0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Avid Artist Control Reviews

3.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    The Avid Artist Control has so much more functionality than my Command8 that it's made my workflow way more enjoyable. Besides the jog/shuttle wheel (which has changed my recording life), the touch screen commands are simply amazing. Embarrassed to say that I learned a bunch of new Pro Tools commands just by reading the touchscreen. Been using ProTools since version 1.0 and this is the biggest help/boon to Pro Tools that I have ever seen.

  • Danny Strickland
    from White Marsh, Maryland May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Controller

    I purchased the Avid Artist Control and 3 Artist Mix for my new Pro Tools 11 recording system and I am simply amazed at the ease of use and incredibly small learning curve needed to fully utilize the features. I rarely touch my keyboard and mouse. Setup was simple. My PT11 and I love these controllers. My sales engineer Mike Godlove steered me in the right direction. His advise and after purchasd support has been wonderful. I can access all the features and plug ins in PT 11 and they even work well with my Ableton Live and my Sonar 3 which was an unexpected plus.

  • Edward
    from December 10, 2012

    Sweet Product!

    Really great product! I cannot say enough about my time using this. Mixing is fun again!

  • James Kosch
    from Omaha, NE July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    What a time saver!

    After receiving my Euphonix Control and setting up a few macros for Logic Pro , I was ready to give it a test run, and WOW what would have taken me at least 10 minutes to create a new track with the different plugins that I wanted it took less than 5 seconds with a push of a button.

    I was amazed the ease of installation and the quality of the product

  • michael davis
    from dc June 23, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Euphonix Artist Control

    this is the best equipment i have purchaced so far

  • Jerry Grider
    from Indiana April 21, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Composer, Producer, Engineer

    Total Contol... Wow!!!

    I really did my research on the Artist Control before I made my purchase. This by far is the most intuitive controller to date in this price range. I was actually going to spend a lot more money on another product, but this one caught my eye. I demo's it, and fell in love. I use Protools and Logic extensively. I really needed to step up from my aging Mackie Controls and this was the perfect controller. I have access to everything...I mean everything. It's all at your fingertips so to speak. The touch screen is really like having another computer monitor dedicated to the access of shortcuts. It's quite remarkable. I am stubborn and hard to please when it comes to equipment, but the Artist control is amazing. It's smooth and the resonse is great. It took a bit of getting used to the Jog/Shuttle and playback control, but only because I was used to the Mackie. I am adding 4 Artist mix controllers to this and I will be set. This will be my new controller. I've read so/so reviews, but my experience with the Artis control has been without any problems. The setup took me 10 minutes. That's it and I was mixing a project. It was easy to navigate the controller too. It's very well constructed and a lot of thought went into it's creation.

  • Brennan
    from Lake worth,fl January 19, 2014Music Background:
    Mixing/tracking

    Amazing

    This thing is awesome. Increased my workflow immensely. And I still haven't completely figured everything it can do.

  • David Theroff
    from Moss Beach, CA January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound, Recording... multi-instrumentalist composer

    Wonderful

    I was using a PreSonus faderport with Digital Performer.. Although that got me by somewhat, it still only allowed me to do one fader at a time. The Artist control allows me to do banks of 4 at a time (and you can get the extension fader add on).. I use it with Motu Digital Performer on a Mac, and setup was simple, one to two mouse clicks and it was working.

    You have an app that needs to be running on the Mac called EuControl.. this app also allows you to add buttons on the touch screen of the artist control to control whatever you want. Any of the Key Combo commands in Digital Performer can be programmed as a button. It also works with just about any other Mac application... One thing I like is that sometimes while using digital performer I may want to go to a website.. when I first did this the artist control would switch focus to safari... You can change this behavior on the EuControl preferences to keep it focused on Digital Performer no matter what app your using..

    I really like the artist control and it makes things a lot easier. The only issue I have is with myself... I am so engrained to use the mouse and keyboard, I have to retrain myself to use the artist control buttons instead... that will take awhile..

