0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Yamaha MG10XU Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha MG10XU?

Questions about the Yamaha MG10XU?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Stanwood, Washington January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Team for 30+years

    YAMAHA MG10XU

    This mixer is so awesome. I matched it up with a L1 Bose Compact and it absolutely ROCKS! Randy Akins helped us put it together and his expertise was outstanding. SWEETWATER, your the ONLY place to shop

  • from Columbia, South Carolina November 4, 2016Music Background:
    Graduate of the experience schoool of thought

    MG10XU is a "10" in my books.

    1st, the mic preamps are very quiet. And you can use those inputs as line level as well. I plug my Shure Beta 58a dynamic mic into one jack, or input, and then my multitracker receives the MG10XU's output as a very nice, very clean signal. Continuing, I use the pad buttons on two of the preamps, allowing me to plug in my MOX6 keyboard's outs into channels 1 and 2 of the MG10XU mixer. This allows me to use single-knob compressing, a feature of this mixer. Hence the mixer adds compression to the keyboard's signal for more punch and clarity. The MOX6 keyboard's drum arpeggios are definitely enhanced, it you want more bang, more punch. And an added enjoyment is the smooth feel: the fine movement of the pots.

  • from July 10, 2016

    Very good!

    Build is good, and sound is very nice. This unit is very quiet going into my Bose L1 compact. The reverb is quite good, actually. And no other mixer in this class has built in compression (channels 1 & 2). I don't see anything in this price bracket that competes with the feature set and quality here.

  • from Anaheim CA August 14, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-instrumentalist, Live Sound Engineer

    Small Footprint - Big Sound

    This is the perfect mixer for solo/duo artists, and it can also function in the studio as a sub-mixer or an audio interface. I use mine often for Karaoke Night - throw up a couple mics and then run the output from my iPad to a line in on the MG and play karaoke videos on Youtube. The best part is because it's so small and light, I can use an accessory mic stand adapter and mount the mixer right next to me so I can make easy adjustments on the fly. Works great and the FX sound good! IMO, nothing beats real knobs and buttons at your fingertips.

  • from Chicago, IL February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Simply the Best. PERIOD.

    Yamaha makes some incredible mixers and this new XU series is no exception. I bought this mixer for my live acoustic duo. We run this through my Bose L1 Compact system. We also run two acoustic guitars, two Shure Beta 87a mics, an electric bass, and a Uke through the mixer while plugging it into a house system. The mixer is SUPER QUIET and the effects are wonderful. We add a little reverb to the vocals, tweak the levels, and after about a 5 minute setup have a great performing mixer with fantastic sound. It sounds much better running through the Bose system than the Bose Tonematch. If you are old school like me, nothing beats analog controls. The features and price of this mixer makes it wonderful for live, home, or studio use. I hope this mixer has the competitors shaking in their boots, because it should. BUY THIS.....I promise you will not regret it!!

  • from Merced, CA. USA December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, song-writer.

    Sweet little mixer

    I needed a small, simple mixer for Open Mic Nights to play through my Bose PS-1 PA system. It really makes the vocal and guitar sound so much better than when played directly into the PS-1. The effects are nice, and the board is quiet. And you can't beat the price!

  • from October 27, 2014

    Great unit!!

    Great sound, perfect size, nice effects, looks nice, good price! I use it for my home studio with analog synths. I hope it last for years like my last mixer (Yamaha MW10c). Will buy again! (if it last more than 5 years like the old one I have... lol) :)

  • from April 30, 2014

    It supports ASIO driver

    I figured this out until I got it, it supports ASIO driver, the side cover is plastic not metal. However, I like the sound, good for a small band practice and home studio.

  • from May 26, 2017

    smiles

    effects are fun, it comes with 24 of them. easy to use and has built in sound card that will have you hearing your music like you want to. gets a little hot, but dont we all when we work hard.

  • from Seattle, WA April 17, 2017Music Background:
    50 years gigging and recording

    Excellent compact mixer for keyboard rig

    Impressive feature set for such a small, inexpensive mixer. I'd prefer having connectors on the back panel for cable tidiness, but putting them on the front like this one is how most small mixers do it nowadays.

    I use this for keyboards, so I can't say how well the compression or most of the effects work (although I do use the delay for synth leads). The balanced line inputs make it especially suitable for my application.

    I went with Yamaha because the last Yamaha mixer I owned lasted for 30 years without a hiccup, and although it showed signs of road-wear it was still in perfect operating condition when I eventually gave it away.

  • from February 2, 2017

    Great teaching studio mixer

    Perfect mixer and effects for my vocal studio.

  • from Virginia November 21, 2016Music Background:
    Praise and Worship bass, synthesizers, live sound

    Very nice

    I carefully read specification so I knew what features I was getting. I have been very pleased.

    I also bought the mic stand mount and the quick lease mic adapter. I put a dBX GoRack on the main outputs and use its anti-feedback (AFS). To hold the GoRack I also bought a OSS mic stand mounted shelf.

    I use this mixer for small praise and worship teams in acoustically nasty places like Assisted Living facilities. The GoRack AFS is very necessary. The combination above is quite transportable, sets up quickly and sounds good with average power amps and speakers. I use a ROCKnROLLER Multi-cart to get the PA in and out of the facilities easily with a small team. I use the FX footswitch to turn the built-in reverb on and off the singers with they switch from singing to preaching. I also bought the recommended mixer bag which even fits the mounts while attached (barely) to the mixer.

    I run my bass, the keyboard and IOS devices through the line inputs. I've also run a computer through the USB inputs. The mixer is great for the task at hand. I've used it for a least a service a week for about two months and I am pleased. I was able to get the preachers to sound natural (just louder), something I can never seem to achieve at the "big church".

  • from Los Alamos CA September 27, 2016

    nice and compact

    Great affects both voice and guitar

  • from Corpus Christi, TX February 25, 2016

    Seriously Great Little Board

    I got this mixer for using to mix audio from some mics for depositions (lawyers around a table...eek!) I purchased it for the ability to eq slightly and compress 1&2 if needed and it's been great. It is far more capable than what I need for such simple requirements but at the price point, the performance is sensational. I output the audio to a Canon XA-10 and pan the mics slightly to left and right for more realistic audio with the subject (deponent) reacting to off-camera lawyers. I couldn't be happier. The mic pre circuits are quiet and accurate. Excellent purchase. Highly recommend this product.

  • from Lakeland, Florida September 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 50 years

    Great mixer for a small price

    I needed a small USB supported mixer for my home studio. I wanted a mixer with FX and with one knob compression. This mixer had everything I wanted. I've had other Yamaha mixers and the last two died after a year. This one appears better made. It was an easy transition with my recording program. i use Cubase 7 Artist and after downloading the driver it was just a matter of changing the settings. The one thing that was not in the instructions that came with the mixer is the return for the USB is through channels 9/10. I had the unused channels turned down and, at first, was not able to get sound through my headphones or mixing speakers. Once I figured it out, I was good to go. The FX works great as a stand alone mixer or when recording; however, I use the FX in the recording program. So far, this is the small mixer I have owned. If it lasts more than a year, I will be a happy musician.

  • from Knoxville, TN December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer for over 40 years, Soundman for over 30

    Nice Little Mixer

    I bought this mixer to replace another Yamaha mixer of the same size in the same series which I have used for over 10 years now. My old Yamaha still sounds and works great, but this new one has the effects built in, which comes in handy.

    The main function that I use this mixer for is to control my drum monitor mix. I run a splitter off of the mains channels which I want to hear in my own mix and this board gives me the control on stage to make fast changes as I need to, without having to tell a soundman to turn this up or turn that down. For this purpose, the mixer works great. I don't need the whole mix in my monitor, and this mixer gives me more than enough for what I want to do. Again, it also has the effects available as well.

    I also used it a few weeks ago as the main board when I was the soundman for a wedding. We had one wireless mic for the pastor, so the audience could hear him conducting the ceremony, and they also had a small band with two acoustic guitars, one violin, and two singers, who performed at different points during the ceremony. This board gave me plenty of channels for everything I needed and was also small enough so that I was inconspicuous during the event.

    The board sounds great, and the effects are very usable.

    If I had to come up with something I *don't* like about the mixer, I guess it would have to be the fact that there is no true auxiliary send on the unit. In other words, the send coming off of the monitor signal is going to be the same mix as the what is coming out front. Since this mixer isn't really intended as a mains mixer for a large band, most of the time, this probably won't be a problem at all.

    But if, for example, your main board went down, and you were forced to use this one as an emergency mixer, then you would be out of luck as far as dedicated monitor mixes go. The house mix would be the only option you would have. Again, it is NOT designed for that type of function, so I can't be overly critical of it in that regard, but if it had a true aux mix, that would have been the one thing which would have gotten it 5 stars, rather than the 4 I gave it.

    If I had to do it over again, I would not hesitate to purchase this mixer. Yamaha makes some great stuff, and this is no exception.

  • from 3rd rock from the sun August 14, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Dismayed!

    Although this is a nice little mixer for the price, if you're buying it for a DAW interface, you need to know this!
    The USB out ONLY RECORDS a sum of the stereo signal. You will not see 2 discreet tracks in your DAW. If you were to try and record, say a guitar and a vocal track, they will not be separate tracks in your DAW. The only way to get discreet tracks is to record them one at a time. Pretty much useless as a DAW interface, unless you want to record just the stereo pair of tracks.

Questions about the Yamaha MG10XU?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
Enter the Giveaway