0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Soundcraft MFXi 8 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • from West Hempstead NY December 20, 2015Music Background:
    Playing in bands since 1964, Bass, Guitar, vocals, and recording bands.

    Soundcraft MFXi 8

    I purchased the Soundcraft MFXi 8 on 05/04/15 for a 3 piece vocal group I recorded and occasionally as soundman on their gigs. The mixer works great, sound and easy to use. I setup their Mac w/StudioOne into the mixers aux in with the prearranged backup instrument tracks according to the nights set list and everything sounds great. Also set their Ipad up with Daw Remote app, which makes it easy for one of the guys to use if I am not available. I have used it out a dozen times at their gigs and sounded great. The guys loved it. It replaced their old ailing heavy PA head. They now use a pair of powered JBLPRX735 15 " speakers + pair PRX718XLF 18" sub/woofers and 4 - 12" powered monitors, (gig hall and stage permitting). And as always, quick shipping and service from Zack Neels and Sweetwater crew.

  • from Silver City, NM April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician/audio engineer

    Great mixer!

    The first thing I noticed was a really solid build with great feeling sliders and knobs. I've owned higher-end Soundcraft boards in the past and this one lives up to their quality standard, even at this price point. Big-sounding mic pres and wonderful Soundcraft EQ I've always loved. Sweepable kids are a must for me, which you don't get with some of the competition. Lots of I/O and routing options, especially at the price. If you can dream it up, this board can probably do it. Effects are understandably not on par with outboard gear, but pretty good quality for built-in. We have a Bose L1S system and have been struggling with it a bit using the Bose T1 mixer which I never really liked. We were instantly blown away at the difference when we hooked this board up instead. Like night and day– it sounds like a whole different PA, like it grew twice its size or something. Five stars!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound & recording/post-production.

    Cream always rises to the top

    I already own two larger Soundcraft boards, so I looked at Soundcraft again for a small-format live board, and this little one does not disappoint. Clean and quiet mic pre's, musical tone controls, the flexibility of being able to sub-group certain signals. and the icing on the cake is the inclusion of legendary Lexicon digital effects. There are lots of choices out there for small live mixers, but cream, in this case the Soundcraft MFXi8, will always rise to the top. Spend the extra $$ and get the best!

  • from United States July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Trumpet Player, Vocalist and Local Performer

    Soundcraft MFXi8

    Love this mixer as it has reduced some of the components of my gig rig and more importantly sounds fantastic. Having the Lexicon effects built into the mixer is fabulous and now have the flexibility to assign the right amount of effects on each channel. More importantly our monitor now can be easily adjusted for each vocalist in our group. The unit is heavy duty and accommodates any small group or live performance.

  • from Chicagoland, IL March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer, Pro A/V Tech, and Hobbyist

    Great compact mixer!

    This was my first mixer purchase in 12 years. Prior to owning this board, I owned a Mackie VLZ1604 Pro. The difference in sound & quality is night & day. This is a very easy board to operate and it has a nice amount of I/O and features without being over the top. It is fairly light weight and seems to be very well built. I will mainly be using it for live sound for bands in small to medium sized bars & clubs with a pair of powered speakers as mains.

  • from California USA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    KJ Musician

    The best mixer ever

    The best mixer I ever have, the sound is impressed period.

  • from Sacramento, CA November 5, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound, DJ

    A step above all the others in this class.

    I need to begin by saying thank you to Richard Whittington, my rep at Sweetwater, for all his help and patience in helping me decide on a new small format mixer. I have been pestering him the past few months and after going over all the options I ultimately decided on the MFXi 8. He got me a great deal on it and was able to get it to me in time for an important event I had coming up.

    When I first opened the box I was blown away by the build quality and look of the unit. It was definitely an improvement from the Mackie unit I had been using in the past. I used the unit the day after I received it and all i can say was AWESOME. I had worked in the venue before and always had issues with feedback. I was able to get through the event with 0 issues and very little tweaking. The difference in headroom and sound quality was also noticeable. I used multiple inputs, aux outs and mains and they all performed flawlessly.

    This is really a great mixer to buy. Yes it is a bit more than similar units from Mackie, A&H, etc. but the price is well worth it for the quality.

    Two Thumbs Up!

  • from California July 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, KJ, DJ, Musician

    Great Gear

    This is the best mixer I have ever owned for Karaoke. I have been in the audio business for 12 years and I have owned various top brand mixers. This mixer has the best sound quality with tons of head room. I run a karaoke business. I was using a Mackie ProFx 12 which was ok. When I heard the first sounds from the Soundcraft MFXi 8 I was blown away. The Lexicon effects are the icing on the cake. There is a karaoke setting in the presets that is fantastic. When I first listened to the karaoke setting at my house I was not too impressed. I used it at the bar where we do karaoke and again I was blown away. This mixer along with two QSC K12's and a KW181 sub make a great combination for both karaoke or DJ work. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • from Atlantic Beach, Fl. April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, producer,recording engineer

    Excellent small board

    It's nearly impossible to find a small mixer with big-board attributes and quality, but this one does the job nicely. I had another brand of 8-ch mixer and it failed on me TWICE- not good in the middle of performances.Soundfraft's overall quality is far superior to it's competition. And the built-in Lexicon effects are quantum leaps ahead of what is found on similar boards.I own a larger board for my studio, and the Soundcraft is just as clean sounding.Perfect board for my solo shows.

  • from London UK August 19, 2010Music Background:
    singer/guiyarist

    This is sweet honey

    I brought this lovely beast today and man it truly rocks.

    I use to have the epm 6 and I remember the mic pre's were always great sounding.
    This one is the level up from the epm . This mixer has plenty of headroom and the EQ is so sweet sounding really musical.
    The Lexicon effects are like the icing on a cake.
    Check out the MFX i range of the Soundcraft website and you can hear the effects for yourself., you see what I mean, beautiful sounding effects with plenty to choose from. My favourite is setting number 2 Large hall reverb.

    This is perfect for solo gigs , I am a singer/guitarist.
    I used it for the first time this evening and I noticed the audience were really transfixed.

    This made my job as a performer really enjoyable.

    I defantly reccomend this mixer.

  • from Martha's Vineyard, MA September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Song-Writer

    MFXi 8 - rocks!

    this mixer has amazing on board effects for such a small unit. The Pre's sound awesome, and it's simple to get it up and sounding great.

  • from USA November 26, 2012Music Background:
    self-employed musician

    nice unit

    nice unit for small gigs. clean sound. nice to have fx onboard. love the soundcraft sound. you won't go wrong with this board.

  • from Atlantic Beach, Fla. April 30, 2012Music Background:
    54 years musician, producer, recording engineer

    BIG things in small package

    I perform as a solo guitarist in addition to my hard-working rock band. It's really hard to find a small mixer that has really good features and quality. Two years ago I bought a small mixer made by another company. It DIED a month after owning it. They sent me another one, which lasted just over a year (just ouf of warranty), and IT ALSO died- ON STAGE in the middle of a gig !
    I decided then to spend a little more ahd get the best I could find. This small mixer has big board attributes, VERY clean sound, and excellent effects. It is ruggedly constructed and well thought out. Mic preamps are pristine and EQ is very lively. Highly recommend this board for small groups, or solo work.
    My Sweetwater rep was there ALL THE WAY for me, too ! Thanks, guys !

  • from Earth October 7, 2011Music Background:
    Always learning

    A great investment

    The mic pre-amps on this mixer put a very clean and professional sound. The internal FX sound superb. You can adjust the effects however you want and save the settings.

    The fact that the controls are color-coded makes themixer easy to use. My only complaint is that the MFX-8 does not a master left/right insert inputs in case you wanted to run a feedback suppresser or graphic EQ rack thru all the channels.

    For the price, I picked this mixer over the Allen & Heath ZED-12 because hte ZED only has 6 XLR inputs. Overall, the Soundcraft MFX-8 was a great investment.

Questions about the Soundcraft MFXi 8?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close