0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Yamaha MG124cx Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Craig, Co. USA December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Sound and Recording Engineer, Repairman

    Dynamic Upgrade

    Called about a Behringer mixing board and told the salesman what I needed and was directed to this mixer. After a highly informative review of both mixers I chose the MG 124cx. We used it for the first of many Christmas parties and fell in love! Not only was the overall sound a hugh improvement, the headroom was greatly increased. Ran the main stereo out fader at -20 instead of 0 db. The compressors were subtle but effective. Kept everthing at an non-irritating level. Overall it is a dynamic upgrade to our yold mixer. The sales dept. is next to none. They know all about the products and have the right answers for you. Customer service is their #1 priority. I will buy more from Sweetwater!

  • from New Orleans, LA August 8, 2011Music Background:
    vocalist

    Great Mixer

    I am having so much fun with this mixer. I have four other mixers. By far I enjoy this the most. It's small but it can give a punch. Awesome. Love it. It has so many features that you don't normally get with the size.

  • from SW Florida, Manasota Key June 2, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musicain/ recording engineer

    Greta product

    Recommended by Jeff Law. This little mixer has been the best addition to my stage equipment ever! I use it with two Bose systems and it really is great. The compressors on board make this mixer stand out from all the rest. I wish I maybe had gotten the 16 channel mixer, the the 12 is more than enough for my trio! I would not hesitate to use this in my recording studio to sub mix. I love it.

  • from Bogalusa Louisiana February 6, 2010Music Background:
    Disc Jockey

    Excellant Mixer, Awesome Sound!!!!!!

    I truly love this mixer. I am a mobile DJ and have been using this mixer for all my gigs. I use it to power my QSC HPR 153 i speakers. It really gets them pumpin with no problem!!! I can highly recommend this mixer to any one looking for great sound at a great price! The low noise amps Yamaha incorporates into their mixers are tops!! I also love Sweetwaters Technical support. They are always just a phone call away and go out of their way to help you.

  • from Hawaii June 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Keys/Vocals

    Perfect Keys Rig

    As a keyboard player, I've been looking to downsize my convention rig by not lugging a 16 channel board and racks of EQ and Compression. The MG124cx was perfect. It allows me to compress 2 stereo synths with room to grow my keys rack. I was pleasantly surprised at the head room and clarity the board provided in the studio too. Great board for the price.

  • from Surprise AZ September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Low Cost Board

    Board worked fine out of the box. Really makes our group sound awesome. The effects are a little cheesy but what do you want for less than $300? I am very happy with this purchase and the customer support from Andy at Sweetwater.com has been amazing.

  • from Columbia, SC April 3, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Versatile

    Recently purchased this board to mix my keyboard setup, which includes 2 digital pianos, a synth, and a Hammond C-3 (with options to hook to a Ventilator/digital Leslie or mic a Leslie 145, depending on the venue)...and it works like a charm! I run all of my boards out of this mixer to a full mixing board, utilizing 2 channels running in stereo. It provides the ability to mic the Leslie or run the C-3/Vent direct, and allows good mixing of all 4 of the boards...Highly recommend to those in this kind of situation, and could see how a smaller PA could utilize this (with it's built in Effects options) as its out-front mixer. Excellent piece of equipment at a great price from Sweetwater!

  • from New Hampshire, USA February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound / recording engineer.

    Solid, professional, compact mixer.

    I got this to fill a requirement for smaller, one-man type performances and corporate events. It has all the necessary features that one would find on larger mixers and comes with the reassurance of being from a leading manufacturer. A good, solid performer. The unit was delivered on time, with the usual Sweetwater efficiency. Thanks again, guys!

  • from Orcas Island, Wa August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A very nice sounding mixer with some inconvenient attributes

    I really liked the sonics of this mixer. Loved the compressor and wished it was on 6 channels instead of just the 4. I liked the EQs too.
    My first issue with it is its size. It's huge for what it is and the difference between this mixer and the next model down is too much. I need that Aux Send.
    My second issue is with Yamaha's use of that awful, heavy and gigantic power supply that's a royal pain to connect and to pack around. In this day and age of lightweight digital switching power supplies, a heavy, transformer based unit is just plain silly. Yes, I'm happy to pay more for it if need be.

  • from evansville, In October 3, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist

    Mid freq 2.5K WTF?

    Decent mixer for the money, but the big problem here is that the mid EQ freq is at 2.5KHz. This is very unusual, since one usually wants to cut 800 to 1K for nasal voices and to remove "honk." So if you have a nasally voice, or mid-happy speakers, look elsewhere.

Questions about the Yamaha MG124cx?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close