0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Furman M-8x2 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 61 customer reviews
Questions about the Furman M-8x2?

Questions about the Furman M-8x2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 23, 2017

    furman m8x2

    i didn't need the bells and whistles, for $, well worth it, took away all the noise and hiss and cracks from the old electrical service in my apt. I wish I got this along time ago. I also rotate around twenty pedal, 5 of which are wall warts, the spacing on the back is great, i have two amps, my wall warts and a one spot all in this unit, its great!

  • from Michigan April 4, 2017

    Power conditioner - Rack Mount

    I have used these strips for music setups for years. Always have been dependable. This one is for a stereo setup, replacing the little floor plug surge strips. Great choice, and does exactly what the others have done. Clean power and ability to easily turn off the power when not in use.

    Sweetwater is always my go-to place for new equipment. Great service and speedy delivery.

  • from Vermont March 31, 2017

    Furman m-8x2

    Works as it is suppose to. Has got rid of some unusual power noises from florescent lights and snapping noises in all our amps. Great product!

  • from Cape Canaveral March 23, 2017

    Great gear great price great service.

    Thanks Steve Oppenheim for the great personal service.

  • from January 28, 2017

    Zoom UAC-8

    Great unit. USB 3.0 significant improves latency. Sound is clear. The computer interface was a little tricky for me (anovice) but I eventually got it.

  • from Colombia September 13, 2016Music Background:
    Producer / Engineer

    Perfect solutio for AC

    Does what it is supposed to do without any problems. Takes different wall wart or ac plug sizes.
    And has a very convenient front ac outlet. I own 4 and they all work like a charm.
    One has all 8 ac outlets ocupied with tube and class A pres and works perfectly!!

  • from Columbia, South Carolina June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Wrote

    Phenomenal? Yes!

    Power conditioners vs. surge strips [concerning surges]: "Power line disturbances can destroy, degrade, and disrupt electronic systems. Plug-in surge strips are only capable of reducing surge energy not eliminating it. Plug-in power conditioners that include a surge diverter, isolation transformer, and power line noise filter in their design can eliminate system destruction, component degradation, and operation disruption by exhibiting much better control over surge voltages. Remember that the performance of naked surge strip components in an electrical system is unpredictable. The performance of plug-in power conditioners with an isolation transformer in the same electrical system is predictable and repeatable. Surge strips create N-G voltage. Plug-in power conditioners eliminate it."
    Power conditioners vs. surge strips [concerning line noise]: "AC noise filtering reduces RFI/EMI. Furman's AC noise filtering reduces RFI and EMI interference to deliver a cleaner sound without pops, crackles and the local radio station coming out of your amp." Re. M-8X2: Noise attenuation: Transverse mode: Greater than 23dB, 200Khz to 10 Mhz. But typical power strips don't do a thing about the noise. . . from fans, fluorescent lights, power line movement outside the house, etc. My research confirms that "you get what you pay for." A cheap surge strip may have only a capacitor and a few other inexpensive components, and then call the result "noise attenuation."
    Ending on a positive note, I have enjoyed the very good performance of a single Furman M-8X2 Conditioner for years now, and my needs have grown to the point where I have required purchasing another one. With 17 plugs going into 2 Furman power conditioners, I must say that the first word that came to mind was PHENOMENAL. The hum and noise I was getting: it vanished [at a distance of a foot or greater from one of the monitors].
    I am very pleased.

  • from May 22, 2016

    Should be priority purchase for every musician

    This unit, or something like it, should be at the top of every musicians "have to have" list. I was having a lot of problems with noisy interference, not anymore. Additionally, having that added surge protection is worth the investment. Don't have one, buy one. Don't even hesitate. Don't have the funds? Sell some stuff on ebay and buy one. Seriously, get one. You will be glad you did. On another note, Sweetwater rocks! One of those rare companies these days that understand how to obtain customer satisfaction and loyalty. Kind of sad and pathetic that once upon a time it was the norm, not the exception. When I want something, Sweetwater will always get first crack at getting my business and hence, money!

  • from Detroit, MI April 5, 2016Music Background:
    Music Writing , Reocrding, & Producing

    Ultimate Power

    I have all my studio gear and my Apple devices power through these, and they are outstanding.

  • from New York June 29, 2015

    It just works

    What's there to say? It's a power strip: 8 in the back, one in the front. Mount it on your rack, plug up to 9 devices and that's all there is to it.

  • from McHenry, IL May 21, 2015Music Background:
    Artist/engineer

    So Far So Good

    I bought two of these units for a studio rack for my interface and outboard gear. It helps keep the cord clutter tucked inside the rack. Instead of having 12 power cords coming out the back, I have only 2. Solid build, clean look, so far so good. I also like that they have outlets on the front, which allow me to plug in outboard gear I use only occasionally, super convenient. As for power conditioning, I haven't done any testing, but they seem to be working fine.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Worship FOH Sound, Musician

    Essential Audio Gear!

    I've used my M-8 for over five years now and it's worked very well for me!

  • from amsterdam, ny December 2, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    SAFETY FOR YOU EQUIPMENT!

    FURMAN SURGE PROTECTOR KEEP YOU INSTRUMENTS AND EQUIPMENT SAFE FROM POWER SURGE AND AC NOISE. QUALITY BUILT AND THEY WON'T BREAK THE BANK. BE SAFE RATHER THAN SORRY!

  • from Elkhart,IN. USA October 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent

    This is by far the best value out there for insuring the safety of your music gear. Has just the right amount of plugs, with a few extra for expansion. The layout of the plug inputs is just right.
    With all my gear plugged into this, I don't have to worry at all. I KNOW everything is safe.
    Well built, works just as it should, and I highly recommend getting one. Even if you only plug in a practice amp. I'm using it for a small home studio.

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Perfect power!

    I got this on the recommendation of my Sweetwater Rep Tony Dayton. Dude, thanks again, this worked perfectly for me. The perfect power choice.

  • from Howell, MI March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Director of Music at my church

    Protect your thousands for $65

    If you've been debating about whether or not to purchase this product, let me help you make your decision: Leave this review and buy it now. This was my first purchase ever from Sweetwater, and it has yet to let me down.

    You've spent hundreds (or like me, thousands) on your pro-audio setup. What's better than being able to plug your expensive rack of equipment into ANY plug at ANY venue, and not have to worry about it frying, or noise, or hum??

    Many times throughout the spring/summer, I am responsible for providing the music for outdoor venues on the grounds at my church. Most recently, the net worth of musical/pro-audio gear being used at one of these events was well over $4000. Unfortunately, the only place to plug in is to a rusty, junky looking outdoor outlet under a pavilion. I plugged my M-8x2 in, plugged in the rest of our gear, turned on the power, and to our surprise, absolutely no power line noise coming through the PA system, even after a sound check. Yes, you read that right, the Furman M-8x2 conditioned power from an OUTDOOR outlet so well, there was NO NOISE coming through our PA system.

    Furman is truly a reputable company in the power field. Even if you don't buy this unit, please don't purchase power conditioning equipment from any other company. I've had this since 2008, and it is still going strong. Furman really out did themselves with the M-8x2. For being one of their lower-end units, you get amazing functionality, and peace of mind. Buy this NOW.

    My only complaint: Don't let this unit sit in the sun. Over the years, my unit has turned a light grey from sun exposure, but hey, that's my fault.

  • from WV January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Cheapest Studio Upgrade Ever!

    Want to make your home studio clearer, cleaner sounding?Here's your answer. Got rid of noise I didn't know was there.

    LOVE the outlet on the front.

    SImple, does its job well.

  • from Rapid City, SD (USA) December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It work

    I think it is good that it is just right for doing as much as it does.

  • from Elkhart Indiana U.S.A. November 25, 2013Music Background:
    40+years working Musician

    Silent power

    This unit works well. It keeps things From the annoying "buzzez" that you get from outdated wiring in alot of older buildings. Good way to protect your gear !

  • from Springfield, IL October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Radio DJ, CrosFit DJ/MC

    PERFECT

    I feel like my equipment is very protected. The extra outlet in the front is perfect for phone charger or other electronics.

  • from new york city September 13, 2013Music Background:
    audio book narrator

    love it!

    "Just" a power conditioner, but it's my first, and beats the heck out of the $5 power strip.

  • from Bronx, NYC September 4, 2013Music Background:
    DJ, ReMixer

    A brick with a switch and piece of mind.

    This is a simple but necessary item if you plan on having any sensitive items in a rack. It handles 15 AMPS, with some well spaced outlets and has a nice chunky power switch! Come on, that's all you really need.

  • from Nashville tn August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, engineer live sound

    Awesome piece of gear

    Great buy for what you get - piece of mind that' your gear is protected and a greatly reduced noise floor. It took all of the noise out of our ear mixes and the mains as well. This was a typical crappy room as far as clean power goes...including kitchen appliances whirring in the background along w fans and house lighting. Our ears have never been quieter. Do yourself a favor and spend the money...you won't regret it.

  • from Hartford County, CT, USA December 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist / Boutique Effects Fan / Entry-Level Recording

    Furman M8 Power Conditioner

    The Furman M8 15A Power Conditioner is the most cost-effective and one of the least expensive power conditioners available on today's market. If you use a power conditioner regularly for powering several electronic devices that require steady 115-120 voltage, the Furman M8 provides 8 switched outlets on the reverse side of the M8, and 1 un-switched outlet on the front side of the M8.

    While there may be other power conditioners that offer "clean" power for sensitive audio applications, the Furman M8 offers adequate power with rack mount for standard audio needs.

    At the price of the Furman M8, it would take more than just "clean power" to influence a choice for another power conditioner. The Furman M8 is all that is needed for powering electronic devices with rack mounted standard 115-120 VAC.

  • from Cornfields of Illinois November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Former professional, now a hobbyist

    Furman Power Conditioner Gets the Job Done

    Very cost effective insurance for your amps and equipment in your rack - plus an outlet for a piece of equipment (for me it is my vintage guitar amp). If you don't need the light and the readouts this is the unit for you.

  • from Los Angeles November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Independent Artist/ Producer/ Recording engineer

    Good Unit

    This unit protects your gear and puts your mind at peace. It is a great investment and I could also state that it is necessary when you start investing in a nice recording chain. I noticed the hiss disappearing from my monitors and their performance sounding tighter, indicating that it is doing its job. Don't let the price fool you when you compare it to other products, it is still a great step forward for your setup.

  • from Red Bank, NJ September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Actively performing - Rock Band

    Solved the problem

    Was experiencing serious noise from my Keyboard at certain small venues - bar stages with outdated electrical and neon signs.

    Routed all the band's gear through the M-8x2 and the noise is gone. More sophisticated models were recommended for our situation, but we wanted to test to ensure it was worthy. It's worthy!

  • from Colorado April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Gigging Musician

    Great Conditioner

    The unit itself is pretty simple in construction, but if you don't need a lot of fancy blinking lights this does its job nicely. The power outlet on the front is really convinient aswell and it evens out some of the hum I was getting from different outlets in my house, and especially going through different gigs, who knows what their power supply will do to your sound? I got this just to be sure, and it is definitely working out for me so far.

  • from Cleveland, OH April 9, 2012

    Sweet Silence!

    Great product. Great price!

    I was editing an extensive video when a ground loop hum appeared in my system. I was too busy to deal with it just then, so I ended up finishing the edit with the hum. Very painful process, that.

    When I had a free moment I searched Sweetwater's site for a product that would remove hum. I found several, but I learned from experience that I get the most bang for my buck when I consult my Sweetwater contact (Ryan Sloan, in my case).

    Long story short, Ryan turned me on to this item (it was not among the products I picked out). It solved my ground loop hum problem. Very seriously -- after the painful process of editing that video with a hum -- I was close to tears hearing the sweet silence in my audio system.

    For the potential buyer, Sweetwater carries several different versions of this product. If you need the extra bells and whistles, you can get them. But for me, this basic product was just what I needed.

    Once again ... thanks Ryan!

  • from October 19, 2011Music Background:
    musician with home studio

    a must have

    my Furman M-8x2 power conditioner comlpetes my rack..Lots of plugs and some are spaced far enough to plug in power supplies wich other somtimes don't..its simple and compact realy cleans up the apperence of your equipment as well as prevents adverse electrical conditions..to protect any equipment plugged into it..when i'm playing live or recording i wouldn't leave home without it!

  • from TX, USA September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Home Studio Sound Engineer

    Power!

    For the money, works great! I don't have many units to power, but I can plug my Mackie 12-channel mixer, Boss pedals, and dbx 166xs with no problem!

  • from Philadelphia, PA November 12, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Fantastic!

    This item is perfect! It does what it is meant to do!

  • from Oregon June 30, 2016Music Background:
    Home recording

    Clean sound

    It reduced the buzz to almost nothing, I have two of them and a bit of gear so I did need to use direct boxes in places.

  • from February 11, 2016

    Very nice and affordable!!

    I recommend this to anyone who needs extra outlets!

  • from Elkhart, Indiana July 25, 2015Music Background:
    Sound man

    My thought

    I love the store.. Customers service was good.. Wish there was a store in Elkhart... So I wouldn't have to drive so far to do business with a great company...looking forward to shopping more at your location.. I really wish there was a store closer to mishawaka/ Elkhart area.. Then I wouldn't have to go to guitar center to shop...wish it was easier to find ur locations... Had a hard time finding it...but once I found it I loved the short minutes I had in there...

  • from 18 miles south of Sedona March 18, 2014Music Background:
    Alot of background

    Quiet like church mouse

    Needed this my other one was humming...yuck...very quiet now.

  • from Iowa February 27, 2014Music Background:
    small-gig musician

    Very good for the money

    Definitely have noticed reduced noise coming from my powered speakers when hooked to the Furman M-8x2.

  • from Marseilles, IL January 7, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Good Investment

    No sound system should be without one of these. Furman is a great product and I've never had a problem with any of these. I've used these for over 10 years and Furman has never failed.

  • from Fort Lauderdale, FL September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live and studio work, songwriter

    Easy access to power.

    Rack mounted, which works really well in my new KK Audio M-1 Edit station. Power is not an issue and I don't have power strips running all over the place. Very pleased with this purchase!

  • from KS USA June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound , Pro Musican

    Great Product

    Like almost all Furman gear, built like a tank, easy to use, and makes for a fast easy set up, if need one , buy it with out fear.

  • from South Carolina April 24, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist and nube recording engineer

    Furman always top notch

    As always, Furman gives the best way to connect all my electronics without the worry of blowing circuits and

  • from Covina, CA April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student

    Works Fine

    Seems to be working fine, doing what it's suppose to. This is a better buy than the others in this series by Furman because with the others you're really just getting some lights and a volt meter display. So, if you don't need that this is a nice buy. 4.5 because I wasn't blown away. Could you be blown away by a power conditioner? I don't know. Maybe if it blows, then you'll be blown away?

  • from Spring Arbor, MI November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Works As It Should!

    Does what it needs to do quietly and easily. The spacing on the back panel is nice for the abundance of wall warts that seem to be proliferating. The only reason it doesn't get five stars is that it's a power conditioner and that's not something to get overly excited about!

  • from Albuquerque, NM June 9, 2012Music Background:
    songwriter, artist and advertising pitch demos

    Excellent surge protector for portable recording and gigging.

    I bought the M-8x2 to create a digital recording studio together a Motu 8pre and my Macbook Pro (running Logic). It's mounted in a shallow 3-place Gator rack. The setup is exceptionally low noise, which I need for producing demos for producers and artists' agents. Excellent fit and finish, solid case.

  • from June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, Hobbyist home studio

    Will buy again

    I like it. I have some more expensive conditioners and I have no idea if the expensive ones are any better. Some conditioners have unswitched outlets on the front. For what I use it for, I like that the front is switched also. It's far enough from the side that you can plug in a 3 way power splitter too if you need extra plugs. The best thing about this unit over other rackmountable units is that it is not very deep at all. I have used it in a couple different equipment racks by racking it to the back side of the rack. Allows you to cram one more piece of gear in a rack.

  • from US June 3, 2011Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Great conditioner at an affordable price

    Another good product from Furman. I got this one to power up a rack unit for my live setup. No issues. It's not an AR-15, but for the price well worth it.

  • from March 20, 2017Music Background:
    Avid 25 year amateur guitars and keyboards

    Simply does the job

    Running a keyboard rig with a small mixer and a power amp to power a pair of monitors. It fits the bill to a tee. Great price for power conditioning and well thought-out outlet layout in the back.

  • from Redding December 29, 2016Music Background:
    Music Production, Berklee Student

    Great Unit

    Nothing bad to mention about this guy. Just a full rack sized 1/2 depth unit that conditions my power needs well.

  • from NC May 8, 2016

    great unit

    Just purchased this mainly for organization along with a rack. Though I was curious about the noise reduction claims, that wasnt the reason for purchasing it. I have less noise, but I also just racked all my gear, zip tied my chords, and plugged my computer stuff and studio monitors into something else as well. Before, everything was crudely stacked up and all my cables were intertwined and plugged into the same cheap power strip. Im unsure as to what role this device played in my noise reduction, and dont want to undo all my zip ties and unrack my gear, but I hope what I have been able to share is helpful to someone.

  • from Seattle, WA April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Does The Job

    I use this unit for a rack setup that includes power supply to a tube amp, In Ear Monitoring system, a compressor, a guitar multieffects processor and guitar synthesizer. It accommodates all of the power chords easily and seems to be very quiet as far as line conditioning.

  • from Evergreen Park, Il. February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Playing and Recording for almost 40 years!

    Fixed my problem in seconds!

    I was having noise problems running things thru my rack mount into a Yamaha mixer into a Tascam DP-24 that were all plugged into the same power strip. I switched the old strip with the Furman M-8x2 and the noise was for the most part....gone.

  • from Ishpeming,MI March 22, 2013Music Background:
    amateur musician

    Great bang for buck!

    Great bang for buck, no complaints!

  • from Cheyenne, WY December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound

    Solid and Effective

    I have been using Furman gear for years and in unpacking this product I see no less than the quality of product that I have seen in years past. Install it and think nothing of it. I have yet to see a Furman product fail.

  • from San Francisco, CA December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Studio hobbyist, live musician

    Solid as always

    Picked this up to run my audio interface and monitors, works great! The product is fairly straightforward and does exactly what it is intended to do

  • from November 13, 2012

    So far so good

    SO far so good. For the price it's been worth.

  • from September 18, 2012

    Does the job.

    Nothing fancy, but it gets the job done at a decent price. The only thing I'd warn people about is to leave an empty space below this unit in your rack, otherwise you won't have enough room to plug in wall warts.

  • from San Diego, CA April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician and recording engineer

    Perfect for the task at hand

    I bought this for a portable rack for my guitar synth equipment. Works fine but could use a bnc coupling for light.

  • from chattanooga, tn March 30, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, mandolinist

    Great product!

    Keeps me from having to plug and unplug all of my gear, making it much more portable of a rig, and as always the sweetwater support was amazing. been using it for a month now and no issues yet

  • from Downers Grove, IL October 17, 2011Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Works just fine

    Have a few of these for our in ear system and practice rack. Seems to work just fine for what it is. I don't notice too much noise and there isn't much else to say.

  • from USA August 14, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    The Furman

    I got the product quickly from Sweetwater and it has done just what it is supposed to do. It helped with a some issues I had with switches in my home creating noise, combined with balanced cables I have zero issues with unwanted noise now.

  • from Clearlake, Ca April 15, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound FOH Engineer / Install Consultant

    Does the Job

    Without any type of power conditioner your playing with fire. I sometimes have to demand folks to purchase Power Conditioners, until you plug one in and the florescent light ballast hum disappears or "they" finally understand that a $50+ investment is worth saving $2,000 in equipment.

Questions about the Furman M-8x2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway