0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Applied Acoustics Systems Lounge Lizard EP-4 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Applied Acoustics Systems Lounge Lizard EP-4?

Questions about the Applied Acoustics Systems Lounge Lizard EP-4?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from CT October 31, 2016

    I LOVE THE LIZARD

    I have 3 or 4 plug-ins that emulate the Fender Rhodes sound....I played a real one for many years, and at too many gigs to remember....but I know how it should sound and how it should play....

    When I saw this product on the internet, and heard the demos, I asked myself if I was stupid to buy yet another Rhodes plugin. Stupid I may be, cuz I put my money where my mouth (and fingers) are....but after owning this for a while, I am convinced that this is the BEST SOUNDING plug-in of the Rhodes sound, and is certainly my go-to plugin for that purpose.

    It's easy to use and has lots of "tweaks" to totally customize your sound....

    I can only say two words: GET IT.

  • from Hastings, MI December 13, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboard performer/composer

    Best Electric Piano EVER

    I used to use Logic as my DAW and it had a decent electric piano sound included in the package. You know Apple likes this sound because it is the default that is loaded when first creating a an instrument track. It's decent if not great. When I switched DAWs to Studio One 3, suddenly I had nothing at all for electric piano — nothing that sounded remotely like an electric piano, like a Fender/Rhodes or Wurlitzer. Nothing.

    I did a lot of research on the web and mostly came up empty. Then I stumbled on Lounge Lizard EP-4 and was tremendously impressed with their demo video on their website. The fear is always that it sounds great in their carefully produced demo but when you get it home it turns out to be lackluster.

    Normally it is about the quality of the samples and the interface and how you can tweak things to suit your playing style and/or project. Lounge Lizard is not sample based at all. Lounge Lizard sounds absolutely amazing. This is BEST IN CLASS and if you want electric piano sounds that are better than the real thing, buy Lounge Lizard EP-4. You will find that you should have paid more, it's just that good.

    If you want the best electric piano sounds that are a joy to play and sound amazing in your tracks, sounds that are fantastic as presets and extremely easy to tweak, you want this. If you need electric piano sounds you need look no further, this is by far the best.

  • from Sewanee, TN USA June 28, 2014Music Background:
    College Professor, Jazz Pianist, Composer

    Same great sounds without the weight

    I own a Mark I stage 88 key Rhodes, and a Wurli, both in excellent condition and I love playing them. However, as everyone who owns these vintage keyboards knows, they are BEASTS to move around. The Yamaha Motif's electric piano samples are decent, but those keyboards while not as heavy as a Rhodes or Wurli are still heavy as sin. The Nord's electric piano samples are better than Yamaha's in my opinion, and I really love Nord keyboards, but they are expensive as sin. So, not liking the options of spending a whole lot of money, or spending a whole lot of money and still having a heavy keyboard to move around, I looked in the virtual instrument realm, found this software and figured why not? Well, after about a month and a half of use, this is definitely one of the best decisions/purchases I've made. Nord who?

    The software is very user friendly, the presets are incredible, and the amount of sounds and ability to customize them puts this over the top. Not to mention that it takes up almost no space on my laptop's hard drive. It doesn't matter what controller (Casio CDP 100 or M-Audio 49 Key Keystation) I use with it, once I hear the sounds through my amp if I'm playing live or in the headphones if I'm recording, it's as if I'm sitting behind my Rhodes or Wurli and I don't have to worry about moving the instrument to and from the gig.

    Can't compliment Applied Acoustics enough for this one. Now if only they'd sponsor me.

  • from On the road again ... May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Jazz enthusiast.

    Nothing in the Industry competes with this

    I'd love to give this program an Eleven.

    Unless you have an actual Rhodes or Wurli, you won't find anything better for bringing that true, warm, rich EP sound into your own recording projects. This is a pro, polished sound, with all the bells and whistles. I am continually amazed at how this compares to some of the high quality samples I have in other formats (outboard modules, soft synths). I thought I had great sounds before, but Lounge Lizard EP-4 exceeds my best hopes.

    The programming and editing are very simple and straight-forward. You get a visual display of Rhodes-style control knobs, and easily selected pages for editing and effects. It's almost idiot-proof, to be honest.

    And since it's physical modeling instead of sample-based, it loads instantly. Select your favorite preset, or tweak the knobs for something completely new, and that's all there is to it.

    I can't praise this product highly enough. I can only say that if you want genuine, authentic EP in your mix, this is the best thing there is next to the actual instruments themselves.

    My OS is Windows 7 with 16Gb Ram; DAW - Sonar X3 Producer; Keyboard - Yamaha Clavinova

  • from South Cle Elum, WA June 13, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter/producer

    Lounge Lizard EP-4

    I've always loved Lounge Lizard sounds so I'm really happy to be using them again. The install was so easy, and you don't have to spend hours loading up a space consuming library of samples due to the physical modeling. The interface is easy and logical to use. The sounds are as good as ever.

    Love it!

  • from February 3, 2013

    Amazing!

    Lounge Lizard EP-4 is amazing. Clean, warm and punchy sounding.
    The built in effects (ie delay, reverb), although basic, sound very good.
    The compressor and equalizer sound good too, but I use my own. It's also really fun to create your own presets, and then you can save them for future projects. Really amazing!

  • from Manchester CT January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A delightful surprise

    I purchased EP3 several years ago and used it a-lot at first. Over over the years I began using other popular EP VSTs. While I own a real Fender Rhodes piano and have 3 or 4 other top VST EPs. I was about to purchase yet another EP VST when AAS announced the release of their EP4, so I decided to give it a test run. I'm really glad I did. It has a lot of great and useable presets and is highly tweak able. This is a major major product upgrade, about time. Try it before you buy it!

    AAS finally released the (very long awaited successor) EP-4.

  • from Las Vegas nv August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Lizard ep-4

    Love it. Sounds great!!

  • from So. Cal. August 4, 2015Music Background:
    20 year Hobby

    Good EP

    The electric piano software does what is supposed to do with no technical issues. Runs very well in FL Studio. Multiple instances run clean with no problems. Nice interface.

    The reason for only 3 stars? Though the software has a good patch set, the sounds you hear in the demo video were custom made by Thiago Pinheiro using the Lounge Lizard software. I was told this by AAS after I complained to AAS about not finding the sounds I heard in the demo video in the software. Those nice sounds/patches were the reason I bought the software. I'm not a sound programmer and I depend on the software I purchase to have all the sounds I hear in their demos to be in their software.

    If you are not a sound programmer, and buy this software, you will have to do your own "tweaks" in order to try and create some of those nice sounds produced by the professional musician (Thiago) in the demo video. Despite this negative, which was a big one for me, I have learned to produce my own custom patches. I currently have 30 patches that are well beyond the included patch set and the software is now giving me the sounds that I was expecting to get from the software out of the box.

Questions about the Applied Acoustics Systems Lounge Lizard EP-4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close