  • La Forest Gray
    from Ocoee, FL September 5, 2012Music Background:
    Grammy Recording/Mix Engineer & Producer

    A Great addition to my Creative set-up...bye-bye DIGI 003...

    1st of all, I purchased the original one when it came out a few years, back...it was extremely buggy and I returned it after a few days....back then I was only using Pro Tools & Reason...

    A few years have passed & Logic Pro 9 & Pro Tools 10 are my primary DAWS, and although the DIGI 003 had served me well, it was time to move on from it, because I couldn't use it with L( and would become frustrated mixing with a mouse, after using the DIGI 003...hence, I took a LOOOOONG hard look at the MC Control...did a LOT of research on the new version and once comfortable...took the plunge. No-Regerts with V2.

    I need a control surface for both of the DAWS and wasn't concerned with DA/AD convertors (running Symphony IO) nor monitor control (I use the DM Monitor ST) and/or mic pre's...I'm good on those, so the MC Control seems to be the logical choice. It response well and gives me the hands on mix-control that I need and desire, so at this point I am VERY Happy & Satisfied.

    1/2 point taken of for the following:

    1.) Doesn't fully support/control all plugins both included and 3rd parties within L9/PT 10.

    2.) Get's hung-up from time to time, after closing outta PT10 to L9 & vice versea.

    3.) Lacks on outta box layout for L9, compared to PT 10 & I know this is most likely an AVID thing, but still.

    Outside of those, I HIGHLY can recommend this unit to add to your studio.

    ***Special Thanks once again to Bob Mondock....since 2005 you have yet to steer me wrong***

  • Your mom
    from December 5, 2012

    Love it!

    The Avid Artist Control is a great control surface for Logic. The ability to create custom soft keys for my most-used functions in Logic is real time saver.

    The only issue I have is the Studio Monitor Express software never reopens once it used the first time. The only way to get it to work again is to reinstall it and then set it back up. For this reason I give this unit 4 stars.

  • Antonio Valdez
    from Toledo, OH December 19, 2010Music Background:
    recording engineer, church sound, student

    Abit over priced, but still an awesome purchase!

    Great product! Its very efficient and a nice addition to any DAW. Im still a mouse guy, but for all my mix down and processing, this unit comes in handy. I would recommend it to anyone serious about needing a really nice control. It is abit over priced. Not for someone trying to save money.

  • Pete K.
    from Bakersfield, Ca. USA May 4, 2012Music Background:
    Live & Recording Engineer; Producer

    The Jury is still out!

    I gave it 3-1/2 stars because, I'm awaiting resolution on an issue. When the unit is working, it's fantastic, it's instantaneous response to commands and interaction with the DAW is flawless. While I haven't had a chance to use the full spectrum of it's capabilities, if, what I have used is any indication, the Artist Control is going to be a "kick-butt" controller. I don't have much realestate on my table so, the small footprint is great. I think if I had to make any requests for improvements, I would like to have a bigger touch screen and 4 more faders. But the controller seems to be quite intuitive and covers a broad spectrum of controls and commands. I think it's well worth the money. By the way, the issue I'm currently having is the "way too long" boot-up time of my unit.

  • Matt Bauer
    from San Francisco May 13, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Designer, Mixer, Audio Director.

    Great product with one fatal deal breaking flaw

    This is a great unit. and I use it a lot, but it has one fatal flaw that had I known about, I likely would have not got it.

    The surround panner is completely useless in Pro-tools.
    In Pro-Tools the surround panner is mapped to a square grid and in this device the surround panner is mapped to a circular grid.

    As you try to pan on the Artist control you can not achieve a 100% discrete pan to any of the 5 speakers around you. If you try to go front left corner you'll get a blend of front left, centre and left surround.

    Avid are aware of the problem but have indicated they have no intentions of fixing this any time soon.

    It's a deal breaker for me. Go with Neyrinck V-Control Pro and save yourself some money.

  • James
    from March 7, 2016Music Background:
    DJ Producer

    Not worth the money

    I can not believe the artist control cost me $500 more than what I paid for my machine studio controller that does 10x more and the quality of build is 10x better,
    its unbelievable, vastly over priced you will be disapointed.

  • Brian
    from Apex, NC June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Software Developer, serious Jazz/Classical guitar student.

    Over-priced and Under-supported

    I've had this unit since March 2012. I purchased it because my Sweetwater rep billed it as "the deeper and most complete control surface available for Logic Pro on a Mac". This was a few months prior to Avid's purchase of Euphonix who originally produced the unit.

    It worked great with Logic Pro 9 under Mac OS X Leopard. Then it died with an internal power supply issue. Sweetwater fixed it under there 2-year warranty. Then I upgraded to Mac OS X Mavericks and Logic Pro X.

    Since the the unit has stopped working, even with the latest diver installed from Avid. Now I have $1500 non-functional desk accessory.

    Avid is simply not supporting this product well under the latest Apple Mac OS and Logic versions.

  • Michael Monceaux
    from Austin, USA July 18, 2013

    When it works, it's lovely...

    Great hardware, with deeply faulty software. When it works, it's great, but it doesn't work a lot of the time. There are those that haven't encountered much trouble with it, but do your research - there are many encountering tons of problems with the software, mainly disconnect issues, and while Avid keeps promising the next patch will fix these issues, they thus far have continued to fail.

  • Allen
    from October 3, 2010Music Background:
    Musician/Songwriter

    Over Priced and Over Rated!

    This product is Over rated and Over priced. It does work fairly well with Logic Pro but the touch screen is too small and I doubt that it will have a very long life. The cheap plastic fader buttons are not secured to the posts and easily come off. There's also way too much function OVERLAP with this product and the MC Mix. Keep in mind that it's another "Made In China" product. I've returned both units to get my $3300 back.

  • Michael Wenz
    from Milwaukee, WI July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer, Video Editor, Audio Editor

    Prepare for frustration!

    It is really cool don't get me wrong. This thing has some great potential. BUT.... Very frustrating to setup and learn. Once you figure out the key commands and how to program them it is sick. But if you plan on using the CONTROL ROOM VOLUME KNOB FORGET IT. The knob is a hardware control for the "Studio Monitor Express" app that I have NEVER gotten to work correctly on Mac OR PC. Not even a sound, constant crashes of the SME app. The 8 knobs on the sides of the touch screens work good with Pro Tools but I hardly every using them, so that makes 9 useless knobs to me. I programmed all my own key commands for the soft keys and the touch screen and yeah that is the bomb. I use this with Ableton the most and that works ok aside from the Mackie Control channel limitations.eh, could be way cooler. I hope there is some improvement from the way things are as of July 2014. I have had this for at least 2 years and not much has changed. Read some of the headaches on the DUC forum. For the price I would PASS ON THIS!

  • Michael Smith
    from Colorado February 12, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Professional Musician,

    Returned.

    The initial shine and concept keep you enthralled for about 16 hours. Then the ugly realization hits you." I just wasted my money and my mouse/keyboard work better".

    Pros: good concept
    Cons: (everything else) way too small, poor construction, terrible software (up to date as of 2/11/2011). Extremely overpriced.
    MC Control - Completely skip this item.
    The transport section of the MC control is poorly laid out and requires full room lighting to use. Worse yet, the track wheel feels like it is a camera lens cover. It becomes extremely difficult to use. The fader finger rests will fly off the posts if you scroll between pages too quickly. Buttons impossible to use in a dark room.

    MC Mix - Better than the MC Control, barely.
    Suffers from the same issues with fader rests flying off. hard to use in darkened room. Shift buttons etc are neat in concept but just terrible to use.
    Eucon software- ugh.... Systems randomly cease to funtion when switching projects. Faders reverse order randomly. Just terrible.
    Power supplies - emit a nasty buzzing sound for about 2 weeks after purchase.

    I am anti-mouse. I found myself reaching for the mouse and using my pro-tools shortcuts on the keybaord 80% of the time.

  • Ben
    from Orlando, FL February 1, 2011Music Background:
    Lighting Designer, Producer, DJ

    Returned

    This product is a great idea that was poorly implemented. Everything is made of cheap plastic and feels like it will fall apart. The touch screen is too small and you can see the refresh in it. Worked okay with Logic but I could not get it to work with anything else. Overall, It is a cheaply made way overpriced poorly built piece of gear.

  • Roc
    from Ohio April 30, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    Just Doesn't Have It

    I've been using the Artist Mix and Artist Control now for 2 years and I have to say that it has not been a good experience at all. Units are not found half the time by the EuControl software. It has been very buggy from day one. I've been all thru the channels of getting it to work with Avid support. It will all a sudden start working for a week and then it acts up again. Constantly having to start the EuControl because it won't start automatically at times. It cuts out during a session at times too. Just tired of having to put up with it. Looking now at other options for a controller. My thoughts...Don't buy.

  • Chris Mclaughlin
    from Evergreen, CO January 10, 2015Music Background:
    High end home studio

    Very Poor Software - Broke after 1 year

    I bought this about a year ago along with the Artist Control. The software always seems to be at least 6 months behind updates to OS and I am constantly rebooting everything to get it to work. This occurred no mater what software I was running. The power button stopped working after about 6 months on the Mix series so now I have to unplug it physically to turn it off Both also disconnect pretty constantly requiring a reboot. DOES NOT SUPPORT YOSEMITE at of January 10, 2015. I have it and the computer on a dedicated ethernet gig switch. It also take quite a bit of time to learn how to use the knobs. Faders are good but you are also better off using keyboard shortcuts. First purchase with Sweetwater (and I buy a lot) that I really regret making. DO NOT BUY

  • Philip Rohr
    from Los Angeles, CA USA October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, studio owner

    If you like spending 15 min a session getting it to work///

    Then this is the controller for you.

    I use this with PT10 and 11 HD on a Mac Pro and it never fails to astound me as to how poorly the Eucon system works.

    I've just about thrown this thing across the room when, after finally getting it to interface correctly - it just stops functioning.

    I doubt it's the hardware - when it works it does help my work flow a lot, but the headaches it causes are numbing.

    If you consider your time valuable in any way - you should be looking elsewhere.

  • Ehrin
    from March 30, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Engineer

    Just didn't do it...

    I purchased one of these at the suggestion of a few people. When I first got it I was really impressed. The touch screen made it easy to access anything and it mapped instantly to both Logic and Pro Tools. That's about where the fun ended. I updated the firmware and it knocked the faders out of calibration. Then, when running Pro Tools, one of the faders would just go spastic for no reason. I did some checking online and found these to be common problems since Avid has taken over support for these. Lucky for me, Sweetwater has a great support staff, but even they were unable to fix my problems. I'm returning this and anxiously awaiting my MCU Pro to arrive next week.

Reviews

  • Brandon Smits
    7-16-2010

    I was understandably excited when I first started hooking up my MC Control in my home studio. I knew that this piece of gear would evolve my workflow as an audio engineer and a video editor, but I honestly did not expect that it would be so easy to set up. Much like my Mac, it required merely installing the software and I was up and running.

    Today's media professionals need to be extremely adept at learning new software with so many powerful tools in various DAWs and non-linear editors. If your workflow demands multiple DAWs or NLEs, or even if you use lots of shortcuts, the MC Control allows you to easily streamline your workflow. Engineers in the digital age know that the hard part about all these DAWs is keeping them straight, and being equally efficient in across the board. The MC Control comes to the rescue. It is application aware, meaning it will recall appropriate presets whenever any OS X app is active, and even lets you switch between applications with the push of a button.

    This saves you time no matter what you are doing on your machine, and I doubt I need to remind you that saving time is earning you money. It even ships with thoughtfully organized shortcuts for every major DAW (and Final Cut Pro), so you're saving time from the moment you start using it.

    Ever since I installed the software and plugged in the MC Control, I've been adding EQ, compression, and reverb, and mixing without even touching my mouse! The faders are responsive and high resolution, you'll love how they fly. So, if you're a serious engineer or video editor and you want to save time and money, buy an MC Control, you'll be investing in yourself.

Questions about the Avid Artist Control?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway