0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Mesa/Boogie Lone Star Standard 100/50/10-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 5 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Lone Star Standard 100/50/10-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Lone Star Standard 100/50/10-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Connecticut January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Personal enjoyment

    Lonestar 2x12

    It's an exceptional nice amp good thing it comes with wheels
    Sweet water has really come through with unparalleled customer support and satisfaction . All the claims made in the literature on this amp are true and correct . The manual has valuable Information on how to get the most amazing tones from this amp. I suggest read it first and then lolololol enjoy

  • from April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, composer

    Love it!

    Very versatile amp, from crystal clear cleans to punchy growling overdrives, this amp has a great range. It took me some time to dial in the sounds as I wanted them, but after you get used to it you won't be disappointed. The reverb is amazing, and the multi-watts options come in very handy for different applications. This amp sounds great in live gigs and rehearsals, but where it really blew my mind was in recording sessions, I found myself listening over and over my recordings just impressed by the sound of it. The amp is built like a tank but looks very elegant in design, it is very heavy though.

    Sweetwater's customer service is amazing, I had a little issue with the amp, and my sales engineer was really helpful and worked to have it fixed as fast as he could, and so he did. Buying from Sweetwater is a great experience that I will continue to have.

  • from KY February 4, 2011Music Background:
    Semi pro, hobby, writer, session dude, junk food junky.

    Messa Boogie Lone Star 2x12 Combo

    First, I've always been and will always be an old-school Marshall amp guy. I tried out this amp with EL-34's and vintage 30's in a local store. Wow. Wow. I'm still getting used to active eq's but this amp will do everything except metal. But you aren't buying this amp for metal, are you? No!
    Channel one is faultless. Channel two...well...read up on the Reeder Mod for this amp. It costs nothing, is easy to do and turns this amp into a stupid tone machine that will make the good rock fairies climb up your nose and mine your brain for every classic rock album sound you've ever heard. But, again... it's active eq's so it takes some time to learn the curves.
    Will it replace my Marshalls on stage? Yep, the versatility of this Mesa kills them. Will it replace my Marshalls in the studio? Probably, but you never know what the song calls for. Will this amp do plexi? Do you know what "plexi" sounds like? Do you know what a GOOD plexi sounds like? I'll tell you this: This amp will deliver sounds heard on many classic recordings as is with no mods. LEARN the EQ section. The bad/ good of this amp: Everytime I change guitars, the tone changes quite drastically. I have NEVER owned an amp that lets the guitar's character shine through so much at all gain stages. Is that really bad? Heck no. It means this amp works for you.

  • from Los Angeles September 21, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician 15+ years

    Fender Twin plus much more

    This amp is amazing! I have owned it a little over a month now. Have the 1 X 12 100W. I also own a Fender Blues JR (older model) and a Mesa 5:50 Express both of which I love. This amp give me a warm, rich, clean tone and will break up nicely for some crunch. I play Fender American Strat Deluxe and a PRS 408 guitar doing mostly cleans (R&B, Neo-Soul, Jazzy, Soul)

    In "TWEED mode, I sound like I have a chimey Fender Twin (spot on!!). In normal mode, it is thick and more full bodied, but still sweet. The amp is darker in tone over all, but I like this because I can brighten it up if I need to. It records very nicely. Seemed to do best with a 57 right i front of the speaker on axis. The 5:50 does better with the mic at the outside right or left of the cone.

    The amp takes pedals very well and does not pierce in the upper register when I play my Strat like the Express amp does.

    Very heavy to haul compared to my BJ, but worth the extra tone and character. The very first time I plugged this amp in, I played it for 5 hours straight without blinking!

    I do prefer the gain channel on my Express to this one, but I can get some very satisfying tones by adding an overdrive in front like my Klon KTR or Tube Screamer (Keely Mod) to push the amp over the top.

    I am considering buying the extra 12" cabinet (23) for an even wider sound.

  • from New York, NY August 6, 2013

    Great amp, but "heavy" has two minutes

    I've had my Lonestar for about a week. I bought it after a lot of research. I think I read every review printed about it. It generally gets rave reviews, and so far I've found that it lives up to them. You can dial up a wide variety of great tones. You can go anywhere from Jimi Hendrix to Wes Montgomery. Personally, I find the ability to do the latter to be the litmus test of a great amp. Lots of amps can roar for you, but most fail miserably when you ask them to sing. This amp can give you tones that you'd describe with adjectives like smokey, pretty, or haunting. I don't have much interest in or knowledge about post-classic rock metal, so I wont't speak to that. However, I've played Highway 61 Revisited, Breathe, Brain Damage, Rock and Roll, It's. a Long Way to the Top, How High the Moon, and Quando men vo on it, and they all sounded great (te amp, not necessarily my playing :) )

    But there is some mildly bad news. "It's a heavy amp" can mean two things. Figuratively speaking, it can mean what I said above. Literally it can mean that the thing weighs a lot. In the case of the Lonestar whichever way you take it, you'll be right. The amp weighs just a shade under 90 pounds. If you're young and athletic, this won't be a problem. If you're successful enough to have roadies, this won't be a problem. If neither of these applies to you, it might be a problem. If you're a working musician in an older city like New York, Philly, Boston, or San Francisco, and you're playing a lot of clubs in 2nd floor walk ups, you're going to want to weigh this amps very impressive performance features against the pain of schlepping it. How you'll come down will vary from person to person, but you should go into it with your eyes open. It's a heavy amp, and I mean that both ways.

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Lone Star Standard 100/50/10-watt 2x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway