0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Malone Design Works MC Desk - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Malone Design Works MC Desk - Black?

Questions about the Malone Design Works MC Desk - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Seattle February 25, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Voiceover Talent

    Best Desk Ever!!!

    No fooling, this is truly a "Made in America" masterpiece! Jon and the crew there at Malone, Waco TX, have created a desk that really makes your studio pop, hides cables well, and arranges rack-mounted gear within arms reach. Not to mention it makes clients and colleagues say "WOW!!!" whenever they walk into your control room.

    It came almost fully assembled on a sturdy shipping pallet, boxed and well protected from damage. Only had to attach the two shapely legs with 8 screws, flip it over and done! I did have a friend over to help with the unboxing and very "careful" flipping part. It's at least a two person job. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I also added one heavy angle bracket to the left and right legs near the top. Painted them black and waited until the desk was upright and had weight on the legs before installing them, so I knew it was settled and squared up. I'm really glad I did because with all the gear installed, it gets a bit top heavy. I love the little shelves hidden in the back for all the accessory items like USB hub, HDMI switchers/splitters, power supplies, etc. And, the removable monitor shelf was yet another super feature by Malone Design Works.

    Finally, since I never use the sliding keyboard shelves, I removed it and added side-by-side equipment racks for my CDR recorder and MBox2 shelf. Brandon Eden at Sweetwater really made the purchase process simple and fast. He worked with me to get the "Filler Panels" customized perfectly to fit the Avid Artist series controllers I had purchased along with the desk. I had designed my new studio control room around this desk and it was well worth the wait, you won't be sorry!

  • from Los Angeles, CA September 27, 2014Music Background:
    Producer / composer

    Incredible desk!

    Great producer's desk. Super easy to set up. Looks so professional, takes my studio to another level. Highly recommended!

  • from Brentwood, TN April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What a GREAT desk!

    Quality of materials is top notch. Assembly is a breeze. Super fast turn around time from order to delivery. Well designed with some nice and unmentioned I think) extras - There are cable thru holes for easy cable snaking, there are a couple trays that sit behind the desk and below the monitor shelf for holding external drives, power strips, USB Hubs etc.. The keyboard tray is no cheapie. It feels solid as a rock! Easy reach to either far corner of the left or right rack bay. Plenty of clearance underneath for your computer tower. Super nice product! Five Stars!

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Mix Engineer/Producer

    Great desk for Artist series

    This is great desk for working on. It looks great, it is sturdy. It was easy to assemble, though I would recommend doing it with a couple of burly guys, or in my case, a tall skinny guy, an eager to help gal, and me, the guy with a bad back. The finishes are like you would find on a console in a large studio. The cable holes in the bottom back of the desk is a welcome addition, though could be a bit bigger. I only have 2 complaints, and they are very minor. Where the computer monitor sits is a little far for my liking, but it is the perfect height. And I would like to have just an extra inch of clearance between the keyboard tray and the console (I put a small 25 key keyboard just behind the computer keyboard for programming, but just the fact that I can do that is a plus). All that said, though, it is a well thought out desk. One of the first things I have bought with no buyers remorse.

  • from Boston MA July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Acoustician.

    Awesome Desk!

    When originally ordering this, I wondered if I should have gone with the desk Argosy makes for the artist series, but upon receiving the MC Desk, I know that I made the right choice! The desk is SUPER sturdy, and very well made. Putting it together is as easy as putting a few screws in the legs. Probably the thing that I am most happy about is how it looks. The pictures definately don't do this thing justice. It is very large and professional looking. The bottom and back side of the desk is also made with convenience in mind, as it has holes for cables where you need them, and shelves to hold USB hubs, cables, hard drives, and anything else you could imagine, while keeping everything clean and out of sight. I definately recommend getting this desk!!!

  • from Chicago May 27, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Designer/Recording Engineer

    Perfect for Artist Control and Mix

    I would agree with all the reviews here. Top quality craftsmanship, goes together easily, and looks terrific in my studio. A first class desk. Here are a couple of things that would have been helpful to know before buying it. 1. From purchase to delivery was 30 days. I wished it could have been faster. 2. If you don't need all that rack space and would rather have a shelf there it can be done, but for a price of course. I asked if Malone had a matching shelf which they did, but for $80 shipped and it would be 30 days. I'm not sure what the price is if you order with the build, but I went to Lowe's bought a black laminate shelf, cut it to fit and in 3 hours and 8 bucks I had a shelf. 3. It arrives boxed and on a palate via Fedex Freight and weighs approximately 225 lbs. The Fedex driver showed up with a Semi, no lift gate. It was a real struggle for him and me to get it off the truck without dropping or damaging, but somehow we did. I'd recommend that Fedex Freight shows up with a lift gate. Once it's off the truck and un boxed two fairly strong people can get it in the house. You're probably each carrying 75 lbs. 4. Shipping is not included in the price you see, which was just under $300. 5. I wish the legs had a screw in up or down part on the bottom to make it level. Seems like a nice feature that could be added with another trip to the hardware store, but should probably be on a $2000 desk.

  • from Oakland, CA April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Professional & Practical

    A desk that every studio should have for a professional look. The ease and use of this desk makes my job almost effortless. The Euphonix control & mix surfaces are right at your fingertips. Clients can get a "hands-on" feel for their mix and engineers can have their mic pres racked right in front of them. This is the best investment you can make at your studio if you're looking to impress your clients. The sessions keep coming as I get more and more compliments on how sleek and stylish the studio looks.

    There are so many pros, and only a few cons:
    The desk could use a few short racks in the back for racking power conditioners. I just bought some racks and installed them myself. It was quite easy and keeps all my power cables short and out of sight.
    It would be nice if there was a hook or a peg for headphones. I just keep mine next to the computer monitor, but I will add a peg for keeping the headphones under the desk and out of the way when I'm mixing with the monitors.

  • from Arnaudville, La USA September 10, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, recording

    Really good but could be better

    The good thing about this desk is the top of it. Everything from the legs up is top notch. It would be nice if there war racks in the back for fans as pre amps can get very hot. That being said its an easy fix. From The top of the desk its really great.

    The bad thing about this desk is the legs. They are flimsy and under the weight of a fully loaded desk they are a bit wobbly. As if that wasn't bad enough the way the laminated the material to it started peeling off the day i got it. I contacted Malone and they said they would get back to me about it but it hasn't happened yet.

    If they made some sort of retrofit legs that were as good as the desk I would give this thing 5 stars for sure. I'd give it 100 stars. The desk part is that good But I am very disappointed in the legs.

Questions about the Malone Design Works MC Desk - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway