rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Behringer Ultragain Pro MIC2200 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer Ultragain Pro MIC2200?

Questions about the Behringer Ultragain Pro MIC2200?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Corona, NY June 28, 2016

    No more mics needed.

    As a electronics fan. You just can't help thinking of buying new mics. It's like you're never satisfied, and some just look so pretty. First of all I'm a real old head, my first designs involved vacuum tubes, and I gave them up when good IC chips finally came out. While looking for a pre-amp, it's amazing how unknowledgeable some people are about vacuum tubes. One said how can you have 2 channels with one 12AX7 tube. It's because the 12AX7 and it's buddies have twin triode circuits in one enclosure. Then another says, it's impossible to light up a tube with a 9 volt power supply, and the glow is from a LED not the tube. Again the 12AX7 and all other tubes designated in the USA, the first number before the letters, are the voltage rating for the heater element, which is 12 volts. But in these tubes, the two filaments can also be connected in parallel and only 6 volts are needed. After reading real reviews about this product, I bought the MIC2200. I hooked it up to a Studio Projects C1 which I replaced the capsule a few years ago, and it sounds great and it will be my go to vocal pre-amp. It sounds so good, I want to record myself. I'm glad I bought it. I told my son I won't be buying nothing for another year. He said; "Right".. I mean it, sorry Sweetwater. Well maybe I'll get 1 or 2 more? To be honest I wasn't too happy with any of the other mic pre-amps I bought, so I usually never used them, and yes I did change the tubes in those. I'm not going to try to change tube in this one if it's not broke. Tubes get weak as they are left on, so keep your tube stuff off, when you are not using them to get the most life of them.

  • from Virginia March 29, 2016

    A Real Deal

    Great price - great sound! You can certainly find better pre amps, but not at this price level. I love it!

  • from Liberty Hill, TX December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/bass player/recording engineer

    Great gear

    Great piece of gear. Have never had a problem with any Behringer gear.

  • from CA September 1, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz, Classical

    Behringer Ultagain Pro MIC2200

    Great unit. Love the sound. Incredible value!

  • from Lithonia Georgia April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Music Director, Production Manager WACR, WCKX Radio. Now Voice-Over Artist.

    My Behringer Ultragain Pro MIC2200

    First Off the Price and Fast Free Delivery CAN'T BE BEAT. Thanks Sweetwater. I needed a Mic Tube Preamp for a Warmer sound for my Voice-Over setup. Immediately I could Hear the difference. My Prayer for a Better Sound Was answered as soon as I Hooked it up. It Sounded So Good that I Re-Recorded All my older Commercials.

  • from Sunnyvale, CA October 21, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Incredible Product for the price point

    I wish I had discovered this product a year ago. I am a "low end" hobbyist who refuses to spend too much on my hobby. The result has been muddy vocals; so i realized I really did need to spring for a mic pre-amp. I gave this one a shot because (1) it's cheap; (2) it fits great in a rack (it's surprisingly space efficient); (3) it mimics the old tube standards.

    I have been consistently blown away by the results. I recorded once years ago in a professional studio, and this actually comes pretty darn close to the end result of that. I have a good singing voice, but not a particularly "strong" voice. This pre-amp picks up all the timbre, tone, and intonation of my voice (and I'm using a fairly low end Audix OM-5). In fact, it does so so well that I have had to really change the way I sing and record, as it is near-professional level in terms of picking up the clicks, licks, and pops that one tends to emit during a recording session. I am VERY satisfied.

    P.S. Thanks again Sean Geyer.

  • from Austin, KY June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter

    PREAMP

    Great purchase. Widen range of mic recording geometrically-Mics don't have to do all the work. Great addition to a small studio for demos.

  • from March 31, 2017

    Clear all the way to near distortion

    4.5 only because it was not exactly what I needed, in terms of form and size. Very clean path, even though I used the TRS input and output jacks. I ended up buying the single channel Behringer preamp.

  • from worcester mass. December 15, 2015Music Background:
    project studio owner

    behringer ultragain pro mic2200

    wow ! I was looking for a dual input preamp for a special project at my project studio, I didnt want to spend $ 400- $ 500 for this one item, I saw this during my searches and read the good reviews so I ordered one. It does the job fine, very quiet, powerful tube pre's worked awsome with my rode and bluebird mics and it looks good in the rack. For $ 99 I may get another to give my presonus pre's a much needed break !. If the tube could be changed easy I would give this 5 stars but it looks kinda tricky.

  • from Arlington, TX September 3, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Enginner for over 25 years

    NICE!!!

    It is a bit touchy and does take some adjusting but overall is a decent preamp/di for the money. I actually changed the tube in my Ultragain to higher grade tube (it wasn't easy). I did notice a bit of difference in the tone. The manual from Behringer is a bit odd. But I really do like this little guy!

  • from July 16, 2015

    4 years and still kickin!

    I bought one of these guys and have had lots of success with it. About 2 years ago I got wild and decided to take it apart and switch the tube ( wasnt easy) with a higher grade tube. It sounds fantastic!

  • from Detroit, Mi. March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Electronic music producer, engineer writer.

    So surprised with this box.

    I would give it a 5 but I've just hooked it up today so can't really advise on build quality/longevity. I wanted a tube preamp to run my final mixes through as I produce exclusively in the box. I was finding that my tracks had punch and volume but the low end was cold and digital. Even with some really nice eq/compressor plug ins with the bass cranked up full steam they just were not stacking up against other tracks out there. I ordered a Presonus from ebay, the seller dragged his feet on shipping and I stumbled across this Behringer used. Took it home put it on the master inserts and when I started twisting the knobs on the eq I knew I was home. Subs were coming out of nowhere! I have a little more headroom and some really nice warmth in the low end. When the Presonus comes I will chain them together to see what happens. But for the price you are not going to beat the Behringer.

  • from Mexico City April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great for the money

    Contrary to popular belief, it is a pretty good preamp. The tube gives it an incredibly warm, vintage tone.

  • from Llano, Texas December 2, 2014Music Background:
    musician/singer/songwriter/recording

    MIC2200 vs. GAP pre-73

    I have a matched pair of Behringer C-2 mics ($69) that come with a nice holder bracket (so I only have to use 1 mic stand). I ran the two mics into the MIC2200 mic preamp ($99) and then ran 2 short cables from the MIC2200 to the Behringer UMC202 audio interface (($99). My acoustic guitar sounds better through this setup than other methods I've tried. When I removed the MIC2200 and inserted the GAP Pre-73 ($349), I was not impressed. The GAP Pre-73 is talked about frequently on the internet as being a Neve 1073 clone or near clone. However, it is a singe channel. I like my Behringer MIC2200 dual channel. I recommend it.

Questions about the Behringer Ultragain Pro MIC2200?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway