0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

MXR M89 Bass Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M89 Bass Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M89 Bass Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from OH December 18, 2015

    MXR OVERDRIVE!!

    Great overdrive sounds right away!MXR has another great bass pedal.
    The drive is just enough w/o being in your face.I have the(other) yellow overdrive pedal and it has that ripping o/d that I grew to love ,but I think this one has just what I have been needing.
    Plenty of tweaking with CLEAN TONE & DRIVE controls.I'm using a Mesa tube head and they compliment each other.

  • from Miami, FL July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sooooo Pure!!

    Warmest overdrive I've owned to date. Doesn't do the really heavy distortion stuff, but wow does that overdrive sound soooo pure!! The white LED is cool too, very distinct from my other pedals.

  • from Billings, MT May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Amazing OD for feeding a tube amp

    I tried out every Bass OD I could get my hands on and this was the CLEAR winner. The clean knob was the biggest reason, it allow you to dial in just the right amount of your clean tone, which in turn means a fantastic OD sound, without loosing your bottom end at all. I play mine through a custom hand made Class A tube amp, and digital pedals just don't cut it, they loose that warmth. This pedal however sounds and acts 100% analog.

  • from Des Moines, IA USA April 13, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    MXR Does it again!!!

    This pedal is one of the best overdrives I've tried. I've played MXR's Blowtorch and several other ones by numerous companies that didn't do it for me, but this one NAILS it. What I was going for was a Mel Schacher (Grand Funk) meets Jack Bruce (Cream) kind of sound. Totally over driven tubes and speakers yelling "help" sound. This pedal does it and more. I've also noticed you could use it along with an MXR Bass Fuzz Deluxe and get some really out of control distortion that is focused and perfect for a metal player. If you want subtle distortion to over the top uncontrolled amp blowing overdrive, this IS the pedal. I can sum it up in one word, "BAD***!!!"

  • from South Berwick, Maine August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great pedal

    Love the sound of this pedal. VERY creamy. Works very well with dynamics. (Growls more when you dig in).

  • from USA May 21, 2013Music Background:
    I used to gig but nowadays I'm happy just jammin' with friends! \m/

    I've got B O...

    As in BASS OVERDRIVE! I've got TECH21 BDDI, VT, and LEEDS. They sound good BUT...Too many knobs, too many variables, too confusing! With the MXR M89 Less is More! Thirty seconds after plugging in I had the sound I wanted from my passive "P"eavey Fury USA Bass. If only they would include a battery door to eliminate the need to unscrew the cover to replace!

  • from Wake Forest, NC March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Almost 15 years studying, performing, composing

    M89

    This pedal very solid. It's sound has a great character, and it does not overpower your bass' tone. I absolutely love the range of sounds that I can get out of it--from warm and subtle to crunchy and in your face. The only qualms I have are that there's a slight volume drop and that once you're past about 1 o'clock on the drive knob there's not a huge difference in the amount of drive. (Varying the other three knobs brings helps to get around this pretty easily.)

  • from Ecuador December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player

    Great pedal

    I've used it with a Musicman and an SVT and the result is really powerfull for hard rocking sound. It has the option of mixing the clean sound, that helps to keep a solid definition.

Questions about the MXR M89 Bass Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway