rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Mojave Audio MA-200 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 79 customer reviews
Questions about the Mojave Audio MA-200?

Questions about the Mojave Audio MA-200?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    When we tested this mic in our studio, our engineers all said it sounded 'just like a very famous German mic, only sweeter'. The Mojave MA-200 is excellent for vocals and instruments. It has a warm low end; yet with crisp, airy highs normally found only in mics with a much higher price tag. A great all-around mic for every studio!

  • from California March 2, 2017Music Background:
    Singer songwriter

    OMG

    This mic is so good I feel stupid for not buying it sooner. A good way to describe it is, everything so far, sounds real and right in the room. I use it for acoustic guitar and vocals, I wholeheartedly recommend this microphone.

  • from Palos Verdes CA January 23, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The MA200

    It's all been said and done
    Thanks to my Rep Austin Moss

  • from New Mexico July 8, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Singer/Songwriter

    The Mojave MA-200

    The imaging from this mic is absolutely amazing. It's reproduction is honest & true.
    It's immediacy & transparency is unsurpassed.
    I'm an Americana singer-songwriter whose recorded, toured, performed professionally for 25 years now, with over 75 albums to his credit. (No boasting here; Writing is what I do);
    I've sung on some great mics, but honestly?
    The Mojave MA-200 slays them all. Hands down, the best purchase for my home studio.
    I'm using it on everything.
    One last thing: Aaron Regenold, my contact at Sweetwater, sold me on this mic. His professionalism, knowledge and friendliness have been indispensable. I've worked with Mr. Regenold for years now and when it comes to gear acquisition and he's been an incredible resource. ~ Bill Mallonee

  • from Oklahoma City, OK July 1, 2016Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    Wonderful for Amps/Electric Guitars

    Yeah I really love using this mic with a Peluso R14 ribbon mic for my amp (stereo mic'ing a 1x12) a hand wired and hand made in the USA boutique amp with NOS tubes. both mic's compliment each other quite well and it sounds great through my heritage audio DMA 73 preamp. Other than that I'd say for a go-to tube condenser, this is what you want. You really don't even need to EQ anything after you start mixing.

  • from minot, ND February 22, 2016

    Bright and tight

    What else can be said about the mojave mic line...Go get it!!!!!!! I have the 200 and the new ma1000...Love them both......Only way to get these out of my hand is a silver bullet lol

  • from August 8, 2015Music Background:
    Music Producer.

    THE BEST MIC EVER

    WOW!!!! absolutely impressive, this mic blow my away.
    For that kind of money the best ever, even if you have more money for something more expensive like U87 or MANLEY try this and you never regretted.

  • from Denver August 7, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    Love This MIC!!!!!

    I absolutely love the warmth and detail of this MIC!!! My sweetwater representative TJ suggested this MIC and he could not have chosen a better one at this price point in my opinion. I match this with my Dave Hill Europa.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah May 18, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Audio engineer

    My Very Best Mic

    I sincerely feel that this microphone is one of the best overall mic's on the market. I use it mainly for vocals, male and female. It has an amazing dynamic that captures the voice like no other. It's warm, yet broad. And the low end frequency response is like no other.
    I run it through a UA LA 610 Mark II and it is magic. As a vocal mic, I'll choose the Mojave MA 200 over my Avantone CV 12 and my Blue Baby Bottle, both of which are excellent mic's.

  • from FL November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    How Do You Know?

    Really, how do you know which vocal mic to buy? You haven't heard it in your studio. Video's don't tell the story. What about your preamp...will it sound good with your new mic? What's in the signal chain? What is the best bang for my hard earned buck? Well, Mark Chapman knows. I've been working with Mark for some years now and he's ALWAYS been spot on with his recommendations. My studio is 10 X 12 so even though I've customized my PC, side and rear rejection PC noise have been a problem with other condenser mics I've used. I'm sitting here looking at my Tascam U-7000 (new from Sweetwater), signal lights and they're dead quiet. There's a reason for all these great reviews of this mic. Thanks David Royer!

  • from Los Angeles, CA July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Good stuff

    Sounds great.

  • from April 22, 2014

    Amazing Mic at an amazing price!

    Now I understand why this mic has so many 5* reviews! I am a ribbon mic fanatic and naturally I have a bunch of Royer microphones. Since pretty much everything David Royer touches is gold, I had no worries about buying this mic. No point in rehashing what the other 70+ people have said. If you are looking for something special at a great price buy this mic! No buyers remorse here.

  • from Montana January 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent

    The MA-200 with a Summit Audio pre amp works wounders. Great on acoustic guitars.

  • from Iowa June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro songwriter and keyboardist with 1000's of hours recording experience

    A Very Fine Mic

    The Mojave MA200 is terrific in every way. It is so sensitive that, even though it is cardiod only, it still picks up room sound very nicely when singing into it. I was well into a new CD project when I bought the MA200, and the quality of the recorded sound from it is so superior to the RODE NT1000 that preceded it in my home studio that I am recutting all the vocals for the CD.

    I also had a chance to do a shootout in a pro studio with a vintage Neumann U47 using API, MCI and Avalon preamps, and we all picked the MA200 after using it on male and female vocals. All the preamps worked well with it, even the humble ones in my MOTU Traveler mkIII.

    If you are a home or project studio owner, I highly recommend the MA200 as a versatile and high quality mic that is easily worth double the price, maybe even more.

  • from Columbus, OH USA April 17, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Best Purchase Ever made!

    Ever since I bought the MA-200 for the purpose of Vocals (Especially Female) I was Immediately blown away with everything I threw at it. Before I was using a u87 thru an Avalon 737 for the longest while i would constantly be adjusting the levels and Eq while tracking. Now I run this Bad boy thru my Neve 1073 line into my 737 and From then on I just set my Gain.. Comp very light and set my HP to around 80hz and ZERO eq... I repeat NO EQ what so ever! EVERYONE who has ever tracked with this mic for the first time ALL WAYS asks for it back first preference! I never go to any tracking session without this mic on me from now on.
    The only thing I wished this mic had was a low cut and that is it... It can pick up very low "sub frequencies" with out disorting

  • from Tulsa,ok March 10, 2013Music Background:
    Artist engineer

    Im realy Blown..

    Wow wow this is not hype at all ..i started off with a .100percetion akg than i moved to a 220akg wich are good begginners mics for the price than over the yearsss i moved to the bluebird mic wich is great for the price but using all them mics its alot of fix it in the mix type problems plus they clip real easy...... But u gotta work ya way up the pole to understand each mic .... Im outta of that stage thooo!!! than bout a week ago i got a akg 414xlb i was excited wen i got it i did a session and wasnt blown a away it didnt have anything to it for vocals just flat soundind i took it back asap wich cost1100$ To G center i also got a nueman 103 but i read so many bad reviews it didnt even make it home so i got back to my reviews and came acrosss the ma200 i was kinda amazed how it really didnt have any bad reviews no one realy didnt have anything bad to say about ..it . So i called my boy mark bruhn and told him send me one it came yesterday ouver night i had a session today plugged right into my duet2 and was blown away i was so amazed on how it dont clip at allll and sound clear warm great sound so so much better than any mic i ever used. And than when its time to mix down everything just fell in place i did nt haft to fix anythin at allllllll it just all flow together wit ease noowwwww i seee the differrent from a 1000$ mic and a buget mic this is no buget mic this is next level gear now im happy thatmy 1100$ went in the right place wit the right mic ......im happy my duet 2 sound even more amazing than it did it realy shine wit the duet pre ...best money spent.....

  • from Rapid City , SD USA February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Recording at it's best.

    Out standing mic. My best work have come from this mic.

  • from Washington, DC July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    WOW!!

    Read the other 50+ reviews and you'll basically read what I'm about to write. This mic sounds great. Did I mention that it sounds GREAT?! If you're looking for a fine vocal microphone, stop looking... you just found it. For the price, this mic is a sonic marvel. It has fullness, presence, nice rounded low-mids, and a clear and airy top end, yet it never sounds woofy, boomy, or harsh. It sounds GREAT!

  • from Missoula, MT April 3, 2012

    MA200 WOW

    Amazingly precise sensitive microphone, does wonders on voice and guitar, hope to have it for life, might even get another. Thanks to Marc for recommending it.

  • from Memphis, TN February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer / Producer

    Killer Mic!

    I bought this beast over a year ago and have not been disappointed once. From male vocals to female vocals, the MA-200 sounds like a dream. I have even used it on a live saxophone and it captured the whole sound and image of the sax perfectly. All of my clients have fell in love with MA-200 after recording with it. I have had people come back just because of this mic. I would buy this mic again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good vocal / tube condensor mic.

  • from Hampton, VA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Owner / Hobbyist

    Great Microphones

    I love these mics. I have used them on vocals, acoustic guitars, and on Guitar Amps. They sound fantastic on everything. David Hess helped me pick these out. Call him at (1398)

  • from Florida December 18, 2011Music Background:
    Advanced Hobbyist

    Yes, it lives up to the hype, but do is it right for you?

    Don't believe the one guy out of 53 who gave this a poor review; this mic sounds fantastic and is a very solidly built. The question is: is it worth the money over some of the cheaper options?

    Well, I've heard it said in the audio engineering world that 90% of the effort goes into obtaining the final 10% of the quality. So if you really want a truly professional vocal mic that competes with the very best--if you really want that extra 10% in other words-- then yes, I would probably recommend this over any of the cheaper solid-state LCD's or dynamics I've tried. I've own about a dozen of them, and I did research on each one before purchasing. All came very highly reviewed. Still, none do vocals better than this mic. So in a way, I probably would have save money just by buying this upfront.

    I will not compare it to the Studio Projects T3, as I bought that mic used before this one and mine came damaged, and has yet to be repaired. Nor can I opine on the Rode K2, which seems to be the other tube condenser in that price range that comes very highly regarded. As tube condensers, those two may do the job just as well. I can't say; I can only vouch for the Mojave's awesomeness.

    It's also important to bear in mind that the mic isn't everything--the mic pre is nearly just as important, and a good pre can easily set you back $700 (for a 500 series). That's something to think about also if your that home enthusiast struggling to get that extra 10% and thinking about shelling out the money for this. I have two Avedis MA-5's, which nicely complement the "vintage" sound of the Mojave. But I also have some considerably cheaper Mackie VLZ3's, which sound clear and full and "professional;" they just don't have that "warm", "vintage" sound. So if you're considering a tube mic for the "warmth" or "vintage" quality, but only own some cheap pres (which are usually linear and sterile, like the Mackie's), then you might be better off buying a ribbon mic, as these generally add more instant "warmth" to a recording. You can get a ShinyBox with a Lundahl transformer for under 500, and on acoustic guitar, they sound amazing. Also, if you're not going for warmth, or don't need the extra "smoke" that tube brings, there are many good solid state LCD's for much cheaper, like the Kel HM7U or the Rode NT1000, for instance.

    So ultimately, it comes down to what you're using it to record. For vocals, especially for timid and unsupported voices, I'd say this thing takes the cake. It works great for other stuff as well, but there might be cheaper options that work just as well for you in those applications.

    Sill at the end of the day, if i had to keep just one of my mics, this would probably be it.

  • from Michigan December 15, 2011Music Background:
    Avid Hobbyist

    Best Vocal Microphone I've Heard

    A trusted recording engineer friend of mine came with me and we blind-tested several mics. AT 4050, Studio Projects CS5, Nuemann U87, Mojave MA-200, Mojave MA-201, and the Blue Bluebird (the MA-201 wasn't in the first round of testing). We both concluded that the MA-201 sounded the best on our voices (both male) out of any of them before we knew which mic was which.

    The detail on this microphone is phenomenal, and I absolutely love it for rap vocals and singing alike. The U87 was a close second, but this mic is a no brainer! Better quality, and it happens to be 1/3 the price. I'd advise to test with your voice, but this mic is for real.

  • from Nantucket Island, MA November 18, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, producer and engineer. Studio owner.

    We have a Mojave MA-200 and want more!

    One of the warmest sounding mics in our collection. We use it for everything from vox to drums!

  • from Grand Rapids, MI November 10, 2011Music Background:
    Pop/Rock

    Instant Awesome

    I'm a project studio owner who needed an upgrade for my basic studio (digi 002 rack.. sigh, MR5 monitors, AKG C2000, Reason 6, iMac 27"). Talking with some friends with studios they recommended a new mic and thought that would be the best way improve my tracks. I did a lot of research, reading reviews and listening to shootouts for the C414, TLM103 and the MA-200. The MA-200 seemed to stand out in the reviews and I'd always heard great things about Royer Mics (Mojave is D. Royer's first company) so I took the plunge.

    Holy cow. This will make some of you wince, but I don't have a preamp so I'm going straight into the 002 and the sounds I'm getting are just heavenly. I know there's a lot be said about technique, but having the right gear matters too. If you hold your wallet close to your chest like I do, I'm happy to point you in this direction. I'm really glad I did it.

  • from Saugerties, NY July 19, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Pure Genius!

    I had a mic battle at a music store with Neumann, AKG, Shure, and Mojave and found that the Mojave gave me the cleanest sound on vocals. Such a purity in the playback that what the singer was giving me live, that's what I heard completely in the recording. I had other engineers make some jokes because I picked the MA-200 over the Neumann model, but once they heard the quality, they stopped joking and decided to get a Mojave for their own.

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana July 10, 2011Music Background:
    Purest.

    Great for Female vocals

    I have had amazing results with female vocals. Male vocals I have had some issues with sounding nasal but everything is still crisp and clear.

  • from Palm Springs, CA March 31, 2011Music Background:
    Berklee Music Graduate Producing & Engineering

    The Truth

    Male, female, any genre, this microphone is the real deal. I've had it for a few years now, getting into some real professional grade stuff and there is no need to use any other or look to more expensive models. I often get asked how I make the vocals sound so clean. This paired with a Presonus ADL-600 is unbeatable!!!

  • from Seattle, WA January 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Present vocals with silky smooth high end

    I was a little worried about dropping this much $$$ for what would be my primary vocal mic in light of a vast selection of cheap knockoffs out there. Now I wish I had the money to get a few more of these! When I A/B this mic against the cheap-o's there really is no comparison. Very present without being harsh in any manner. Brilliant! No EQ needed with this mic and a decent pre amp. Though I have only used it on vocals thus far I could see two of these as drum overheads or on an acoustic guitar being incredible.

    To sum it up: well worth the money. Buy as many as you can afford.

  • from Orange County, CA November 29, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Composer, Musician

    Just Do It

    I can't say enough good things about this mic and and the company that makes it. I bought the MA-200 earlier this year (off of Sweetwater's good advice) and am wondering how I ever lived without it. As soon as I introduced this mic into my collection the amount of "fix-it-in-the-mix" type problems reduced dramatically. The value of high quality gear (to me anyway) is that it restores the creative process in this art and science of recording. Less time is spent trying to doctor up a bad source signal and more time is spent creatively crafting your recordings. This thing sounds absolutely beautiful on everything I've tried it on (acoustic guitars, percussion, vocals, voice-overs etc. etc.). And for only a grand? Seriously? It's a no-brainer. Mojave Audio's customer service is hands down some of the best I have ever experienced. I emailed them about a problem I was having with the power supply (that ended up being a problem with the wiring in my new facility, no fault of the unit in question) and received a call within the hour from none other than David Royer himself. He was very concerned about the potential problem and walked me through everything I needed to do to get it resolved a.s.a.p. Amazing. So if you're at all on the fence about getting this mic - just do it. You won't regret a thing.

  • from Michigan October 25, 2010Music Background:
    Drummer, recording enthusiast

    best mic I've ever used

    I can't believe this mic only costs 1k! It sounds unbelieveable. I plan on getting another so I can use them as drum overheads!

  • from Ottawa, KS August 18, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Studio, Label owner, and musician

    Every project, several applications

    This mic will exceed your expectations even if they are set high! I have owned this mic for over 4 years. I have used this mic to record just about every type of instrument and voice with stellar results! I have done a wide variety of vocals in too many genre's to number. I have recorded woodwinds, brass, strings, guitars, amps, drums, piano, and nature sounds such as rain hitting concrete. This mic is warm when you need that, it is crisp when you need that. Vocals are practially finished when you record with the MA-200, I rarely need to add eq, I usually do (because who doesn't?) but the vocal tracks pretty much sit great in the mix just straight off of the board. That doesn't even compare to the customer service. This company stands behind their whole product. When my shock mount began to unravel (after countless hours of use and singers pulling on the bands...) I started to look for a new one. I could not find anyone selling a shock mount so I emailed Mojave and they said "send it in and we will replace it free of charge, we are sorry it malfunctioned" When I asked how long it would take because I could not imagine going a day without this mic they said "Don't worry about it we will ship you a new mount today and when you get it you can ship yours back to us". Now how is that for customer service? Microphone mounts fail it is just part of it and I fully expected to purchase a new mount but they gave me a brand new mount free of charge AND A MAILING LABEL TO PAY FOR POSTAGE to return my mount to them! I love this mic and I love this company. This is America at it's best!

  • from Hudson Valley, New York March 12, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Producer

    MA 200 - Highly Recommended

    The MA 200 will exceed your expectations and then some. This is a truly pro mic. Rich, full, powerful and present. Your vocals will still sound like you, but a better, more professional you. And as an added bonus this mic will shine not only on vocals, but whatever instruments you throw at it. Highly recommended.

  • from Lakewood, CO. March 10, 2010Music Background:
    Home Recording enthusiast.

    Just might be the last mic you'll ever buy.

    My usual gig is recording my acoustic-electric guitar at home and I have a Logic song where I test all my condenser mics. The MA-200 is the cleanest and clearest sounding mic of the bunch (the bunch consisting of a BLUE Baby Bottle, an MXL V69, an Avantone CV-12, a Rode NT1-A and an MXL V67). It's somewhat bright but in a good way. Not too dominant or forward but just, well for lack of a better word, right. I'm usually in Drop D tuning all the time and have had a little trouble with the bass, but not anymore. No EQ at all and the sound is how it should be. I never knew my guitar could sound so good. This mic will make for easy tracks with little to no EQ needed.

    I've seen where people throw in the "for the money" phrase when describing mics. I'd say that is unnecessary with the MA-200. It may cost $1,000 but it is well worth every penny. I bet throwing the MA-200 up against some pricier competition in a blind test will result with it coming out on top more than a few times. Couple this mic with a nice preamp and your results will be stellar.

    You really can't go wrong with this mic.

  • from Floyds Knobs, In. February 9, 2010Music Background:
    Studio Owner/Tracking Engr.

    LOVELY MICROPHONE

    I had several mics lined up to be used on a session with a female singer/songwriter that we were very excited about. We ran this mic through a Chandler TG mic pre... we didn't even bother to try another mic. And for 1k... such a deal! PS The shock-mount is not very sturdy.

  • from Okean, AR November 10, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Drummer, Recording Hobbyist

    Get this Mic

    I use this mic with a avalon 737sp. Everytime I record vocals on it I am stuned by the my this mic records vocals. If you dont have this mic I would add it to your wish list. This mic is to good to be true. I have used it as a over head mic for my drums and it sounded great as well.

  • from Central Missouri October 24, 2009Music Background:
    Ex-Pro Guitarist, Recording Hobbyist

    It Really Is That Good

    My wife is really great putting up with my G.A.S., but when I showed her this mic and all the reviews, she told me to buy this mic NOW before it goes up in price. She's never said that about anything... and she's most always right.

    While there's not much I can add that hasn't already been said, this mic really is as good as the reviews let on. It's at least as good as anything I've ever used over the last 30+ years and better than 99.9%.

    And yeah, my wife loves it, too... :-)

  • from Chicago, IL October 13, 2009Music Background:
    recording engineer, project studio owner

    simply amazing

    Simply amazing is the only way i can put it. If your deciding on a mic and this is in your price range. then this is the mic. The Mojave Ma-200 is worth twice the money.

  • from Chicago, IL October 6, 2009Music Background:
    Engineer, pro musician, guitar player, vocalist, keys

    Really?

    I've been a home recording musician for many years. I even worked at Sweetwater for a short time. I did a mic blowout looking for a versatile mic that would work in many situations....at this price...this is it. Don't even bother messing with other mics around this price range. Snag it, enjoy it, and get ready some quality tracking!

  • from Norway August 20, 2009Music Background:
    A little of this and that

    Wow!

    Says it all.

  • from Union City, TN July 12, 2009Music Background:
    Traditional Country Singer, Songwriter, Musician, Live Sound and Home Recording Engineer

    The "Nashville Sound" A Match made in Heaven!

    If you are a Country Artist Or Engineer looking for that Famous "Nashville Sound" you have come to the right place. I have learned that you must have Professional Quality Equipment to achieve Professional Results. I recently purchased the Mojave Audio MA-200 (LDC). You simply Cannot Beat this Microphone! I soon realized I was in need of a High End Mic Pre. I contacted my Sales Rep "Brendon Murphy" and he Immediately Recommended the Vintech X73i. After Receiving the mic pre and connecting the MA-200 I was Blown Away! I had finally found the sound I had been searching for. This Microphone and Preamp are a Match Made In Heaven! The Pre Has a Huge in your Face Sound. Add a bit of eq and Hear your Tracks come Alive like never before. The Preamp and Power Supply (Which is not included) are definitely built to last. The Vintech PSU will power up to 4 units at one time which is a good thing. I have a feeling you will want more then one of these pres after hearing The Quality!

  • from High Point, NC May 21, 2009Music Background:
    Engineer

    MA-200

    I will put this mic up against a U87 any day. If you want that big studio sound, especially on vocals, this is it. Hard to explain in words what this mic does to your vocals, but it gives them a polish like you wouldnt beleive.

  • from The Badlands New Mexico March 20, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer Pro Musician Promoter

    No more sweating bullets!!!

    First off the MA-200 was not the mic I was looking for when I called Micheal Grebe. But after having a good conversation with him I felt very comfortable about purchasing the MA-200.Now that I have had it
    here in my studio it is never going to leave "the mic locker"

  • from Maui, HI March 11, 2009Music Background:
    Musician, Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Awsome!

    The MA-200 has very crisp and airy highs without any trace of harshness. The lows and low mids are very clean,full and natural sounding. So far I have recorded only male vocalists with it and it has been a perfect match for all of them. The warmth of the MA-200 complements the soft Hawaiian music vocals that I typically record.

    Tremendous buy at less than a grand. Thanks to Paul for his recommendation.

  • from United States January 24, 2009Music Background:
    Voice-Over Artist

    GREAT mic at any price!

    I wasn't even looking for a new microphone when I called Trent at Sweetwater. However, we started talking about microphones and I told him of my thoughts on the world's most famous microphones (they're German and expensive). I have had two different models from that manufacturer and just didn't feel they had the super clean sound and true reproduction I was looking for. Trent suggested that I order the MA-200 from Mojave Audio. I'm REALLY glad I did. It's the best mic I've ever heard myself on, including the U-87 and 416. My wife asked me why a microphone that costs less than half of the other ones I owned could be so much better. The best analogy I could come up with was that a stock Corvette will beat a stock Porsche 911 in a race and it costs half as much too. The most expensive doesn't always offer the best performance. I will always have this mic in my studio!

  • from Baltimore/ Boston, USA November 7, 2008

    Amazing mic! A+

    I did my research before getting this mic and I was so impressed by its quality and sound that I bought a second one in less than a month for stereo recording use. Wonderful tool!

  • from laleproductionsinc@yahoo.com November 1, 2008Music Background:
    La Forest Gray

    MA-200+ADL-600 con not be beaten...

    1st, Thanks to Bob Mondock for his advice, ins-sight & help. This is s GREAT-warm-rich-natural recording mic. I have since I've had this mic (mid-August, 2008), and paired it with the ADL-600 preamp, I have recorded jazz, hip-hop/rap, R&B and classical trained artist, who have been blown away buy how they sound on this mic. It has a very natural full sound, with no coloration, this mic gets out of the way & let's you here the artist (and them hear themselves.) Great investment.

  • from Elizabeth ,Nj October 31, 2008Music Background:
    musician, singer, recording engineer wanna be.

    the shnithz

    letme start by being honest , the best mic i had for voice before this one was the shure beta 86, it wasnt a bad mic until i finely tested the mojave, now letme make the things clear for noobs like me, if youre used to sing through a 10 dollars mic , when you switch from it to your first condenser youll be blown away by the difference in quality, now coming from the beta 86 to this one wasnt that big of a leap, but you will definitely understand the diference between live mic vs studio mic, for vocals you just cant go wrong with this one unless you really suck at vocals and for acoustic guitars only on word, outstanding.
    worth every single penny.

  • from Jasper, GA October 24, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician, Home Recordist, Hobbyist

    Boy, this thing is a beautiful thing!!

    I'm not the most technical person on the planet. But I have to say that I am blown away by how creamy smooth this microphone sounds. I did a writing/vocal tracking session with it just last night. It was sounding great even before I actually tracked my vocals. And that's the thing with a tube condenser. You should let them warm up about 20 to 30 minutes before actually recording with them. Let the tube(or tubes) inside the mic warm up for best response. Wow, A $1000.00 Tube Condenser! When you hear this mic, you will wonder why you didn't have to pay twice the amount for it! It's a no-brainer!

  • from Los Angeles, Puerto Rico, New York. August 24, 2008Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Mixer, Sound Editor, Post-Production ( foley ),Live Sound Engineer and Performer.

    I'm totally hook to this Mic!!!

    Royer design it so imagine. A $995. Mic, this is one of L.A. secret weapon to track. This mic is a Cardioid Tube Condenser Mic, the capsule and transformer are top quality same as the sound of this mic. I use this for tracking Vocals, Voice Overs, Piano, Acoustic Guitar, Drums O/H and Classical Instruments. A pair of this and you are in the ball park. The sound is Warn and Full bodied as spec of a good tube mic, also has a vintage but modern sound to it that make it so versatile and a good flat rate response. Under $1,000. this is what you want if you don't want to be broke, just kidding! Also the Blue Blueberry is a Awesome Mic in this same range, this Two Mic's I compare to Mic's costing twice or triple the $$$. This Mojave MA-200 is a must have!!! I highly recommend!!!

  • from Chicago, Illinois July 3, 2008Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Top-Quality Mic

    This mic is amazing. I use it for male and female vocals and acoustic guitars and it is detailed, musical, and emphasizes all the right frequencies. It sounds very full, warm, and balanced with a very pleasing sheen that is not at all unnatural or overdone. I have owned an AKG C-414 (which sounds amazing on acoustic guitars but somewhat sterile for my vocal preferences) and have also demoed the Rode K2, which simply does not compare to this mic. In comparison, the K2 has a stunning lack of detail, sounds muffled and 2-dimensional.

    I HIGHLY recommend this microphone. You will not find a product like the Mojave MA-200 for anywhere near this price!

  • from Staten Island New York February 15, 2008Music Background:
    Guitar player close to 40 years, many years doing live sound, adequate vocalist for my music

    Another satisfied customer

    As an neophyte at recording I'm always learning something new. But I am backed up by 35 years of playing gigs and some of doing sound reenforcement. So my ears are fairly well trained especially for changes in Tone. I'm a guitar player and tone is so important. Well this mic has tone. The Jensen transformer, 5840 tube combination sold me and I was not disappointed. I was using a Rode mic and although it was OK the difference is startling. It actually fits my voice like a glove. Big, warm, airy highs with a flat response and it didn't seem to pickup someone coughing in the next room.

  • from Pasadena, CA December 28, 2007Music Background:
    Home Recoring Studio Enthusiast

    Great Mic! Just Buy it already!!!

    Ok, I read these reviews on here on this mic and did not get the MA-200 for Christmas 07 so went out and bought it for myself yesterday!:) and let me tell you. It sounds AWESOME!
    I was currently using a Neumann TLM 103 for my home stuido which sounded great but this MA-200 has more warmth, more substance...just plain sounds more professional! And to think they're almost the same price. Of course I am now going to sell my TLM 103 on Ebay because this MA-200 just has a more clean, smooth sound on my vocals. I love it!!

  • from newport,rhode island September 20, 2007Music Background:
    recording engineer,premastering engineer,producer,artist

    the best american made condenser mic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    hey lets be for real,i spent 1 month researching mics and the reason i own one of these mics is it is all that plus a studio rack.it sounds like i am hearing sound for the first time !!! as a matter of fact it gives me great pleasure and it is an honor to own a superior mic made in AMERICA.now if only we could engineer our autos to be so great.please do not buy any thing beyond this mic trust me,you will be returning it if it is not a mojave audio ma-200

  • from Austin, TX August 21, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Hobbyist

    A well spent $1K

    Absolutely fantastic on male vocals. Couldn't be happier. Makes me look good. For $1K, I recommend to anyone. High end sparkles. Overall sound is large. I find myself reaching for this more frequently than my U87 on male vocals. Also very nice on acoustic guitar. I pair it with my Avalon M5 as the mic has all the character I need.

  • from Lancaster, PA July 11, 2007Music Background:
    Project Studio Owner

    Very Nice Mic

    This is my favorite mic. I own a U87, KM184s, AKG414, and a royer 121 ribbon. This mic is warm and yet very detailed. I run it through UA's LA-610 Channel and it sounds fantastic. Tubes make all the difference.

  • from birmingham, AL U.S.A May 14, 2007Music Background:
    Producer

    One Hot Microphone

    Thanks too sweetwater and Mick Rancourt this mic is one of the best, and the best in any price range. The sound or this mic is,crisp,warm, and in your face. I've used it on rap,an R&B. After recording with it, I don't have to do much when it came to mixing vocals. I have to push the vocals into the tracks alot, because the sound of this mic is so big. You want have to add much plug ins with tihs mic. This mic will have you cutting your old vocals over again. I hate it took so long for me to get one. This mic is Hot !!!!!!!!!!!

  • from May 1, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer,Hip Hop Artist

    yea baby!!!!!!

    $995 for this price please... i've been doin this vocal trackin voodoo for a long time and to sum it up ...jus git this mic if this is ur price range. its a contender in my mic cabinet. nuff said.

  • from Georgia April 4, 2007Music Background:
    Producer/engineer/vocalist.

    THE BEST I'VE HEARD!!

    I have been recording for a long time in project studios, my first mic was the baby bottle from blue. Then I went on to neuman microphone type TLM 103.Not trying to knock these products I've just mentioned, but when I purchased the MA-200 and used it in my project studio, My vocals sounded like I recorded them in a hit factory studio or something like that.I wouldn't trade this mic for a $5000 mic!!!
    I have all the qaulity I would ever need!!!Just try it and see!!

  • from Schererville, IN March 12, 2007Music Background:
    Write/play out/record; love to record others too.

    If you're tracking vocals, you need to try the MA-200

    I've come from 4 track cassette to 8 track 1/4" to 8 track DAT and now my default is 88k/32 bit on a Motu 828. I had always accepted that project studios will not and cannot produce what the pros have. After hearing the Mojave MA-200, I'm starting to wonder. I've heard things I never thought possible in my project studio before and the kicker is, this mic hasn't even made it into my vocal booth yet! I have used it in two places not even designed for vocals! In front of a grand piano in a small room with no treatment at all and I'm hearing an awesome product. Thanks David Hess (Sweetwater) for turning me on to this mic and to Sweetwater for giving me 30 hassle-free days to try it. You'll have to use force to get it out of my hands now!

  • from Mesa, AZ February 1, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Amazing mic; can't beat it for a project studio

    If you're thinking about getting this mic, stop thinking and just get it. This mic is not only an amazing piece of gear when stacked up against ANY other microphone, but as you'll come to find out, the tone of this microphone is very consistent from one preamp to the next.

    That being said, I think this is really the best value for a lower budget studio; just doing vocal overdubs and don't have much on preamps outside of your MBox, or 002, or MOTU interface? Don't worry because it's not going to have the same bearing on your sound quality that it might have with other mics.

    I absolutely love this thing. Room mic for drums, guitars, vocals... this thing is a workhorse. You can't beat it for the price and would be hard pressed to beat it at twice the price (IMHO).

  • from Denver January 13, 2007Music Background:
    Sing in the shower

    Mojave 200

    At least as good a u67's and 414's! For the price, actually any price, it's amazing! Crisp highs, good lows. Sounds great!

  • from Portland, OR December 12, 2006

    BLOWN AWAY!!!!!!!

    I was very careful choosing a mic. I tried many others for more money. The MA-200 mops the floor with the compitition. Vocals sit in a mix perfect with little to no work. Great mic!!!

  • from Spartanburg, South Carolina August 9, 2006Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Excellent Microphone!

    My sweetwater rep (Paul) suggested this microphone. I was a little skeptical at first because I wanted a Neumann, but once it arrived and I heard the sound... I was floored. It's hard to describe, but this mic just makes vocalist sound good! I run the mic through a Avalon VT-737sp and you can imagine the results!

  • from Orlando April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, amateur recording engineer

    Great Vocal Mic

    Got this strictly for voice. Noticeably different than my other condenser and dynamic mics. Worth the money. Lots of detail and presence. Wish I had gotten it sooner.

  • from Colorado November 14, 2014Music Background:
    engineer

    MA-200

    One of the best mics out there!!!!!

  • from Portland, IN. USA August 15, 2010Music Background:
    Home Studio Recordist/Musician

    Worth Every Pernny

    I bought this mic as an upgrade to my vocal/ recording setup. Paired it with a Grace Design m101 micpre. Absolutely incredible sound, I'm sure the grace contributed, but this mic is almost a must have for vocals. And what it does for acoustic guitar is equally impressive. The hype is all true. No regrets what so ever.

  • from Leominster, MA May 25, 2010Music Background:
    band retired, home recordist.

    let YOUR ears decide, not somebody's online review!

    i almost didn't buy this mic because, 1) i was leery of a mic with a chinese made capsule. 2) it takes it's share of abuse on gearslutz website by people saying it's way bright and sibilant. like the title of this review says, "let YOUR ears decide". i ignored the naysayers, and i'm glad i did. i'm a male with a soft voice kind of like a cross between john mayer and david gilmour. for ME, and my voice type, it works GREAT. i know now that i'll have this mic for life. i'm just a hobbyist, but i do take my music and gear selection as seriously as my budget allows. my previous "best" mic was the AKG Solidtube. the mojave, for what i do, kills the akg. but what works for me, may not for you. so at least give it a try and if it doesn't, send it back for an exchange until you find what does.

  • from Nashville- music city May 21, 2008Music Background:
    recording artist in the 90's- writing/producing today

    How good is the MA 200 ???

    In 92 i purchased one of the first stereo sets of Gefell U57 mics from Skipper Wise (founder of Blue) and immediately had Tony Merrill over at SPA reset the capsule to 3 micron with the Jenson transformers- Now while that mic had a pretty significant noise floor- it was one of the best sounding mics i have ever owned- so i had pretty high expectations of the MA 200 simply because of the electronics and the sensitivity of the capsule- What the MA -200 lacks with respect to the variable pattern it absolutely makes up for in sound quality.

    Last week we had an artist who had just cut vocals through the Korby ELAM capsule (api pre/tube tec compression)- we had him sing a pass on the MA-200, a Lawson with 251 capsule, and a 1953 C-12 (mint condition)- the mics were run through a 1081 with a touch of compression from a 2254- while the Lawson and the C-12 were the consensus favs- the MA-200 was close behind with the Korby the consensus least fav-(in all fairness it might have lost warmth in the api/tube tech). this mic is 1/3 the price of the lawson, 1/4 the price of the korby and about a 1/10th the price of the AKG- its a bright and present mic with a good amount of signal- and if you have a decent mic pre- this mic is all you will ever need in a project studio- i will be buying a second one very soon and adding it to my cabinet. Great Work went into this mic and i am really shocked that it is in this price range.

    hope this helps-

  • from PA September 22, 2007Music Background:
    Home Studio Owner

    Is that MY Voice?

    I'm cheap, but I still always wanted to get that fat, "tubey" sound to my voice that I hear in big studio recordings. Brian Loney at Sweetwater assured me that this mic was the way to get it without going broke. Whew! He wasn't kidding. For vocals and VO, it really shines. I almost didn't recognize my own voice! It's thick in the middle, crisp yet warm, smooth but still punchy. Pair this up with a Summit Audio 2BA-221 and you've got yourself a killer front end for well under two grand. Yeah! That's what I'M talkin' about!

  • from Lexington, Ky February 28, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, pro musician, and Independant producer.

    VERY IMPRESSED

    I was very impressed with the MA-200. For the money I don't think that this mic can be beat for vocals. I love the warmth that it adds to acoustic guitar tracks also. David Royer has done it again....Genius!!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Producer

    Lives up to the hype but...

    It is a really incredible mic for female vocals, rap, and voiceovers. Some male vox sound good. Quite a few others do NOT sound good though. Other sources are average to good. Don't expect this mic to do everything for you. It is not a do it all mic imho. But what it does good it does extremely well and I do recommend this mic often. For male sources that do not sound good on this mic, I use an Advanced Audio CM12. Between these two mics, I am pretty set.

  • from New York May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Filmmaker & Television Production

    Makes Voice-Overs Shine

    We've been using a reliable RE27 broadcast mic for commercial voice-overs, but wanted a mic to record more textured narrations for a PBS documentary. We didn't have the budget to buy a legendary expensive German mic. Dustin at Sweetwater recommended the MA-200 for a third the price. The Mojave has a great warm sound and picks up all the nuances of a well-crafted narration. I can't imagine the famous German mic sounding any better.

  • from New Delhi, India August 21, 2008Music Background:
    SSL Certified Audio Engineer, Pro Musician

    Amazzzing for the Price!

    Its an amazing mic for the price offered, for sure ...

    Where to begin the critical analyses?

    Hmmm ... the installation is pretty easy, though the screw of the shock mount could be a little tricky to handle! The cable too, needs good care! Rest, all's a breeze. Its a sturdy set, and works like a charm.

    The best thing about the microphone is its technical superiority over a lot of other contemporaries. The detailed characteristics would blow you apart. The best part about the mic was its treatment to high frequencies.

    I've mostly used this mic on an Acoustic Guitar and Male and Female Vocals. What I found was more like a Neumann U87 Effect! Unbelievable, but even better, I think! I've Worked with all sorts of mics ... smallest to the largest of all varieties, so I know what is what!

    The lows and the low mids werent that great when the mic was at a 1 ft. distance from the vocalist, but still, overall balanced. A little enhancement would add structure to the instrument easily.

    With this microphone ... You wouldnt have to work too hard! The instruments would cut through!

    I would prefer using the mic in quiet conditions. Its ultra-sensitive! A worth buy, and I'm really happy with my mic!

  • from USA June 2, 2011Music Background:
    musician,project studio owner.

    Nice mic to have in your arsenal

    I added the Mojave 200 as my first "tube" mic. I like the color the Ma-200 adds to acoustic guitar and male vocals. Is it worth the price...yes! Would I recommend this mic? Yes.

    The MA-200 with the FF800 pre, is my preferred vocal chain. The MA-200 with the UA-610 for acoustic instruments.

  • from Eureka, CA April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Recording Engineer

    good mic, not great.

    I bought this mic two years ago based on all the steller reviews. I recorded an album with it. After tweaking the eq, and messing with the pre amp impedance, I gave up trying to make this mic sound right. On my voice at least, it sounds nassely or flinty if you will. I have two other mics that are simular in price that do not have this problem. It is a clear mic mic and obviously a lot of people like it, but it has color that I don't like. I ended up selling it.

  • from Los Angeles January 13, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Rec. Engineer

    MA-200 = Honest perspective

    The popular MA-200 is a good Mic, just not for vocals.
    It's sparkly, too thin, crisp, and cheap sounding. For acoustic guitars it performed better than my expectations and was big and brilliant. For overhead drums it was great. I gave it a low rating because for me it didn't reach the hype and for vocals and the money it fell flat. There are plenty of other tube Mics for the same money that perform better overall.

  • from Orlando April 12, 2006

    Great addition

    I just picked up the Mojave mic, and I am just lovin it! Very nice and silky on vocals, just what i was lookin for! My only gripe is the shock mount, the tightening mechanism is this very small rotary thing, and hard to get it tight and stay in position. But a small burden to bear!

  • from Princeton NJ November 1, 2005

    My Review of MA-20

    While this mic has somthing to offer maybe the vocalist it is not very usefull to record the nuanunces of the classical guitar or flamenco. It gives out on the bass notes and did not capture the mid range well. It did sound better that a Audo Tech 4040 but that may be just the tube warming it up. Over all for the price it seems way off imho. You may be better off getting a Marshall mic for 300.00

  • from Torrington, CT June 1, 2005

    MA 200...a fine, fine mic!!

    Got the Mojave Audio MA 200. This is one fine, fine microphone!! Wow!! Doing some tests right now. Am comparing right up against a U47, an M147 and a TLM 193...it does more than hold up. Especially when you factor in the price!! It's easily as good as all of them, and maybe better in some way. Any differences are subtle at best. It has a strong solid bottom, clean but fat mid, and a really sweet high end. Dave Royer seems to have been holding out with just the ribbons!!

Reviews

  • Peter Foster
    8-23-2010

    Before I first used the MA-200, I assumed that it would be an "average" mic in the mid-level price range. I envisioned a decent replication of my sound followed by a constant agitation driven by a need for more. I found that after using this mic in a variety of settings, it would surpass my expectations far more than I could have ever expected.

    My research divulged the mastermind behind the creation of Mojave and its high-class microphones. David Royer combines his passion for quality music with his real life Naval experiences (acoustics and electronics) in an effort to provide the industry with a high-end sound at a mid-level price. He does just that.

    The crystalline clarity and the full-bodied warmth of this mic allowed me to record a classical guitar during the first half of my latest session and vocals to a hip hop track later on that evening. Its versatility in every scenario justifies its presence in professional studios time and time again. One could go as far as saying it would be the appropriate selection even if one was to pair J.S. Bach and a TR-808 in some bizarre parallel universe. These are our times...

    As music and technology continue to progress, the MA-200 continues to show how far ahead of its time it truly is. Whether it is a low budget home system or a multi-platinum destination studio, Mojave microphones deserve the first take on every track.

Questions about the Mojave Audio MA-200?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway