm a Voice Actor and I've recorded commercials in studios that have used this mic. Never gave it much thought at the time. Then I began hearing some of the audio recorded by the top Voice Actors in the country using this mic. I was really impressed.
    At my home studio, I was using the Neumann TLM 103, which I love. However, it's not suited for everything. Now my mic collection is complete. The Sennheiser MKH 416 just blows me away. Both the Neumann TLM 103 and Sennheiser MKH 416 are classics. What else would you need?
    I would highly recommend this mic.

  • from Gurnee, IL February 13, 2016Music Background:
    M.A. Theory/ Comp - Staff Guitarist

    When Only One Mic Will Do!!

    I record audio for fim and video clients. These clients come to Chicago from all over the USA and Europe. They do not have the time to re shoot because of an audio problem so I never give them one.
    The Sennheiser 416 short shotgun mic is my go to mic for any scene. I can hang the mic over the head of the talent, or hide it. For example, I did a shoot in an hotel room that measured about 15' X 25'. After setting the lights and camera, puting the actors on the set, There was very little room for audio. There was a room that led to the bathroom on one sie and the closet on the other. I set up in that room, put the 416 on a carbon boom pole and attached the boom to a C stand. Now, I was able to raise the boom to the ceiling which was above the camera shot. The shot took five takes, but not because of audio.

  • from New York, NY November 21, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Mixer

    A well deserved legend

    How I have gotten away this long without having this mic in my mic closet is a mystery, but I can safely say it is a new favorite. No wonder it is as popular as it is. Absolutely perfect. Does exactly what its intended for: Precise and focused pickup of any sound source with superb sound quality. My first use was recording a lecture in a noisy loft in New York City with a Zoom H4N. Nothing fancy. Importing the recording into my DAW yielded a virtually noiseless recording, despite the sirens and plumbing sounds that I could clearly hear in the space. Perfect.

  • from Los Angeles April 15, 2015Music Background:
    voice-over artist

    Broadcast quality at home.

    Okay, five stars. Everybody knows that the Sennheiser 416 is "The Hollywood Mic" because it is the premium dialogue mic that is used in nearly every movie trailer and promo. It's also the mic that the audio guys hold on poles over actor's heads to pick up dialogue and it's used in many commercials. This microphone is rich sounding and extremely sensitive.

    For years I avoided buying one for my home voice-over studio because I felt that I didn't have the necessary dead space and acoustically treated room. That is, until Sweetwater made me a deal that I couldn't refuse.

    WOW! WAS I WRONG! This mic works extremely well in a home studio environment. It's highly directional and very forgiving which makes it easy to control ambient sounds. It's very compact so it doesn't get in your face and block your reading light. It will pick up your voice clearly at any distance and it is impossible to pop your p's with this mic. That's right. No pop screen necessary.

    To top it off, I combined this mic with two other items that I bought from Sweetwater that really sweetened my sound: an SE Reflexion Filter Pro which helps deaden reflected room sound from behind the mic, plus some high tech software called Izotope RX 4. This amazing software has a "dialogue denoiser" that effectively removes background sounds without adversely affecting the dialogue itself, much the same way that Photoshop removes the background from a photo while leaving the foreground intact. And it can do so automatically.

    So if you want to create broadcast quality voice-over in an ordinary room with your home studio, start with the Sennheiser 416. Very happy here.

  • from Savannah, GA August 29, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Platinum engineer and producer. Film sound.

    I guess you have to have one of these?

    Don't really like it on tight booming of talent. Works much better at a distance where it becomes a little more natural. It's still what most directors expect to see in a kit. I still prefer my Schoeps for voices!

  • from Texarkana, TX USA November 14, 2013Music Background:
    Voiceover Actor, Singer, Audio Producer

    This Mic Kicks ..... (well, you know).

    I do voiceover work and this mic has been on my list for a long time. I'm more of a mid-range tenor vocally, not your deep ballsy announcer, but I do some promo work and was curious if this would work with my voice type to give me immediate, present sound that cuts through. It does. Plus it's rugged so I can take it on the road and not have to treat it with kid gloves.

  • from San Francisco May 13, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Designer, Mixer, Audio Director

    My MOST used mic

    If I could choose just one mic the 416 would be it.
    In truth it's not as warm as a Neumann U87, nor can it handle ultra high SPL like a snare drum, but for what I need, which is foley, sound design, field recording and some voiceover, it's the best thing out there.

  • from New York, NY October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Voiceover artist and producer

    it's just THE mic for VO

    been wanting one of these for my home set-up for a long time and finally scored one. i love it as much as i thought i would. it's "industry standard", end of story.

  • from Canton, NC August 29, 2012Music Background:
    VO Dude

    Clients expect quality

    I'm a VO guy and clients expect quality sound. The 416 takes you to the next level in quality. Will it sound good on everyone? No, but when it does it's golden. Producers have told me they like it because they don't have to do that much to the voice over it just sits in the mix. If you are a VO guy or gal give the 416 a try it just might blow you, and your clients, away!

  • from Lansing, MI June 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Voice Actor

    Sennheiser MKH 416 Rocks!

    One of the best mics I have ever used! I was looking for a mic that would make me sound more bold and I found it here! I get less extraneous noise and I don't have to manipulate my audio files any more. The Sennheiser MHK 416 makes me stand out!

  • from Austin, texas April 10, 2012Music Background:
    Writer, Producer, VO Talent, Post Production Studio Owner.

    Captured "that sound" finally

    After being behind a U-87 for 35 years, hey, ya can't do better than that can you? But. There was still something missing that I could not seem to capture. Those movie trailers and TV promos along with many National Ads had that certain sound that I could not seem to get. I was doing some home work on another mic when quite by accident I ran into a discussion about the 416 that really grabbed my attention. Could this be the answer? The fast answer YES. After all these years...I finally "got it".
    ......."In a world..... with thousands of mics".......lol!!!

  • from Indian Rocks Beach, Florida June 15, 2009Music Background:
    Voiceover Artist

    Sennheiser MKH-416 is the screaming bullet you may want!!!!

    The Sennheiser MKH-416 P48 microphone is a shotgun mic that Voice Talents use for its cut-through sound. Up close and personal this mic rocks! Its almost like the mic has a built in compressor... It just pulls your voice in and captures all your vocal character!! The Sennheiser MKH-416 is the screaming bullet you may want. The Sennheiser MKH-416 is in our personal microphone collection. Thanks Sweetwater:)

Questions about the Sennheiser MKH 416?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway