0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Gallien-Krueger MB200 200-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB200 200-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head?

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB200 200-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from CA August 19, 2015Music Background:
    50 years on Bass

    GK MB200

    I have had a GK RB400 for nearly 30 years. This mini sized GK is a great additon. It has a wide spectrum of sound textures in a very small package. It is perfect for jam sessions and gigs.The power rivals my old GK. It fits in my Bass Guitar bag and weights so little I hardly notice it. It seems like I have eliminated a significant item I have to carry around. The sound is excellent but my old GK provides a little more warm lows due to the contour control. I purchased a Neutrik to 1/4 inch adapter for the speaker out put for my older speaker cabinet (only a few d $). Another winner for GK.

  • from June 11, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and Sound tech.

    Gallien -Krueger MB200

    I love it, works great and sounds great.
    Thank you all at Sweet Water.

  • from Ada, OK February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Player (45yrs), Retired band director

    Simply Amazing!

    I have used my MB200 for a month now and am simply amazed. The tone is wondeful just set flat. I can add just a touch of of any control to tweak the sound I am looking for. Just hit the contour switch and you have a great slap sound. It has more power than the 200 watt rating. It fits fine in my bass gig bag. Sweetwater got it to me in three days and their customer service is great as usual. I have purchased at least a dozen items from Sweetwater and have never been disappointed. Thanks to
    my rep, Ryan Wiltermood) for great service everytime I make a purchase.
    The MB200 is a great addition to my arsenal and I will use it much more than I planned. Simple to use with a great GK sound.

  • from Boston, MA October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior for 25+ years.

    Mighty Might

    This little head kicks butt. I couldn't believe how good it sounds! Of course, I would expect nothing less from the leader in bass amplification for decades.

    GK's 4-band EQ is and always has been awesome. Sounds outstanding with my 12" cabinet, with plently of power, room-shaking lows and crisp highs to please any discerning ear.

    The only disappointment was that the Speakon connector on the back spec was changed so it does not accept 1/4" cables in the center like the original specification states, but all in all very pleased.

  • from By the ocean in New Jersey February 26, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    Very useful amp

    After lugging 20 and 30 lb. amps for decades I'm glad I've lived long enough to see a 200 watt bass amp that weighs 2 lbs. and fits into a laptop bag with room to spare! The portability is a BIG plus. The tone is very natural and transparent at moderate EQ settings. The contour switch scoops mids and automatically gives you a very nice Musicman style fat slap tone. It has no built in compressor which I miss but in a package this compact you can't have everything. There is only one speakon speaker output jack and GK should go back to using the 1/4"/speakon combo jack but that's no big deal. Overall sound and build quality is very good. If you play a lot of small to medium rooms as I do I would recommend giving the MB200 a try.

  • from Columbia, S.C. February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    G-K MB200

    Once again G-K hits it out of the park with this little beauty. At only 2 lbs. I wasn't expecting what I was about to experience, even from G-K. I was completely blown away! I have an MB500 and the tone and power from this little amp was so comparable that I dare anyone to take a blindfold test and tell which one you're listening to using the same speaker cabs for both. The only difference is the ability of the MB500 to reach higher volume output levels, however, I can't think of a local gig that I do where the MB200 isn't enough to handle it. this is far and away THE BEST BASS AMP ON THE PLANET FOR THE MONEY!! I recommend it highly, and I have been playing professionally for 50 yrs come this July and have owned several bass rigs. I am also very impressed and satisfied with the professionalism and service I have received from Sweetwater.

  • from USA June 2, 2012Music Background:
    I used to gig but nowadays I'm happy just jammin' with friends! \m/

    Like Whoa!

    This little two-pound wonder is the only amp I've had that didn't need a pedal to make my Alembic sound like it should! I have Peavey combos and GenzBenz heads and numerous speaker cab combinations but I've never been truly satisfied with my sound until this "Made in USA" marvel came along. I'm seriously considering changing my allegiance to G-K!

  • from September 2, 2011

    great bass sound for quiet stage

    works great to get good bass sound from a quiet stage. great size and sound.

  • from Florida July 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good things can come in small packages!

    I purchased this to use for small gigs and as a backup. I use an Eden WT550 head with 410L and 1212L Schroeder cabinets. This little amp kicks and has a great sound. I set the controls flat adding a little bass with the contour up. It sounds so good I intend to use it most of the time.

  • from Florida July 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good things can come in small packages!

    I purchased this to use for small gigs and as a backup. I use an Eden WT550 head with 410L and 1212L Schroeder cabinets. This little amp kicks and has a great sound. I set the controls flat adding a little bass with the contour up. It sounds so good I intend to use it most of the time.

  • from Florida July 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good things can come in small packages!

    I purchased this to use for small gigs and as a backup. I use an Eden WT550 head with 410L and 1212L Schroeder cabinets. This little amp kicks and has a great sound. I set the controls flat adding a little bass with the contour up. It sounds so good I intend to use it most of the time.

  • from Dutch Harbor, Alaska May 11, 2011Music Background:
    bass player

    Great sound and portable

    My main goal was to find a head small enough, what i can take to practice, without using our guitarplayer's equipment all the time.
    The first one, gave up on me after one week. Basically, would not turn on anymore. When i got my replacement amp started using right away. It's been months and going smooth.
    I love the portability and the sound too. I'm only a half way up on Gain and gives me plenty power.
    Contour is on, sounds tiny without it. Same with dB switch, just leave it on. I really like the punch with my Precision Hot Rod when it comes through a Carwin 210 cabinet. I did smaller gig with the MB200. Did good. No dissapiontments. All other knobs (treble, hi-mid, low-mid, bass) kept in the middle. Overall, great little amp for the right price.

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB200 200-Watt Ultra Light Micro Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway