0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Gallien-Krueger MB500 500-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB500 500-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head?

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB500 500-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Harlem , New York August 27, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist /Electric, Acoustic

    36 year wait for an Upgrade

    I'm asking my Friend at the time Peter F guitar player for Chubby Checker.What Is the most powerful Bass Amp on the Circuit right now? His answer was The Gallien Kruger 400 B. That was the year1980. From then until now that Amp has been Outstandingly Faithful. Just purchased the MB 500. Two weeks ago and just finish a Live Gig in front of 3 Thousand People. My Sound was incredible. That compliment came from the Sound Man on the Gig. Looking Forward to another 36 years of Great Sound. Thanks Gallien Kruger !

  • from Cincinnati June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Bassist

    Incredable

    I am absolutely blown away by these amps; Lightweight, well designed, well built (in the USA) and LOUD! GK squeezes every bit of volume out of the 500 watts-it is way louder than my 700W amp by another brand.
    I also want to give a shout out to the inclusion of the GIVE boost circuit with foot pedal control-it's the perfect thing to go from a fat sound to one that really cuts through the mix for when the guitars go from clean to overdriven.
    The only Criticism I would have is the Baked-in slightly "scooped" quality the preamp has-Some people love it, but it's not quite my cup of tea. That being said, it's easy to eq out by just rolling off the treble and bass knobs of the 4-band eq to about 10 o'clock.

  • from Rochester, NY March 4, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player

    GK MB500 Micro Bass Head

    Perfect. Light, has power. Not sure about the foot switch that was included, couldn't hear the difference.

  • from Annapolis, MD August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Part-Time Musician

    Amazingly reliable

    Bought this on a whim when my older Amp burnt out. I compared this to several other "ultra light" heads and the tone on this GK head really stood out. I used this amp HEAVILY, Playing about 3 gigs a week for 2 years, and took it to every practice. I never once had an issue with this amp. It was recently stolen from me, so I will be returning to buy another one of these (might try the mb fusion this time out of curiosity).

    The controls are not fancy but I was always 100% happy with my tone when I plugged in.

  • from Petaluma, CA August 25, 2014

    Great Amp

    When I first saw this amp in the store I couldn't imagine something so small could sound so good and be capable of such volume. Having 2 channels is great and I especially like the grit the boost setting can give you on channel B. I played a gig with it the day I got it and it was plenty loud for the club with room to spare. Very easy to get good sounds out of it quickly and the headphone jack option is a great feature. I'd suggest having a bag or case to carry it in. It seems well built but probably wouldn't take a fall too well (not that any amp really does).

  • from Asheville, NC May 4, 2014Music Background:
    16 years bass player, Semi Pro, Gospel and R&B, Producer

    Awesome Bass Head

    This is a great head! As soon as I hit my first note I could hear the quality of this unit. The eq and limiter work well. For my style of playing, the contour knob gets used very often and allows me to go from a slap tone to a smooth tone in no time. The DI output is very very clean. The head has a very clear and precise sound to it that fits my needs perfectly. I use this head with my GK 115 MBE-II Neo Cab and love them both. This head is small enough to fit in my SKB-GB44 gig bag which makes getting to gigs easy. My Sales Engineer IsRael F, was very easy to work with. He had my gear on the way in minutes. I would definitely recommend this head (and sweetwater) to anyone.

  • from mansfield ohio August 7, 2013Music Background:
    40 year pro musican..music store owner..

    GREAT BASS AMP

    this amp is everything I thought it would be..it kicks,,it has hugh power and tone..I like the eqing makes it easy to set up..and every time I turn it on somebody says I can.t believe that sound is coming from a 4.7lb amp..I WOULD recomend this amp to anybody who wants a great bass sound..and its made in the USA !!!!

  • from Puerto Rico August 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gallien-Krueger MB500

    Awesome amplifier, fits anywhere and responds great.

  • from DISTRICT HEIGHTS M.D February 2, 2012Music Background:
    PRO CHURCH MUSICIAN.

    GOT TO BUY THIS HEAD

    I CHECKT THIS HEAD OUT AT MY LOCAL MUSICSTORE AND IT BLEW ME OFF THE STOLE I WAS SITTING ON OFCOURS IT WAS COMMING OUT OF A 210&115CABS BUT IT HAS THAT PUNCH&LOWS THAT I LIKE & I WILL BUY THIS & CAB REAL SOON.

  • from Wichita, KS November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Church, Gospel, Concerts

    Good Head

    I bought this head a week ago and was a lil skeptical about it at first.. but once i plugged it in, omg it was amazing. The sound and to be this small is very powerful. has a lot of range. I will recommand dis head to anyone..

  • from Leander, TX August 30, 2010Music Background:
    Bassist, studio engineer and producer

    Gallien Krueger MB500 micro sized bass amp with super size features.

    1st impressions: This is one pretty shiny little thing, amazing something so small and light can have all these features and power. It is well put together although there is a slight sound on the shake test. My only issue so far is the placement of the limiter switch, this switch could be damaged if rack mounted, would rather it was on back panel. Thru my Walter Box 1x10 it is surprisingly warm but much of that is an artifact of the speaker, it easily fills the room with warm round bass, perfect for those little sit down gigs or for recording. The small footswitch included for boost is a nice size with detachable cable and includes a status LED, nice touch. I transport my pedal board in a keyboard bag and the MB500 fits in the front pocket perfectly, very handy. First gig with a loud rock band pushing a 2x15 EV & 1x12H was loud and clear, with the master half way up was plenty loud and the DI out worked flawlessly. 2nd gig was a moderate volume outdoor jazz thru a 1x15 and once again the MB500 shined thru nicely.

  • from New Orleans September 18, 2016Music Background:
    30+ years semi pro

    My New Go-To head.

    Finally had to replace my old 1001RB. Considering other brands but came to my senses. Portability, power, and punch right outta the box! 4 gigs and a rehearsal and counting. No buyers remorse here.
    And, oh yes, excellent customer service

  • from Louisiana August 12, 2016Music Background:
    Part Time Pro

    Great GK Bass Amp!

    I just finished my first gig with this amp and let me say I am very impressed. This amp sounds way better than my previous amp head (Markbass Little Mark Tube 800). The tone is amazing and I dialed in "my" sound in about 30 seconds. Its very easy to use and very lightweight. I play a MIA P-Bass through this amp with a Mesa/Boogie Traditional Powerhouse 2x10 cab and I can easily hear myself in the loudest situations. My band mates have complemented me on my tone and how loud the amp gets. I took a half star off due to the "cheap" feel of the housing. Other than that, this amp is amazing! The Sweetwater sales team are some of the best group of people I have encountered. Great service and support. Buy Now!

  • from Louisiana August 12, 2016Music Background:
    Part Time Pro

    Great Head!

    I just finished playing my first gig with this head and I really like tone and power that this amp has. It is very light weight and I dialed "my" sound in about 30 seconds. Compared to my previous amps (Markbass Little Mark Tube 800 and Markbass 1x15 combo amp), the GK MB500 sounds better and has an overall "cleaner" sound than the Markbass products. I play this head with a Mesa/Boogie Traditional Powerhouse 2x10 cab with a MIA P-Bass and I could easily hear myself over the band I play in (Guitar, Drums, Keyboard, 2 singers, and Accordion). I received nothing but complements from my band mates. I knocked off .5 a star due to the overall "cheap" feel of the amp. The metal housing feels cheap compared to the Markbass Heads that I have owned, but otherwise I would take the GK any day over the Markbass. I have finally found my sound and tone. I would recommend this amp to anybody and this is by far the best amp in its price range IMO. Buy now!

  • from Newport News, Va. March 5, 2016

    MB500

    Bought this amp with the CX 210 and CX115, down sizing from my SWR Bass 750 and Goliath lll ( also occasionally a Big Bertha 2-15 cab). The MB 500 has plenty of power. Very punchy and clear. Didn't take long to dial in the tone I was looking for..tight, crisp highs from the 2-10 cab and deep lows from the1-15 cab. that was clear not muddy. The most incredible thing is the weight! I couldn't believe how light it was. For the size, weight, power, tone and price, I am very happy with my my purchase...and I know my back is!

  • from New Castle IN April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Giging Musician

    Kick *** Little Amp

    I bought this head about 3 months ago after hearing the 200 watt version. I gig regulary and push this amp hard playing a Warwick and MTD active 5 string through a 4-12 GK cab it has no prob keeping up The boost channel worked out great for setting up a 2nd bass with the push of a button. The tone controls are like no other amp Ive had the are super sensitive and give you plenty of tone control. The contour control does alot to your EQ setting very quickly to give you slap and smooth tones dont get no easier to carry. Dont be afraid I was but Im a believer now

  • from North Carolina June 13, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Player

    G/K The Giant Killer

    I've had this amp two months now (8 gigs) and it is very impressive. I play a six string bass with active preamp through a Epifani UL 210 cab. For the weight and size (which is why I bought it) this amp totally delivers!! Clean, smooth and very loud! The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because it is a bit noisy. I had to turn my horn completely off in my cab because of the inherent hiss. I guess that having that small a package, you sacrifice some shielding. But it is a small matter that is more than compensated by the clean and smooth sound I get from this amp. Way to to G/K!!!

  • from White Plains, NY September 28, 2010Music Background:
    45 years guitar, bass player - semi pro

    Good Practice/Backup Head

    Acquired in December '09 as backup to a '73 V4-B (100W tube), and for practice. Played through either an SVT 8x10 (800W @ 4 ohms; gigs), or a ported Crate 2x15 (300W @ 8 ohms; practice), it has a good general tone palette, and will produce substantial volume and bottom end. WILL cut out when pushed hard, but the clip button mitigates. Mute switch is useful. So light, it will dance off the cab unless secured somehow. Front dials will not hold position in transit . Fits in a laptop computer bag, w/all cables & footswitch. In no way does this head compare to the aforementioned all-tube 100W V4-B for sheer rock 'n roll grunt, but I'd be comfortable to finish out a gig with it, should the Ampeg crap out some day.

  • from United States October 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ridiculous to hook up

    Might be a good unit but I can't find the cable I need to play it locally so I have to order it online. Need speakon to 1/4" and no one has any locally and some of the music shops dont even know what I'm talking about when I ask for that type of cable. Or I need to buy a speaker cable adapter to adapt a norml 1/4" to 1/4" cable. Ridiculous. Someone is making money off this deal.

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB500 500-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close