rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Telefunken M80 - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Telefunken M80 - Black?

Questions about the Telefunken M80 - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Roanoke, VA April 5, 2017Music Background:
    Engineer

    Amazing

    I can't believe how great this microphone sounds.

    I was looking for dynamic microphone with condenser mic flavor to record spoken word female voices. My SM58, while reliable and ok sounding, yielded recordings that felt boring and lifeless.

    Upon reading many reviews and considering the likes of the Shure SM7B and Electro Voice RE20 (which I already have extensive experience with), I opted to save some cash and pull the trigger on the M80.

    I wasn't disappointed.

    I record primarially in loud, untreated rooms and I found the noise rejection (a critical factor) to be outstanding. They make male voices sound great, but female voices sing beautifully with a beautifully sweet top end. It's also sensitive enough to handle softly spoken voices. A huge plus.

    One of the primary reasons I chose it was due to its size, it's unintimidating appearance, and its durability. This one isn't slipping out of your hands, and if it does, the it will be just fine.

    I'm very pleased.

    Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from California October 13, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Guitarist

    Excellent Microphone

    I want to thank my Sales Engineer Thomas Leahy for introducing me this great microphone. As soon as I started testing the mic, I notice the sound quality was just amazing! If ever I need another one, I will not hesitate to buy another one. Sweetwater service is Excellent!!! Thanks again Thomas.

  • from Cincinnati, OH September 18, 2016Music Background:
    One Man Electrical Band

    Funken Awesome

    I've been struggling to find the perfect mic that fits my voice in a live setting for 13 years. I've never liked Shure as they seem painfully shrill. For the last five years I've settled for a Behringer 85... I'm shure you can see the resemblance... which was a really hot mic but required substantial cuts in the low range and boosts in the high range. I noticed the M80 was on sale so I asked my sales engineer, Jason, for his opinion. He said "it's probably the about the best mic you can buy for live performance." So I pulled the trigger. I funken love it! The mic is uber hot and I was able to set my my EQ settings much closer to flat. I will concur with Jason's assessment.

  • from McRae-Helena August 15, 2016Music Background:
    Producer, Performer, Studio Owner

    Yeah...

    I had previously used this mic on a female vocal overdub in a studio a couple of years ago, but am just now getting around to adding one to my mic collection. Took this mic out over the weekend on a live gig, and the next day on a drum session placing it on snare running through an API pre. This mic is obviously a high-quality dynamic. The vocal on this live gig - in a metal building with a concrete floor - was still an awesome sound (gotta love hyper-cardioids). You could hear the quality even through recorded phone videos. On the drum session the next day, placed on snare drum, was in a whole different category than a 57. This mic is so good, I'm thinking of getting a couple more. I have a Sennhesier 945, which I like, but this mic has more "meat & bones" to it, and did I mention it's heavy?? I'm pretty sure this will be a staple in every studio's mic locker in the near future.

  • from Florida August 2, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician. Lead vocals and rythm guitar. 30+ yrs.

    Great mic

    Bought the M80 after borrowing one from a band mate. I've used it for two solo gigs and I couldn't be happier! Not a real technical guy, I just know when I like the sound of something, and I love the sound this mic produces.
    As always, Sweetwater was awesome to deal with.
    Awesome product, awesome customer service. The way it should be.

  • from Denver, CO June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Professional Musician, Teacher

    The New Dynamic Standard

    I'm an engineer at a jazz club and we recently had a vocalist come through with one of these. I've been looking into alternatives to the industry standard vocal mics, as I find them basically versatile, but generally just passible and not impressive; too muddy and require too much eq to even be acceptable. This mic, however, is a breath of fresh air. Crisp, clear, pronounced, full bodied—very, very pleasant. Consonants were detailed but not harsh, tones were beautifully represented. The singer was a very dynamic one, and not a single nuance was lost. We have vocalists come through with $1,000 + handheld condenser mics all the time, and I have to say this one sounded so much better to my ears than any of those have. Just more body and better suited for the live, handheld application. Suffice to say, plans are in place to add these to our locker.

  • from Florida November 2, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist / Songwriter

    Great Microphone!

    Great Microphone! It truly makes me sound like me. The ad says that it sounds like a higher end condenser mike. I was skeptical about that until I used it.I also own a Neumann KMS 105 and I have to say that this microphone does come close to a condenser mic. Some of the venues that I play at have older PA equipment without phantom power and this mic is perfect for those venues. Overall, this is a great mic to have in one's arsenal.

  • from June 4, 2015

    Amazing mic

    I own and operate a home recording studio and I've been demoing out songs for my new EP. I've always liked dynamics on my voice live or in the studio because of my dynamic rock voice. I've been using an sm7b in the studio for the last two years. I bought The m80 for live performances because I wanted something that was a step up from sm58 in a live setting. I've gotten compliments from sound guys when I bring this to the gig, one of which actually said the m80 was one of HIS favorite live mics. This mic is so much more than a live mic though. In the last month or so it has replaced my sm7b in studio duty as well and I am seriously hooked to it. Snares, Guitar amps and yes even on Lead vocals sound amazing with this mic. I am a tenor and the high end sounds fantastic, the lower parts of my voice sound amazing as well. The best part is since it's a dynamic you can get up close (this is my personal mic so I like to kiss it when I record my vocals.) and even record vocals while holding it in my hands if I really want to. Overall this mic sound amazing in every application i've tried. If you're using a 57 or 58 on something try one of these bad boys instead and I'm sure you will be pleased with the results!

  • from Rutherfordton, NC March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, studio owner

    This is one fine mic!

    Gutsy, clean, and it cuts well in a mix. Need I say more.

  • from MN. usa February 28, 2015Music Background:
    30+ years live sound engineer and studio.

    truly great mic

    i have beta 58 ,s senn. 945,s in my live vocal bin. This mic has a natural sound for female vocals it takes hardly any EQ to get them to sound great it has a natural mid cut and sparkle on the high end. I also use them on horn,s for the same reason. Awesome mic.

  • from Kaneohe , Hawaii June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar ,Ukulele teacher- Musician

    Best mike I am now proud to use!

    I can sing with more feel using this great mike!

  • from California November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Show producer

    A Dynamic Mic that sounds like a Condenser

    This microphone really sounds like a condenser with amazing sizzle on vocals. Phantom power is not always available on the sound system at some of the venues we play. This mike really performs. The vocals zing right through the instrumental with amazing clarity.
    Telefunkin is legendary in studio recording. it's great to have one for live perfornances.

  • from Boise, ID December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Great on snare and vocals!

    Bought this item mostly as a snare mic. It does a great job as advertised. Similar to a transformerless 57, but with a clearer high end and slightly tighter low. I have used this on one vocal session so far (in an instance where the singer performed best with a handheld) and it records great. I have yet to try it in a live setting on vocals.

  • from McRae, Ga September 22, 2013Music Background:
    Performer, Engineer, Studio Owner

    Great in the studio for female Vox

    Super mic for female vocalists in the studio. i tried this one against a few others in our locker on a certain project. Thie M80 was superb for our female vocalist. However, I found it too brittle for male vocalists. BUT, in a live situation, it may actually be a good thing with male vocals who are looking for a little more presence. Every mic is different, but this one works best for female focals, in my opinion. Well built, good looking, not much bad to say about it. Would like to use it on more gigs & sessions.

  • from Eugene OR August 29, 2013Music Background:
    keyboards, composing, arranging and performance

    M80 bang!

    Excellent bang-for-the-buck vocal mic with sweeping, airy high end and nice warm lows. If you want to move up from the SM58s but you've got less than $350 for a vocal mic then you need to look at this one. No mic is for everyone----you always have to try them---but this mic made our female lead singerl sound great.

Questions about the Telefunken M80 - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway