0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Furman M-8Dx Power Conditioner Reviews

4.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Furman M-8Dx Power Conditioner?

Questions about the Furman M-8Dx Power Conditioner?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • SG
    from Montana February 8, 2017Music Background:
    30 yr. music and recording pro.

    Rock Solid !

    Not a flashy piece of gear just a great functional safeguard for your electronics. Absolutely critical for
    protection...I own a couple other Furman pieces like this but without the lights and meter...they work great too..really nice to have the extra features though.

  • John Hoyt
    from Easley, SC September 1, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player with Hot As A Pepper party and dance event band!

    Power to the people!

    I've owned several Furman products over the years. This one is just like them.
    Well made, Functions as expected. Has the options I wanted.
    Would buy it again!

  • Jose
    from Laredo Tx January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, live performer, hobbyist

    Great Power conditioner

    This thing is great. It looks and handles all my racks units with not a problem. Not mentioning the lights during a dark stage performance, you can dim the the lights and led voltage reader is great.

  • Dean
    from Wisconsin December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Furman M-8Dx

    This power condition really helped as all my equipment seems to run better especially my computer. Plus the pull out lamps work as a headphone holder.

  • Lucas LeCompte
    from United States February 9, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician

    Women condition their hair, men condition their power!!

    IT cleans up my power very well; it actually took the hum that I had out of my amp. The lights are a nice effect, and I like that i can see how much power is coming through it with the LED display. You can save $30 if you dont want the LED power reader, but im a nerd and had to have it. It works very well, so get it.

  • Customer
    from Charleston, WV February 2, 2013

    What a relief - did the job 100%!

    I live in a 100 yr old house and have a small home studio setup. Never had noise in it before, but after I moved here, I had so much hum and crackle that I could barely use the monitors and was stuck with headphones, which were a bit better as powered through the computer. It was my main home stereo too, so blah. I had an electrician check the place before I bought it, and he confirmed there are grounding problems. Fixed everything that might risk my safety, but can't afford a $3-5K home rewire. Problem - even on headphones still had noise with my separately-powered condenser mic, and you can forget plugging my little Pignose into the wall, stuck on battery.

    TRIED several other products - cheaper ground lifts which didn't do anything. Also my powered sub has a ground lift internally, but that didn't do anything but change the tone of the hum. So I finally broke down last year and forked out for this M8Dx. I figured, might not fix the problem, but can always send it back. And the price was better than I'd seen before. VOILA! There is not a peep on my quiet lines, speakers, headphones, mic, whatever. Changed my whole situation!

  • Elden
    from Monroe, GA December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Hey, it's a Furman!

    Even though this is an entry level rackable power conditioner you can't go wrong with buying one. I run 4 power amps, 2 dual 31 band eq's and a crossover into this unit and I've never had a problem with losing power. I will never buy any other PC but a Furman! Period!

  • Paul
    from Portsmouth February 9, 2017Music Background:
    Lead Vocalist

    GREAT VALUE

    This is really a great product...period! The price makes it a really great value! The Wall Wart Spacing makes life a lot easier and eliminates lost receptacles. Mine is rack mounted and really enhances the tech aesthetics of the rack face. The lights are a real life saver, but they may also prove to be the weak point of the unit. The lights will automatically turn on and off as you pull out the lighting cylinder. The concern is that the contact switch that controls the on/off feature feels a little "unsubstantial". However, I have had it for two months and have done about 9 gigs with no issue so far. I absolutely recommend and would definitely buy again!

  • Danny V
    from NC, USA October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, DJ, Sound Enthusiast.

    Furman M-8Dx

    This is a really great piece of gear. I have three power amps hooked up to it, two QSC RMX 2450's and a new Behringer iNuke NU6000 which I also got from Sweetwater, and with all three amps cranking pretty loud, I'm only drawing 4-8 amps according to my monster power tap that tells me how much current I'm drawing. The only way this piece could be better is if it matched the new updated pieces of gear from Furman with the new L.E.D's in the pullout lights and a built in amp meter, when every dollar counts, you want the most for your dollars. Other than that, the price is pretty good and Sweetwaters customer service is unrivaled. Thanks to my personal Sales Associate Jake, I'm confident in any purchase I make with Sweetwater. If ever I'm unhappy with a piece of gear, I can just call Jake and get an R.A # to return the piece of gear.

  • Piano Dog
    from Salisbury, MA September 26, 2011Music Background:
    30 years in rock bands

    Buy It...

    Your here because you have humming issues and or want to protect your stuff. This will do it. You can spend alot more money and buy products that filter a little better and protect more. I almost did. However i chose this piece to protect and filter the power to 2 Presonus Preamps, 1 Alesis 3630 dual compressor, 1 Peavey EQ, 1 Yamaha 16 channel mixer, 1 Boss Dr880 Drum Machine.After installing it in my rack and playng, I was amazed at how much cleaner my equipment sounded. In the past i have used various power conditioners and they did their job, but this guy is the best bang for the buck that i can find. i am buiding another rack to mount more compressors, preamps and a reverb. Oh, did i say reverb? My effects sound much clearer and are more responsive now that they are filtered also. The lights are great, the Voltmeter is accurate, plus the lame radio station the lady upstairs listens to doesn't come through my sound system anymore. Good deal all around...

  • Ben Rowland
    from Atlanta, GA October 28, 2008Music Background:
    Television Editor

    Great Product

    Great product so far. Work like it is supposed to.

    Thanks to my Sales Engineer for his help with this purchase.

  • Dennis
    from Yorktown, IN May 31, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Power a Go-Go

    I purchased this product after my Monster 3500PRO died unexpectedly, 5 years into its ownership. While this does not have as many outlets as the Monster unit did (2 less), but it does what I need it to do...provide clean, noise-free power to my 4 synthesizers, 2 effects units, and a keyboard amp. One of the best parts about this product is its light feature(s) and its affordable price point. Those lights sure come in handy for clearly seeing the rest of my rack mount effect units' button and knobs, in low light conditions. I would recommend this product to anyone who needs multiple outlets and a clean power source. Who doesn't?

  • Customer
    from Florida March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Many years doing experience both live and in the studio. Currently guitarist

    Furman M-8Dx

    This is an awesome piece. Since I've had it my system is so much quieter. I also like that it keeps the voltage consistent. In combination with the battery backup brownouts and surges are a thing of the past. I would recommend it.

  • Tom Schaffer
    from Denver, CO USA September 13, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Professional Musician, Professional DJ (Not with the Sync Button!)

    Solid

    SOLID power conditioner. Cheap and Good. GReat combo

  • Alex
    from Colorado Springs, CO USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    X-pro turned Hobbyist

    Power Conditior

    Does exactly what it needs to.

  • Anthony Mitchell
    from Spring Valley, NY November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Home DJ

    Great Unit with 1980's Styling

    I like this unit but it just looked so out of place with the rest of my equipment, that I had to remove it. RED LED Display? Incandecent Bulbs? What is this 1980? Bulbs get hot and also have a horrible Yellow tinge color to them. One of my bulbs is brighter than the other.

    This is a great unit that hasn't been updated in about 20 years. It looks like it belongs on Audio racks with equipment from 20 years ago. Not today's equipment. Furman does have up to date looking models (Blue LED Display, LED lights) but that unit cost almost 3 times the price of this one. Hopefully Furman will make this thing look more modern. This will just be a backup unit. Looks too outdated to be in my rig everyday. Sorry

  • Customer
    from Los Angeles December 1, 2016Music Background:
    musician & producer

    extremely noisey!

    so i bought this unit & an apollo 8p. thought it would be the perfect combo to put in my rack & have power in the rack as well. the furman power was causing EXTREME noise issues to my apollo 8p! pretty much rendered useless to me after find out this issue. so as far as being a power "conditioner" doesnt seems to be the case in my studio. i ended up plugging the apollo 8p into the wall & got better results than this furman power. i am not happy about this issue. i wouldnt recommend this power to anyone using a digital studio set up.

Questions about the Furman M-8Dx Power Conditioner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway