0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Yamaha MG166CX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Illinois October 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/ Sound/ Musician

    MG 166cx Awesome

    The digital effects incredible
    The built in compression unbelieveable
    what did you sweep mids awsome
    10 channels of mic preamps say what....
    and all for under 500 dollars...
    Great product Great Buy

  • from Williams, OR February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Singer-Songwriter

    Love this mixer

    I've been on the road 2 weeks with this mixer in various situations and venues and have been impressed with it's performance. It's easy to use and has extras that have come in handy like the high pass filters per channel. Sounds great with yamaha's powered speakers. I'm very happy I bought this one!

  • from Tennessee August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Bluegrass musician and studio engineer

    Great Mixer

    This is a great mixer, I have only used it one weekend so far and I have been impressed. It is very user friendly so about anyone can figure it out. I use this mixer in a quality signal chain (EAW speakers, Qsc amp, Shure mics) so if you use a decent amp and speakers there should not be any problems. I am very happy with this mixer and will look into more Yamaha products in the future.

  • from Childersburg, Alabama March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Bluegrass Band

    Good Clean Sound

    Great product so far. Had the Yamaha about a month and totally diferent than other mixers i've had. Moore user friendly than i thought it would be for a 63 yr old hobbyist and bluegrass band. I use condenser mics with it and sounds great and lots of head room even with these mics.

  • from W. Central In. U.S.A. March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Been a rock-n-roll lead guitarist for more than 30 yrs

    My new Yamaha MG166CX board is great

    As I started to look around for a new board the old saying that (if it appears too good to be true then it probably is!) emediatly came to mind!! As you look through the gauntlet of similaraly performing mixers you can not even begin to stay within this price range! I mean really!! You have on board effects, singe knob control compression (THAT WORKS!) A very nice variation of main or sub outs (for alive mixer this thing records GREAT!), two sends for monitors Very presise eq that is subtle and not overly responsive. And the very clean and ACURATE! sound is through the roof!! I have been a semi pro guitarist for 35 yrs and this as with all my past experience with yamaha gear is the best!! And the great service from sweetwater and knowlagable reps like Mark Mathews is the icing on the cake!! I wish I would have discovered the SWEETS earlyer!!. You now have a new customer!!

  • from WoodBridge,NJ May 3, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Mixer, Crazy problem

    # 1 this is a really great mixer # 2 for the money you canít beat it.
    However , Just be aware of something. This mixer has a external power supply. When I purchased this mixer I also purchase the SKB Gig Rig R 1010. So Johnny on the spot, I get everything from Sweetwater and start wiring all the components in the Gig Rig. I thought I was being smart by putting the power supply of this mixer under the mixer where there was a void in the SKB case. So I put everything together, fired the system up, I here this noise and hum coming from the speakers. I am OK whatís this noise. So I get my Mackie Mixer hook it to the same Eq and amps no noise. So I think there something wrong with this mixer. I call Sweetwater tech support and they think there is something wrong too. So Josh at Sweetwater sends me out a new mixer. I get the new mixer I hook it up externally from the SKB case no noise. I put it in the SKB case the noise comes back. You cannot put the power supply under the mixer or near it. The power supply was
    causing the problem. So I relocated the power supply in the SKB case and problem solved. So I thought I would right this review to let people know that Yamaha is still the best in my view.

  • from West Virginia May 2, 2012Music Background:
    Bass Player and Sound Man

    Yamaha MG166CX

    Great board and easy to use. I'm using this in a church venue and it's easy to control while I play. Great equipment, great price. and super service.

  • from United States December 3, 2011Music Background:
    Broadcast engineer, Live Sound.

    Beware of Cut Features

    This is a fine mixer, but BEWARE. There are NO INPUT GAIN CONTROLS on the last two (four if running stereo) channels! Besides that, the channels are -10 Dbu. There is no way to adjust levels except with the faders and no way to balance the levels of these channels with the other ones. If you need to run a CD player into the mixer and adjust each channel individually, then make darn sure you have enough mixer channels available with gain controls (ch. 1-10) to do so keeping in mind everything else you need to plug into the mixer.

Questions about the Yamaha MG166CX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close