0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Boss ME-25 Guitar Multi-Effects Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss ME-25 Guitar Multi-Effects?

Questions about the Boss ME-25 Guitar Multi-Effects?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Scott Augustyniak

    The Boss ME25 has been a great tool in my studio for recording guitar and bass tracks. There are tons of great tones and effects to choose from, and the Freeze effect is hours of fun just on its own! Also, the built-in looper is perfect for layering or even just practicing scales.

  • from Atlanta March 7, 2016

    Boss me -25

    This thing is awesome!!!! With just a pair of hear phones, you have access to a plethora of tones and if want to hook it up to an amp or a speaker system that's even better! In my opinion; in this price range you would be hard pressed to find a better multi effects pedal!

  • from New York January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Garage Band Musician since Grammer School

    BOSS ME-25 Secret

    This little unit is awesome. The secret to using it is to put a dummy 1/4 inch plug in the headphone jack when you run it into an amp. This causes the unit to engage it's speaker cabinet simulation. Give it a try and you will go.........WOW!

  • from Irvine, CA December 23, 2014Music Background:
    HOBBYIST

    Top 5 Guitar Pedals/FX

    Where do I begin??? So much amazing features that I really have not even discovered a third of it yet... Great pedal FX with a built in CHROMATIC TUNER...All I can say is that it sounds AWESOME!!!

  • from Fort wayne, IN November 4, 2014

    Tha last pedal you'll need

    I used an Epiphone SG with this unit and plugged this into a Peavey 2x12 combo amp, and HOLY CRAP this thing sounds INCREDIBLE. Its so versatile; it can handle clean tones, blues grit, or total death metal, and everything else you can think of. The effects it has are great, especially the harmonizers, and the expression pedal is versatile and fantastic. I wish you didnt have to buy a special AC adapter for it (it only takes a BOSS PSA adapter) but its not that big a deal. This is a screamin awesome pedal which will not leave you at a loss for different sounds.

  • from February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Veteran musician

    The Boss ME-25 Guitar Multi-Effects Pedal

    WoW! So far this is the easiest to use and it is programmed with excellent multi sounding effects. Worth buying.

  • from Auburn IL USA January 7, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Amazing Pedal

    I LOVE THIS PEDAL!! when my friend told me about it i wasn't to sure it had just come out and there were no reviews to back it up but now that i have it i love it it does just about everything i play worship at church and rock at home it has the tools for both easily i would definitely recomend this pedal to a friend

  • from St. Elmo, Illinois June 16, 2010Music Background:
    40 years-advanced guitar, not pro but good enough.

    Very nice.

    Absolutely better than any of the GT units. If you don't need/want all the extra stuff built into those tanks then this is the one for you. No nonsense, straight-ahead easy programming. Ten minutes with the manual and you are set to go. Cheaper than a bunch of boxes. Straight into the front of the amp. The preamp models are a plus. I set up a single channel for clean, next one clean/chorus-delay, next one crunch and the next one lead. Then going backwards from the clean I set them up the same except I went from clean to crunch to lead for a variety. Get exactly the same result as if I had seven different pedals in a row but not its one push instead of two or three to get my effects where I want them. Good tone, good sounds. Thank you Alan Carter for the sweet deal. You are an asset to your company and your efforts at customer service are top-notch! Thank you.

  • from NYC June 14, 2010Music Background:
    advanced

    Almost as good as it gets!

    I am an advanced guitarist, been playing for 22 years consistently.
    Playing through an all tube Fender Silverface Champ w/ Weber 8S speaker, JJ tubes, EVH cable, stock '09 Fender American Deluxe Strat w/ SCN pu's.
    This unit sounds incredible on almost all of the 60 presets. Sound stack and 'Solo' features work great.
    I actually can't believe how good this things sounds. I have a Fulltone OCD pedal, Boss BD-2, Boss MT-2, TC Electronic Nova System, Zoom G2, Ibanez Tube Screamer TS9DX. This thing is equally as good. I'm not kidding. I am very very picky with tone and have a very good ear. Don't even think about playing this through headphones or a solid state amp. You gotta have pro level: pickups, cables, and amp, then you're ready to hear the true tone of this unit. IT FRICKEN' ROCKS!! The MetalHarmony preset is SO fun to play. The wah is obviously not as good as a Vox wah or Crybaby, but is pretty good.

  • from Katy, TX USA March 9, 2010Music Background:
    semi-pro rocker

    Boss finally gets it right!!!

    Recently purchased the Boss ME-25. Finally, they get it right. Its a working man's effect unit and boy does it rock. Killer boss effects, looper, new freeze effect is groovy! 60 memories, and expression pedal, and totally user friendly. Plus, Librarian software for managing your patches, and Sonar 8.5 LE. I was blown away that boss made sure Sonar worked with the ME-25, and it did flawlessly. Simply, Boss has given us a unit that we can use everyday, or on the road without having NASA step in and program it. We musicians really dont want to spend time programming in a live situation, just a tweak and thats it!

    Thanks a bunch Boss, you make me wanna go and get a Boss tattoo!
    Bottom line the ME-25 is a superb unit, and a total must buy!

  • from December 15, 2015Music Background:
    Intermediate Guitar Player, Lead guitarist for a band

    Awesome!!

    So I bought a squire strat, like bottom of the line, used for $40. It has no tone, but it works. Later I picked up this pedal, and instantly fell in love with the tones I got. When I record some riffs, I loop them until I get the final product I aimed for. From jazz to hard rock, this thing delivers SERIOUS tone!! Constantly I have people asking me for my secrets of great tone. I just use the BOSS ME-25. Only bad part is I cant find sonar and distortion isnt as beefy as i thought. But the amp models are GREAT i use the rectifier, and 5150 for hard rock. But to enhance the tone(s) use COSM and place a headphone adapter in the PHONES area to get tube emulation. WARNING this pedal cranks! my 10 watt amp sounds like a 20-30 watt.

  • from January 6, 2015

    Happy dude with new toy

    Great little unit. Super easy to use after only a few minutes reading through the owners manual. Just what I was looking for.

  • from Saint Charles, IL USA December 1, 2013Music Background:
    Music i my Life and my Passion

    Monster tone and effects for a modeler

    The effects on this thing are amazing and the overdrive-high gain sounds as well. In the "Sound Library" the 1st gain tone under heavy can compete with some tube amps I have heard. The only problem is that the delay can on some settings sound thin, tinny, and digital.

  • from Florida October 22, 2015Music Background:
    Blues/Jazz guitar

    Great sounds for a good price

    If you only like five of the sounds this machine provides, you got your moneys worth. Just think of the headache and expense it would be for five individual sustain pedals, power chords, cables, etc. That's the way I look at it. I don't know why all the set sounds are so loud, but they are, so get ready to do some quick volume adjustments when you are trying out sounds. The good part is, you could customize them the way you want. I still haven't figured out how to use the wah immediately, but I have discovered a good thing with this. I hooked up my own wah pedal and now I have immediate wah access to any of the selected sounds, and when I take the wah off, it plays the normal selected effect. It's also nice because having the two pedals gives me access to volume and wah at the same time.

  • from January 9, 2012Music Background:
    Music.

    Boss ME-25 and all of it's friends.

    I did not buy this unit at Sweetwater, but I do own it, and it is an excellent piece of hardware. It functions as advertises as a mid-range effects processor, amp modeler, looper and audio interface. The effects are all customizable. For the price, I'd say its a good value.

    I needed to loop effected guitar phrases in short patterns, and short of buying an RC-30 and 3 other stomp boxes for effects, this is an all inclusive. The trade off, of course, is the 38 second limit on one loop channel. I would have liked to have seen some better filters on it, as the expression pedal is quite limited to the 4 listed functions... But its a 200 dollar pedal.

    I have to do some testing to see if the Audio Interface can capture a Stereo Signal, as the input appears to only support mono, however it has L/R stereo out. I dont know if its true stereo or if its just splitting the mono signal. There are no effects like ping-pong or panning that would suggest that it is full stereo.

    It linked right up to my DAW (Sony ACID) without issue after drivers were loaded. Sound is clean when recording and playing back.

  • from September 28, 2016

    boss 25

    I've had this pedal for about a month now and I gotta say, it's not bad! I've got a few good sounding patches made. Biggest down side is when you change patches, you can here the change. For example, I have a clean patch and a distortion patch on each side of it. So when switching back and forth, you can hear the change. But other than that, I'm pretty satisfied. Big shout out to Sweetwater for all their help.

  • from nags head, nc. usa December 26, 2011Music Background:
    had a gutar ever sense i was 10... now um 50 n still tryin.

    boss me 25

    the format is more like a zoom multieffx i utilised at one time...a little confusing at first but after reading and trial n error, you start to understand more about it. i am no tec head so if i can figure it out i think most people can. i had an me 50 and the effex are pretty much the same thing, the me 50 just had a more user friendly format. it would have five stars if it had the me 50 format, the quality n sonds of both units is the best money can buy as far as that goes i think.

Questions about the Boss ME-25 Guitar Multi-Effects?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close