0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Mesa/Boogie EL-34 STR 447 Power Tubes - Matched Duet Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie EL-34 STR 447 Power Tubes - Matched Duet?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie EL-34 STR 447 Power Tubes - Matched Duet?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 8, 2016

    Great Sound

    Great tubes!! The sound is clean and crisp and you get a very nice overdriven sound from them. The clean channel is excellant bright and jangaley.

  • from Lexington, KY February 29, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging modern rock for 8 years.

    Awesome upgrade for Blackstar HT

    I recently replaced the stock Ruby brand power tubes in my Blackstar HT Stage 60 with these Mesa STR 447 EL-34's. I immediately noticed the huge difference in clarity over the Ruby's. I play long scale baritone guitars with heavy gauge strings detuned to drop C#, so chords on the low end can get a bit muddy if the EQ isn't quite right on the pre. I no longer have that problem. Granted I've always loved my tone through the Blackstar combo, but this tube upgrade has added serious color that I did not have before. My sound is based around a bass and treble boost with a mid scoop typical of modern American hard rock, so the punchier and clearer the better. These Mesa tubes gave me exactly that from the get go. If I hit an overdriven power chord I can easily discern each string, and if I palm mute the same thing I get that beautiful "chunk" that rattles the walls. Highly recommend these for any Blackstar owner.

  • from NY USA December 15, 2014Music Background:
    30 yr gigging muscian

    Mesa branded EL-34 STR DUET

    Mesa branded tubes in my Blackstar studio 20 combo .These tubes brought it back to life .Mesa amps and parts are built like tanks. I am replacing all my tubes with them as needed. Perfect.

  • from mobile,al September 24, 2014Music Background:
    musician since 1977

    EL-34 MESA TUBES

    I have owned Mesa amps since the early nineties, and have learned, the expensive way, Mesa tubes are the only tube for your Mesa amp. They literally designed the amp around these tubes, so…unlike other manufactures amps these sound like I want night after night.

  • from Dothan, Al July 17, 2011Music Background:
    35 years getting paid to do what I love

    Tubes from sweetwater

    Ordered a set of tubes and one arrived damaged. The crew at sweetwater immediately sent a replacement. They communicated effectively throughout the entire process. I've always had great dealings with them and would highly recommend them to anyone looking to buy gear.

  • from Nicholson March 26, 2015Music Background:
    rock , blues , jazz

    Mesa Recto ReTube

    Mesa dual recto 100 power amp ReTube with EL-34 tubes . Lots of headroom and even ordered harmonics .

  • from miami, FL October 27, 2016

    MARIANO B

    AWESOME TUBES,I USE IN MY MESA BOOGIE MARK IV....BEST SOUND,BEST TUBES.

  • from Minneapolis March 25, 2016Music Background:
    alt rock, performing, writing, recording

    mesa boogie el34s sound

    I will comment on sound as I just installed them, so can't speak to life or reliability. I used these tubes as replacement of some ruby tubes in a gibson goldtone GA-60RV. I biased the tubes according to the recommended specs. I should note i also replaced the preamp tubes with electroharmonix 12ax7s at the same time , so that likely affected the tone as well.
    The distortion channel is the best on this amp. It is nice and warm with just enough top end sizzle. Kind of marshall like but a little smoother. Probably doesn't cut through a band too well but great for practice and recording. I usually play through it with a PRS with double coils/humbuckers).
    How these tubes affect the tone is very subjective. But my impression is that these tubes give the tone a little more bite or crunch in the upper mids (maybe 2 to 6k?),a little more aggressive in a good way. I like they way they sound.
    (I will also just note these tubes have one less pin on the bottom than the rubys even though they are both EL34s, -thought that was odd. maybe the pin on the ruby isn't actually used?).

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie EL-34 STR 447 Power Tubes - Matched Duet?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway