0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Roland MA-15D - Woodgrain Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from OC, CA February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Keyboardist, Home and Studio Recording

    Always Been Great Monitors!!!

    I have kept a pair of these in all their incarnations since they came out with the old Roland Virtual Studios. I don't know how much different they've been to the other versions because they all sound great. Dependable, still have all 3 pairs and use them differently but I also don't crank them too hard. Bottom line: A pair of digital (96k) with coax, line and RCA INS, there is nothing out there like them at this price.

  • from Delta, CO November 5, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Luthier

    Fantastic Bargain

    I have a very small studio so space is at a premium. Ergo I needed small monitors. I was afraid I would have to sacrifice bass response by using small monitors, but that has not been the case with these. The Bass Enhancer on these little guys is awesome. I find that I usually can't use the higher setting because the bass overpowers the rest of the mix. With the lower setting I get beautful across the spectrum response. At the price I paid these MA-15Ds are a fantastic bargain.

  • from Salem, OH March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur Live Sound Tech

    Awesome speakers, great price.

    I am loving these speakers, they sound amazing, and are loud enough to fill the house but still sound good when turned low enough to let everyone else sleep. The dual inputs is a great plus and the coax/optical input is another nice feature. Will definitely recommend!

  • from Kent, OH USA September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, student, enthusiest

    Bangin

    Speakers are stylish, clean, and powefrul enough to fill my room with ease. Small speakers that have a great bamg for your buck. I love them, and glad I bought em' from sweetwater and recieved next day delivery :)!!!

  • from Mexico city, Mexico April 25, 2008Music Background:
    soundtrack composer, sound FX designer, filmmaker

    AMAZING QUALITY IN THIS PRICE RANGE !

    I got this monitors in an emergency (my old monitors got broken) and I didn't expected much at first, but as soon as I plugged them to my E-MU 1212m via the digital optical output, I was blown away ! I have been using monitors for over 20 years, and believe me: there is nothing in this price range, better than the MA-15Ds. They sound crisp, clear and incredible loud for its size, and they look cool ! I recommend them 100%

  • from Winston-Salem, NC March 19, 2012Music Background:
    35 years playing/performing and recording

    For the money . . . awesome

    I needed a small set of powered monitors for my secondary board (a Roland 2400 DAW) and they sound great! As for the the price, Duh.

  • from chennai, india November 28, 2009Music Background:
    periodontist/part-time DJ

    it's really amazing!

    i was really in 2 minds whether to buy M-Audio studiophile AV40 or Edirol MA-15D. after reading many reviews regarding the above i decided to for the latter. no regrets! i am a part time dj. once i connected my mixer and kaoss pad 3 to the speakers, i was blown away by the crispness and quality of the sound but unfortunately the bass isn't satisfactory even though therez an option of adding an sub-woofer to the speaker.i can't expect much compared to the money i paid to grab these.overall, these are very good compact/clear speakers. a must buy for all those who are into computer music and gaming.

  • from Chicgo February 6, 2008Music Background:
    Producer/Editor/Director

    Impressed

    I got these speakers for my home video editing system, which I use for professional purposes. I should start by saying I know the difference between these MA-15Ds and the kind of monitors find at high-end recording and mixing studios. You are comparing a speaker pair that cost $200 to speakers worth thousands. Thats not a fair comparison.

    These are SOLID speakers for doing offline editorial and mixing. I am hearing a lot more from these from my previous setup, which was an amp with Yamaha speakers. I think Id even feel confident doing a final mix on these bad boys if budget didnt allow a studio final mix.

    For the price, these things are really great, and I think they are going to be super popular with editors who do creative editorial work.

  • from Boston, MA March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    excellent sound, digital input fragile

    Sound on these is really good; the bass boost does just enough and not
    too much. After an hour of (average-level) digital input, the digital circuitry blew out, leaving a rapid thrashing sound. However, they sound so good thru analog that it is not worth sending them back. Appearance is nice, too.

  • from Honolulu, HI September 1, 2005

    So So

    I previously was doing mixing/mastering using headphones...Edirol has a solid reputation. The Sweetwater Rep (Paul Lea)told me to consider the Audix instead...The MA 15Ds are so-so. The 4" speaker just doesn't have enough oomph to mix down some solid bass. Make no mistake, my bass needs are not down to the subwoofer level. I mostly play contemporary acoustic guitar...everything sounds woofy. I am getting a pair of Mackie HR624s, because it just doesn't make sense to scrimp on monitors.

  • from St. Louis, MO May 1, 2005

    I love these...

    Let me preface this review by saying I am not a musician. I use these speakers to listen to music via iTunes from my laptop using the M-Audio Tranist (http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Transit/). Previously, I had a pair of the Edirol MA-10D (http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MA10D/), which, were decent, but the bass was non-existent, and they just couldn’t get loud enough. I don’t know what Edirol did, but for a mere extra 5-watts of power per speaker, these things get LOUD. I love the fact that they are self-powered with digital inputs. I don’t use the “extended bass” or whatever they call the feature, but the fact these things have a subwoofer out, is awesome. I have the sub-out going to a cheap (i.e., crappy) Yamaha subwoofer (YST-SW015). In addition, I have both monitors sitting on a pair of Auralex MoPads (http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MoPAD/), and the woofer is resting on Auralex’s GRAMMA (http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/GRAMMA/). Granted I know nothing of Pro-Audio, but for the price (especially compared to a Logitech, or similar computer speaker set ups) these things rock.

Questions about the Roland MA-15D - Woodgrain?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway