0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Sennheiser MK 4 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser MK 4?

Questions about the Sennheiser MK 4?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Justin Sunday

    I've used the Sennheiser MK 4 on just about everything. It's my go-to mic when I need something in a pinch, and it performs beautifully every time. My personal favorite being female vocals paired with an RND 511 preamp, but it also sounds great being used as a drum kit room mic, and on acoustic guitars as well. This "Swiss army knife" is a great addition to any mic collector's locker and a perfect first condenser for the entry-level audio engineer.

  • from Texas April 10, 2017Music Background:
    Musician, composer, producer

    MK4 great value

    Keep in mind my frame of reference (I don't have any 2 to $4000 mics!)This is best mic I have ever used. So far I've only done one vocal(but a number of take)so far but I was totally impressed by its clarity and transparency. I have so lower cost LCDs and they tend to pick way too background- no issues like that with this gear. I highly recommend it!

  • from Austin texas July 19, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Good choice

    Very happy with the mic. I've owned a rode nt2 since around 1997 that served me well but has been a bit beaten up with a corroded diaphragm and broken mesh top... Still worked fine but it was time for another. The mk4 is a bit flatter but tighter sounding and well balanced and full. The transients seem a little faster so I guess the mic is maybe not as sensitive as the rode and also picks up less room sound. Really is what I was needing for a better male vocal sound instead of the sensitive rode sound aka u87. I'm a huge pink Floyd fan so I'm a bit of a sing speaker at times and this mic works great . I use an art pro mp2 and Dbx 166 and it sounds great. Also thru a tascam uh7000 the vocals are great. Recordings done with focusrite saffire also came out great . Sometimes the rode was just too sensitive and detailed . The mk4 is as well just perhaps better suited to what I do. Made in Germany in the same factory as Neumann so you know it's quality. If you buy it know you need an adapter for the mic stand, sort of absurd . It's euro thread ... I'm sure the at mics are good as well so who knows but I can recommend this mic for acoustic guitar( 12 string for me) a full frequency amp sound as well. Which my rode didn't handle too well with its presence boost . A versatile quality mic . Germans make great stuff.

  • from Van Buren, Maine December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sennheiser MK 4

    Awesome! This MK 4 blows away any other Mic! It's pick up and delivery is unmatched! The mic volume is at one with the S phantom Samson power supply!

  • from NY May 14, 2012

    The best gift for my husband

    I bought MK4 for my husband. He is professional musician. He said that the best gift for him because it will help in his work. I'd like to tell about company Sweetwater. Staff of company are high level professionals and think about customer.

  • from Amishtown, PA April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Studio Owner

    Love it.

    This is my first professional condenser mic. I fell in love with sennheiser after getting an e835. I liked it way over an sm58 for a live mic. And this mic doesn't disappoint. It is super sensitive, I recommend getting the shock mount. It picked up cars on the road 50 ft away from my basement so I just ordered the shockmount. I haven't yet sang through a Neuman or anything too expensive but I am really happy with this mic so far.

  • from Colorado March 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording/Sound Engineer

    EXCELLENT MICROPHONE

    EXCELLENT MICROPHONE. I HAVE USED EVERYDAY FOR MY PERSONAL RECORDINGS AND RECORDING OTHERS. I GET FEEDBACK FROM MY ARTISTS THAT GOES ABOVE AND BEYOND EXPECTATIONS FROM THIS MIC. THX AGAIN SWEETWATER

  • from New Castle, Pa. October 8, 2011Music Background:
    Owner/Executive Producer of JMT VOICEOVERS

    Sennheiser MK 4

    I bought this mic a couple of months ago and I am happy to say it is my mic of choice. It has nice clean highs without the "shrill" and the low end is so tight I don't even use a high pass filter anymore when recording, plus it's built like a tank. Having tested several microphones in this price range, I can say you'll be pleasantly surprised. Sennheiser has a winner with the MK 4.

  • from LA,CA June 11, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sennheiser MK4

    You hear people say it's a great mic for the money but I say it's a great mic all around. Good for acoustic guitar and vocals and perfect for the project studio. Is it a U47? Of course not, but I'd stack this mic up against all the others at this price point and even more expensive mics.

  • from Flat Rock, MI, USA January 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    MK4 = an AWESOME MIC !!!!

    The MK 4 sounds BETTER then any mic NEAR or IN its price range !!!!
    For those who don't know this mic is manufactured in the same factory as the famous Neumann microphones in Germany.
    This mic is solid as a ROCK ! It feels and sounds very HIGH QUALITY.
    Don't be led astray just because it doesn't include a shock mount or switches !
    I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MIC TO ANYONE WHO WANTS CRYSTAL CLEAR VOCALS/ACOUSTIC GUITAR/OR YOU CAN USE 2 MK 4'S FOR GREAT OVERHEADS ON DRUMS !!!!!!
    GET THIS MIC !!!!! YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED !!!!

  • from Savannah, GA January 6, 2012Music Background:
    Music Teacher, Composer, Musician/Singer/Songwriter

    The perfect gift

    I bought this for my son - a video producer in Chicago. I sincerely wish he had really hated it and given it back to me but he couldn't stop raving about how perfect it was for his business and how much better his audio takes were. Oh well, I'll just drop a lot of hints and wait for Christmas next year. Thanks Sweetwater and thanks to my Sales Engineer - Eddie - for the help with getting this.

  • from February 28, 2013

    Too Colorful

    This mic is really warm, harsh, presence boosted, etc. it's possible to use but it was not what i was used to by any means. it's described as a pre eq'd sound by the manufacturer. i dont agree. its hard to tame to sound natural

Questions about the Sennheiser MK 4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway