0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Marshall MA50H 50 Watt Tube Amp Head - Amp Head Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • Morgan
    from Central NY June 10, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Outstanding amp

    I paired this head with it's counter part cabinet M412B. I run a custom Ibanez Artist and play rock such as AC/DC, 3 Doors Down, etc. This amp is exactly the sound I'm looking for at an outstanding price. Pros: The clean channel is bright and vibrant. It really covers a broad range of tones and has a really good "feel" to it. The OD channel is pure Marshall. I got a fantastic crunch (think AC/DC) in no time at all. The boost channel is perfect for that extra punch during solos. It's very easy to setup as well.
    Cons: I do not recommend playing this amp at low level (bedroom) volumes. It's got a nasty buzz and loses a lot of tone with the volume down. Turning the volume up rectifies this.
    Final Thoughts: This amp thrives when turned up. The harder I push it, the better it sounds. I would definitely recommend this amp to others.

  • Dave Zbink
    from Kennebunkport, ME January 5, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Couldn't be happier with my new Marshall MA50H and M412A Cabinet

    I just got my new Marshall MA50H and matching 412A cabinet. Having only played through my Blues Junior (with all the BillM mods added) and VOX AC4TV amps now I fully understand what a real professional amplifier sounds like! Mostly playing my Martin J-40 through the clean channel at this time - and it sounds heavenly. Will be setting up the crunch and boost configuration this weekend to see how the Les Paul and Stats sound. Thanks Mr. Marshall!!!

  • mark
    from New England November 13, 2009Music Background:
    Lifelong Hobbyist

    Cant wait

    OK I know its cheating, writing a review without having the amp yet, but ive heard it and it sounds dynamite(to my ear very simillar to the MkII of the late 70's and early 80's) . I am so jazzed that Marshall is FINALLY providing a high quality , mid-priced range of tube amps i could scream! Fender and VOX have been providing same for several years now and it has only enhanced thier brands. Great job with the Class 5 and MA range Marshall.Im gonna go get in line for a Class 5 and an MA50, excuse me.

  • Marcus Johnson
    from Silverdale, WA USA March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Student/ Pro Musician

    it's pretty sweet

    the clean channel is amazing and the distortion channel is quite dope.

  • Dave Zbink
    from Kennebunkport, Maine January 25, 2010Music Background:
    Serious, Lifelong Hobbyist.

    Couldn't Be Happier - Review #2

    Now that I've had a chance to play more with the Les Paul and Strats - I'm still very, very pleased with the true Marshall sound that I get - full sonic range and very powerful. But, to be fair, it doesn't sound quite as rich and harmonically pleasing as the top end Marshalls and the classics like the JTM45, JCM800, and Plexi head. My solution? The VOX Tonelab ST! Now I get VERY, VERY close to the ideal Marshall sound in my head that really reminds me of the old-time Jimi Page and Jeff Beck days. All true musicians are always on that quest for THE TONE. This combination of amp, cab and front-end tone shaper pedal does it for me - on my budget. I'm also experimenting to see what types of Fender tones I can get from it. The tonal possibilities are nearly endless. The Tonelab also sounds REALLY nice hooked up to my VOX AC4TV, most especially with the various Marshall amp & cab voicings. It's a fun and interesting time we live in!

    -dmz

  • Davis Beaston
    from September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not Bad

    I've had this Marshall amplifier for about 5 or 6 months now along with a Marshall 412A Cabinet, and it is an excellent amp! It took a while to find a good tone out of both the channels, but after a little bit of playing around this is now my main amp for both rehearsals and live performances. The good thing about it is that the sound can range from a nice, crisp clean blues tone, all the way up to a heavy distorted hard rock and grunge sound (which is what my band plays), and you can hit whatever other sound you need in between. The only downside to this amp is that there is in fact a 1/4 second delay between switching from clean to overdrive. It may not sound like much, but it is noticeable. An easy fix is to just hit the OD button just a little sooner than you would normally do. Overall a great amp for it's price, so I would recommend it if you aren't able to afford a JVM or any other overpriced Marshall amp.

  • Ben Gorb
    from Macclesfield April 1, 2012Music Background:
    Music student

    Pretty good

    This is a good, solid tube amp that does its job well, although there are elements that let it down. The clean channel is excellent, lead one is good, but requires a lot of volume to get rid of the nasty thin buzz. Lead 2 is too fizzy/buzzy and thin for my liking, lacking the meaty sound I like. If you love playing your blues/jazz/classic rock you will no doubt get some decent sounds from this amp, but if you love playing high gain metal, I would look elsewhere.

  • Wave Junky
    from Seattle, WA December 5, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Not my cup of tea

    My biggest gripe about this head is that there is a delay when switching between the clean channel and the overdrive channel. REALLY Marshall? Really??? You are freaking Marshall, there should be a seamless transition like on my crate combo amp (that also happens to sound BETTER than this thing). Instead my "flow", if you will, is disrupted and the heavy part of the song is sounds like crap because you can hear the quarter of a second pause between channels. I should have sent this thing back right away but I needed it for a recording session. Now I am stuck with it. THANKS A LOT MARSHALL!! Will not be buying any more of your products. EVER.

Questions about the Marshall MA50H 50 Watt Tube Amp Head - Amp Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway