0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Peavey MAX 112 200-watt 1x12" Bass Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey MAX 112 200-watt 1x12" Bass Combo?

Questions about the Peavey MAX 112 200-watt 1x12" Bass Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 10, 2016

    Peavey Max 112 200 watts bass combo

    Super clean sound and very loud I like it

  • from Lubbock, TX USA March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Composer

    Versatile, lightweight, and everything I expected

    The thing that surprised me about this amp was how light it was for the size. Another thing that surprised me: just how loud it could be. And it wasn't "noisy" loud, either... the sound was clean and devoid of hum, even with the gain cranked up.

    At 200 watts, it's a powerhouse. It's more than loud enough to carry bass over drums in practice or smaller venues without the use of a PA, and for someone like me who doesn't want to lug a head and cabinets around, it's a perfect solution. The Direct Out (XLR) is useful if you need to play a larger venue, and it even has a Ground Lift function if you get too much hum from it, though I haven't had to use that.

    The EQ is neat, and there's a lot of options, too. I got a wide variety of sounds from this amp before I even touched the Gain.

    If you're dead set on a tube amp or a big 400W, go with that, but if you're still debating it, I would recommend giving this amp a try.

  • from Florence, AL December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Former pro musician

    Peavey MAX 112 delivers

    I went from one of the very early Peavy Bass rigs with two cabs and four 15" JBLs back when, to the Peavey MAX 112 present day. I was looking to be a little put off in the huge stepdown but that did not happen. This little rig delivers as advertised and can handle the open E string with the volume cranked up. I use it for personal playing but think it would work for small to medium-size gigs. NO issues for studio work at all. The cool tuning meter is a bonus.

  • from Allentown, PA July 7, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    All I can say is Wow!

    I was looking for a small light amp that would be powerful enough for gigs. I already own a Hartke 120 watt 1x12 kickback, but I wanted something with a little more power and punch. I considered and played the TC Electronic 1x15 combo, Peavey max 1x15, MarkBass 1x15 and 1x12, and this little guy. The best 2 sounding amps out of them were this and the MarkBass 1x12, and with the drastic price difference between the 2, this one came out the winner! The MarkBass is a little lighter and smaller, and sounds as good, but not better in my opinion. Built in tuner is a huge plus as well. You can't go wrong with this choice unless you are playing large outside venues most of the time. Make sure you add this one to your list to try, you won't be disappointed.

  • from Chattanoiga, Tn. May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, bass hobbyist, jam with friends

    Great Amp!

    Bought this for the compact size, come to fine out it sounds great too! If your looking for a small great sounding amp, you should consider this one. It has the convenience of aux. Input to pick and play, plus convenience of being small to haul around to practice. And 200 watts of power isn't bad either.

  • from Raleigh NC October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician for 36 years.

    The Peavey MAX 112 200 Watt 1x12" Bass Combo Amp

    Performs as advertized. Exceeded my expectations. Don't let the small size fool you, it has a big sound and could be your performance amp as well as your practice amp. It is perfect for practicing with the input for sound devices combined with the headphone jack you can play your songs on some device and hear the songs and your bass in the headphones. Perfect for practicing without waking up the entire house.
    Plenty of power. The only additional item you could ask for is an external speaker jack. This is a powerful head and could drive an aditional 15 speaker cabinet with no problem. I don't know why Peavey didn't put an additional speaker jack on this powerful amp. I'm loving it though with just the built in speaker. Great sounding bass amp and you don't have to break your back moving it around.

  • from Indianapolis, IN April 11, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, vocalist for 3 bands over the last 12 years

    Solid

    First off, I am a guitarist first and foremost. That being said I have always loved playing my Jazz bass. I was a member of a group with no bass player and figured I could play it on a few songs, at that point I realized I would need to get a new amp with enough power for the sort of gigs we were playing. I am like most musicians who cannot afford the most expensive models with all the bells and whistles, and I am happy to say that the price I payed for this max 112 was worth every penny. 200 watts is perfect for rehearsals and small to medium venues, the kickback feature is a nice touch and the thing honestly doesn't take up a terribly large amount of space. The controls are easy to use and the built in tuner is an extra feature that I have relied on many times.

  • from Tishomingo,MS USA October 28, 2013

    Great amp!

    Great amp for the price with lots of power. It's perfect for practice and small gigs!

  • from Laureldale Pa. January 30, 2015Music Background:
    40 year vet.

    Nice amp

    The amp works well for rehearsals, loud and clear.
    Lots of usable tones. four or five string, flats or round.
    easy to carry and transport
    I am pleased with my purchase.
    As for gigs, small room or a quiet band, perhaps.
    stand alone with A louder rock band like mine, no.
    With PA support, yes.

  • from Woodbridge Va. U.S.A. May 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    peauy 112

    I use this amp all the time...it works well and sounds great. No problem being heard at band practice over drums, vocals, and two loud guitars. I would have given the 112 five stars, but every once in a while I have noticed it tends to clip a note. This only happens when I am playing fast, and with a pick. The amp just drops a note. I've never had it turned up past 4. The 112 is loud and has great tone, just wish it would not clip the occasional low note.

  • from SF Bay Area, USA March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician

    OK amp but has it's drawbacks.

    Great amp, plenty of power for practice or a small venue but man, for only 200 watts, this thing is big and heavy! Takes up a lot of space in the trunk. Also I couldn't find an off-the-shelf cover. Had to have one made.

  • from Thayer, Mo. May 7, 2013Music Background:
    Leftover 70's Musician

    The Right Small Bass Combo

    Had been shopping for a small bass amp combo to play about five or six gigs a year with, and informal get togethers, as I usually play guitar otherwise. I was looking for something small and easy to transport, enough power to not be anemic, simple to eq and get a good sound. And be economical to purchase. After researching several brands., There were some good ones, I decided on the the Peavey MAX 112 . I've used it on two gigs, both small venues. and I was completely satisfied. Playing a Fender Jazz through it it sounds like it was made for that bass. There are combos with more features and power. but this little Peavey offers a lot of bang for the buck

  • from front royal va August 4, 2013Music Background:
    little of this and that, bands jamming all

    love and hate

    well I loved all about the amp in fact it sounded better than my old mark five big bass head over huge carvin cabinets loved the sound no ex speker jack oh well.. the problem was a one inch long diode came loose and and fell down and amp works no more. ive used peavey so much I DIDNT FILL OUT WARRENTY PAPERS. liked it so much Iam thinking of buying another.Billy

Questions about the Peavey MAX 112 200-watt 1x12" Bass Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway