0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

MIDI Solutions Quadra Thru Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the MIDI Solutions Quadra Thru?

Questions about the MIDI Solutions Quadra Thru?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from TX March 14, 2017

    Exactly what you need

    If you're‚Äč even considering buying this, just buy it. I use it with a Beatstep Pro to send midi to my various synths (Sub37, Minilogue, Volcas). It's a solid little box. Add it to your cart now.

  • from North Central Pennsylvania February 27, 2017

    Midi Solutions Quadra Thru

    I have used Midi Solutions midi devices for two decades and they ALWAYS perform flawlessly. Tech support is tops as well.

  • from Wyoming February 16, 2017Music Background:
    Lifetime Music Pro

    Great MIDI Routing Solution

    What an amazing little box this is that solves the issue of playing all your MIDI keyboards from one MIDI controller keyboard! And it routes the signal to each board or device with zero lag!!! I use one 88 key MIDI controller and play any or all of 4 other synthesizer/piano keyboards from it! No batteries to replace... it's powered by the MIDI devices own power. This unit gets an A+. It works that good!

  • from October 30, 2016

    Midi Problem Solver

    The Quadra Thru Midi Processor by Midi Solutions is very well built and does its job in an excellent way. I use it to connect the Roland PK5a bass pedals to a Roland G-70 and the KeyB Exp organ sound module and it works great. I have two additional Midi outputs available that could be used to hook up additional modules for a killer bass sound.
    I also use the Midi Solutions Midi Merger which works the opposite way: Two Midi In's and One Midi Out and it works great as well.
    Excellent products by Midi Solutions and super excellent service by Sweetwater.

  • from October 25, 2015

    Works when other play by the standards

    Severely frustrated and mad that my Focusrite 18i8 does not follow MIDI specifications rendering this simple very useful product useless. Same is true with any Focusrite interface and many others. What the heck are standards for?!?!? There is a hard to find explanation of this on MIDI Solutions site.

    This is a nice product and does exactly what it is meant to do WHEN others follow the standards.

  • from Brooklyn April 22, 2015Music Background:
    professional

    a solution indeed

    midi solutions quadra thru perfectly links my entire midi setup. i love it, and i still have a free port!

  • from Portland, OR April 20, 2015

    and no batteries needed

    MIDI Solutions products are amazing. I have several; they don't need batteries, and they just plain work. I have 3 Volcas and a MeeBlip and this feeds them from Ableton quite nicely.

  • from Virginia USA October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Does what it does

    Once I had a couple of machines under my belt, I realized I was having sync issues and setup issues with midi. I knew I needed to pick one of these up. Works great and I still have one port left for my next machine purchase.

  • from Nashville, TN September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Part time musician & sound engineer.

    It's small, light and it works.

    I use this to distribute midi commands from a One Control Crocodile Tail to an Eventide Time Factor, Eventide Mod Factor, Digitech Whammy 5 and Carvin Legacy 3 head. It's small enough to sit under the top shelf of my custom Pauper PB pedalboard. It works flawlessly.

  • from Troy, NY August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Quadra thru

    Immediate hookup and solution to my problems of hooking up one midi keyboard to two computers!

  • from July 22, 2014

    Job

    Does perfectly what it is supposed to...
    Powered via midi, small foot print, lightweight.

    I wish the Quadra Merger was the same price!

  • from Illinois April 9, 2014

    Chain them together

    I have 5 of these and 1 regular thru box. I use the thru box as a double input box, run it to 1 quadra thru, then run that quadra thru to four other quadra thru's and you you have 16 MIDI outputs all in sych with your input. I usually have a drum machine in the input run to all my other synthesizers so everything is in sync.

  • from USA March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/Producer/Engineer

    Do a little research

    We use this box to clock sync everyone's gear. And it works perfectly. EXCEPT for when using with the NI Komplete Audio 6 interface. The splitter needs a powered midi signal to operate, which the Audio 6 does not have. There is probably other gear without powered midi out but I haven't encountered this problem with any of my other gear. Make sure the signal you want to split is powered or else you'll end up with an awkward work-around.

  • from Sherwood, AR November 20, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Engineer

    Connect it and forget it

    The Quadra Thru is a perfect solution to my synth rack. I needed to use one synth to control four synth modules. This was both the lowest priced solution, and the easiest to use. In my case, I gave each synth module a different id, and can quickly switch between the modules or the master keyboard/synth. The only thing missing is labels, but I added my own to avoid any confusion when moving things around. I've used it for almost a year with zero problems.

  • from Oakland, CA November 5, 2013

    Does exactly what it should.

    Full stars for being a no-nonsense device that you can hook up and forget about, since it gets power from the MIDI source. I use this exclusively to send clock info to other devices from a sequencer and it does the trick.

  • from San Antonio, TX September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Music producer

    Neat solution to multiple MIDI outs from a single input

    Great item. does just what its supposed to do without any fuss or software to load, true plug and play.

  • from September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    perfect midi solution

    i wanted to have a solution to send MIDI signal from my keyboard to multiple devices. this device is perfect for this use. there is no glitch, it works perfectly and smoothly. hardly any latency. a perfect solution. thank you.

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana April 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist,Composer

    It does what is does, and well

    It does what is does. Great midi thru. Easy to use and compact. Just plug your midi cables in and you're set!

  • from Lexington, KY February 27, 2013

    Works as advertised!

    Great little box that works exactly as advertised - We use it to send midi clock from one source (ableton live) to many destinations (gtr delays, keyboards, etc)

  • from Philly PA October 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Exactly what you expect - flawless midi splitter!

    Simple midi splitter - I ran my midi foot controller into the Quadra splitter and then individually to each unit so I didn't have to daisy chain. Midi signals reached each unit at the same time so there's zero midi hiccup - perfecto. Highly recommended for even slightly complex setups.

  • from Brooklyn, NY May 1, 2012

    The MIDI solution!

    This little box is really a MIDI solution! Powered by the output of the Elektron Octatrack (no batteries or power supply required) and feeding the inputs of different MIDI gear as easy as plug and play.

    Before I had a chain of connections, but to control devices at the end of the chain, everything else needed to be turned on. Now is segmented and still the gear is getting a common MIDI clock and all the notes and CCs sent from the Octatrack. Very functional and sleek!

  • from Potato, Idaho May 18, 2017Music Background:
    Studio rat and multi-instrumentalist.

    Works as advertised.

    Does exactly what it claims to do - I had a need to split a MIDI signal out of my Boss ES-8 as one of my downrange items had a MIDI thru that the receiving PC didn't like for the floor controller's editor.

    Solved it right away.

    Unt is smaller than you'd think, which is not a bad thing. Installation took < 30s total. No hassle.

  • from March 18, 2017Music Background:
    Live performance, electronic

    Very convenient

    This is a great way to avoid daisy-chaining your MIDI gear. I use a sequencer as my "brain" for my live rig which consists of an analog drum machine, two synths, and an iPad. This connects them all together coming straight from the sequencer so I know everything is properly synced without worrying about the problems associated with daisy-chaining analog gear.

    Works great! Plug and play!

  • from California July 22, 2016

    Does exactly what you expect it to do

    It's a compact, reliable midi thru. Honestly it's one of the only ones on the market at a price point of under $60, so there isn't much to measure it against. It lets you know when it sees data coming in with a single light, and worked out of the box.

  • from New Mexico April 6, 2016

    Simple & Effective

    I really love the fact that it works without external power. Just hook it up and it transmits midi just fine.

  • from New York August 25, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Little Midi Hero

    Portable, lightweight, and efficient. The Midi Solutions Quadra Thru 4 lets me send my clock to 4 devices at once and eliminates the headache of menu diving on each device to chain the clock from the source to the last device.
    Use it to control multiple synths at once too.

  • from atlanta, ga March 24, 2015Music Background:
    rhythm programming, sequencing and synths

    Exactly what I needed

    If you are looking at this device, you kind of know what it is. It's exactly what I needed for my mobile performance set up. I'm running a combination analog/digital/computer-based music set up and I need more midi out. Since I'm using the computer to control all the midi data and my analog gear had midi thru, this is exactly what I needed to have all devices talking.

  • from May 22, 2016

    Reliable

    Helps me control my entire rig from a single controller, especially the gear with only MIDI IN.

  • from August 31, 2015

    WAD!

    works as designed, I am using it to control my 4 track sequencer loaded onto a BCR2000. works great.

  • from Riverside,CA October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Semi-Pro Musician

    Midi Solutions Quadra Thru is just what the Dr. ordered.

    Todays keyboards and midi equipment are pretty cool and versatile, with one exception. Most manufacturers have gotten rid of the midi thru jack. While usb midi is great, and some units feature a software switchable OUT/THRU port, sometimes you just need an old fashioned midi thru to connect a piece of gear. Thatís where the Quadra-Thru from Midi Solutions comes in. Itís a simple, lightweight, solid box that functions exactly as you would expect. It takes the incoming midi data stream and reproduces it at four thru jacks. Simple and accurate. Plus itís BUS powered so no extra power supply needed. If you need to connect a few pieces of midi gear to one master and donít want to hassle with (or pay for), large midi router/interfaces, then this box is for you.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN September 27, 2014Music Background:
    Forever a fan of Buddy Cole!

    Simply great!

    Simple device that addresses a need and does it well. I have powered speakers that turn on remotely by a signal on the MIDI out from my keyboard. Stringing from keyboard out to speaker 1 in, speaker 1 out to speaker 2 in, speaker 2 out to computer in, etc., meant I had no MIDI signal left after all the travel. Using this device, I route output to each of the speakers, one to the computer, and have a spare for sending to another device in the future.

  • from Baltimore, MD March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pianist. Piano teacher

    Good product. But will not work with all controllers

    The Quadra Thru, by MIDI solutions, is a well-made, quality device that is not made in China. However, before purchasing this product, you should be aware that it may not work at all for your application depending on the device you will be using as a controller and going into the "In" port. This device is not powered; it does not even have a jack to add a power adapter. In theory, and in practice, it receives power from the device which is going into its "In" port. However, not all MIDI devices send power. There are many MIDI devices that will send MIDI data but not an extra stream of DC voltage (that the Quadra Thru would require). On the manufacturer's website, there is a list of devices (some are actually quite popular) that will not supply power to this product. I purchased the Quadra Thru, and in my case my controlling keyboard does not supply power. I didn't know that, so I am unable to use the product as I intended. I contacted the company and a representative answered me and gave me a workaround (which is to connect my controlling keyboard first to another keyboard and then the "Thru" port of that keyboard to the "In" port of the Quadra Thru) which worked, but is not what I had intended. He also noted that he had added my device to the list of unsupported devices on their website. Again, this is a quality device, feels very sturdy and well-constructed, but be aware of the power issue noted here.

  • from Minnesota April 21, 2015

    Doesn't pass thru from USB Interface

    Nearly does what I expected. It doesn't receive MIDI when connected to my Scarlett Focusrite 18i8's MIDI out. No MIDI messages go through. Instead I have to attach it to the MIDI Thru of some other device. Kind of a pain, as I was hoping to control multiple devices from the Focusrite.

  • from May 11, 2016

    DOESN'T WORK WITH ALL GEAR

    Useless because it doesn't work with my Apogee Quartet, which I also bought from Sweetwater. $50 wasted. My fault because I didn't look at the last 3 out of 60 reviews??? :/

  • from January 14, 2016

    Large list of items it doesn't work with

    I bought this and am trying to MIDI three instruments at once with my Beatstep. It doesn't work at all. I went into the MIDI SOLUTIONS site and found a list of instruments that it won't work with - it's a large list and includes the Beatstep, so I'm out of luck and had to go buy a battery-powered splitter elsewhere. I would think the existence of such a list should be made known PRIOR to purchase.

Questions about the MIDI Solutions Quadra Thru?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway