0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

MIDIWorks MIDIjet Pro USB Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the MIDIWorks MIDIjet Pro USB?

Questions about the MIDIWorks MIDIjet Pro USB?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 25, 2016Music Background:
    Professional recording artist saxophonist

    Great product

    Great product works beyond measure

  • from Dallas, TX, USA July 2, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboard player

    Great product, bested only by greater customer service!

    First off, I'll just agree right off the bat that the other reviews of the product are spot on -- not much more to add there other than if you are tired of wires, this is the *only* wireless solution you should consider. (I've had them all.)

    What impressed me even more, though, was the great personal customer service I received from the MIDIWorks team. I bought the MIDIJet pro for use with a very vintage Roland AX-1 keytar in my gigging band, to replace the pile of other worthless wireless solutions I'd tried. Okay, I thought -- this is it, the Rolls Royce of wireless MIDI. Ready for wireless nirvana, I plugged in the units and switched everything on. But instead of bliss, I got stuck notes, missed notes, etc. How could this be happening? All the great touring acts use this product -- it *must* work.

    I checked every connection, used a different synth (soft synth, rack synth, etc.), a different Roland keytar, tried every channel, turned off every 2.4gHz device in a half-mile radius, nothing worked. Ultimate frustration.

    I emailed the manufacturer and almost immediately got a very helpful and well thought out reply -- a list of troubleshooting steps to try and some other suggestions, as well as a list of questons. What had I tried already, had I done this or that, etc. Pretty impressive. I worked through the steps without success and probably exhausted MIDIWorks support with at least a dozen emails trying to get at the problem. When everything else failed, they asked me to send them in for testing to see if they could figure out the issue.

    Well of course you can see this coming already -- as soon as they received the units, they worked perfectly for them. Naturally. :) They immediately sent out a replacement set of brand-new units, *just in case* there was something they couldn't reproduce. Excitedly, I plugged them in as soon as they arrived -- and of course, no joy. Aggggh!

    Now of course, the problem was clearly on my end -- but what? I'd expect most vendors to just give up at this point -- they proved the units weren't defective, gave me a new set, so now the problem's mine, right? Wrong -- they never gave up trying to figure it out. And finally, the answer. "Hey, that controller you're using -- it doesn't send MIDI clock all the time, does it?"

    I was taken aback at first -- none of the "dumb" controllers in my arsenal sent clock *all the time* by default. Or so I thought. A quick dive into the ancient Roland manual -- and yes, the AX-1 sends MIDI clock, all the time, by default.

    Over a cable, it turns out, that's not an issue -- but with wireless, it's simply too much data to handle. Turn off the clock send, and voila! MIDIJet Pro works *perfectly* -- rock solid sync, 100 percent reliable, great range, and about 1/5 the latency of my cheap M-Audio MidAir solution (which was almost unusable the latency was so high).

    So bravo, not only for a great product, but for going *way* above and beyond to make sure your customer was happy. Thank you MIDIWoks!

  • from Southern California February 21, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer for forty years, Zendrummer for six.

    I've Been A Wandering Drummer for 6 Years!

    I've been using this MIDIjet unit with my Zendrum for over six years now and I haven't had a single problem with it. I once played an outdoor amphitheater that had a grassy knoll about 300 feet from the stage. I wondered out, over and beyond that little hill. I couldn't even SEE the stage and I was still playing with the band. How cool is that?!!! Forget even considering any other wireless brand, this unit has served me flawlessly for six years. Wandering Drummer Keith

  • from Lexington, Ky October 28, 2013Music Background:
    Music Director

    Flawless Midi Connectivity

    We've been using these in multiple venues to send midi from a foot controller to our ableton live computer for a year now and they have been flawless.

    They do need power cycled every once in a while (the fast blinking light will stop)

  • from Pittsford, NY September 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A must for users with MIDI rigs...

    I have been playing keyboards for over 25 years... I have always utilized MIDI, and had keytars, wind controllers, etc... I just received this from Sweetwater yesterday and tried it out with my Roland AX09. WOW. I could move almost anywhere, freely, with no drops, and still trigger my superior KronosX and Motif XF. This is WELL worth the investment.

  • from Lenexa, KS August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Making money, but not really a "pro"

    AWESOME!

    Plug it in and it works. Very simple. The only somewhat annoying thing was they seem to have forgotten to include the screws to attach the belt clip.

    I bought the system so I could go cruising through the audience of a 500-seat auditorium in a city-wide talent show in Kansas City. The user guide states very clearly that the signal transmits well through wood and metal, but it doesn't like to go through "water, i.e. people". I assume they have to make this disclaimer to avoid performance-based lawsuits, because I had absolutely no problem with the signal in the packed auditorium. In fact, since it was a variety show, I left my main keyboard rig backstage, and the signal had no problem.

    The strength of a 500' transmit range probably helps. I estimate that, at the max, I was standing probably 150' away. At that point I did notice a very slight delay in response time, but I had no in-ear monitors so the delay might have just been the delay inherent in a PA for a venue of that size.

    The device has some nice considerations... like sending note off messages if contact is lost with the transmitter, and auto power-down after a certain amount of time if you're running on batteries and accidentally leave the power switch on for too long.

    Bottom line... Expensive but WELL WORTH IT. You get what you pay for, and this thing is awesome. Now I just have to get out and gig more!

  • from Bloomington, Il July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Performer

    Plugged and played

    Used it to run MIDI from my Yamaha MOX8 to my Roland keytar - works perfectly. Responsive. Dependable

  • from California February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Music Composition and production, performance.

    MidiJet Pro

    I have been using this unit with Keytars for years now. KX-5, AX-7, AX-Synth, and now the new Alesis Vortex. It has a great range, never drops out, and the receiver can run on batteries as well, so it can be mounted anywhere with no wall-wart power supply necessary.

    Great product!

    -dj

  • from US March 5, 2017Music Background:
    Varied Musical and electronic automation / networking

    Be sure to check your facts on any wireless device

    Think it is a bit over priced for a digital to digital TBC to transmit MIDI over the 2.4Ghz unlicensed band.. aka not n3eding fcc license to operate..

    Also if you believe the lie that nothing else operates in the 2.4Ghz band I'd like to sell you free houses on Park Ave..

    Almost ALL cellphones home wi-fi routers and even consumer wireless operate in the 2.4Ghz band. Check out most wi-fi devices and you will find they operater in the 2.4Ghz band also.

    Now I really think it is scarry to think how many fans, hotels, building environmental and wireless telephones it would take to saturate the 2.4Ghz band, not many... the key to success for wireless is distqnge to keep interference down. Also did I mention thay the 2.4Ghz band "channels" overlap? You have a low, dead center and high for each channel, the lows and highs overlap before hqnding off to the next higher or lower "channel" and try to act as a buffer.

    So whoever wrote that you won't have interference on 2.4Ghz band or for the 5.0 band doesn't know what they're talking about and they hope you don't either.

    If anybody is wondering what my background is it's in electronic engineering in computer networking. I just wanted to let people know a bit of truth before they pull the trigger. If you want Total isolation or interference fiber is he way to go but it's not cheap by any means but you have the advantage of going several miles with it and you are operating and light speed per se, you just have to rely on equipment that converts a signal back and forth quick enough, which judging by many digitql A/V broadcasts it is.

    If you are starting out I think this would be great but keep in mind you'll have interference and I would recommend keeping close to your equipment and away from the crowds or other networking devices that broadcast over the wireless band. Keep microwave ovens away from it or other microwave radio broadcast equipment.

Questions about the MIDIWorks MIDIjet Pro USB?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway