0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Leslie Digital Leslie Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Leslie Digital Leslie Pedal?

Questions about the Leslie Digital Leslie Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Nashville October 5, 2016Music Background:
    decades

    Digital Leslie amazes

    I have loved the sound of the Leslie with a Hammond organ for 3-4 decades. It is phenomenal. Well I determined to get a rotary pedal this spring, and had a couple scoped out, but I hesitated, because I didn't feel the perfect one was here. Well that was until I saw the Hammond/Leslie You tube video and saw this thing in action. It is simply amazingly awesome. It is pricey, but worth it in my book. Build quality appears to be quite good. It is attractive in my book.

    with a couple of exceptions. I don't care for that loud clicking sound the switches make. They NEED silent switches. THEN, there is the case of the solution to the clicking, the outrageously expensive CU-1 wooden footswitch. However, if you google CU-1's for sale, most of the time you can find someone selling it for half or less. Otherwise this is an incredible device. I use it with a Korg Triton and as long as I keep it on the 122A setting, the tone is wonderful. 147 is a little to a lot brighter. I've yet to try the 18v guitar Leslie setting, but I am sure it is great. It does take a bit of adjusting to learn how to time the tremolo's deployment. In a week or 2 its as if you've played it for a year. In Short, a winner! I love the digital Leslie.

  • from Boston, MA April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro player

    Your ears will love it (and your back too)

    I play slide guitar about 90 percent of the time. Open tunings and the slide can limit the chord voicing available when comping, so I was looking for a way to expand my options. This pedal really delivers the classic Leslie sounds. I use it to emulate organ sounds (we don't have a keyboard player) and a Telecaster with compression into a clean amp, it does a great job. It seems to work best near the end of the signal chain.
    The controls are intuitive and let you control the effect well. The foot switches are stiff, but clearly, this unit is built with bombproof construction. I have only dabbled with the stereo outputs, but the effect is killer, if you have the dollars and the room for a stereo rig. If you want "that Leslie sound", this is the way to get it.

  • from Carbondale, IL USA February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Educator

    Closest thing to a REAL Leslie!

    I am using this on my 1954 Hammond B-2 (yes, B-2) to record some tracks as my Leslie cabinet needs it's amp rebuilt. This little box blows me away, and sounds amazingly real!!

  • from Washington, DC April 25, 2014Music Background:
    jazz guitarist and jazz organist

    Holy Crap!

    I've played Hammonds and Leslies for decades. We all agree emulating the Leslie/rotary cab effect has been a tough row to hoe. But I think H/S finally got it right. I currently have an XK3 and Leslie 3300 and was stunned when I plugged it in and bypassed the 3300. Am not sure how much closer we can get to the Leslie sound, now-without simply using a Leslie cabinet. Worth every penny. Only gripe would be not necessarily being able to use a generic footswitch with it--also the noisy mechanical stop switches. But, on stage--who cares? I'll have more after this weekend's gigs. Amazing sound.

  • from Binghamton, NY April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Pastor , music director

    Leslie Pedal

    This thing is the BOMB, I hooked this up in what i figured to 15min to half hour test drive 3 hours later ...... WOW used it Sunday Service WOW still blown away i mean really i have the real deal hooked up to my CV in my studio , well lets just say i'd stack this with my Hammond xk2 against it any-day of the week . thank you Mike Soper for your help

  • from Las Vegas, NV January 1, 2014Music Background:
    Student / Hobbyist

    Nice pedal

    If you like the Leslie sound of a rotating speaker, then you need this. Although a bit pricey, it was well worth it to me. 4 cabinet sims, and personal settings for each one. Makes my amateur scratchy sounds simply awesome.

  • from Chicago,IL USA June 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician-Guitarist

    I was impressed!!!!!

    So I got this pedal back in February after trying it out at NAMM 2014. It was a toss up between the Neo Instruments pedal and this one. The think that helped me in making the decision is that it actually emulates FOUR different Leslie cabinets. The Ventilator only does the Leslie 122 cabinet. I play guitar so it's used not only for it's Leslie effect, but this pedal replaced flangers, chorus pedals, and phasers. The only downside to this one is that it will suck the highs out, so you will need to add a buffer after it...if it wasn't for that, I would have given it 5 stars.

  • from Washington, DC May 21, 2014Music Background:
    jazz guitarist and jazz organist

    Even Better Than The First Time!

    Preface: I've played Hammonds and Leslies for 40 years. I know my way around them.

    Here's a follow-up to a review I wrote recently:

    I had a choice: The Mini-Vent or the Leslie Pedal. I went with the Leslie pedal since it was the same engine as what's in the SK1 and SK2. I bought a pedal since our church is going to plugging everything in the console. I am a regular member of the worship team with an XK3 and lower manual.

    I've played plenty of "emulators" that sounded more like guitar amp tremolo. Not here. Everyone was knocked out. I A-Bd it with my 3300 and it was darned hard to tell the difference. Where they got it right was hearing the rotors moving the sound as they got up to speed and also the mix between the top and bottom. It sounds great in stereo or mono but you should use stereo when able. Like the first review; the only real gripe I have is the mechanical switches. I bought a Boss latching footswitch and ended that issue. One thing Hammond/Suzuki should do is be able to "brake" the Leslie even with a plug in the footswitch. The half-moon CU-1 allow braking but it's expensive.

    Overall; I'm sure the Mini-Vent would be a great choice, too--but I rolled the dice and bought the Leslie pedal. Am quite pleased.

  • from RI, United States April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    The Leslie Digital Leslie Pedal

    As a test I took a 20 year old Casio keyboard and with the right settings played through the Leslie Pedal it recorded like a Hammond B3 organ. I was completely blown away!

    It's a bit on the pricey side but does everything it promises.

  • from Phoenix, AZ February 3, 2014Music Background:
    part-time Pro Musician

    A great piece of gear!

    This gadget is great! When I need a Hammond sound, this thing delivers better than any other setup I have owned. While I don't play a Hammond B-3, the sound is very very close. I challenge anyone to listen to a recording of it and tell me whether or not I'm playing through a wooden box Leslie!

  • from Eddington, ME December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Worship Leader

    Great Pedal

    This is a great sounding pedal. The options are numerous, I have dialed in a few sounds that are exactly what I was hoping to get out of the pedal. Combine it with a reverb pedal and you can't go wrong.

    I use it with a EH cathedral pedal and they work so good together. Long Sustains. The price is quite high but if you have to have the leslie sound on your recordings, you can achieve it with this. Its worth it to me.

  • from June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Leslie Pedal - first taste

    I tested it with my 1964 C3 and with different digital clonewheels (SK2, XH3, Hamichord, Roland Supernatural).
    the overall sound is good, but I miss some "cabinet resonance" effect.
    everything is really "clear" (keyclick, leakage, etc.) that's why I definitely prefer this pedal to the Ventilator.
    but the overdrive and the "proximity" effect are not credible as in the GSi BURN. (I tested all these pedals)
    also, the generation is definitely NOT the same of SK1/2 (different rotary effect, different overdrive).
    according to my personal rock-oriented taste, the rating is 3.5
    (Ventilator could be 3.0 and BURN could be 4.0)

  • from Martha's Vineyard May 30, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    Jury still out

    Not really sure how to rate this thing yet, it arrived unable to pass signal. I have been waiting two months for new ones to arrive to Sweetwater to get it replaced. In the meantime I bought the new Neo Ventilator 2 and absolutely love that one. It really records very well and makes the Roland organs pop.

Questions about the Leslie Digital Leslie Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway