0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Mesa/Boogie 12AX7 Preamp Tube Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie 12AX7 Preamp Tube?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie 12AX7 Preamp Tube?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Peru, IN May 5, 2017

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    Purchased 3 of these tubes for my Aguilar DB751 bass amp. Compared to the Electro-harmonix 12AX7EH tubes that came in the head from the factory, the Mesa tubes give you better mid's and high's. Low end is very solid, and I could not detect any change in tone. The Mesa tubes are high gain, even more than the stock tubes. Overall, I feel the Mesa tubes are an upgrade, and I would not hesitate to buy them again.

  • from Nebraska November 16, 2016Music Background:
    Hard rock and praise bands

    Using in non metal amp

    I bought this for my crate 80dsp, it's tubes in the preamp and solid state power section. It takes two 12au7's and one 12ax7, so it is a pretty clean amp. I'm after that tube breakup sound at lower gain and volumes and this thing delivers. With the amps gain on 3 it's ever so slightly starting to drive, turn it to 6 and it's beautiful sweet overdriven sounds, dime it and you have wonderful distortion... ALL IN THE CLEAN CHANNEL. it gets rid of a decent amount of headroom, but I have a fender if I want squeaky clean. Buy these tubes for high quality tone and breakup

  • from Jacksonville fl October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Touring metal band

    Great buy

    I got these to replace the ones in my Marshall JCM 2000 tsl. What a difference this thing sounds amazing!!!!! If you are looking to get metal tones like Pantera metallica Megadeth or slayer this is your preamp tube!!!!! I cannot say enough good things about this tube. It's has a very tight sound. I'm in A touring metal band and everybody has commented on the sound of my amp since I put these in. If you like metal, you will love this tube!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • from DFW Tx June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Picker

    Mesa 12AX7

    I like the direct swap, I tried some JJ EC803 one time, wasn't digging it, so went with these, great sound for my 5:50

  • from Nashville, TN USA May 6, 2014

    Great preamp tube!

    I got one of these to replace the preamp tube in my Marshall Valvestate VS65R. It really made a world of difference. My clean channel sounds fuller and my overdrive has a noticeable increase in gain. I'm very impressed and will not think twice to buy these again.

  • from Illinois January 12, 2014Music Background:
    32 years guitar player / working musician

    mesa ecc83 v2 and v3 peavey xxx combo

    I use this tube in my peavey xxx 60 watt combo. After $500 in tubes and testing. I use the JJ ecc83s in V1.mesa ecc83 in V2 and V3.and JJ ecc83s matched and balanced in phase invertor v4.And she provides warm distortion.I can dial in a nice rock n roll.and heavy overdrive. and the clean channel is superior. used with Ibanez tube screamer. That's my perfect match. power tubes jj kt 77. and I will switch sometimes using mesa 6l6gc power tubes.

  • from Virginia November 17, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Channel 2 Improvement

    I purchased these tubes for my H & K 18 12" Tubemeister Combo. This was done to improve the sound quality of the amp. The sound improvement is very very noticeable. The original tubes were very harsh sounding at higher volumes and when using the 2nd channel and or lead channel. It was so harsh on the 2nd channel that I only used channel 1. I can't say that the tubes were entirely responsible for eliminating the harshness because I also changed the speaker to a Celestion Neo Creamback. The 2 changes have improved the sound/tone of this amp considerably, especially on channel 2 and the lead channel which are now both very useful.

  • from Isanti,.mn. July 28, 2015Music Background:
    Obsessive compulsive tone geek

    Great upgrade

    I replaced the pre amp tubes in my carvin Belair, very nice,...warmed it up and improved over all tone...I'm gonna try them out in my v3....I didn't give it a 5 because I haven't tried anything else...thanks, Sweetwater

  • from Idabel, OK USA July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great

    I replaced the preamp tubes in my 72' with these, had heard alot of good things bout mesa so thought I would give it a shot! turned out awsome. Expected to lose some clean head room, It wasnt drastic though, very good tubes. It has an amazing tone. Cannot say that enough!! It responds great every note is awsome. Im a heavy blues influenced guitarist and these can produce an amazing sound for some modern day blues or even some SRV stuff if u turn that volume knob up!

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie 12AX7 Preamp Tube?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway