0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Mojave Audio MA-201fet Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Mojave Audio MA-201fet Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the Mojave Audio MA-201fet Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Michael Grebe

    Mojave Audio does it again! This mic is every bit as good and versatile as the MA-200 and would be a great addition, or first microphone for anyone looking to improve their mic locker.

  • Mike Conyers

    The solid-state version of the Mojave MA-200, the MA-201 fet is an extremely versatile piece that should be in everyone's arsenal! Drum overheads, acoustic and electric guitars, vocals, strings, woodwinds: this mic can do it all!

  • Robby Resnick

    A fantastic addition to any mic locker. Great on vocals and accoustic guitar. Mojave Audio just keeps bringing amazing mics to the table!

  • Simon Picazo

    I recently used this mic on a live recording of a female jazz singer. Incredibly warm lows and fresh air on the high end combined with that classic FET vibe. This mic is ridiculously fun to use.

  • from Idaho August 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist and Recording Engineer

    Best Mic under a Grand!!!

    Wow.... I love this mic. I've used this mic on acoustic guitars, female and male voices, percussion and room micing. It sounds amazing on everything. It's my "go to" mic for every session. Thanks to Sweetwater for recommending this great mic.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK June 17, 2016Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    Wonderful on Amps!

    Okay so I thought I had an MA301f however I actually have the MA-201Fet instead. No big deal. I did a shootout between the standard sm57 miking my 1x12 amp as well as the MA-201Fet and the difference was literally night and day. The preamp I was using was a high end 1073 clone with 3 band eq (of which I bypassed in this experiment). There were much more of the mids and highs on the MA-201fet whereas the SM57 got a somewhat halfway decent intepretation but the lows were really muddy and I didn't quite get many of the highs and mids even though I had my amp's parametric EQ set with the treble at a high setting. The SM57 just sounded muddy not very accurate when comparing it to the MA-201fet. My plans are to go David Royer all the way and use the MA-201Fet and the Royer R101 ribbon mic to mic my 1x12 18 watt amp (a loud 18 watts!). When I was using the SM57, I had to patch a digirack plugin the EQ-7 standard on all versions of PT. Anyhow, I tweaked the EQ increasing the highs and mids while sort of applying a low pass filter on the track. In the end, I could do less work and EQ'ing, when and only when I used the MA-201Fet. I highly recommend it for any number of applications but for me its great on my amp.

  • from April 22, 2016

    Better better better

    Love the fullness and presence of the mic. Not overly bright, still has a airy top end. Would choose this over a u87 any day. I even like it better then the 200. This thing sits perfect in the mix.

  • from Jacksonville, FL April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro- More Than 4Yrs In Experience

    Dont Be Fooled Based On Price Tag

    Im So Disappointed !
    I Got This Recommended
    By A Sales Engineer: Took His Word
    This Mic Would Be Good
    For Everything Else Except Vocals.

    Not Worth The Price

    BIG -Tip Dont Be Fooled On Prices
    Find The Mic You Love The Sound Of .Simple

  • from Marana, AZ March 11, 2015Music Background:
    All

    Fantastic

    When I get the dough I am going to venture into a 301. Recommend highly for a female vocal.

  • from United States May 7, 2014Music Background:
    writer, producer.

    mojave mic

    I got this mic on the recomendation of the sweetwater salesperson,and i have to say WOW!!! Im completely blown away, the mic has so much character and warmth!! i could not be more satisfied.

  • from Elk Grove, CA November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Semi-pro Producer

    Wow, what a vocal mic!

    Bought this mic after reading many reviews of vocal mics for female vocals and seeing this one repeatedly mentioned. I've used it with three different female vocalists so far and we have all been very impressed at the detail and warmth that this mic captures. I'm pairing it with a Focusrite ISA Two and SSL XLogic Alpha Channel and getting some of the silkiest vocal recordings I could ever imagine. This mic is replacing my much more expensive AKG C414 XLS - what a bargain!

  • from MO USA September 5, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist,

    Mojave MA-201fet

    I will have to say that this mic is simply amazing to say the least! I purchased this mic a couple months ago and have never regretted it in the least! If you are looking at buying this mic... by all means get it!!

  • from Katy,TX August 21, 2013Music Background:
    Studio owner,audio engineer

    Mojave has done it

    The Mojave MA-201fet is hands down a killer mic.Great on vocal makes an incredible room mic for drums and great on any acoustic instrument.This mic is quickly becoming on of my favorite go to microphones.It is a true workhorse.

  • from cincinnati January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Enginner/ composer

    nice mic

    I bought this mic after months of research. I'm telling you my vocal sounds great through this mic. Built like a tank,heavy too. If you want to buy a large diaphragm mic this is it. Worth a lot more than I payed for it. High quality all the way. The sound I was looking for ,warm , clear , open. I'm running this mic through a Mogami gold cable straight into my PRESONUS FIRESTUDIO Mobile. I'm telling you this mic through the xmax preamps sounds great.

  • from November 15, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer/ Producer

    Great Sounding Mic

    It's a great mic, I used it on vocal only, but it sounds great. Mojave did a great job with this one. Even tho its "made in china" it's a solidly built mic. It comes with nice shock mount as well. It sounds smooth, not harsh at all, i'd say really round mic, but in a good way. combined with great pre it won't disappoint you. I'd recommend it to anybody who wants to get mic below $1000

  • from Boca Raton, FL June 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, and Professor

    One of the best vocal mics ever used

    The MA-201 is easily one of the best vocal miss I have ever used. I used it on a world music album I recorded in Kathmandu, Nepal last year. It has a nice, rich and present sound and can handle high SPL levels without coloring the voice or distortion.

  • from Studio City, CA USA February 2, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Vocalist

    Sweet!!

    I want to thank Jason at Sweetwater for bringing this mic to my attention. I was using an AKG Perception 200 before and it was good considering the price but this has taken my vocal recording quality to a new level. With ease, it sits in the mix in a very professional way. What a find!!!!

  • from Spring, TX USA December 6, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro Musician/Recording Engineer

    The mic that changed my world

    I was looking to take my recording quality up a notch and Mike at Sweetwater convinced me to try this mic out. It arrived via FedEX right in the middle of a recording session. We had already finished recording the acoustic guitars and thought we had final takes. I asked the male singer to do a scratch vocal using the Mojave and we were so completely blown away by the smooth transparent sound that we decided to re-record all the acoustic guitar tracks with this mic!

    I have been fighting with sibilance issues with all the other mics in my locker, but the 201 fet completely resolved these and has completely brought my recording to a new level. Saving up to buy another! Thanks, Mike - your recommendation was spot on. This mic has changed my world!

  • from Santa Barbara, CA November 8, 2011Music Background:
    Local Pro Musician and recording hobbyist

    Ultimate drum overhead mics!

    My sales engineer pushed these as drum overhead mics so I went for it since I needed something that would beef up my drum kit sound for my recordings. Let's just say that these did not disappoint one bit...more like I was blown away. If your drum kits sound thin, lack detail or just need a push, these are the mics to get instead. I did try one on my acoustic guitar once too but thought they were a bit too much in the lows and extreme highs but considering the guitar (Taylor 910) that may also be part of the issue. Anyways, even if just good drum mics, 5 stars from me.

  • from Alma,Ar July 14, 2011Music Background:
    Voice-overs

    Just what I was looking for!

    I have been working with Emmett from Sweetwater for sometime and he is the one who put me onto this mic. I let him know what I felt I was missing with my other mics. This is the one he recommened for my voice. He was right on! This mic has a great low end and the high end is clean and clear. At the time I ordered, this mic was on backorder and Emmett could have sold me other more expensive mics, but he really felt this was the one for me. Great mic and great service from Emmett and Sweetwater!!!!!!

  • from Chicagoland, IL February 16, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Vocalist

    Mojave Home Run

    The 201fet is perfect for the work I do - jazz standards in the tenor/baritone range. This mic has a robust but not boomy low end and the smoothest clearest mids I have found to date. EQ? What EQ? Bypassed the EQ I had on its predecessors for this mic it sounds phenomenal and cuts right through the mix as it is.

    Most of all I love its ability to handle SPL. I go direct to an Apogee Duet with this mic and normally I don't need a gain of any more than 15% or so on large-diaphragm condensers, beyond that I'm clipping. While that gain sounds great on the 201fet I can push it well past 50% without clipping. OUTRAGEOUS. This is perfect for standards singers who want to have some dynamic range and not be lost when you're soft or clip when you're loud.

    I look forward to using it on more sources but this may well be one of if not the best male vocal mic out there. Keith Schreiber x1383 suggested this one after all the different mics I threw at him and he didn't let me down.

  • from Portland, OR USA January 24, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Nice Vocal Mic

    I just compared the MA-201 with the AT4047sv (an FET mic in the same price range) and the MA-210 blew it out of the water. No, you're not going to get the same sound as a $5,000 vocal mic, but this is great for the money. I'm sure this would sound great on a variety of instruments. Very crisp and clear.

  • from Pretoria, South Africa October 15, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Good Mic

    I bought this mic after doing a lot of research and wanted a versatile mic that won't cost me an arm or a leg. I decided to buy the MA-201 instead of the MA-200 since I've got an LA-610 pre and did not want to ad any more valves to the signal chain. (that valve fuzz can sometimes get a bit much)

    The mic has a nice open sound to it. I ran some A/B tests with a Rode K2 and a Neumann TLM103. The K2 sounded a bit more open to my ears but a touch of EQ on the MA-201 brought the tones of the 2 mics closer to each other. I liked the MA-201 more than the TLM103. The MA-201 had a smoother mid range. I still think the TLM103 is also a great mic and I think that the midrange would probably help to make a vocal sit nicely in a mix. Recorded some acoustic guitar tracks with the TLM103 the other day and I really liked it.

    I love the MA-201 on violin. Not so much on acoustic guitar. On Female vocals it's great. Maybe a bit dark on some male vocals. Would've wanted it to handle 's' sounds better though.

    I think that you need a couple of different mics to be able to sculp your mix. Guess if you get the Miktek CV4 and C5, AKG 414 or 214 and a Royer R121 you'll have a mic for most occasions.

  • from Hawaii July 26, 2010Music Background:
    musician

    MA-201 fet

    For male vocals, I prefer the MA-201 fet over the MA-200 which I also own and like. They both have similar sound characteristics. Notably, the MA-200 has more air at the top end. The MA-201 has a tighter sound and cuts through in a pleasing way. I have a soft sounding voice and like contemporary/alternative rock. I recommend contacting Monty Montgomery at (800) 222-4700 Ext. 1274. He's extremely knowledgeable and helped me get the sound I was looking for.

  • from Yosemite, CA August 6, 2009Music Background:
    32 years professional broadcaster

    Great mic, great service

    This mic is every bit as good as a mic costing $3000. Not only that, but we had an emergency at 4:55 on a Friday afternoon. Lost cause right? Wrong! One call to Mojave Audio and Dusty sent a mic overnight. Between the sound of the mic and the service, I personally will never look further than Mojave.

  • from Scottsburg, Indiana July 24, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Hobbyest, former recodring student, musician

    Very Dark

    I bought this mic from Sweetwater and when compared to my RODE NT1000 the MA-201 is more smooth and rounded not as edgy. A very good quality mic. The only problem I have with it is that it's "Very" Dark and I was looking for something not as colored as this mic is. There is no question on the quality; however, like all mics it will be great for somethings and to dark for other things.
    I was pretty pumped upon getting this mic but it either needs a real clear hot micpre like grace 101 or True P-solo. One things for sure, my little Presouns Tube Pre and/or the built in pres on my Tascam 2488 MKII don't cut it, (I think anything in the tube pre family would just darken it more). That's only my humble opion, I do admit that in the hands of someone haveing more skill then I have could probably bring out it's full potential. I personaly prefer something a lot more on the clear side. And although its nice to have a pro mic in my home studio now above the $300 range I will probably be getting the Shure KSM44 for a more transparent vocal option.

  • from Jackson, MS USA April 9, 2009Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter

    The MA-201 fet

    I used this mic after talking with Dan at sweetwater for a male vocal session and was seriously blown away at the results. The next mic I purchase will probably be the Mojave Audio MA-200. Thanks again Dan!

  • from Boxford,MA USA February 14, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    MA201 fet

    You can spend $3000 on a great mic, but it won't be any better than this one, except for maybe the MA200 tube. Truly a modern classic. That's all you really need to say.

  • from oklahoma city,ok December 2, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,composer

    one great mic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i cant understand why no one has left a review on this mic as of yet,we just got this mic in the studio and my first thought was that it sound almost like the ma200 and how i know because, we had that mic as well.this is a great sounding mic on any level.my man tim ext.1395 hooked me up with it. people is really sleeping on this mic.you will not be sorry you spent the money for it

Questions about the Mojave Audio MA-201fet Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway