0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Sennheiser MD 441U Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser MD 441U?

Questions about the Sennheiser MD 441U?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 8, 2017

    You need this

    I've used this mic on snare drums with great results but I stopped because the drummers kept hitting it with the drumsticks! Works on pretty much everything. Expensive but worth it. Great looking mic too. I don't know if they used this mic for the actual recording but check out the video: Stevie Nicks & Tom Petty - Stop Draggin' My Heart Around.

  • from April 5, 2016Music Background:
    Recording studio

    a must!!

    It is an incredible microphone, works on everything you want to use it, it's incredible on vocals, cymbals, and drums. It's a bit pricey but definitely worth having at least one pair

  • from Ozone Park, Queens June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Secret Agent #441

    If you need one mic, this is it.

    Worth every penny! Great mic that works in a variety of situations. Has a brightness switch and 5 different low cut points make this a versatile mic that can be used in a lot of situations and give you the option of many sounds.

    Love it especially on flute, but honestly, it's sounded fantastic on anything I've put it on. Vocals are smooth on this, too.

    Also a secret weapon on kick drums but you didn't hear that from me.

    Each mic comes in a nice hard plastic case along with an individual printout for the exact frequency plot of that specific mic. Nice attention to detail.

    There's a reason that most studios have a few of these kicking around. Also build quality is superb. It seems expensive but when you get it and use it, you'll feel it's worth every penny. I do.

  • from Murfreesboro, TN USA October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Guitarist, Worship Sound Guy

    Amazing!!!!

    I was lucky to get mine for the price I paid, but these mics are AWESOME! I was fortunate enough to use one in the past few years thanks to my sound guy. I bought one and I have used in guitar cabs, floor toms, kick, and vocals. I love this mic. They are hands down the best, most natural sounding dynamic mics out there. I love it so much on a cab. If you can afford it, get one!!

  • from IL. March 3, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, song writer, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    A FLOOR TOM MIC?-WOW

    Have two of 441 mics and soon to purchase another. I've used them to record for just about anything instrument you can imagine, they're FANTASTIC Mics. One of the great things about this mic is it's impressive sensitivity and ability to handle loud instruments levels. One day I was recording a band live and the drummer's floor tom mic sound muffled, nothing like the deep rich tone that it had. I threw on a 441 and I was amazed, literally one of the best sounding Floor toms I have ever heard recorded. Luscious and deep, clear and articulate...WOW.

  • from Upstate, SC December 14, 2009

    One of my favorites

    I have a number of microphones, including condenser and and ribbon type mics. For some reason, my voice sounds better on the 441 than on any of my other mics. When I'm recording a female vocalist, I tend to reach for a large diaphragm condenser.

    This mic has been used for recording electric guitar with incredible results, which is what I bought it for. The reason I discovered what it would do for my voice is that it was handy when I needed to do a quick voice-over for a multimedia project.

    As dynamic microphones go, it's not cheap. However, in my opinion the results you can get make it worth every penny. If I lost all of my mics, this would be one of the first I'd buy again. It's not a "one-mic-fits-all" kind of mic but nothing else will do what a 441 does well.

  • from Los Angeles, Puerto Rico, New York. August 1, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixer, Sound Editor, Post Production ( foley ),Live Sound Engineer.

    Awesome for Sax, Snare bottom even Vocals!

    I use this mic for lots of applications like tracking Snare Bottom, Guitar Cabs, Wind Instruments (specially on Saxophones and Flutes) and on some female vocals, like Stevie Nicks that used one! This mic is a workhorse it build to last and the sound.. I only dare you to check this mic by yourself or rent it, you will be blown away by the results. The Senn MD 441 is a must have!!!

  • from vancouver bc January 20, 2008Music Background:
    pro musician 25 years

    Overlooked

    This mic. has a great reputation for drums and some other applacations but where it really shines is live saxophone situations. The warmth, and rich round natural recreation of a good horn player's sound is beautifull. If you have ever played into a tinny thin sounding sure 57 and then experience a 441u, you will know what I mean.

  • March 29, 2006

    great on drums

    i go to school for audio engineering and we have 2 of these microphones at school. they sound awesome on floor toms and kick drums. the floor toms sound nice and deep. and the bass drums get a nice balance of boom and click. very good microphones for drums.

  • from Philadelphia, PA USA February 1, 2005

    I bought this mic brand new about 6 months ago. It comes in a nice plastic foam lined case, with the mic and mic clip inside. This mic has a really striking appearance. It is nickel plated, with a "leatherette" finish on the top and bottom. It feels VERY solid.

    There are two adjustments on the mic. On the bottom of the mic there is a 'brilliance' treble boost switch. And there is also a 5-position bass roll of switch, but in all honesty, I couldn't find it for a while! Sennheiser doesn't include any instructions which explain where these adjustments are, you are on your own. Anyway, the 5-position bass roll off switch is actually on the black plastic ring at the end of the mic, right next to where the cable plugs in. The ring turns and there is an "S" (for "speech") and an "M" (for "music"). The letters are on either side and there are 5 positions inbetween.

    In practical use, I've only tried this mic on vocals and electric guitar. I recorded my 1962 Fender Jaguar, with a nice clean reverb sound with this mic, and it sounded wonderful. WAY more "real" than my sm57. I haven't tried this on distorted guitar, so I can't comment. The 441 is very flat sounding though. This "flatness" really comes through on vocals. When I sing into this mic, it's hard to really describe...it sounds "different". Tweaking the adjustment switches is a good start, but will it sound great on your voice? I'm not sure what to reccommend. I haven't recorded vocals with it, but I plan to soon. I will post my results here afterward.

    But if you try to use this live (for vocals), be prepared for NASTY feedback. You've been warned!

    Overall, I haven't had a chance to REALLY put this mic to the true test yet. Only time will tell. But the fact is, it's a great looking, classic mic, that might work VERY well based on what you plan on using it for!

  • from Sofia, Bulgaria, Europe January 1, 2005

    Perfect!

    This is simply great unit. I use it for outdoor field recordings of animal sounds. But I own only one mic. Cannot find here a second one for a reasonable price. Any ideas?

Questions about the Sennheiser MD 441U?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway