0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Line 6 M9 Stompbox Modeler Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 M9 Stompbox Modeler Pedal?

Questions about the Line 6 M9 Stompbox Modeler Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Robert Williams

    My primary rig has rack gear, pedals, and a MIDI foot controller. Great sounds, but a pain to carry. Recently I coupled two Line 6 M9s (one for gain, one for time-based effects) into a combo amp and they worked amazingly well. Less setup time and a whole lot less back strain!

  • from November 30, 2015

    Line6 M9

    I buy my first M9 in 2013 , them was sell one year later, I was thinking that individual pedals was the best. I realized that this was not true, the individual pedals have a lot of noise, the M9 has a really cristal clear sound. So I buy again a M9, with the last version, if line6 make a new upgrade for the M9 you can download it from your computer an allwais you will have your M9 update. It's a very good pedal.

  • from December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Live Musician

    Great Product

    Love the product and great Shipping like always

  • from Columbus, Ohio July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazing

    My friend has the M13 and I wish I would have upgraded but this one serves me well. 3 effects or mods is all I need at a given time - Noise Gate also works extremely well. I used to have some of there delay pedals but this thing has so many of them I can truly say they match the tones.

  • from Schenectady, NY May 18, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced All Around Guitarist

    Great Multi EXF Pedal!!!

    I used the Line 6 DL4 for about 5 years with no problem at all, although at times due to the unit having only 3 presets i would have to bend over to add modulation to a preset if i wanted it for a song, so i figured i'd give the M9 a shot sense it had more presets... well i don't want to ramble on so in short i got what i wanted and more, also the chorus efx are great, as are the other modulation efx and you can set them for tap tempo or a set rate (same goes for delays of course), your choice, never seen this for a modulation type efx before, very cool... the reverbs are very good, as are some of the overdrives/dist./fuzz mods. Only thing i didn't care for was the size of the supplied power pac (it's huge), so i order the Godlyke PA-9S-US Power-All 2000mA and the L6 jumper cable(reverse-polarity).
    Hope this helped, happy pickin'!

  • from United States October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Enthusiast

    Perfection in a box

    First off...full disclosure. I'm fairly new to electric guitar (been playing acoustic for years) and all the "toys" that come with electric guitars. Mainly pedals. I have not owned any boutique pedals or just single pedals in general.

    Now, with that out of the way--onto the M9. This thing is PERFECT for me. I get 75-100 pedal effects for the price of around 3 individual high end pedals. I don't feel I'm qualified enough to "diss" any of the pedal models included in the M9. I can't really judge fuzz and overdrive (or whatever) to anything else because I haven't owned anything else. But, to me, they sound GREAT...especially when you dial them in.

    This pedal is SUPER intuitive. You almost don't even need to read the manual. And, it's super easy to set up "scenes" to your liking. I have a straight rock scene, "acoustic" scene, and then a "crazy" scene with all the weird sound effects locked in. Once your familiar enough with the pedal, you can almost change all this while playing on the fly.

    Anyways, if you're considering this purchase I can't recommend it enough. Look up some YouTube video demos and be sure, but I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • from MI, USA May 21, 2012Music Background:
    Modern Worship Guitarist

    Highly recommended, you can't beat the M9

    I am a contemporary worship guitarist at a large church in Michigan. The M9 is the centerpeice of my pedalboard, at this point I can't imagine trying to find something to replace it. The M9 is very compact so it won't take up much space on your board. It will likely eliminate the need for many of the other pedals too, because the variety and quality of sounds with this thing is impressive. Some purists may prefer an analog drive pedal in front of the M9, but plenty of guitarists are happy with the drives offered. I've never met anyone not impressed with the delays. Our band plays a variety of styles of music and the M9 allows me to find the sounds I need with with a minimal pedal board. True bypass and an internal noise gate as well! Lots of good advice for getting your settings just right can be found online, check out "Line 6 Stombox Modeler Settings" on facebook. I can't say enough good about this product!

  • from Orange City, FL May 27, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great product

    I am very impressed with the build quality, feature set and tonal quality. I was trying to build a pedal board and the cost and hit or miss pedal selection was getting expensive and frustrating. The Line6 m9 was the best answer for me. All the tone I could ever want in a small package. This is a must have for any one that wants to play through their favorite amp and needs fx.

  • from Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, Dementophobia, Only when it rains

    M9, you dont need anything else

    I have owned my M9 for just over a year now, and I am still amazed.

    I have played countless shows with it, in all types of weather conditions and it has never failed me, its sturdy build and easy to use features are probably the biggest plus points, and with 6 effects per scene and 6 scenes I canít see why you would need another pedal in your collection,

    10 out of 10 Line 6!

  • from Winnipeg MB Canada May 8, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyiest/Session Player/Composer

    I like it.

    I use this more than my TC Electronics G-system while playing live because it is to easy to tweak settings 'on-the-fly'. My bandmates were impressed with my sound too. Highly recommended; this is the future... now!

  • from Minneapolis, MN March 9, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A must have effect unit!!

    The Line 6 M9 is a very powerful yet very simple unit to have! the size of this unit is no bigger than any of the Line 6 Modelers but 6 six times the ability. For those people who want s a ton of options in a nicely sized unit, this one is for you!!!

    I consider myself a tone geek and was very happy with the quality of the effects. I really like the tap tempo feature as well! You can set the tempo while the effects are off unlike the DL4 tap feature. Please, do yourself a favor and check this unit out. for the price and quality... you can't go wrong!

  • from Naperville, IL December 29, 2010Music Background:
    recording engineering, touring musician

    Amazing Pedal! My new workhorse

    I have owned this pedal for about 8 months - I know it's delayed, but I didn't want to jump to conclusions. I have put this pedal through the ringer and it continues to be amazing. I have never been a fan of multi-FX units, but this unit changed my mind forever. I could probably get by with just the M9, but I have a few old stomp boxes that I just can't part ways with. That's 100% just a matter of personal taste though - because this unit does it all.

    I love the delays and reverbs (my primary use for this). The tremolos and other modulation type effect are also very good. I especially like that you can tap the tempo of the tremolos and designate quarter note, eigth note, etc. The drives and comps are believable and definitely get the job done - I have an old school RAT and Tubescreamer though so I've yet to use the M9 drives exclusively.

    My only complaint is that when I'm dialing in settings (mainly for the delays/reverbs), the knobs that control the settings are a bit fiddly so it's hard to get it exactly where I want it. This could quite possibly be a result of fat fingers and unsteady hands though.

    Overall - Amazing unit that sounds great and has excellent features. It will convince you to ditch your stomp boxes if you're not too attached to them sentimentally.

  • from Kentucky March 27, 2014Music Background:
    christian musician

    Praise worthy

    This pedal is awesome! I play guitar in a worship band every Sunday and Wednesday. Didn't want to carry a bunch of different pedals around and this has tons of effects. I like the ability to setup different scenes for songs in our set list.The only down fall is the display is a bit small and hard to read standing up. I would definitely recommend this pedal to anyone who doesn't want to drag a lot of stompboxes around.

  • from Duluth, MN December 3, 2009Music Background:
    Amplifier manufacturer

    Great pedal, tons of features

    This pedal is really quite amazing. It does everything I need/wanted it to do. I've never been an effects guy, so I wanted to try this out because it features a wide variety of options. It's extremely simple to set up and use. Unlike A TON of other multi-effect pedals, it doesn't suck tone (on or off). The true bypass on it is killer, but even the DSP bypass setting doesn't affect the tone much. It's also very quiet running, introducing barely any hum or buzz (again, in the signal or taken out). Having all the Line 6 modelers in one small box is pretty awesome, not to mention a fantastic value. This is nothing like the POD (Don't get me wrong, I personally like the POD's and I own a company that manufactures tube amps...), it's a totally different animal. Line 6 hit another home run with this.

  • from Middleton, WI USA October 29, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    great pedal, price is reasonable

    So many people are complaining about the price on forums and reviews... because they know how great the effects are and what a steal it would be at $300 or less. You're paying for a brilliantly designed small foot print with all the great Line 6 effects. This thing is for people that want great FX in a small package, and it delivers. Only complaint is that I wish the modulations (univibe in particular) were a little better. But this thing kick a** in general. It is still a great value when you consider all the FX and features.... and the size and weight!

  • from Wilmington, DE December 15, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, Blues, Jam Bands

    Versatile Tool, pretty close to the real thing

    I'm a stomp box junky, and I'm constantly retooling my pedalboard. I add more and more boxes, then I get tired of the complexity and the depleted purity of signal (from so many cables and pedals) and I simplify. This M9 is an invaluable tool becaues it gives you ample flexibility and options while reducing the number of pedals and cables between your guitar and amp. Ultimately, it's like the Swiss Army Knife of pedals (as are multi-effects by definition) but I like the M9 in particular for a variety of reasons... here are some pro's and con's:

    Pro's:
    1) No digital amp modeling - I don't like most multi-effects because you can't turn off the amp modeling. It would be ridiculous to run an expensive tube amp through a digital amp model that pollutes the natural tone (on purpose). If you have a bargain solid state amp, then amp models have a purpose, otherwise the M9 is the way to go. It acts like having 6 pedals and still maintains the natural sound of your amp.

    2) Easy to program - set it up like you would 6 individual pedals (you can even create/save multiple "folders", each with 6 different effects).

    3) Variety of effects - everything and more is covered here. The delays and modulation are the best. Ultimately, these are "almost" as good as the real thing. If you have discerning taste for a specific effect, go buy a dedicated pedal for that effect. But the M9 comes awfully close and I use it as a revolving door of "flavor of the month" effects that I don't need to use all the time.

    Con's:
    1) You can't split the effects between front-of-amp and effects loop ("4 cable method"). If you need to do that, I think the M13 has that capability.

    2) I would have bought M13 for 4-cable-method but I'm not wild about the digital overdrive/distortion settings on these line6 products. They're okay and I've used them in a pinch, but I prefer my amp gain, tubescreamer, etc. The real thing always beats digital. However, the M9 is still worth getting due to the quality of the delay and modulation effects. So many options in one device. For this reason, I run the M9 through my effects loop and use it almost exclusively for delay and mod. I'll also throw in some random stuff like octaves. Some of these would probably be ideal through the front of the amp, but hey, you can always repurpose this thing in a million ways. (I even use this in an acoustic duo for various textures and effects (again, chorus, mod, pitch shift all work great). I'll run it straight from acoustic guitar -> M9 -> P.A. Gets the job done.

    Bottom line, this multi-effect processor preserves your natural tone, has a small footprint for the amount flexibility, and can be programmed for all sorts of musicial directions.

  • from aiken, sc. October 9, 2009Music Background:
    gigging musician

    price too high

    i was the first to try this out in my area its an awesome piece of equipment, most line6 stuff is, but even with saying that i would not buy it because i can get a pod x3 , or an m-13 for only $100 more the price is just too steep for what it does, line 6 needs to reconsider its pricing on this one.t

  • from Seattle March 28, 2013Music Background:
    pro guitarist, composer

    Great Pedal - But Line6 Won't Fix Looper Bug

    The M9 is an extremely powerful multi-effect pedal with some great sounds from subtle to ridiculous. It shares all the models and looper from its big brother the M13 - with one flaw: there is a bug in the M9 looper which causes a ring-modulation type distortion on overdubbed audio under certain circumstances.

    Anyone who uses the looper creatively will encounter this 100% reproducible bug eventually. Line6 acknowledges the bug since 2010 and that it could probably be fixed via a firmware update, yet the last firmware update was two years ago and the bug persists.

    Line6 apparently doesn't think it's worth the man-hours to fix the firmware even on a product that they continue to manufacture and sell. Caveat Emptor.

  • from Orlando, Fl April 10, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great features, disappointing tone

    This eliminates so many other pedals: Tuner, looper, gate.
    It's real easy to select and edit effects.
    Plenty to choose from.
    Too many effects that sound good, too few that sound great.

    It has one of the usual drawbacks of multi effects: The tone and volume of two different effects sound the same when you're playing by yourself, then they sound significantly different, especially in level and brightness when playing with a band. To me, this is TOO MUCH variation. I like to set it and forget it. And I wish it was easier to just get a "basic" chorus, delay, and clean boost from this without too much trouble.
    One SERIOUS design flaw: It's really easy to accidentally erase a whole scene when you're trying to switch from one scene to another.
    It also has a troublesome wall wart. Consider the "pedalboard" factor in this.

  • from Charlottesville, VA June 12, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Student

    Not for me

    I thought I would be using this more often than I currently am. I was hoping that it would be super useful in a live performance, instead of having to get down in-between songs and make adjustments I could just have presets all ready to go. All of this should be true, but I must be clumsy. Don't get me wrong, this is not getting two stars for sound, build or even interface quality. It gets two stars because one mistake live can wreak havoc, shutting off the system, or just plain destroying the tone. I'm well versed enough in electronics to not be considered a luddite, but this pedal just is not for me.

Questions about the Line 6 M9 Stompbox Modeler Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway