0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Mesa/Boogie 6L6 STR 440 Power Tubes - Matched Duet Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie 6L6 STR 440 Power Tubes - Matched Duet?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie 6L6 STR 440 Power Tubes - Matched Duet?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 1, 2017

    Mesa tubes

    these tubes brought a peavey 5150 combo back to life. I bought it locally and it had plenty of high gain but no low end. Changed the power tubes and the thing is a beast now. The amp is fixed bias like my boogie so I just switched them without checking current. You may want to check with an amp tech before you do. I had great results!

  • from September 4, 2016

    tubes/mesa boogie

    awesome....:)

  • from Dade City,Fl. May 25, 2016Music Background:
    Guitars/keyboard/vocals/harmonica

    Mesa Boogie Rocks

    I did not realize the difference new tubes could make. Sweetwater got them to me quickly,as usual, and my Mark IV sounds better than ever! Hats off to Kurt Martin.

  • from Michigan May 4, 2016Music Background:
    I am an armchair rockstar.

    Big change.........

    I recently purchased a used Peavey Valve KIng 2x12 100 watt combo amp and it needed an upgrade from the tired Ruby 6L6 power tubes. I read and viewed many videos on the best tubes for my amp and the best tube was the Mesa/Boogie 6L6 Glc STR 440 tubes. All of the companies I looked at only sold them in Duets. I called the guys here at Sweetwater and I told them that I need 4 tubes and they told me that they would put 4 together that where made in the same batch and really appreciated that they would do that. Anyway I received them and they where packed very well. I put them in and WOW!!!!! what a difference. Very quiet and clear sound. My amp never sounded that good new.

  • from April 15, 2016

    You are the best!

    Excelent product and Service!!!!

  • from Shamokin, Pa June 11, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist of We The Assembly

    The Only Ones to use In a Mesa/Boogie Amp

    These tubes are what should be in every musicians arsenal! I use a Mesa/Boogie Single Rectifier Solo 50 Series 2 head (sad to say they don't make these heads anymore because they are fantastic!) and I its like ice cream cake! Who doesn't like ice cream cake?! You're insane if you don't! I like to think that said amp I use is like the last one on the planet and it keeps up with every high-gain amp out there. With these tubes its all possible!!!

    Thank you Sweetwater for keeping these in stock! Im a frequent buyer!

  • from May 28, 2015

    Great Tubes

    I replaced a set of six JJ EL34s with these Mesa 6L6s in my '99 Triple Rec.. I couldn't be happier. They performed as expected of a Mesa product.

  • from Niagara Falls, N. Y. January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Mesa Tubes

    These are the only power tubes that I use in my Mesa/Boogie Amps! Excellent performance!

    Sweetwater is where I buy them!!

  • from Waukegan ,il September 23, 2014Music Background:
    enthusiast

    mesa 6l6

    Clean and clear tubes just what I needed for my evh

  • from DFW Tx June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Picker

    Mesa 6L6

    Great tubes, easy swap with fixed bias, thanks TJ

  • from United States May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior/Metal and Rock guitarist

    The only tubes I prefer in my Peaveys!

    Great tube performance with the Mesa's. Awesome service from Sweetwater! The only online distributor I care to order from. Thanks guy's!

  • from March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great product!!!

    Replaced the old tubes in my Mark 4 Boogie with 4 new Mesa/Boogie 6L6 STR 440 and the amp completely came back to life….The amp took off like a rocket & is singing again!!!! I'd recommend these tubes to anyone, absolutely worth every penny!!!

  • from Streamwood, IL January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Non-professional guitarist

    New tubes do make a difference

    One of the output tubes that I had in my 100 watt MB Mark III for years developed a short (causing a crackling sound from the speaker), so I decided to replace the whole set of four. With the new set, I'm getting better sustain, even with clean tones, than I got before the old tube went bad. I recommend Sweetwater as your go-to source for tubes, and Mesa-Boogie tubes for use in MB amps.

  • from YORK,PA July 23, 2013Music Background:
    RETIRED SEMI PRO MUSICIAN

    NEW LIFE FOR OLDER MESA,EXCELLENT SALES-SERVICE

    WOW!WHAT A DIFFERENCE IN MY LONESTAR,REPLACING MY OLD WORN OUT TUBES WITH THESE BABIES.GETTING BETTER YET AS THEY'RE BEING BROKEN IN.GREAT TONE TRULY DOES INSPIRE YOU TO PLAY MUCH BETTER.THANKS,SEAN,FOR YOUR FOLLOWUP AND TRUE CONCERN FOR MY NEEDS! CLAIR

  • from July 1, 2013

    Boogie Good!

    So far so good. love the boogie tubes. I want to keep the stock boogie tone as close as possible. The tubes did not fail just replaced the power tubes every year or 2
    Mesa Boogie Mark V

  • from Spokane, WA March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Playing gigs 2 nights a week...20 years playing guitar.

    Sweet Tone

    I bought a little Pignose G40V and the tubes needed to be replaced. I figured, you can't go wrong with Mesa Boogie gear. I put these 6L6's in along with some new 12AX7's and WOW!! I love the crunch this little Pignose puts out. The really cool this is that I can leave my 4 X 12" cab at our practice space and just carry the Pignose combo home with me--its so nice and light but still has killer tone. Then, when I'm with the whole band it has no problem pushing the 4 12's. It's the best of both worlds in my opinion.

  • from Flint, Michigan June 29, 2012Music Background:
    pro guitar

    Mesa/Boogie

    Despertly needed this 1 day before benefit gig. Placed order. It was delivered next day before gig. Sweetwater never lets me down, I got it for fraction of price that a I would have paid here in Flint. Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from McHenry, IL February 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobyist.

    Great tubes from a great company

    Id like to know how the person claiming that these tubes arent matched tested their tubes to prove that they werent. If you have that kind of equipment you dont buy all ready matched tubes. I smell some BS brewing in that persons coffee pot. Thes tubes are great. They are rich and full of detail. They actually have a lot more chime and presence than JJ 6l6's in my opinion. And for mesa to use them knowing they are chinese I think speaks volumes about them. Mesa isnt a fan of china. They wont even use the chinese V30 speakers. To me that says alot.

  • from Sayreville NJ July 19, 2011Music Background:
    Humble Guitar God

    Mesa/Boogie 6L6 GC STR 440 Duet

    received my new tubes for my mesa recto-verb from sweetwater... got great service and a good price.. the amp roars with the new tubes

    A ++++

  • from Hyde Park, NY November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer

    Mesa Boogie 6L6 tubes...

    I've used these tubes in my Mesa Boogie Simul Class 2:90 amp for about 20 years. Just put 8 new ones in and they sounded awesome at rehearsal. Sticking with a good thing.

  • from Portsmouth, NH August 6, 2013Music Background:
    giging musician

    mesa tubes

    Sweetwater is the only company that carries Mesa brand tubes.
    I've only tried GT tubes in my Mesa amp and they did not seem to last as long as the tubes I purchased direct from Mesa (in Ca.)
    I am now a Sweetwater customer due to their customer service.
    They had both the power tubes and the preamp tubes in stock (Mesa brand) and the price was same as Mesa.

  • from Maui, Hawaii March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/engineer

    Baby Boogie

    My "Son of Boogie" amplifier sounds great! Its really a relief to have a source of quality products to keep my equipment running and sounding awesome.

  • from Oregon January 9, 2017

    Good Tubes

    I have tried several tubes in my JP-2C and i went back these factory tubes.
    Good balanced tube with 6L6 thump and chime.

  • from Ohio July 9, 2016Music Background:
    classical, historic, R-n-R , metal

    Mesa / Boogie 6L6 GC STR 440 Duet Tubes

    Installed into a Silvertone 1484 , these tubes sound very nice ; the amp uses 2 (both of the originals were shot) and it was nice to find a reasonably priced matched pair sold together.

    Usual excellent service from Sweetwater meant quick delivery and no "B-stock" .

  • from Buffalo, NY March 2, 2015Music Background:
    amateur drummer, recording engineer, & electronic repairman

    Sound great in Peavey Classic VTX

    I replaced these tubes in a Peavey classic VTX for a guitar player friend of mine. He needed the tubes replaced because they were both busted out (I'm sure there's a story behind that, but he admitted nothing). Anyway, these matched tubes are a perfect drop-in replacement for the original tubes that were in there. He was BLOWN AWAY by how much better the amp sounds now than it did before the tube replacement.

  • from bethlehem,pa usa February 7, 2013Music Background:
    guitar builder,long time musician..

    Mesa/Boogie 6L6 GC STR 440

    these are for a mark V combo that i got that had EL34 tubes installed
    this 6L6 tube definately adds another dimention to your overall tone.. warm crisp clean channel,,good sound overall in ch.2 and 3
    sweetwaters service and shipping was perfect..can"t be beat!!
    keep rockin!!!!

  • from Danville KY May 9, 2012Music Background:
    30 yrs Rock Guitar

    MB 6L6 Tubes

    They're the only one's I'll trust in my Nomad Head, Combo, and F50 Combo.

    Same price and Free ship make this a no-brainer!

  • from August 22, 2015Music Background:
    20 years playing, biasing and modding my amps

    Get JJs!!!

    I used these in a Crate BV-120H and although they sound better than the stock Groove Tubes, in my amp, JJ tubes are just better. They where somewhat matched but I had to swap them around a few times to get an ALMOST balanced output stage. They had nice breakup but obviously these tubes aren't biased so high in a Mesa amp since the Mesa sound is 100% preamp driven... If you own a Marshall, EVH or any high gain amp that isn't a Mesa, GET JJ's!!! I've also tried Mesa 12AX7's for the drive and they sound a little weak compared to JJ's and even the Groove Tubes. I also found out these are the same Chinese tubes as Ruby and Ruby's suck bigtime!!!

  • from Michigan April 29, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Performing Musician

    Be Careful

    These tubes are okay...but that is the best they've ever been for me, just okay. I've owned a Mesa Express 5:50 for roughly 6 months and it blew one of these on the 2nd gig. I know it happens...sometimes, ya just get the bad one out of the batch. So I decided to give them another try, although I used them in my twin reverb. I blew 3 of them over an 8 month period. That's when I learned that these tubes are completely unpredictable. You never know what you're going to get when you buy a pack of these. My Mesa has not blown a tube since the first one, but my twin blew 3. These tubes don't even come close to JJ's as far as reliability. JJ's are cheaper too. I think Mesa sacrificed the quality and reliability for the convenience of not having to bias the amp after changing output tubes. I probably shouldn't have used them in a fender amp anyway, seeing as Mesa output tubes are generally not designed to work as hard. Tone comes more from the preamp. In the end though, a tube is a tube and it should be able to hold up in any situation. Mesa: GREAT amps, not so great tubes.

  • from December 12, 2011

    Not Matched

    These "matched" 6L6 tubes were not even close to being matched. Very poor quality.

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie 6L6 STR 440 Power Tubes - Matched Duet?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway