0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Boss ME-50B Bass Multi-effects Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss ME-50B Bass Multi-effects Pedal?

Questions about the Boss ME-50B Bass Multi-effects Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Daniel Fisher

    One of the most overlooked features of the BOSS ME-50B (and ME-50 for guitar) is that it can be battery powered! While there are a number of fine battery-powered multi-effect units out there, few of them can boast 'one knob for every parameter.' If you like BOSS pedals (and so many pros do) you'll find that this pedal delivers the same tones and effects as the single pedals it's replacing, but now you can save the settings as presets and use it on the streets, with a wireless on the balcony, or even through your car stereo. (Please pull over first.)

  • from United States October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Recording artist that enjoys music from around the world.

    ME-50B Bass pedal

    Awesome all in one pedal. Now I won't have to have many different pedals on the floor. More than enough sound options for many music styles.

  • from Clanton, Alabama USA May 9, 2012Music Background:
    band member (bassest)

    BOSS ME-50B

    The Boss ME-50B is great. Now I can get the sounds just like the lead guitar. it's got every thing I wanted and more.


    Your Friend,
    Kermitt Duke

  • from United States November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Bass player for 25 years, recording and live sound engineer

    A world of difference!

    I am so happy that I purchased this pedal. I had been using a Line6 POD XT for years on both guitar and bass. I figured that "effects are effects", but was having difficulty playing live since I didn't have a footswitch.

    I was deciding whether to buy a footswitch for the POD or just buying a new pedal, and I'm glad I went with the ME-50B. I wasn't expecting such a huge tonal difference in using something specifically designed for bass, even without using any effects.

    The bass tone is HUGE in this pedal. And I love the aggressive distortion, which really fills out on stage.

    I was disappointed at first with the Hi Band distortion in that it's not much of an "effect". It seemed really weak - but when playing with the rest of the band it sounds awesome. The tone really cuts through the mix and doesn't sound distorted, just un-muddy and clear. It has become my "all the time" config, only switching to heavier distortion, or clean with reverb depending on what the song needs.

    I had considered buying the more expensive GT-10B since there is more flexibility in having more switches available and more memory banks, but honestly the ME-50B has everything I need performing live. I don't touch half of the effects that this thing is capable of, so I know that I would never touch the advanced features of the GT-10B.

    The construction is very solid and I don't hesitate to slam down on the switches when I'm in the moment. The expression pedal flips on seamlessly and adds a lot to your performance.

    The only downside is there is a delay when switching memory banks. This is only a fraction of a second, but is noticeable, so I'm careful to make drastic sound changes only in between notes.. It just takes a little more awareness while playing live so that there isn't a noticeable drop out of sound when you switch which doesn't bother me - but it may be a deal breaker depending on your playing style and needs.

  • from NJ June 18, 2016

    Impressive

    First, before you buy an amp, if you're just practicing headphone Jack is your amp. If you're like me and was gonna buy a chorus pedal (I would bought boss) possibly a wah wah, and a driver, you're in over the cost of this lovely little machine. Very easy to use, battery power as an option is a big plus (I'll go buy a 4.5v charger at radio shack instead of complaining about it, I use rechargeables anyway). I like the sounds, I like that it has a tuner on board, I like labeled knobs instead of surfing digital menus. If I could ask for one more thing in something of this nature it would be a USB to become an interface. But considering the price of just a chorus pedal or an inline chromatic tuner... this piece is worth more than the sticker price. This thing has more stuff than I would ever use covering songs but if you're feeling like you want effects and maybe don't know what you'll need. This has all of them. And again. Headphone Jack helps the neighbors from dealing with you and you can buy an amp later if you're not playing with a band yet.

  • from Pennsylvania February 5, 2016Music Background:
    40 years in/out of bands, studio work, etc.

    Great for Recording & then some

    Since starting to collaborate long distance (making backing tracks), and even in a band locally, I discovered that I REALLY like the Boss ME-50B. It's easy to bring out the sound of the bass guitar, even within a mix containing more guitars & keys than common sense might suggest. When you emphasize the left side of the device (Filter/Tone circuit & Compressor circuit), and then fine-tune the top (EQ) section, you can get some really sweet combinations from it.

    Just a personal preference, but there is nothing like the upper harmonic ranges produced by a Rickenbacker bass. With a combination of the "mid-shape" setting (Filter circuit), and punching up the high frequencies just a bit above center (in the EQ section), along with using the Limiter setting (part of the Compression circuit), you can get a really thick but treble-loaded punch that will cut through and distinguish the bass lines even with a church organ track beside it. I think that tone is great for backing tracks, because it's hard to tell what other musicians are going to do with them later when they add guitars & other instruments. Even a really low-cost bass guitar, with that Boss unit on the floor, can sound nearly as good as a Rick/Hartke combination. That's not easy to find in floor-based FX. It gives you many other direct-to-PA (or recording) options as well for live work. Most of my work says bass should be "clean," so I pretty much ignore the distortion options of the "synth" [middle] effect section, but I'm sure the new school players will dig that as well.

    It does gobble up batteries, however, and the lack of providing an AC adapter as part of the package is the main reason I knocked off that half-star. (You get about 6 hours of battery life if it is on constantly -- so you'll pay for the optional AC adapter in about 4 days of alkaline battery use.) The Roland adapter is recommended, and worth the extra 30 bucks.

    FWIW, I am primarily a guitar player. But I'm liking the 4 fat strings much better now that I have added the ME-50B to the gadget collection, and switched to flat-wound strings, of course.

  • from USA October 1, 2015Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist

    Lot of stuff in one package

    I was wanting to get a tuner, compressor and distortion pedals for my bass rig. Warwick basses and GK amps. I found this pedal to have everything I wanted and more. Operation is straight forward and it's built like a tank. Only problem I am having is adjusting the sound level to be even with my amp in bypass but I have only had it a few weeks and still learning all the bells and whistles.Would give it a 5 if the power supply came with it. The staff at Sweetwater were great at helping me with all my question.

  • from Chicago, IL January 27, 2016Music Background:
    local shows

    Great Pedal for the Price

    I have owned this pedal for over 8 years and have done countless gigs with it, and it's still in great condition. This pedal is super sturdy and you can count on it always working when you need it to. If your just getting into music or starting to buy pedals this is a great way to save some cash while getting a little bit of everything. I would recommend running through an effects loop to get the best sound. However the built in compressor may not sound as good...

    One of the down sides of this pedal is if you accidentally press two of the three stomp pedals at the same time you will either go into tuning mode or the storage bank of preset effects. This is annoying and can happen if your not precise with your footing. Another issue is when you are using multiple effects on this pedal. It may sound muddled or cloudy and will not sound as good as two separate together. Which brings me to my last issue, buying separate pedals is a better option than the BOSS ME-50B providing you have $100-$200 to throw down per pedal. That being said, I still use my Boss ME-50B today for a volume expression pedal in correlation with my Xotic SP compressor, POG 2, Xotic BassPreamp, Pigtronix Phaser....etc

  • from Cincinnati December 20, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good pedal, not the best for live

    The compressors and drives in this pedal are pretty nice. The main problem is that when you use the pedal in memory mode, patches either factory or by your own design, there is a noticeable delay. The sounds are great, the construction is top notch at this price point but if you save a really great clean sound and you step on a preset in which you have save a really great distortion there is a delay and your sound actually cuts out for a second. Pedal is best used in manual mode or in the studio. Great pedal but has limitations.

  • from AKRON, OHIO May 7, 2006

    GOOD MULTI EFFECTS

    FIRST OF ALL, GOOD, SOLID CONSTRUCTION. BEFORE YOU BUY THIS, REALLY THINK ABOUT WHICH EFFECTS YOU WILL ACTUALLY USE WITH BASS IN THE REAL WORLD. MOST OF THE EFFECTS HERE ARE WELL DONE. SOME ARE CHEESY. I FOUND THAT THE THINGS I REALLY WANTED TO USE WERE THE VOLUME PEDAL, COMPRESSION AND CHORUS. ONCE IN A WHILE THE WAH, DELAY AND DISTORTION DURING A SOLO. EVERYTHING ELSE SEEMED ONLY USEFUL TO HAVE FUN WITH AT HOME. IF YOUR MUSIC CALLS FOR A LOT OF EFFECTS, THEN THIS IS A GOOD, SOLID PEDAL. THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS, AS ANOTHER REVEIWER POINTED OUT, IS THAT EVERYTHING IS IN ONE PEDAL. NO CORDS EVERYWHERE AND IT DOES HAVE A TUNER.

  • from February 1, 2005

    BOSS ME 50-B

    This is quite possibly the best bass multi effects money can buy, and it isnt that expensive! absolutely brilliant, i have been playing for 4 years and bought this product fairly recently. it has so many effects and really helps me when i do gigs, loads of distrotion and heavy metal style sounds and it even has a built in tuner! what more can u ask for!!!!!!

  • from the netherlands December 1, 2004

    very easy to use

    many good sounds

    works great

    good value for not that much money

  • from Indianapolis, IN July 1, 2004

    ME-50(B)

    I played around with an ME-50 for about an hour while killing some time while my daughter shopped nearby. I bought both the ME-50 and ME-50B. I've dumped an 8-space rack of gear and can now carry all my effects, cables, wireless transmitter, etc. in a single laptop computer-type bag. All I need to do is swap out the ME-50 or the ME-50B depending on if I'm playing bass or guitar that day.


    Very easy to use and I find the presets very useful. I had practice with my band a couple hours after I bought the units and incorporated the ME-50B into our arrangements that evening...even found a couple of sounds that we were looking for but had never found. It's just what I was looking for.

Questions about the Boss ME-50B Bass Multi-effects Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway