0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Ultimate Support MC-125 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the Ultimate Support MC-125?

Questions about the Ultimate Support MC-125?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Seattle area December 25, 2016

    Must have for the studio

    You've got an LDC mic or two? LDC tube mics; right? They're heavy; right? Maybe you have an almost priceless vintage Neumann, RCA. Some AEA, Royer ribbons in the locker? This is the stand you need. Its built like a tank. You can hang anything on it with complete confidence that your favorite mic will not end up on the studio floor. Just buy it! You can thank me later.

  • from Toms River, NJ August 8, 2015Music Background:
    Musician /Home recording studio owner

    Nice stand

    I am really happy that my Sweetwater rep Geoff Allen recommended this stand when I purchased my Rode NT 1 A mic. The stand is built like a tank and will be great for overheads as well I plan to by another soon.
    Thanks Geoff

  • from Brooklyn, NY March 23, 2015Music Background:
    Audio engineer / Music Producer

    Ultimate Support MC-125

    Dope Mic Stand, i recommend it to the world Ultimate Support have very great products.

  • from WV March 17, 2015Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist, Songwriter, Producer, Home Studio, Gear Fanatic.

    KABOOM!!!

    This was my first foray into a seriously professional mic stand; and I am thrilled that I picked this one! Every single component on this beast is serious high-grade quality and will EASILY last you a lifetime. So go ahead and attach your $5,000 mic to it and breathe easy. Your mic isn't moving anywhere other than where you set it up!

  • from United States June 30, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist recording engineer, musician

    Love This Mic Stand

    i got this stand free with a telefunken mic as a sweetwater special. i was expecting a junky stand because it was free. i was pleasantly surprised - very high quality stand. all the moving parts and adjustments move freely and smoothly and when tightened down - the stand is rock solid even with a heavy tube mic. the counterweight is great and the casters are smooth and also lock. very high quality stand - easy to position and stays where you want it. great value.

  • from Plant City, FL USA June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and live performance

    This Boom is the Bomb!

    This is the real deal. have a Neumann U87 that I did not trust to an ordinary boom stand. I purchased this stand hoping it was sturdy enough for studio work and protect my investment in the mic, and it is! This stand is heavy duty yet easy to move around due to the strong bas and casters. I do not worry at all about my sweet U87 falling over! Highly recommend!

  • from Los Angeles California January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Singer, Guitar Player, Drummer, Geek

    Great Studio Boom

    I just bought a second one of these for our studio, this boom is great for getting a stereo mic out over the drum set. The mic I use over drums most often is a big heavy custom built stereo condenser, I have no fears of it falling with this stand. I like this hardware a lot, the boom is very adjustable, stays where you put it and is easy to move around the studio.

    Good Music To All

  • from Canton, Ohio June 1, 2013Music Background:
    Project Recording Studio Engineer, Producer

    Peace of Mind for My Favorite Mics

    I've alway had to ask musicians to change how they were seated or move their instrument in ways that didn't always feel comfortable ... That's the beauty of an MC-125 ... they reach over/around about any situation, and they reach to the musician. They stay where you lock them. They don't droop with heavy mics. Really stable too. They look like their wheel base it small compared to how hi/wide they reach but the base is heavy and solid when the casters are locked.

    I waited too long to do this ... glad I did.

  • from Washougal, Washington May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Player - Recording Engineer

    Nice

    Very sturdy... good value!

  • from Glasgow, MT USA April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Sound engineer journeyman

    Does just what I wanted it to do.

    Got this to support my Blue Bottle. It does it very well. I wanted to make sure my Bottle was supported securely. This was Paul's recommendation and I have to concur. Very well built and the casters roll smoothly.

  • from LA, CA October 25, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer

    BEST STAND EVER!

    Disclaimer: This is not the biggest stand in the world. If you need a LOT of height and extension, there are better options.

    This stand is amazing. Its the stand I use for everything around the studio. It can be surprisingly compact, not really taking up more space than a typical tripod. Its extremely smooth, so smooth that when we shoot videos we use this to do our pans. Its that good. This stand is worth every single penny.

  • from Connecticut July 9, 2011Music Background:
    Composition Major from berklee College of Music, Certifide ProTolls specialist, Composer, Producer, Keyboards and Sax

    Ultimate support MC-125

    This is a great stand. High quality, well made and priced very fairly. I have recommended it to many of my friends who have also purchased it and love it. It doesn't get any better than this for the price.

  • from Boston, MA April 13, 2009Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Educator

    High Quality and Reasonable Pricing

    I have several heavier weight studio boom stands and the Ultimate Support MC-125 is the best balance of price and features. The wheels roll very smoothly and they are big enough to get over bumps pretty easily. They also have a wheel lock feature so the base of the stand doesn't roll away while you are positioning the mic. One feature that I like a lot is the mini-boom at the end of the boom arm. It can be spun without loosening the boom arm which makes it MUCH easier to thread into mic clips, which means less wear and tear on your fingers and the threads. The handles on the screws are really heavy duty and are big enough so you don't hurt your hands trying to loosen them. I use the stand to hold a pair of Earthworks omnis and a Jecklin Disk way over the top of drums or pianos and the stand feels very solid.

  • from Lansing, MI June 26, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician / Home Studio Owner

    Serious stand...

    This is no toy. This is one serious mic stand. If you're tired of heavy mics weighing down those cheap stands you have, or tired of not having enough height to overhead mic a drum kit, this is the stand.

    This thing is built like a tank. Solid threads, easy to operate, and very well engineered. Look no further.

  • from ken@kenjacobsenmusic.com May 26, 2008Music Background:
    Composer

    cool stand

    The roller blade wheels are just too cool and quiet. The stand is great

  • from North Carolina April 4, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist 30+ ys. Bassist 3yr, drummer for 2

    Does the Job

    This stand is heavy which is great. I have it extended over my drum set and have no fear of it tipping over. It can be difficult to move around on deep carpet. All of the hardware is metal including the twist locks. Very sturdy and have not noticed any sag or movement on the boom since I set it up with the mics in place. I am very pleased with this mic stand. Probably the best stand I ever bought to date.

  • from May 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Drummer and Producer

    Solid as a Rock

    My old Atlas studio mic stand was lost in a move so I needed a solid stand for my larger body Condensers. Primarily I use this for my vintage AKG Solidtube Mic. I can now rest easy since there is enough weight on the back end. I love the skateboard like casters for easy maneuvering and the wheel locks are great. Your expensive Condenser is an investment. Protect it with the right mic stand... This ONE!

  • from Buffalo, NY June 15, 2015Music Background:
    artist/producer/engineer.

    Ultimate Support MC-125

    Love it! I feel very secure putting my most prized microphones on this stand. Smooth and solid. Worth the investment.

  • from Waldorf, MD May 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound, pro musician 11+years

    A great stand. Price drop makes it that much better.

    This was my first forray into "higher end" mic stands and I have to say I am very impressed with it. The base is very heavy and the locking wheels make it very secure on carpet or hardwood. Everything on the stand is heavy duty and feels built to last. All of the clutches are tight and easy to manipulate, even though they are plastic. The stand is currently holding a Shure SM7B and a very heavy (and poorly designed) off-brand reflexion filter. The counter weight keeps everything in check and I have complete confidence in this stand. Great product at a great price!

  • from Oakland, CA April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Look & Be Professional

    This is an impressive mic stand. It can do it all. The counter weight is very handy with making sure my Blue & Neumann mics don't get banged around. Besides improving the overall look of my studio, the MC-125 is a workhorse and has been perfect for whatever I need to mic. The locks on the wheels are great for keeping the stand in position and easily move around the studio. I will be investing in more of these stands in the very near future.

  • from North Carolina May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Artist/Production

    MC-125 Boom Mike Stand

    This Boom Stand is very solid and seems to hold up pretty well its easy to put together and solid base supported

  • from July 20, 2011

    very stable and stays strong

    this mic stand is very stable and well adjustable too. and $200 dollars is pretty okay i think because i think it can last forever

  • from Oswego, IL July 12, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    This Stand Rocks

    Perfect for studios that want quality with value. This stand holds the heaviest mics with ease. The perfect angle, balance, and height are easily obtained and it rolls around like the big dollar ones.

  • from September 10, 2016Music Background:
    Bedroom vocalist and keyboardist

    Great strand for the money

    It doesn't take up a lot of room and it is great for my bedroom recording sessions.

  • from Peotone,IL September 5, 2016Music Background:
    Home studio, drummer musician

    Great Boom

    Outstanding boom. Very heavy and great for larger studio's. Be careful not to walk into that weight since that boom goes pretty tall. I put something on the end to caution anyone walking by. (when looking down to not trip over chords). Well worth the price.

  • from Frankfort, KY April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, live sound engineer, recording engineer

    Ultimate Support MC-125

    Excellent boom stand for the studio--solid as a rock! I have an OSS studio boom that lasted about 3 months before everything stripped and became about as useful as a boat anchor in the studio. This Ultimate Support stand blows the other away. About twice the price, but well worth it. I'll be buying a second one very soon.

  • from January 4, 2013

    Ultimate Stand

    Great stand - very high quality base with excellent wheels. the boom itslef could be a little longer but that's getting pretty particular. We are using it for a home studio and it maneuvers well from room to room - holds our Mojavi mic just great!

  • from United States June 13, 2012Music Background:
    Composer/Producer/Engineer.

    Sturdy, well made.

    Love this stand, especially the wheels. Just has a nice quality feel.

    My one gripe is the boom arm attachment to the pole, controls the extension and rocking (swivel). If you only want to rock the arm up or down, it can also cause the arm to slide in or out. You have to be careful with this because at large angles and the heavy weight, you can wind up with the arm moving. Sometime quite drastically. Something you don't want to do with an expensive microphone attached.

    As long as you're aware of this going in, it shouldn't be too much trouble. But Ultimate could look at this area for improvement.

  • from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil July 25, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician, studio owner

    This is it!

    It is the best cost /benefit of the market when you include quality as an issue.It's solid, versatile and able to handle those heavy tube mics up in the air.

  • from Dallas, Texas May 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, engineer, and director.

    Great stand! Terrible Packaging!

    5 stars for the stand. 0 stars for the packaging = 3.0 stars average.

    This is a fantastic stand if you don't mind working around something that is pretty dominating. It's exactly what I was looking for: heavy base (very heavy), counterweighted boom, articulated mic support, super tall, huge range, moves quietly and freely on wheels that lock easily with a single press of the toe, and release by pulling up with same. In a crowded room it might be overwhelming, though its design actually makes it easier to use where there is little room to maneuver, because the counterweighted boom and heavy base enable reaching over a fairly large distance with stability, and the wheeled base is not as spread out as far as most 3-legged stands.

    All in all, this is a 5+ star stand. I knocked it down a two stars in my rating because of the packaging. I'm not an activist or anything, but when I get a package with that kind of styrofoam that crumbles into a million little pills, I just don't like it. I spent more time cleaning up the mess it made than I did assembling and learning to use the mic stand. There are STILL bits of styrofoam in that room, in floor cracks, static-clinging to everything imaginable. And I was being CAREFUL not to let it get away from me or make a mess. This is the stuff that fell out of the box, which, once you've removed the huge, sharp, brass staples, really has no substance and can no longer contain that busted-up styrofoam.

    By the time it gets to you, it's been in several trains, a ship, maybe some airplanes, and a number of trucks and warehouses, and that styrofoam does not hold up well. The box would be plenty strong if it were redesigned, and they could stuff it with paper, cloth, cotton, or just heavy cardboard strips, and it could all be recycled in some meaningful way, plus it wouldn't leave a mess in your studio. But this thing brings a terrible substance not just into your studio, but into the environment, left to blow in the wind when it finally arrives at the dump.

    This is not OK, Sweetwater. I do not like being a part of this chain of environmental damage.

    That said, the stand is superb. You can't get a better one anywhere that I know of without moving up to the high-end movie production gear, not appropriate for a sound studio. Just be sure you need something this substantial. It's large and heavy, and merely adjusting the boom can take some strength until you get it balanced. But I would not trade it for anything. VERY HAPPY to have it.

    I'll gradually forget about the trauma of the packaging, and I'll just think about what a great stand that is, but next time I buy something — including another of these stands — I'll ask about the packaging. I simply won't do that again, not even for one made of solid gold.

  • from May 30, 2014

    Ultimate Support MC-125

    doesnt make a Reflexion Filter for this stand.. That is my only problem

  • from Saint Paul, MN June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Classical Performer, Music Educator.

    Good stand for one or two mics

    Not supportive enough for a surround tree. Very unstable. Will work fine with stereo pairs though.

  • from New Paltz, NY May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist/Bassist/Home Studio

    Pro Stand

    Nicely designed mic stand with a lot of adjustability. Came broken on the boom's weighted end from shipping damage, Sweetwater sent out a replacement boom right away. Buy a pack of Latch Lake Jam Nuts, it will be a much more secure connection for your mic...

  • from August 14, 2015

    Great when working. Not great otherwise.

    These stands are really sturdy and great when functional—no problems there. However, I've had the screw on the boom strip three times on me! (on two different stands) Really nice of them to keep sending me new booms under warranty, but there's got to be a better design. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, maybe my clients are doing something wrong, I have no clue. I know of other studios that have had the same problems in the past.

  • from Lehighton, PA November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Musician/Programmer

    Almost...

    Almost... I really thought it was the perfect mic stand... until.
    Plastic components = junk.

    For nearly a $200.00 mic stand I was expecting something that would hold my heavy condenser upright. Unfortunately, the PLASTIC clutch slips and the boom is set free causing the heavy condensers to spin around (similar to the bottle rocket and on horse tails on the movie Joe Dirt)... Come on Ultimate Support, literally everything about this mic stand is iron man, except that plastic tightening clutch that holds the boom. Let's take a couple dollar hit next quarter and replace this with an all metal solution for 2015.

Questions about the Ultimate Support MC-125?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway