0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Mesa/Boogie M9 Carbine 600-Watt Bass Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie M9 Carbine 600-Watt Bass Head?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie M9 Carbine 600-Watt Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mark Thompson

    I bought my Mesa bass amp 12 years ago after playing everything on the market. Only the Mesa delivered the tone and power I need for the diverse styles I play.

  • Patrick Dennis

    This has enough juice for the largest venues - there must be a nuclear reactor in this thing!

  • from California December 28, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Bass Player

    Buy It...

    My Sweetwater sales representative, Dan Overstreet, suggested this to me. I've been ordering equipment from Dan for years, and this was one of, if not the best suggestion he has ever given to me.

    The Mesa M9 is one of the most versatile bass amps I have ever used in my years of professional playing. The controls are easy to use, and even easier to dial in the tone you want. It has very little breakup at high volumes. The voice control knob gives you a perfect starting place to find that dream tone. This thing blows the Aguilar and Ampeg competitors out of the water.

    If you are even considering buying this amp, just do it. You won't be sorry. :)

  • from November 28, 2016

    Well..... Just a killing machine

    I own a Ampeg SVT 4 Pro, a Mesa Titan V12 and have owned the M-Pulse 600. While I didn't really like the M-Pulse 600, I really love both the Titan and the SVT 4 Pro. But that M9... It's just a killing machine. How come Mesa made such an amp is such a form factor? It's just genius. That amp is full of super power form super bright clean to super heavy fat bottom tones. That, without any compromises in quickness dynamic modern tone. whatever the sound you ask from it, it will produce it without even breaking a little sweat. The tone is just heaven!! To me, even better than my Titan V12... However, very close to my SVT 4 Pro in terms of headroom massive fat and clean tone. If you're after vintage tone, forget the Carbine series and go for the M-Pulse. But do yourself a favor and try the M9. For all the rest of bass players, just get one without even hesitating. The power is 600W but it feels like it's 10 000W. I swear what I'm saying. Stop reading and go get one!

  • from Burke, VA October 4, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Head, Great Company

    I own a lot of Mesa gear including all three of the Carbines (M3, M6 and M9), a Walkabout Head and Walkabout Scout 12 combo. I find the M9 to be versatile and powerful enough to handle just about any job. It sounds incredible with my PH410 (8 Ohm) and one or both of my PH212 (8 Ohm) cabs. The amp is very fast and clean (excellent articualtion between notes) and produces a solid, thick sound that is a little short of being warm, but is quite full and meaty. The EQ options are plentiful enough to compensate for any room acoustics or tonal goals. The compressor is very nice, especially for an in-head unit, and works as well for me as my Diamond Bass Copmressor or Aguilar TLC. Additionally, the M9 has pretty much every feature you could ask for in bass head, and few that you may not have even thought of.

    I would like to mention that while I did not experience any thermal shutdown issues with my Carbines, Mesa had me send all three back for updating at no cost to me and they covered the return shipping. As part of the rework required to address potential thermal issues, my M9 was returned in the 600 watt configuration (it was 900 watts when bought it). Some people found that objectionable. For me, I'm grateful that Mesa was willing to update my amps at their own cost to prevent me from a having a problem on stage - that says a lot about them as a comapny and how much they value their customers.

    Quite frankly I can't tell one bit of difference in the performance or perceived loudness due the decrease from 900 to 600 Watts. The M9 is an absolute beast that has more than enough reserve capacity and headroom to carry the day for anything I've ever done indoors or out. This head punches hard and words like thin, weak or strugging would be the very last thoughts to come to mind while playing it. During soundchecks no one has ever requested me to do anything but turn down a bit. Even if it's not a head that meets your personal tone/sound goals, playing it is an experience that will leave a smile on your face, as will doing business with a great company like Mesa.

  • from Los Angeles, CA. May 5, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    WOW!!! I love this thing...

    I have played Mesa Boogie bass amps now for over 30 years and swear by them so go out and try one!!! You owe it to yourself to experience the awesome bass tone and bone crushing power of this amp… They're not the easiest on the wallet, but when you buy the best, you only feel the sting once… I'm a huge advocate for owning all "Made In America" gear right down to my cables, so Mesa makes that checklist as well…

    Sound Quality:
    I play in a 90's Tribute Alternative Rock Band and a 60's British Rock band… I have it coupled with the Mesa Boogie Power House 4x10 Bass Cab 4 ohm which is a lethal combination… It never breaks a sweat on large stages (500-2000 people)... This amp retired my Big Block 750… I also use it for very small club and restaurant gigs with local L.A. players and it easily covers any tone I need instantly with the 5 position tone knob.... I have used just about every amp on the planet over the years as part of back-line supplied bass rigs on festive gigs and although they get the job done, they always leave me missing my Mesa Tone… It's so fast and articulate as well as rich and deep all while being focused!!!

    Ease of Use:
    It took me a whole 2 minutes to dial in my tone out of the box... I know that there are a lot of dials and controls on the amp but once you are used to MESA it gets pretty straight forward… I don't even use the EQ at all, I just don't need it… I would have considered the M6 but I really wanted the Compressor and it was the right choice… The only negative for me about this amp is the lack of a dedicated front panel mute switch as opposed to the integrated Master Volume/Mute Pull Knob...

    P.S. Did I mention that this thing is built like a TANK!!!

  • from Connecticut January 23, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Guitar, Bass , Audio player

    Mesa M 9 Carbine combo amp

    I have been playing out over 40 years. I have owned a lot of equipment. 24 years ago I purchased my first Boogie . Its been lov e all the way. This Bass amp has it all. Punch, volume, clarity, tone at a price that is not out of line with it does. My amp is relitively small but man what a huge sound. Run, don't walk to your nearest amp store and put your money down. You won't be sorry

  • from Riverside RI June 27, 2010Music Background:
    Producer,Recording Engineer

    Low End Heaven with power to spare.

    Dialing in tone is a snap,in less than an hour I had dialed in five different usable tones.playing each one of them for about five minutes then on to the next.It seamed like I could not get a bad tone.The gain is great ,the compressor is smooth,and the EQ is fantastic.Proud to say it is American made and glad to add it to my studio.

  • from Brielle, NJ June 21, 2013Music Background:
    live sound engineer, hobbyst, student, musician

    What's an ampeg?

    I've played through plenty of heads, ampeg, fender, hartke. Don't get me wrong. Tube or solid state they're okay. But no match for this hybrid. This thing gets any tone you want. Especially with the 9 band eq. The only thing I wish it had would be a build in overdrive. But this is the clearest crispiest bass amp. Its the master of punch and low end. And its built like a rock!

  • from San Jose, CA February 27, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Wow..just wow

    I've gone through many amp heads over the past few years. I've owned the lowly Gallien Krueger Backline series, Euphonic Audio iAmp 600, the Mesa Mpulse 600 and played with Ampegs, Markbass, and many others. This is the most streamlined, reliable, powerful, tone savvy amp I have ever heard. It's plug in & play at it's finest. Mesa makes THE BEST products, hand built in the good ol' US of A

  • from Dubuque, Ia May 14, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Sounds Great, But...

    This amp sounds great. It nails many different tones. It works wonderful for both upright and electric bass. But it's been sent back to Mesa once because it quit in the middle of a gig just a couple of months after buying it new. It was fine for less than a year and now it just died in the middle of gig again. I would think for money Mesa could make a more reliable product. I've played though a lot of amps in my 20+ years of gigging. This one has sounded the best and let me down more than any other I've owned.

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie M9 Carbine 600-Watt Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway