0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Drawmer MC2.1 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Drawmer MC2.1?

Questions about the Drawmer MC2.1?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 26, 2016Music Background:
    Mix and Master engineer

    Crystal amazing sound

    I just say it's the most crystal clear transparent monitor controller. I replace my old unit and I'm using with my Antelope Audio Pure2 and all cables are Mogami gold!
    Amazing set up! All controls are soft and its built like a tank. Thank you Simon Pizzato for this recomendation.

  • from San Diego March 26, 2016Music Background:
    Studio

    2 years of Awesomeness

    I purchased this about 2 years ago for my desktop monitor control after considering the various Dangerous units. I am so glad I got this. After 2 years I have nothing bad to say about it. I already had a really good AD/DA converter...so I didn't need to pay the extra for one on this unit...and it saves money. The flexibility of the inputs and outputs are great. It sits right on my desk next to me and it sounds great. It has all I need and nothing more. Thus, I don't feel like a paid for a bunch of features I didn't need. It's perfect!

  • from Torrance February 4, 2016Music Background:
    Studio junky

    Don't think twice

    Amazing piece of gear...blows away the central station. better stereo image by far and built like a tank..

  • from Nashville, TN December 24, 2015

    Drawmer does it again!

    This is just what I was looking for. I found myself using the console less and less and the center section was more and more becoming what this Drawmer is already. This thing feels solid and works perfectly like my other Drawmer gear. Great purchase.

  • from Lotus, CA August 26, 2015Music Background:
    Wannabe producer/ Mixing engineer.

    Why wouldn't you buy this black beauty?

    I was nothing short of pleasantly surprised by this little magic box. So clean and simple. Being able to easily switch between my sono srp800's and my aventones has greatly improved my mixing. Make sure you have quality converters. I'm running the drawmer from an apogee symphony.

  • from July 6, 2015

    Absolutely Love it!

    The best STEREO monitor controller I EVER used. I couldn't live without it now

  • from Phoenix, AZ May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    Best In Class

    First review for Sweetwater. I have tried a handful of monitor controllers from passive to active in my search for transparency, features and build quality. I found everything I'm looking for in the Drawmer MC2.1...and for much less than comparable designs! It is robust, clean, powerful and feature-packed. I run my Focal Twins with a sub and also my NS10s with ease through this and have zero issues. It was this or the Dangerous D Box and after trying both I love this thing! You won't regret it!

  • from Jamaica May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixer, Producer, Musician

    Top notch gear

    A unit of this quality is worth twice the price of entry. If your main thing is sound quality then this is the one for you if you're looking for features then this bad boy certainly has enough to suite the most demanding setups.

    Some pople may say well why isn't there any digital connections? The Answer is quite simple....a good DAC is expensive plus if you already have a good quality interface/converters then its not a necessity.

    All in all i'm more than pleased with my purchase and thanks to Jason Koonz I got a good deal.

  • from Roswell, GA March 4, 2014

    Excellent 2.1 Monitoring Solution!

    Audio quality is completely transparent, exactly like it should be. If you have a high end audio interface you will hear everything exactly as it should be.

    Cosmetically the unit is built like a tank. It is larger than I perceived it to be based on the photos. The black brushed steel chassis is very clean and professional in appearance. The "on" light is a nice blue color. The pictures don't do this unit justice. In person this unit looks very high end. The volume knob is silky smooth when turning and the buttons are very smooth to press. The built in talk back mic is a nice bonus. One of the main reason I purchased this unit is I wanted a professional, transparent monitoring system that supports two headphone outputs with independent headphone volume control and this unit delivers exactly that. Having the ability to monitor just Left, Right, or Mono, is also huge as Mono monitoring is often overlooked by many mix engineers.

    I believe the only other major competitor worth looking at is for this quality and feature set is the Dangerous Music Monitor ST which is $2,000. The other Dangerous unit that is cheaper, called the Music Source, lacks feature parity with the Drawmer yet still costs more than the Drawmer. The only reason I could see going with the more expensive Dangerous Music Monitor ST is if you wanted 5.1 monitoring, which still requires an add on bringing the D-Box to more than $2,000. Otherwise, I can't foresee the ST being "better" than the Drawmer for 2.1 monitoring, just different.

    Don't let the $599 price fool you into thinking this a low to mid-end monitoring system. It's entirely high end, professional, and the quality (both physically and sonically) is far superior to most monitoring systems.

  • from Nashville, TN January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Touring/Studio Musician, Industry Trainer

    Great for mixing/mastering, makes

    While there are more expensive controllers that do all kinds of extra things, this is the controller you want if you need a high-grade A/B with all the standard necessities. Switch from A to B to C at a touch of a button, check phase and check mono mixes easily. Gain adjustments for each speaker, and 2 fantastic headphone outputs that have lots of clean power (I'm listening at a volume of 2 while recording!)

    Perfect for the project studio that wants to compete with the big dogs without having to pay for extras that are not needed in a small space.

  • from Lotus, CA July 14, 2016Music Background:
    Mixing and Mastering Engineer

    Great Monitor Controller

    Fantastic monitor controller for the price. We just switched to a grace designs 905 (analog version) at the studio and there was definitely not an obvious difference sonically between the two controllers. This is very impressive given the price difference. The main volume pot got scratchy after a year or else I would have given it 5 stars.

  • from Los Angeles, CA March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer, Mixer, Producer

    Killer Monitor Controller!

    I switched over from the SPL MTC 2381, the Drawmer is built much better than the SPL, has better functionality and sounds amazing. The SPL is made from cheap switches that wear out quickly and cause a lot of noise, but you can tell that the Drawmer is built with higher quality components, plus it has gain trims on the outputs which is great... except that they are located on the bottom of the unit so if you have it installed in a rack, it's a huge pain to adjust those. It also only has 2 balanced inputs and the unbalanced inputs don't compensate for the gain difference, so the level is MUCH lower than the balanced inputs. I ordered the rack kit for it, although I do wish they'd just sell it as a 2U unit without the kit that fits around the awkward rounded corners. I love that it's all XLR I/O on the back instead of D-Subs or 1/4". The dedicated sub output is great, the talkback sounds great and has a nice soft switch (so it doesn't hurt peoples ears when you press it).

    I did a shootout with the Lynx Hilo directly feeding my Bryston and Bowers & Wilkins monitors, using the Hilo as volume control against the Drawmer for Volume control into the same setup and I can't hear any difference in the sound at all, it's very transparent.

    Overall, I'd take this over a Colman Audio or Dangerous controller or SPL. For functionality, the Avocet or Grace Design would still beat this unit, but it's hard to justify spending that kind of $$ on a monitor controller!

  • from Nashville, TN October 5, 2015

    After using it for 1.5 years

    I still like my MC2.1 but after heavy use for the last year and a half the buttons have become very noisy and sometimes only pass signal intermittently. I still think it's a great controller for the money, but if you're a workaholic like me, then you may want to step up to something a little more solidly built.

Questions about the Drawmer MC2.1?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway