0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Akai Professional MAX49 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Rhode Island July 1, 2016Music Background:
    Wife says Hobby

    Bang for buck

    I use for multiple purposes. Easy to set up on my Mac Pro running Pro Tools. Sturdy, flexible, feels great.
    I use it to control virtual instruments on my IPad and for recording into Auria. Again plug and play.
    I love it.

  • from May 2, 2016

    Max48

    It's amazing! Just wish everything lined up automatically with whatever daw you use , instead of having to change a lot of things manually like the transport buttons and the faders

  • from United States April 17, 2014Music Background:
    producer

    A+

    Service was excellent!! All the people at sweetwater get to know you before you before you make a purchase and they also follow up with you.They really made my purchase easy

  • from Chicago, IL February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Industrial, Alternative, Rock, Classic Rock, Funk, Recording, Mixing, Engineering, Programming, Bass

    Akai Max49

    Well I have to say this is an amazing machine! I use this in my Chicago-based Industrial band. It has tons of features and will satisfy almost almost any electronic musician out there!

    However, I want to note on a few things I found very annoying about this MIDI controller that future buyers should be aware of.

    1. No MIDI thru. Just put it in there! It's not that hard and a lot of people still use it. I should not have to buy a separate module to split my MIDI.
    2.No on/off button. Seriously? I hate having to plug/unplug every time I have rehearsal or write. Fix this, it's 2014 now.
    3. No "Home" button. It's confusing when there is no place to consider home on the interface and you are not sure if settings are being changed. I put a label on the "Programs" button as it is the closest thing to Home I can find.
    4. Sequencer. I find it difficult to use entirely. I've used a lot of sequencers in my day, but this is just annoying. My biggest qualm is that YOU CAN'T USE THE KEYS to assign notes. You only have the option to adjust the touch faders to set notes within a 2-octave range. Really? My old Korg Electribe knocks this sequencer out of the park! If I had one wish, it would be to allow the user to hold down the sequencer button, press a key, and have it apply to that sequencer position as a note. PLEASE Akai, if you are reading this, update your firmware to make this happen!
    5. Instruction Manual blows. Akai, PLEASE Put together a manual that gives some actual detailed instructions, instead of just generic commands. If any user has questions, there is nowhere to go. PUT TOGETHER A REAL MANUAL. This is a quality product, give the users something to fully utilize said product!

    Now don't get me wrong, I love this product and it is probably the best MIDI controller on the planet right now, I just think Akai should make a few small corrections to future models, and then the Max49 will straight up kill it. It is a great product,I just wanted to point out the flaws that I saw since everyone else just praises it.

    Everything else about the Akai Max49 is totally bodacious :)

  • from United States September 4, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    AMAZING

    A great keyboard for the price, so many different things can be accomplished with this keyboard. The semi-weighted keys feel amazing and i can't think of a better midi keyboard out there.

  • from Houston, TX May 25, 2013

    Avoid It

    PROS
    >very solid build quality
    >great keyboard action
    >high quality pads (wish i had 16)
    >cv/gate out works great
    >intuitive menus
    >creating/recalling programs is a synch

    CONS
    >MIDI CLOCK OUT DOES NOT WORK:
    good luck syncing anything else to it!
    >DROPPED NOTES when seq or arp is slaved
    (especially if using beat repeat)
    >touch faders are cool in theory but imprecise
    >garish

    SUMMARY
    aside from the clocking issues, this is a great piece of gear. but the clocking issues ruin it. the fact that it doesn't put out midi clock (confirmed by akai) means you can't use it as a master clock. therefore you have to slave it to another sequencer or computer. but when you do, the onboard arpeggiator and sequencer are going to drop notes, so that's shot. this is a crippling issue; you should avoid the max49.

  • from Berkeley, CA October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Designer/ Engineer/ Musician

    Best Midi Keyboard available, but so much more

    I just received this beautiful piece of gear about a week ago and I have to say I am definitely impressed. I have not had a chance to test the CV Out/Gate features of this unit yet, but I have been through every other aspect of the Akai Max 49. The drum pads are the first thing I must talk about because they are simply the best drum pads I have ever used on any midi keyboard. I would even go as far as say these pads are better than the pads on my N.I. MASCHINE. They are ultra-sensitive and feel great, plus the light up feature just adds to the beauty of this piece of gear. The keys on this board will feel stiff at first, but that is just something that I have never had before because I owned a 7 year old M-Audio 49 key basic keyboard with a loose action. The aftertouch functions on the keys are phenomenal. The arpeggiator and step sequence are great additions. The arp has multiple settings and is really easy to use. The step sequencer is something that you won't see on any other midi keyboards on the market. It is quite fun to use and helps expand creative ideas when composing music. The Max 49 has 8 touch sensitive faders instead of the classic knobs on the Akai MPK series. I have heard many people say nothing beats turning knobs, and being a big analog enthusiast I would have to agree, but the second I started swiping these faders I was instantly impressed with how well they work and how accurate they are. Programming the Akai Max 49 is a breeze. It comes with multiple presets for many DAWS on the market, but you can customize your own very easily and save multiple settings within the Vyzex Max 49 editor software which comes with the keyboard. The last thing I want to add is that I love how solid this piece of gear feels. It is made out of strong materials and reminds me of a classic analog synthesizer. I can not wait to test the Max 49 out with some analog synthesizers in the future. Overall I have to give this piece of gear five stars because I have never seen anything even comparable on the market. Akai is going in a great direction and I am looking forward to their future innovations. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND GETTING THE AKAI MAX 49!

  • from Illinois September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Music producer

    Akai max 49 midi keyboard

    The max 49 is an amazing controller very versatile and easy to set up. Very responsive and really nice semi weighted keys. I would recommend to any electronic music producer.

  • from Richmond, VA USA September 19, 2012Music Background:
    Controllerist

    Nice piece of kit, but...

    In general, this is a quality product, but all these new features aren't nearly as useful to me as the features they've taken away. I drooled over this for months and really wanted to love it. However, I ultimately ended up returning it.

    Good stuff: First off, it looks absolutely amazing. I wanted to lick the metallic red finish as soon as I took it out of the box. The key bed has a really nice, tight feel. Very good quality. Also, the drum pads were my favorite thing about this controller. They're extremely responsive and are WAY better than the MPK line. The rubberized mod and pitch wheels also felt great. Much better than the crappy joystick on my Novation controller. Step sequencer was pretty nice as well, but I really prefer to manage this sort of thing within my software -- not with the hardware. The Vyzex editor was also quite nice to use. My only issue here was that I couldn't figure out how to select multiple controls (i.e. All the drum pads) to simultaneously change their midi channels all at once. Maybe it's possible, but it definitely wasn't self-explanatory. I can't really speak about the CV output feature. In theory, it seems cool for folks who have expensive analog gear -- but I don't, so it's pretty worthless to me.

    Not-so-good stuff: The led touch faders are kind of cool in that they'll respond to changes made within your DAW / plugins. Honestly though, they're just no substitute for an actual hardware fader that I can grab between my fingers and flip up and down. My biggest gripe is that, aside from the mod wheel, there's not a single mappable *knob* on this thing. It's touch faders or nothing. For a $500 controller, this is absolutely unacceptable in my opinion. Granted, I could use a separate controller for my knobs. But why should I have to when I can buy the Novation SL MKII (just as well-built) which has 16 led knobs, 8 hardware faders, 8 drum pads, an amazing key bed, and that now costs $100 less than the Max49 at many stores?

    So that's exactly what I ended up doing, and I don't regret it one bit. I saved $100 and got a better controller for my needs. The only thing I'm really missing from the Max49 is it's superior drum pads… but I've been wanting to pick up a standalone MPC controller anyway. That way I'll have the flexibility to take just my drum pads with me if I don't want to lug around a big 49-key keyboard controller.

    All-in-all, the Max 49 is a nice piece of kit, but it's just not practical for me. If I ignore their drum pads and quirky Automap software, Novation still reigns supreme in my opinion.

Questions about the Akai Professional MAX49?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway