0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Gallien-Krueger MB115 200 Watt 1x15" Bass Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Las Vegas ,NV November 24, 2012Music Background:
    pro. musician for over 57 years

    my first gk

    I just bought this amp for a gig I had tonight and told the salesman I'm bringing it back if I don't like it.I'm keeping it.It did a great job and I didn't hold back playing classic rock all night.GK got my vote

  • from TULSA,OK USA October 25, 2012Music Background:
    MUSICIAN , HOBBYIST

    GREAT BASS AMP

    THIS IS A GREAT AMP FOR ANY GIG LARGE OR SMALL. THE BEST

  • from Amherst, NY December 5, 2011Music Background:
    Used to play semiprofessionally years ago. Now I'm getting back in shape to entertain myself, friends, and -- oh no! -- the neighborhood.

    The little amp with a big sound

    Forget those other entry-level amps if you want your bass instrument to sound like a bass instrument. This one can do everything from emulate that old 1970s Vox tube-type warm depth to slapping and popping with the best modern players. And it will easily do so in a 3- or 4-piece group in a medium-sized club, church -- whatever. I wanted the 15-inch speaker to go with the deep sounds of my Kala U-Bass 5-string solid body (that we also got from Sweetwater) and man does this one ever come straight up out of the caves. Just because it's low-end for G-K, doesn't make it low end for the musical field. This MB115 is serious equipment. Spend more and go bigger if you need that, but if small cabinet and big versitility is your deal, get one of these bad boys today.

  • from New Windsor,NY August 25, 2011Music Background:
    musician all mylife

    Gallien Krueger MB115 is Awesome!

    I have a few big rigs with 2-15"speaker cabs.I also have a bad back. So I was looking for an affordable,light weight combo amp to replace the very heavy Mesa Boogie Walkabout amp I was borrowing and lugging to gigs. My band plays charities and fund raises, usually at some country club, or poolside at some donor's private party.I have tried the Mark Bass,the Promethean, The Shuttle, and all the small but powerful light weights available.But for my needs and the price. This amp rocks with room to spare over 2 guitars,Bass,keys,drums and 5 vocalists

  • from NY July 2, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Great value, great sound in a small package

    The amp delivers plenty of deep bass tone. It can get loud if you give it a push.

    It's a pleasure hauling it - very light. I'm very happy with the amp.

  • from Renovo, PA February 18, 2012Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Gallien Krueger MB115

    TMB115 was just the amp I was looking for. Big sound when you need it an good tone to go with it. It's also light, which is another plus. In addition, dealing with Sweetwater is simple and they follow-up to ensure your satisifaction.

  • from Bmore, MD May 26, 2011Music Background:
    Weekend Musician

    Great Amp!

    This amp is amaizngly lightweight. It is very easy to get in and out of anywhere needed. I bought this amp for small gigs so I didn't have to lug around my ampeg svt3pro and 410hlf (well over 100 lbs of gear). The MB115 sounds much better than i expected for $400. The EQ is easy to use and the 4 bands give great control over the sound. The loudness just barely cuts with with a loud drummer. It is adequate, but with no extra headroom. I would recommend this amp for small bars/gigs with no PA support or medium sized gigs with PA support. I have read other reviews that state the direct out xlr jack is poorly designed. They are correct, and xlr will go into the jack fine, but the button is right against a lip and you need a pocket knife to get the cable out. (the reason for 4.5 stars) Other than that, it's great!

  • from Whetstone, AZ February 7, 2011Music Background:
    Active Musician since 1967

    Super Amp!!

    This amp produces the bottom and tone I've been looking for since I used an 18-inch Kustom in the 70s. It has HUGE bottom end and the crispest highs I have ever seen in a bass amplifier. I've used several models of Fender, Peavey, Kustom, and Crate, but the GK MB115 is the only one that completely satisfies what I want with its tonal variations. It's also super lightweight and very well constructed. My only suggestion is that GK build in a tuner and turn the XLR output around. Super amp!!

  • from Clio, MI USA April 11, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Arts Pastor

    Bad/Good

    I ordered this amp and it was delivered upside-down in the GK box, the phones jack was unscrewed and in the bottom of the box, and the speaker was blown. I give GK a 1 star for this. However, Sweetwater replaced it immediately with pre-paid shipping and with great customer service. I give them a 5 star for sure. The new amp came and is working great! Thanks SW!

  • from Central Ohio March 24, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    My first GK amp and I'm happy!

    I plugged it in as soon as I got home and I had to remember the neighbors! I will be using it for weekend gigs....My drummer likes sitting with his back to the bass amp, so he should enjoy this! No complaints yet...I think I made a good investment for half the price of other combo amps like this? This is my first Gallien Krueger and I am impressed!

  • from August 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Amp for the $$$

    This amp has a great tone and a lot of volume. I play it with my MM Stingray 30th ann. The tone that comes out of the amp is wonderful as well as the volume. Every note comes out clean with no hesitation. The 2 problems I have with the amp is the direct out and no switch for post/pre eq. The direct out jack is facing the cabinet. When you plug in an XLR to get it out you need to use your keys or a pen to pry the locking switch. Also the direct out signal is pre-eq which kind of sucks. Otherwise great amp!

  • from United States November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Professional Musician

    Not Happy

    Mine died after 3 years of very light use. I'll stay away from GK in the future.

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger MB115 200 Watt 1x15" Bass Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway