0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

LR Baggs Lyric Acoustic Guitar Microphone with Preamp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 45 customer reviews
Questions about the LR Baggs Lyric Acoustic Guitar Microphone with Preamp?

Questions about the LR Baggs Lyric Acoustic Guitar Microphone with Preamp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Deatsville, Alabama January 14, 2017Music Background:
    Country, classic rock, and worship

    LR BAGGS LYRIC

    Awesome natural sound. Better than using an external microphone. Great sound with my Martin HD-28.

  • from Sterrett, AL January 12, 2017

    Love It

    Played the first gig with the Lyric in my Martin D-15M tonight in a restaurant and couldn't be happier. Sounded grreeeaat through my Bose, I had already tested it at home and decided to use the Neumann KMS105 preset in the Vocal mics bank, because it seemed to pass the sound through untouched. At the gig, I used the little tool to adjust the presence, which I liked set almost all the way counter clockwise, I dialed in 2.4db Low and cut 1db Mid, added light compression and reverb, and there it was. The natural sound of an awesome guitar made louder. The low E string frequencies had a round sound without being boomy and muddying up with the A string's frequencies. I've previously never really known what was meant when people refer to "detail" in guitar tone, never thought about it really, but it occurred to me tonight exactly what it is because I was hearing it. I stood right next to the Bose and got no feedback whatsoever all night. After the place closed, I stood in front of the Bose, facing it, with the volume as loud as I'll set it when Spring comes and I'm back outside on the patio, still got no feedback whatsoever. I was concerned about it working well with the Digitech Vocalist Live4 that I always use. (I send a line back to the VL4 from the guitar channel strip so it doesn't affect my guitar sound.) The harmonizer works well normally, but it seemed to work even better tonight. It was like it was hearing the guitar more clearly, which stands to reason, because I was too. I'm nearly as happy about all that as I am the fact that I didn't have to do any real modification to my guitar. Expand the strapjack hole to 1/2 inch? No problem. Here's the thing: if you don't like the sound of your guitar unplugged, find one that you do like first, then put the Lyric in it. I made subtle adjustments to my playing, since the mic does pick up hand noise very well. I play a pretty heavy percussive right hand style, lots of clicks and chops, so I had to dial that down a little, really just be aware of it, that the sound of my fingers just tapping the top is audible. But it all sounds very natural. I didn't have to work at controlling it, it was just a subtle thing I noticed in the sound, so I lightened up a little. I did make a recording with the Lyric already. I'm no expert on how to record guitar, but I'm telling you it sounded very good and was an easy get. I again used the Bose T1 mixer as a pre, did even less eq than I did in the restaurant tonight, into a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, to Garageband. It came through beautifully. Highly recommend the Lyric if you have a good guitar. Good in, good out. I'm a huge fan of this product!

  • from TN November 17, 2016

    Best Acoustic Guitar "Pickup" available

    The sound you get from this is clean, pure and crystal clear! If you need to be mic'd, this is a great way to do it!

  • from Foley, AL September 1, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist for BagoStones of Pensacola

    The Seagull is alive!

    I own a Seagull Excursion Walnut 12 string. The natural sound is really very good and sounds better than the Takamine and Breedlove that I own which cost must more. The onboard piezo sounds ok but not what I was looking for. Purchased a lyric and installed into the Seagull and it came to life. It sounds incredible and the warnth and woodiness of this guitar can now be heard in ever chord and string. Add a lyric to your favorite acoustic and you'll hear what I mean. Thanks Aric Brenner you came through once again!

  • from Columbus, GA August 29, 2016Music Background:
    session musician / professional demo and small project producer

    LR BAGGS LYRIC

    This is the best transducer device for an acoustic guitar in the industry. I installed it myself in minutes. I personally like the sound of it with the mic sensitivity dialed back slightly from the factory setting. It reduced fret noise and unnecessary contact noise. With that slight adjustment though, I'm in business. Sounds great through an AVALON U5.

  • from NC May 18, 2016Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Martin + Lyric = Love

    Put the Lyric in my Martin 000-15m and it could not be any more perfect. Sounds like you put a hot condenser mic in front of the guitar. After a few months of use in multiple live situations I have had no issues with feedback (But that was with an in-ear monitor set up)

    I would highly recommend this system to anyone with a guitar wanting to get that "warmth" to come through.

  • from Canada February 12, 2016

    GREAT system.

    I bought the Lyric for my Bourgeois Country Boy mainly because of Ricky Skaggs, having heard his live sound with it and being amazed how natural it was... So natural in fact that I didn't notice he was plugged in until his second show. From everything I read it seemed the ideal choice, and I was not disappointed. The sound from this system is amazing, clear, natural and not at all "pickupy".
    Through a good sound system (plus the Baggs Session DI) it sounds about as close to a louder guitar as a person could ask for. Very, very happy with it!

  • from January 28, 2016

    Best I've ever used

    Been playing over 50yrs. Played in every kind of live situation, and recorded in world class studios in LA.
    This is the best I have ever owned/played/heard, and I've tried them all. I put it in a spectacular vintage 000-45 and it sounds amazing. So very accurate through my Bose L1 or in the studio. They always put a studio condenser in, but the lyric by itself is really great. Buy it. You won't be sorry.

  • from January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Full time musician

    Amazing

    I love these pickups! Put them in all my acoustics. My $500 acoustic sounds better than my $2500 Taylor with this pickup. Very easy to install and use!

  • from Knoxville,Tn December 21, 2015

    ****....it does better than I thought

    This thing really did impress me. Right out of the box I was receiving a little feedback through the PA. (Bose) after a little adjustment it seemed as if the pickup learned what I wanted and just kept getting better. The sound is very true and telling. Don't even bother installing in a poor sounding guitar. It only amplifies your natural sound. She's not a miracle worker. I read reviews before purchasing and they were all amazing despite a few negative ones. Those few negative reviews sound like they are coming from the guys that have been playing a long time and think they know what they are doing, and when you go to the venue they want to play your stuff and try to tell you how to set it up and how their stuff is better. Don't mind the haters....truth is that this was a great option for me. I now have one in my D-18 which sounds great. But I put one in my '74 takamine F-349 mahogany and was blown away.

    This pickup is used by many including one of my favorites Sturgill Simpson.

    Bottom line. If you're looking for a darn good pickup. This is it.
    If you're a snobby **** that doesn't like anything other than a Taylor or you are constantly on Facebook complaining about music...it isn't for you.

  • from July 27, 2015

    The Lyric Tells the truth!

    This is the most accurate way to represent your guitar in any "plugged in" format. Crystal clear and sounds like a microphone... Because it IS! Enough volume and punch to still work in a full band, even with floor wedge monitors. If your guitar is cheap and plastic, I wouldn't put this in it because it really does tell the truth. If you have an all wood guitar, that you love the way its sounds "unplugged" then the Lyric is for you. No feedback that i've experienced yet but i'm sure if I tried I could get it to howl. You should be fine, especially if you EQ properly with an external DI or on the mixing desk's EQ from the house. It is very "microphonic" so be advised that buttons from your shirt tapping your guitar can be heard as well as some "handling noise" if you're an active player that moves around a lot. If you're in a band it'll be covered up.Still can't get over how pure this thing sounds. It really sings!

  • from June 5, 2015

    Great System

    Bought two. Put them in a Taylor 310, and 314. Paired with the LR Baggs Venue Di, the guitars sound fantastic. Very impressed by the Lyric system.

  • from Cape Coral Florida March 22, 2015Music Background:
    Musican for 7 years worship leader

    The best of the best

    I have a taylor 814ce with the unfortunately horrible taylor expression system. The pick up system would pickup signals from the stage lights and was very unnatural sounding . I loved the guitar when unplugged. So I decided to look for a new pickup system. I heard of the Lr. Baggs lyric system and was a bit unsure being a internal mic. But I took the risk and I am in love ! So natural my guitar but only louder! I had to strip the taylor expression system and the installation was so easy. Mind you it was the first time install (I don't recommend if you are not confident in installing any pickup system) best decision I ever made! I am now a loyal Lr baggs customer.

  • from February 20, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, songwriter

    the best!

    I've played live using taylo ES, Fishman undersaddle and other pickups but LYRIC is the best I 've used.
    I put it on mi Taylor GS mini two weeks ago and Im in love...
    Amazing sound , good resistance to feedback and also you can use it for studio recording.
    I recommend it, buy it !

  • from lancaster, oh December 10, 2014Music Background:
    bluesman

    the best

    I play small to mid size acoustic guitars so keep that in mind with this review. I have three different Baggs pickups in 3 different guitars. I put the lyric in a custom martin 0-15sm parlor. It was simply perfect. If I wanted big dreadnaught bass I probably would have opted for the anthem. Not much more can be said but I echo other users of this pickup. Very happy with this product.

  • from Central PA, (Mechanicsburg) October 14, 2014Music Background:
    guitarist for almost 50 years, studio work, live work,

    well, how about WOW!!!

    Okay…been thru at least 8 to 10 amplification systems for high end flat tops since 1995, okay, kind of a quest, I guess. I have a Collings Braz/Adirondack D2H, built for me and rec'd by me in May of 1997…(serial # 3130. It didn't take long to stop even looking at anything under-saddle, and the closest I came to almost good was a Seymore Duncan sound hole PU with a mic built in I had installed in the late 90s. I gave up shortly after, and had a blast experiment with different mice/placements, etc., and found some very good sounds…but…was unhappy with the pre-recordingset=ups that seemed to take 4-ever. Then I tried the Lyric on the advice of these know-it-alls at Sweetwater…and, they are know-it-alls for one reason. They know…it all. Had it installed by a man in Central PA whose name is Kevin, and his business id called Full Custom Music Repair. (Please don't delete this, guys! He is very reputable, and is the go=to=guy for many top makers.
    OK…this thing, when installed, was taken to Guitar Center to experiment a little, since other than my board, I have only one acoustic amp. I ran it trhu Loudboxes, Trace Elliot, everything I could find, and noticed a pretty good sized crowd gathering outside the acoustic room…kinda a rare event at a Guitar Center, unless shredding. Anyway, this, IMHO, is as good as it gets. Do your self, your sound man, and your audience a BIG favor…MIC it (from inside!!)

  • from Albuquerque, NM July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Sound Designer

    We've been waiting

    Over the years I just couldn't bring myself to use piezo-electric bridge pickups. I could always hear the difference and I have great guitars. So the sound is really important to me. When I heard that the technology was PZM, it was a wakeup call. Then, I heard the demos and decided to take the plunge with my new Collings. I had a luthier install it only because the guitar is new and needed modification to put in the Lyric.
    It just sounds like the guitar only louder. Just like when I mike it with a condenser mic. I couldn't be happier.

  • from Wenatchee, WA July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Music Teacher

    CANT. BELIEVE. MY. EARS.

    Had this installed on my Martin 000-15m thanks to the brilliant suggestion of our rep Ben Porter at Sweetwater. Guys I'm gonna be honest with you. Playing in different worship teams over the last 15 years I've always seen the same thing: great sounding acoustic guitars with cheap, compressed, distorted, piezo-type pickups and electronics that make the guitar sound like some sort of bright, "tingy" costco-special acoustic when plugged into the sound system (Guitar players, you know what I'm talking about)... What's sad is the acoustic is almost ALWAYS impossible to "sit" right into the mix due to how harsh and unnatural it sounds. That's where the LR Baggs Lyric comes in. I could attempt to describe the sound in 5,000 words but I wont. Bottom line- it's literally a STUDIO MICROPHONE IN YOUR ACOUSTIC. NOT a pickup... And it sounds heavenly and natural plugged into ANY sound system with NO feedback problems. Watch any and all youtube demos that you can... it's for real, people. When playing live, it frees me to have the mobility of a normal "plugged in" acoustic/electric guitar, but with the incredible sound and detail as if I was seated on a stool with 2 condenser mics carefully placed on the guitar. Brilliant, I say. Brilliant. BUY IT.

  • from Atlanta, GA July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Recording Engineer

    Immaculate Sound Reproduction!

    I just had the Lyric installed in my Taylor 310 and let me just say that I'm floored by the sound. I listened to the online samples and was a little skeptical that it would actually sound that good in my guitar. I was wrong.
    I'm a full-time musician and recording artist and the first time I plugged this baby up in the studio I couldn't believe my ears. NO noise, NO ugly "quacky" sound, ALL beautiful, true acoustic tone quality. BRAVO!

  • from United States April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Worship Leader

    Bring that studio sound to the stage!

    Just purchased and installed two of these. WOW! I'm blown away. Put one in a Guild D125 & one in a Taylor 410 Dreadnought. Took about 20 minutes to install. Was gonna go with the Anthem, but after listening to the sound-clip demos, I personally preferred just the mic by itself as opposed to the blend. I don't regret my decision one bit. Don't hesitate, just buy it.

  • from Moultonborough, NH February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Television Producer

    Works Great in a 12 String, Too

    Loved this pickup in my Martin D-45, so I bought another and put it in my 1965 Martin D-12-20. Finally got a chance to play it live this weekend. Another 5 Star WOW!

    Nice clean clear natural sound, as good as a nice condenser mic. Getting the right sound from a good 12 string can be tricky. Capturing the full sound of a well aged 50yo Martin is even harder. This pickup makes it easy. Did roll off about 3db of treble and midrange on the mixer, but that was it. Perfect acoustic sound!

    Installation is really easy. The only scarey part is drilling the hole for the preamp, but a luthier will do it for next to nothing. Everything else attaches with double sided sticky tape. You can test fit it by pressing it lightly onto the bridgeplate, check it with a mirror, and easily detach in and relocate it if necessary. Once you have it in right, just press it firmly and it's done. It really is that easy!

  • from Elyria, Ohio, Buffalo, NY February 3, 2014Music Background:
    1963-1968 English RocK Band, Electric 12 String, 2003-2014 Open Mic artist

    LR Baggs Great Match with Taylor DN3

    The Taylor DN3 sounds better than many more expensive guitars, and it's Brother the 314, as it comes, no electronics. (It does NOT come with a Pick-up).
    After a couple of Sound-hole Passive Pickups were tried, I installed the LR Baggs Lyric, and what a deal!

    This Pick-up allows the DN3 to Show Off it's wonderful tones through PA and Acoustic Amps. It even sounds awesome through my 1965 Vox Vicount Amp, 60 watts. Thank you LR Baggs!

  • from January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Student, Semi-Professional

    Amazing Microphone!

    Was suggested by a friend of mine for my Martin D-16GT. Installed it with no problems. It acts just like it should, a mic! My guitar sounds exactly what it sounds like acoustically. If you are wanting a excellent mic pickup for an acoustic, this is the one!

  • from Moultonborough, NH November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Super Sound!

    Put this in my 91 Martin D-45. Truly plug and play! Sounds better than if it was miked!

    There was another pickup in the guitar when I bought it, so the installation was easy because the end block was already drilled. It was as simple as bolting the Preamp in, attaching the mic to the bridge plate with the double sided tape, the volume control to the sound hole, again with double sided tape, the battery bag to the head block, and tying down the wires, There's a great installation video on YouTube that shows everything in detail.

    Plugged it in for the first time at a solo gig yesterday. My PA is JBL Eons and a Behringer mixer. Ran it through the system with no EQ at all and it sounded perfect! Didn't even have to tweak the brightness adjustment! A lot of other musicians there, and everyone was talking about how good the guitar sounded!

    Ordered another one today for my 65 Martin D-12-20. I'll let you know how it works with a 12 string.

  • from Williamsburg, Va November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Best pickup I've used yet

    I've been through several other Fishman / Lr Baggs Pickups, Taylor's Expression System, and the best I've tried yet has been the D-tar personally. I just got a new Martin HD Guitar and did not want to put in a UST for potential sound degradation due to this instrument being so nice. My Luthier tried to talk me out of installing the Lyric because his experience with internal mic systems where that they sound boxy and feedback. I ordered the Lyric anyways... Well "somehow" they have solved these issues because feedback is manageable and it doesn't sound boxy at all!! Very nice!! I will not say it sounds as good as a well mic'ed guitar in the studio because it doesn't, but it sure gets darn close!! To the average musician's ear it could be easily mistake for a mic on a recording. This is the best pickup we have on the market yet, especially without modifying your guitar and maintaining the purity of the instrument.

  • from Wallingford, PA August 22, 2013Music Background:
    I played professionally years ago. Now trying to get back.

    Great pickup.

    This pickup was easy to install. It took about 20 minutes from start to finish. I use a graphic eq to get a balance that works well for me because inuse thensame amp formboth but if you only play acoustic, it balances well with the amp tone controls. I play a 40+ year old Yamaha 230 that now sound fantastic.

  • from MI July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Don't think. Buy it.

    If you have an acoustic guitar, and you plug into any kind of sound system you should have this mic/pickup/preamp. I play a taylor 214ce which has a less than amazing pick up in it, (it was super easy to install, didn't even have to drill, it fit right in the hole of my old pickup.) and I fell in love with my guitar all over again. No pedal or effect or pickup can compare at this cost. Creates an entirely new dynamic in the mix. My taylor with the lyric makes my guitar sound better than guitars twice the price. I love it.

  • from NY July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Many types of Music

    One step before Perfection

    Great Mic ...sounds like real mic's ..it also Depend on your guitars true sound. if your guitar Sounds great it will sound great If not it will never make it beautiful
    and the noise Floor very low + feedback resistance very Nice.
    this is a good solution for players who don't have Isolated home studio
    because it doesn't record the room .
    I wished if they make many choices like K&K external preamp Idea's

  • from April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Full time musician

    Ridiculously good resistance to feedback

    I've tried to amplify my instrument all kinds of ways and constantly struggled to get the real sound of the instrument to come out of the speakers. External condenser mics were the closest but of course were very prone to feedback and bleed, even with a lot of eq notching to minimize feedback frequencies etc.

    I've now got 2 anthems and 1 Lyric installed in different instruments. They are both absolutely INCREDIBLE in terms of the (good) lack of feedback. For the first time I can actually really rely on the internal mic signal, and get a consistent sound every night.

    It also really helps with recording if you are comping between multiple takes. Using some of the Lyric signal helps keep the takes more consistent in terms of the sound fingerprint so to speak, so that you don't hear as much of a difference sonically between takes that always happens to some degree as a result of the guitar being held a few millimeters farther or closer from the mic or at a tiny bit different angle.

    In terms of the actual sound, be warned that the this thing really puts out whatever you put into it. If your instrument sounds bad unplugged, it's not going to magically sound great amplified with the Lyric in it (although it will probably still sound a lot better than a top-notch instrument that only has an undersaddle piezo pickup.) I have one instrument that is a bit mid-range-y and the signal the Lyric puts out from that instrument is...well really mid-range-y (I just eq it to make it sound nicer...still a big improvement overall.) One of my other guitars has a much higher quality top on it with more bass and highs, and (big surprise) the signal coming out of that one is super nice. If you like the sound of your instrument, you're probably going to like the sound of it amplified via the Lyric - that's my experience anyway. I have yet to hear anything better out there in terms of a real solution for amplifying acoustic guitar. I'm pretty impressed! And I hope LR Baggs continues on this track that they're on lately with the Anthem and the Lyric.

    One final thing I've noticed about the Lyric vs. the Anthem: the Anthem gives you the possibility of getting a little more bass, which can help depending on your instrument. Even though the added bass is just coming from the undersaddle, at those low frequencies it's not offensive. Whatever they did with the "black box" circuitry on the Lyric in terms of low-end "tightening" mentioned in the product description, it results in noticeably less bass in terms of the low low end, which is understandable and probably a good thing for most acoustic guitarists, who don't really need those low lows anyway and are better off not having the extra feedback that comes with those frequencies a lot of times. I like a lot of low end and find myself boosting the crap out of the lows on the Lyric channel, but again that may have more to do with the instrument itself than the Lyric, hard to say. From what I can tell, I would recommend the Anthem over the Lyric if you do a lot of drop-tuned or percussive stuff and you really want some big thump and big bass.

  • from California Bay Area March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Praise team, worship music leader

    Beautiful

    I love this pickup - I use my guitar in front of 1000+ people at a large church auditorium and it worked flawlessly. I installed the pickup in a Martin SWDGT, cherry back and sides with spruce top and it sounds awesome. Highly recommended for any type of venue, even studio recording.

  • from Detroit Lakes MN November 11, 2014Music Background:
    FOH Engineer 35 yrs

    Super Nice Pickup

    Everything I wanted as far as mixed types of pick up for best sound, and great control, simple controls and easy install the only issue I had was sticking the wire pads to the guitar inside but I just supplied some of my own glue and no problem the pick up sounds great and has nice adjustments for different setups

  • from Grant MN June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Muscian

    The Answer

    In well over forty five years of playing I have had or played most acoustic pickups on the market. Pickups that run the gamut from expression (profane expressions) to body sensing magnetic sound hole and fishy sound holes pickups, piezo pickups under saddle and top sensing, factory installed to luthier installed pickups. This is the first pickup I have used where the amplified sound stays true to the sound and the touch response of the guitars natural sound. Perfect no, but dang close. This pickup lets me play my acoustic like an acoustic. Very good feedback control. I like it so much I have bought several for my Martins and Taylors and each guitar has retained it's character amplified.

  • from Greer, SC January 21, 2014Music Background:
    Solo acoustic, bluegrass, live sound engineer, aspiring recording engineer, SWEETWATER fanatic

    Another winner from L.R. baggs

    I had the Lyric installed in a Bourgeois Country Boy in December after reading multiple reviews. When I first plugged in the presence control was set hot thus very bright. Spend some time playing and listening to SLIGHT adjustments. Then I added my Baggs Para DI into the signal chain. The plugged in guitar came alive and started singing to me. It is great! I did learn not to overpower the Lyric with the gain or volume controls on the DI or mixer. There is a sweet spot and you will know when you hit it. My guitar amplified now sounds like my guitar , just turned up. Truly great for this solo acoustic performer. Definitely a best buy!

  • from Braselton, Ga. November 14, 2013Music Background:
    I've played guitar for 50 years. I've owned a studio for 35 years.

    Crystal Clear!

    I put the Lyric in my 712ce Taylor that had the older Fishman system. The Lyric is crystal clear. It captures the natural tone of the "acoustic guitar" without being overly bright, thanks to the presence control. Because of the more accurate sound, single string picking is much easier and more natural sounding. On the old system, when playing down the neck on the small strings, the tone would shrink and finally disappear especially when playing in a live situation with a band. Now they ring like a bell. My only complaint is on the low. Playing solo, I miss the richness of the lower frequencies, but in a band situation, the low end loss isn't as noticeable and may actually be an advantage since low end can really muddy up a mix. Overall, I love the Lyric.

  • from September 9, 2013Music Background:
    Working musician

    About Time

    I've never been satisfied with acoustic systems. In the past we have seen insanely expensive systems that sound nothing like your unplugged guitar, let alone any unplugged guitar. This system is the exception. From hard strumming to finger picking this system stays true to the dynamics, response, and tonality of your natural guitar.

  • from Brownsville, Texas May 13, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musician

    A Neat way to mic your guitar

    After installing it, which is not such a tough task, it seems to work pretty good. I installed it in a gs mini since I did not care for the magnetic pickup designed for it. I will say proper placement ( under the bridge centered) is critical to have a sound that is not boxy. My first attempt was not very good and I moved it more centered and results were good. It is a nice alternative to many pickup possibilities. When amplifying it make sure you know you working with a mic and not a piezo pickup.

  • from Salt Lake City April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The best solution available today

    This pick-up is a game changer. There’s nothing like on the market at this point. It’s a plug and play internal “mic” that delivers real acoustic guitar sound, not boxy or requiring a ton of EQ or full of UST “quack”. It just plain works. It’s not prone to feedback and it’s super easy to install (placement is not critical).

  • from July 4, 2016Music Background:
    Proffessional guitar player with over 50 years of experience...

    LR Baggs Acoustic Guitar Microphone

    A fine piece of equipment...just perfect for my acoustic spanish requinto...

  • from October 25, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Everything is There and String Volume is Balanced

    I tried this Lyric in my jumbo after hearing on several YouTube videos how the plain (unwound) strings ring out nicely, and it's the best I've found yet for giving you what you need to work with for a stellar sound. I still have to EQ pretty strongly to get the clarity and warmth I like, but the end result is excellent! Nothing is missing and the output is just as well balanced as the unplugged guitar. It still works great with a rubber feedback buster in the sound hole, too. Bumping your guitar around or hitting the top with fingernails or a pick is louder than any other pickup I've tried, but I'm kind of looking forward to being able to drum on my guitar a bit without having to whack it hard to be heard. String squeaks are louder, too, but fresh coated strings fix that. I think I'm gonna get a couple more of these for a couple of my other favorite guitars I want to make stage-worthy.

  • from Medford, NJ August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Close mic'ed tone for sure.

    Ok, first things first. Kudos to Sweetwater for amazing customer service. My first Lyric had distortion in the signal, and Sweetwater replaced it quickly, no questions asked. The replacement sounds clear and as it should.
    Now, if you are looking for a warm deep tone, this might not be for you ... for instance, I've heard the element deliver more bottom. But if you want a natural tone that sits great in a band mix, this is it. There is hardly any low end thump, but lots of mid and highs. NO QUACK!! I had hoped for a little better feedback rejection, but there are limits, since it is a mic after all. Mine is in my Guild D55 and it sounds pretty much like the guitar itself, with some low end rolled off. It's a PZM, and if you know what they sound like, you already know what this does.
    I'm trying to avoid the usual hyperbole, and be honest, so I'll just say, It's a keeper, but I'm looking for a way to make it 'rounder' sounding.
    Bottom line, I'm happy with it.

  • from United States January 7, 2014

    Consider before buying

    You may be like me and see the raves and think to yourself - no brainer! STOP and READ!

    If you're like me - this seems to make perfect sense. You've seen the youtube videos and heard from Mr. Baggs himself - the mission of the Lyric was to fully bake what the Anthem could only accomplish half-baked. You're probably next thinking - even better, you don't have to shave off your saddle and deal with the equal volume between strings. This thing appears to be (and is) a breeze to install.

    If you want to read the good, just look at what everyone else is saying - but what about the "bad"?

    Here's my experience: What you'll notice is there's something missing... something pretty significant. Whether it is a deal breaker or not is based on preference. The EQ range that is shelved is the lower mids and bass (lets get specific - somewhere around 250K and below). The tech at LR Baggs confirmed that they compress and attenuate a lot of the lower mids and below because this is what will feed back.

    The problem is that it's not just "scooped" (like you would do with an EQ). What you can scoop, you can unscoop to some degree. But it's more like it's cancelled out - that nasally out-of-phase tone on the lower-mid and bass frequencies.

    The end product is something that is clear and natural, but does lack percussive punch. When you try to dial it in on a PA or EQ, you're essentially fighting it. The result is strange and unnatural when you try and accentuate these frequencies and ultimately you can't really do it!

    If you think this is going to be an issue, I recommend the Anthem by design (though I have not tried it). In concept it seems to be what better suits me and perhaps you as well.

    Either way, I would proceed with caution because it's not going to be a slam dunk for everyone. Though I really wish it were!

  • from California August 20, 2015Music Background:
    recording engineer, musician for 50 years

    surprised, unfortunately

    i had an under saddle pickup in one of my acoustic's that finally gave out after 40 years. i looked at the quantity of reviews for the Lyric and the amount of positive reviews before buying this set up. i should have paid more money and bought a different brand, one that i was familiar with. the more costly set up would also have given me more than just one sound source. the Lyric's one stick on mic did not at all impress me. to their credit, Sweetwater did offer to work something out to exchange it.

  • from Denver, CO USA February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Working Musician

    This is a mic not a pickup so be aware of this fully before purchase

    Definitely pulls through the more natural sound of the guitar, if some what 'boxy'. Have this installed in a J45 and will need to follow up with a DI carrying a notch filter in order to get a more controllable sound from this thing.
    A warning and also a slight let down is just how sensitive this pickup is to other movement noises around the guitar. A button or buckle from an item of clothing tapping the guitar can really boom through the pickup.
    Not something you consider but makes sense once installed given that his is a microphone not a pickup.
    Does what it says on the box but in practice not sure just how usable this is as not recommended with a feedback buster and also just makes the guitar too over sensitive to natural rubbing and tapping which occur when planing an acoustic guitar.
    Also, the filter adjustment method is ridiculous... The included plastic screw driver tip bent on minimal use, a very handy feature which is not easily accessible and should be adjustable via something you can access quickly with your finger rather than what is essentially a toothpick with a flat head.
    Not sure how long I'll keep this.

  • from April 27, 2015

    The Worst Musical Purchase I've Ever Made

    This is, without a doubt, the worst purchase I've ever made. This pickup system is boxy, thin and highly prone to feedback. I replaced my Taylor Expression system with this and it's unusable in live situations because of the feedback issues--even at low and moderate volume. Our band's other guitarist is using a competing offering with his Gibson and it sounds fantastic. Before you buy this, go to any search engine and type in Baggs and feedback. You'll see that this is a prevalent issue. BTW, I am using a Baggs preamp system and have tried relocating the pickup in multiple spots to no avail. Steer clear of this product.

  • from Denham Springs, LA September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Veteran guitar picker

    I must have gotten a lemon...

    This pickup must have been defective. After installation, the volume pot was very scratchy and noisy and feedback was terrible. It was not usable and completely died the second time I tried it. Both through a Bose PA and an acoustic amp. Thinking the battery was weak, I installed a new one, but the pickup was DOA.

Questions about the LR Baggs Lyric Acoustic Guitar Microphone with Preamp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close