0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Marshall MG30CFX - 30W 1x10" Guitar Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Marshall MG30CFX - 30W 1x10" Guitar Combo Amp?

Questions about the Marshall MG30CFX - 30W 1x10" Guitar Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from California January 2, 2017

    Love this amp.

    Better than expected. It a great amp,thats all i can say.

  • from Acworth, GA December 19, 2016

    Blown Away

    As a beginner, I upgraded my 15 watts 1x5" speaker ion stock amp to this. I was about to go for a Line 6 Spider V 60w amp but I heard a lot of negative reviews about it. And I decided to go with this amp. I mainly use this as bedroom / practice amp. it is loud for a medium size room 4/5 on volume is enough for my liking. It has a amazing clean tone on my Epiphone LP Special II. Nice crunch for a classic rock licks/solo and OD-1 is perfect for rock/metal rhythm, OD-2 is overkill I barely use it. This is a steal deal for the price point.

  • from August 29, 2016

    Marshall

    Excellent amp!! Price and candies inside box was a surprise!!! I'll be back again!!!

  • from May 14, 2016Music Background:
    Metal/classic Hard rock

    Great Little Amp

    Great bang for your buck! Very happy with my purchase. This amp have great clean tones and crunchy mean OD. It is very portable great for a practice amp or to go play small gigs.Very pleased with the quality of the product.

  • from Greenville March 15, 2016Music Background:
    beginner guitarist

    Impressed

    I have an older Line 6 and this little amp sounds cleaner than anything that the line 6 produces. I couldn't have been happier with this amp.

  • from Goldsboro, NC February 18, 2016

    This amp is simplify amazing

    I absolutely love this amp. Brad from Sweetwater is a true professional and had amazing customer service every step of the way. I was so impressed, I ordered a new guitar during his follow up call.

    The amp has 4 great presets. Great sound from all channels and really fun to mess with the effects. If you aren't ready to purchase pedals but want to dive into different effects for your custom sound, you won't be disappointed.

  • from new haven January 16, 2016

    MG30CFX Marshall

    Excellent amplifier. Great sound.This amp has 4 programmable presets plus a manual setting. I've been impressed from day one over its #2 preset, a low gain crunch with some reverb. I'll probably get around to resetting all the other presets to a similar sound. But they can be put back to factory mode in just a couple of seconds if desired.

    I must say this amp really works better than any of the cheap ones I've listened to and as good as most of the amps I've heard which cost twice as much.

  • from New York January 1, 2016Music Background:
    N/A

    Marshall Amplifier

    Perfect Amplifier

  • from auburn ny December 23, 2015

    nice little amp

    i needed a nice practice amp that didn't weigh 40 or 50lbs. i'm 69 and been playing the blues and rock and roll since 1966. this has everything i need, nice tone, doesn't weigh much, plenty of choices and it seems well made.

    no it's not a stack. it's nice little combo. no it's not tubed, but it's easy to lug around. nice job marshall. and nice job sweetwater for the great price and your wonderful customer service.

  • from Fords, NJ June 3, 2015

    Awesome sounding amp

    Awesome sounding amp for the money, still trying to get used to all the adjustments and effects this thing has. It's pretty loud to for 30 amps. Extremely happy with my purchase.

  • from Atlanta, MO February 28, 2015

    Great Deal

    I've had mine for about 2 weeks and it sounds great. Once you get everythimg dialed in this thing can scream. Pretty loud for the size and the FX options are great.

  • from North Carolina August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Marshall MG30CFX

    Great amp wth effects for the price. Just as I had hoped for. Also has a headphone jack so if you live in an apartment, you can keep your neighbors happy.

  • from Bismarck, MO July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Playing for 10 yr now as a Hobbyist.

    RockAmp

    Very well worth the money.
    Took me a little while to figure things out but after going thru the manual and playing around with the controls, This amp ROCKS.
    The cover on the amp may seem hard to keep clean but I just take a damp cloth and wipe it off every few days. Does great.
    If you're looking for a great Marshall Amp, You found it right here.

  • from April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist & Student

    My Loving Marshall Amp!

    I bought my Marshall MG30CFX, 5 weeks ago, and It sounds Amazing! The 4 Channels have sufficient amount of Clarity & Gain in them! I call the 4 channels Clean, Crunch, Overdrive & Distortion. With the 6 Effects: Reverb (Studio & Spring), Chorus, Phaser, Flanger, Delay (with the option of manually tapping the time between 2 repetitions) & Octave, you can get a Plethora of Tonal options! You can also save desired custom sounds in each channel. It can be changed anytime. It's build Solid, 30W of Power, (I Love to Crank it up & it is Loud! and Looks Beautiful with the Proud Marshall Logo and the New Silver & Black Color interface with the Carbon Fiber covering for the New MG Series. It has an Ear-phone input so you can play Loud without waking up the Neighborhood at midnights & an MP3 input so you can play along with Backing Tracks. Additional Foot-controller (I don't have it) with give you even more options. I'm a Guitarist who Loves & play Classical, Country, Pop, Latin, Jazz, Blues, Rock & Metal; and my Marshall helps me with an Awesome Tone! I play Bon Jovi, Guns N' Roses, Metallica, Led Zeppelin, Beatles, Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, Eagles, Rush, Queen, Scorpions, Black Sabbath, Dire Straits, AC/DC, Deep Purple, Pantera, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Jethro Tull, Nirvana, Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, Randy Rhoads, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci, Yngwie Malmsteen, Chuck Berry, Simon & Garfunkel, Phil Keaggy & Buckethead among many more & My Marshall MG30CFX never lets me down. It's not a 100W Marshall Tube Halfstack, but I Love my little Amp a Lot! Thank you Marshall!

  • from Nashville,TN January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Great Amp

    All things considered this is an excellent purchase. This amp gives you that classic Marshall distortion in a form factor that's perfect for practice or even small clubs. This is not substitute for a larger Marshall, of course. But for the price its a great amp.

  • from little rock,Ar. June 19, 2013Music Background:
    player

    THE MARSHALL MG30CFX

    THIS IS THE BEST AMP I HAVE EVER I SAY EVER GOT FOR THE PRICE. I WAS GONNA USE IT FOR JUST TO GIVE LESSON BUT AFTER GETTING IT I FOUND IT WORKS GREAT FOR SMALL ROOM SHOWS.
    SWEETWATER YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!!
    ROCK
    KC

  • from Chicago,IL. February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Novice

    Awsome amp

    When I bought the Marshall cfx30 I didn't know what to expect , I really surprised how good it sound . I would recommend it to any of my friends .

  • from Ct. usa December 16, 2012Music Background:
    record at home but not a pro.

    MG30CFX

    I had an older modle that has bitten the dost but this new is much better with more fetures and You can't beat the tone a marshall , I one happy player.

  • from Idaho February 11, 2016Music Background:
    DJ and hand percussionist, beginner to the guitar.

    Beginner stepping up to a little more amp

    Only gripe so far is the attached power cable. I'm sure there is likely a positive side to this, but I wish the cable was separate with the same connection as many other devices such as my lighting, powered speakers, etc...
    I am just a complete beginner, stepping up from a Crush 12 practice amp. This Marshall sounds good! I am now able to experiment with different sounds, and effects, and I think it is helping me learn more without being quite as complex as some of the digital modeling amps we looked at. I think this will also be loud enough to practice with my friend on his drums as long as he isn't beating them to death...
    We have the pedal to go with this amp on its way, and am looking forward to learning much more with this amp. Looks good, sounds great for what we paid(caught it on sale over the holidays), and is proving to be a great learning tool and a great step up from our first little practice amp. Next step will likely be something with an FX loop and some pedals, and a looping station, but that's still a while down the road..
    For now we are thrilled to crank it up and jam on this Marshall, and I'm hoping the increase in volume and fullness of the tone will help grab the attention of at least one of my kiddos. We are using it with a Mini Strat so far, but hope to pick up a full size guitar later this year for my oldest and myself...
    Definitely an amp worth considering!

  • from Show Low, AZ December 13, 2015Music Background:
    Live performer, teacher, former shop owner.

    Fantastic Practice Amp!!!!

    I do most of my practice with an iPad. My software sounds great and would do well for recording but I have found a problem with my method. iPad apps are constantly needing updates and at many inconvenient times. Not only that but I had a spiders web of wires that became a constant annoyance and source of noise. I eventually became disgusted because I was constantly chasing some audio bug or waiting for my iPad to finish updating. Finally I came to my senses and began a pain staking search for a practice amp that didn't sound like a practice amp.

    I want decent sound even when I practice. A 5 inch speaker just cant do what I need. Most little practice amps sound little and loose the tone of the guitar. Thats when I found this bad boy!

    This amp is terrific! Its quick. I have a choice of 4 different channels, 3 tone knobs, Reverb and a fast simple effects knob. I hate wrestling with intricate parameters and endless controls just to practice. I want to pick up my guitar, plug in, turn on and play....that's what I get with my MG30. In an age of infinite apps and decisions and adjustments I get back to 1969 and have the simplicity that made guitar a popular instrument. Its simple it sounds great. Get it!

    Can I play live with my MG30? Well yes I think I could. I think with a mic and a board I could compete with even the loudest drummer. The tone is sufficient enough to play live. Its not a $10,000.00 Boutique amp but it gets the job done. Yes I would play out with it.

    I am very happy with my Marshall amp and with Sweetwater Music. Sweetwater is my new home base and my rep Dan is a great guy who communicates and takes time to help me out and answer my questions.

  • from Texas October 16, 2015Music Background:
    guitar player since 1960's

    Marshall has Changed for The Good

    5-6 years ago I tried out a small Marshall amp at a local music store..didn't like the sound, controls etc..
    for what they wanted in price I elected to go with a Vox 30 watt, 10 inch spk, with more features..
    it;s a little bigger heavier than this amp..I needed a smaller amp for practicing and jamming with other
    bands so I decided on this one because of the price, the shipping , no tax,,and the size..received it,, and was surprised how well it sounded for a digital amp..I use a Telecaster thin line with Seymour Duncan humbuckers and it works well with this amp..its got the clean tube amp and crunch sound and it has the volume I need for a small gig even without miking it through the PA...I can set it in on the front seat of my compact car and my Tele next to it. What ever improvements Marshall made, it worked. Its a good amp for the price and the logo on the front makes it look like an expensive amp on any stage. Good sweet amp from Sweetwater..

  • from United States November 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist with an addiction.......

    Marshall MG30CFX

    I bought this Amp with the express purpose of having something different than my "Go To" Orange Amp available both of the "Classic" British Sounds so to speak and I have been very impressed with this amp. I read a few "bad" reviews and I have to say I don't get it nice sound it hasn't met one of my guitars that make it sound "Bad" Very Impressed, I would love to go tube on the Orange and the Marshall but these Solid States are great!! And you just can't find better sales staff than Sweetwater and Brandon Eden is awesome!!

  • from Dayton, Ohio November 9, 2014Music Background:
    experienced hobbiest

    Comparison....

    I have a Fender Super Champ XD to compare this with. I use a 56 Gold Top Epi with P-90s. There is a perceptible difference between this amp and a tube amp. It takes longer to get this Marshall dialed in than the Fender. But once dialed in, the Marshall has better effects and the tube/solid state difference isn't so great. This Marshall does a credible job of emulating tube sound on all channels. It just takes a bit of tweaking of the knobs. With the P-90s it can sound like an ice pick to the ears until it's dialed in, but it has low end punch that sounds like a solid state bass amp and once rounded out, the P-90s sound rich and full. I like both amps. I've had the XD for years and love the tube sound, but it broke and while it was being repaired, I bought this Marshall. I don't have a favorite between the two. That says more about the Marshall MG30CFX than I can add. This is a wonderful amp.

  • from Omaha, NE January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice Amp for the price!

    I live in an Apt. So this amp for the money was a great buy!

  • from December 4, 2015

    Great Amp!

    So it got delivered today, HUGE box, I was Surprised, as my Orange amp came in a smaller box, This thing was Packed up tight with Packing pillows, also was Very Heavy(Means quality). Sounds from the initial test as Pretty good once the settings were fiddled with past the basic setting. Very surprised by the Tones this thing can make. Very Great Deal for $159. Wished there were clickty stops on the various effects but other than that no complaints.

  • from September 29, 2016

    Marshall MG30CFX

    2nd one just like Marshall products

  • from Albuquerque, NM October 22, 2016

    Not for metal

    I want to preface this review by informing you up front that I purchased this amp to replace a VOX VT20+ because I didn't need all the different amp models and effects the VOX had. I wanted something simple to operate with just basic effects. The MG30CFX appeared to fit my needs, and after seeing all the glowing reviews, I made the purchase without even trying out the amp; that turned out to be a huge mistake. Since I am familiar with both of these amps, I will compare and contrast the MG30CFX with the VT20+ as well as try and give an out of the box assessment of the MG30CFX on it's own.

    The first thing I did no like about the MG30CFX is that the cord is always attached to the amp rather than a 3-wire cord that plugs into the amp and then plugs into the wall socket. Not a big deal though. I already knew that before I purchased it.

    The MG30CFX is a 4 channel amp where the VT20+ is a 5 channel amp; again, not a big deal since 4 channels was enough for me. The problem is that the VT20+ has buttons on the amp where you can access each channel, but with the MG30CFX there are no buttons on the amp to access the 4 channels. To access the 4 channels on the Marshall, you have to buy the footswitch; without it, it doesn't make any sense to save any settings because you can't get to them.

    The VT20+ comes with an integrated guitar tuner. The MG30CFX does not come with a tuner. That's not totally true though because the footswitch has with a tuner in it, but you have to buy the footswitch in order to get the tuner. Again, you have to buy the footswitch to access a feature that comes standard with the VT20+.

    The deal breaker for me was the sound. I read a lot of reviews here and elsewhere that said the sound of this amp was excellent. I have been playing guitar since the early 1960's starting out with hard rock and acid rock and began playing metal in the late-1980's.That being the case I do a lot of palm muting of lower notes. The VT20+ when set on the "British metal" amp model setting sounded great. The MG30CFX, however, is another story.

    When palm muted, the lower notes sound dry, scratchy, and toneless, and they die out very quickly after they are struck. You can't really get any tone out of pal muted notes; palm muting any note just results in a scratchy noise that sounds like you're just scraping dead strings, and that scratchy sound drowns out the tone of the note.

    I really wanted to like this amp because I've never owned a Marshall before and it seemed like it was just what I was looking for, but this amp just does not suit me probably because of the kind of music I play.
    I'm not saying it's a bad amp. If I was playing older rock or lighter rock, I'm sure this would be a super amp for doing that, and I would be giving it a much higher rating, but if you're playing metal, you best look elsewhere.

    The VOX VT20+ was suited to my style, has about as much power as the MG30CFX, has more effects, has different amp models, comes with integrated tuner and channel switches, and costs a little less than the MG30CFX. The VOX has an 8 inch speaker while the Marshall has a 10 inch speaker.

    If you play metal, your best bet is going with the VOX VT20+ or some other amp that has modeling so you can get the kind of sound you want out of the amp. If you're playing older rock or light rock, the MG30CFX would be a perfect amp to use for that. Either way, it's probably best that you do what I didn't do - find somewhere to go to try out the amp first instead of having to go through the trouble and expense of returning it. I learned my lesson.

  • from frisco texas March 14, 2014Music Background:
    hobby

    odd

    this amp is horrible. all I can say is a swishy weird sound all around. maybe a bad nut but! I can not get it to quiet down from hiss to swish again as I say odd!

Questions about the Marshall MG30CFX - 30W 1x10" Guitar Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close