0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Gallien-Krueger MB212-II - 2x12" 500-watt Bass Combo Reviews

4.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB212-II - 2x12" 500-watt Bass Combo?

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB212-II - 2x12" 500-watt Bass Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Charles Kear
    from Lolo, MT May 19, 2017Music Background:
    Bass, Guitar and Vocals

    GK MB212-II

    Great Amp with a lot of power. Tone control and ability to create the "growl" that is distinctive is easy!
    Consulting with Matt Fawcett on the right amp really paid off. Everything about this amp is first class!

  • Eric Santagada
    from Nashville, TN April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Freelance Bassist

    Best Amp I've Owned

    Seriously impressed by this amp. My first GK. Lightweight (41 lbs?!), powerful (500 Watts?!), stylish.

    Very logical, intuitive controls. The boost feature is excellent for adding some snarl.

    I use it on the road with a rock band, along with a Ibanez SR 505 and through a SansAmp.

    It works wonders, even in large auditoriums. It gets SUPER loud, and never seems to be straining.

    The horn is a nice touch, and even makes an acoustic guitar sound alright through it!

    I look forward to buying the 500w extension cab some day, to make this rig even more incredible. It's a top-notch amp, in my humble opinion.

  • Burr Vaughn
    from Ohio July 15, 2016

    Gallien-Krueger MB212-II -2x12" 500watt bass combo

    Totally impressed. Fills the room inside and out with a full sound. Used it at a outside show with at least 10,000 people and it kicked butt. Thank you.

  • Rodney "Buckshot" Garrison
    from North Texas May 29, 2016

    HAMMER TIME

    This rig will handle any venue. I also teamed it with the powered extension cabinet for 1000w. I'll probably never need quite that power, but an old friend once advised me to get the biggest and best that I could afford. I've applied that to most any purchase I've ever made. I've never regretted it. I can haul this amp and my electric upright bass in one of the smallest Toyotas ever made. The amp has a "punch" and a very warm tone. At about 40 pounds there are no issues with weight. With the strength, power, and warm tone, I would call it "THOR'S VELVET HAMMER".

  • Mando
    from Modesto, CA April 14, 2016

    Very punchy amp with loads of volume and low end

    This amp really did blow me away from the very first time I plugged in! It is easily the loudest combo amp I have ever owned. And I have had many since 1969. I needed a light combo amp to take to practice and to handle small gigs. I play 5 string basses and it handled everything below E extremely well and produced clear mids and nice warm highs as well. I used it in practice last night with my band which takes place in a large shop. Everyone could hear me clearly. I couldn't turn it up a lot or I would have been assaulting our ears. This combo is much better than I expected. You won't be disappointed.

  • Bryan
    from Michiana January 12, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, bassist, weekend gigger.

    Stellar Combo Rig

    When I went to Sweetwater, I took my Stingray 5 with me and tried every amp on display in the bass room. My criteria for choosing an amp were simple. I wanted to be powerful, portable, affordable and have great tone. The GK MB212 II did not disappoint. It was the clear winner an all accounts. Certainly there are more expensive options, and some of them sounded great too, but they fell short in other areas of my search criteria as well (cost/weight). The MB212 is simply thunderous. You don't believe that a combo amp weighing only 40lbs can produce such massive tones. My bandmates couldn't believe it either. We rehearse rather loudly, playing hard rock with two guitarists and a drummer. This amp provided plenty of clear, punchy volume with headroom to spare. Amazing! It's worth noting that this is a new idea in combo amps. The internal 500W power amp is dedicated solely to the speakers within the cab (so you get the full 500 without having to add a cab). Adding a MBP212 extension cab is simple (via a reg mix cable) and doubles the power to 1000W because each extension can has its own internal power supply. A very cool idea! However, I can't see really needing it, because this combo is very loud, and efficient. It's an all around great deal for an American made product. I highly recommend it!

  • Ben Polsue
    from Abilene TX USA October 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/ semi pro musician

    Great amp and great service

    Some months ago I purchased a different bass amp and it took about 2 months before I was able to really put it to work. When I did, I wasn't pleased with the other product. I called my sales engineer Jared Kalish and told him of my situation. The 30 day money back period had already expired but he suggested the MB212-II and told me to send the other amp back to him (free freight). My new amp arrived quickly, the cost of the other amp was put toward the purchase price, and Jared handled everything like clock work as usual. I could tell a difference with the amp right out of the box. It is very light weight, and has performed beautifully in a number of smaller venues. I will try it on a larger venue this weekend but it has done great so far with plenty of head room to spare, its very high quality, and great tonal capability. I have complete confidence that it will work great this weekend. I would recommend this or any other amp in this series to anyone. And, as always, Sweetwater's service was excellent, and Jared's service was excellent. I have made several purchases from Jared / Sweetwater and will continue to do so. Considering the value, selection, and service, there is no reason to go anywhere else.

  • Moe Owens
    from Mechanicsville, MD USA February 26, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    King Combo

    I've been searching for the right amp for a while. I'm a gigging musician who needs power and portability. I bought this after trying Hartke, Eden, SWR, and Ampeg. I finally found "that sound" i was looking for in this. The bonus is that it is 41lbs!!! I can't believe such a light combo puts out sooo much volume and LOW end. I play a 5 string musicman and this thing handles a low B like no other. My band consist of a LOUD drummer and 2 guitarist and this thing cuts through them with out breaking a sweat. If you're thinking of getting this, do it.

  • Eric
    from Michigan January 5, 2017

    Keep it simple and reap the reward

    When I started shopping for an amp, I knew I wanted something that wouldn't be outdone in a large venue, but wasn't going to make me take multiple trips to the car to get everything into a gig. When I learned that this 500w monster only weighed 40 lbs, I figured it was worth a shot. I had a great experience with my sales rep from Sweetwater returning a smaller amp that I thought I'd wanted and sending this one out to me. My first impressions were that the tone was amazing. The clarity of the 2 12" speakers, even with my low B string was incredible, and the response is just about perfect. I can carry it with one hand, and my bass in the other and it fits in my tiny hatchback with no problems. I used the XLR out to plug into the PA at my last gig, and it made a great monitor. One of the selling points of the GK vs. some of the competition was the ability to run a powered cabinet off of this one should I need more sound. I had pondered building a stack, but the weight of the cabinet I wanted was more than twice as much as this amp, and it had less power. The best part, after almost a month, my sales engineer called me up to make sure I was happy with the purchase. Sweetwater is top notch. If you're in the market for a good amp, this is your baby. I'd choose this all day over the 2x10 if you can afford it, you're not going to run out of oomph when the volume goes up with the 12's.

  • Bryan K
    from Frederick, MD September 29, 2016

    Huge Sound - Low Weight!

    I've been playing for about 30 years - I'm a youthful 45yo and I can still lug around the big cabs - but who wants to? As bassists, we often get the D.I. treatment from you FOH engineer. . . and let's be honest: your amp is often just your monitor. BUT, that doesn't mean you don't want your amp to sound good for YOU. This combo sound great and has a ton of headroom. I play in a lot of original projects which play short sets in multi-band lineups. I love getting in and out of the club quick, and with a lightweight combo like this, I'm out the door to my car while my guitarists are still wrapping up their pedalboards.

    It packs a wallop. I have a heavy right hand and still haven't hit the limiter light. I played an outdoor show last weekend and I thought that would be my chance to peak it ( the power can really disappear outdoors, right? ). About three songs into the set the singer comes over and says, "can you please come down some, all I can hear is bass". No rattle from such a light cab either. The covering material feels pretty fragile - I opted for the optional cover and recommend you do the same.

    I do wish it had a tuner out or effects loop. Also, the horn seems a little harsh to me - I've been running it "off" lately and the tone is much more pleasing to my ear. . . maybe some fresh strings would get rid of the mid-range horn "honk" I was getting. I do love the occasional house 8x10 cab that might be back-lined here and there. . . but for a grab-and-go rig that sounds great, has a small footprint and weighs nothing - this GK can't be beat!

  • Ja On Bass
    from Salt Lake City, UT August 6, 2016Music Background:
    Basement player daily, full band 2x weekly and shows monthly

    Who needs 8x10's when you got 2x12's?!!!

    Wow, I currently use the Gallien-Krueger MB212-II - 2x12" 500-watt Bass Combo with my Zoom B1Xon multi effects pedal (3 months). I get complements from the volume and tone of my rig every rehearsal and show. I'm playing in a "drop A" metal band through my 4 string Musicman. At 10:00 if keeps up with a heavy handed drummer and two EVH Tube stacks (4x12 each). I walk in with my 50 lbs combo in one hand, my backpack for effects and cables and my bass case in the other hand in ONE trip! This being my first experience with "GK" I am impressed with it's EQ'ing and TONE. So thus I've lost the desire for a 300 Watt tube what ever! I get that Darkglass BX7 sound (bass unaffected with high Mid and Treble crunch).
    I will say as the cool aid wares off, I did have to play with the EQ quite a bit to zero in on "my" sound. A sound that doesn't get wishy washy in the mix. It's metal, you need to be present and focused and PUNCHY. I find that the Low mids on this amp creates some undesirable overtones. But pulling them back a bit allows the bass to take them over by compensating through boosting the bass. Also, I found the amp to be lacking when I put it on a chair or lifting it off the floor, but then realized I was loosing all the girth from the floor, so I do use some foam to tilt it back slightly and that throws the sound superbly! Who needs 8x10's when you got 2x12's?!!! IMHO this competes with "Stacks" I will definitely be purchasing the the self powered Gallien-Krueger 212MBP 2x12" 500-Watt Powered Bass Cabinet for that extra something for large shows and maybe even less volume needing at rehearsals.
    Finally, Sweetwater, has bend over backwards rockstar helpful / customer service such as, just making sure I like the product follow up calls post sale etc. P.s. I'm thinking my ultimate fly rig will be the new GK pre-amp/DI and my Zoom pedal or maybe just using the self powered 2/12 and the preamp for an even lighter rig??!!!!!

  • Sean
    from KY March 1, 2016

    Great product

    Blown away with the power this thing produces. If you're a weekend warrior you'll never need anything else! And sooo much easier than hauling cabs around!
    My only complaint is when I slide the E string down to the B on the 19th fret it thuds out at lower volumes, that never happened using a 15" cab, but I can live with that. So buy it and rock on \m/

  • Carl
    from Dover, DE January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Part-time pro musician

    I love this amp

    I looked at this amp for a long time before buying, reading reviews and getting opinions. I finally decided to purchase it and I must say it delivered way beyond my expectations. The tone controls on this amp are incredible, giving far more tone control than I expected. Tons of headroom with no problem for the small and mid-size gigs I play. I like the expandability of the chain-out for adding powered cabinets. I would have given it a 5 except it does not have a mute button. I really miss that. But the tone makes it a keeper as my amp of choice. I finally have "that sound"!

  • Customer
    from December 21, 2016

    Not too shabby!

    Just got it yesterday, played through at practice. It is everything they claim it to be!! Great tone, no problem keeping up with Orange guitar amp.

  • Duane opczynski
    from Phoenix June 4, 2016Music Background:
    Very experienced player

    GK 212 combo

    Right out of the box, I felt I was in trouble. The top handle was not recessed. Which made me think that this is one of the older models that had issues. Also someone had repositioned the feet. Now there are 4 holes. I don't play in a band. I do jam and finally had a chance to push it with drums. It barely kept up. I have a nice bass. It is not my bass. I talked to a GK factory rep before I bought this amp. He said all the bad ones were cycled out. I wish to return this amp, but don't know if I can since it has been 30 days. I need to call.

  • Paul Coleman
    from Evansville ,In. April 30, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Mb212

    Sounded great.

    Had to take into shop multiple times and even sent back to GK. died on me at 2 shows. Basically everything replaced except cabinet at least once.

    I play country rock never had up over 1/2 way. Always miced at shows .
    Unfortunately not reliable enough for me as a weekend warrior.

  • Customer
    from April 28, 2017

    Noisy fan problem renders it useless - otherwise great

    This would be a 5 out of 5, except that the cooling fan keep kicking on and off every few minutes, and it whines like a jet engine.

    I am in the process of getting a replacement in hopes that this is a rare isolated case - however I'm worried as I see some comments on line with similar noisy-fan problems on other GK amps.

    The tone is amazing when the fan is not making noise - so maybe someone out there would want this, and then would have to take it apart and upgrade the fan(s) to a quieter one. That is not for me, when I buy something new I should not have to immediately repair it.

    I'm giving it a 1, as for this price it should be Professional grade. I cannot show up to a paid gig with a (brand new) amp that sounds like it's dying.

    So this is useless, if that's just the way it is with a GK product.

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB212-II - 2x12" 500-watt Bass Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway