0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Eminence Legend 1518 Legend Series 15" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Eminence Legend 1518 Legend Series 15" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Eminence Legend 1518 Legend Series 15" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 24, 2017Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Eminence Legend 1518 15

    Very happy with the product, service and personality of your staff. thank your staff for the recommendation (Aaron)
    Product arrived fast and in good condition.

  • from Massachusetts August 28, 2016

    Best 15in speaker around

    The 15inch, Legend 1518, is the closest thing to JLB 130 you can get. Unbelievable rock and blues tone with Marshall DSL-40C and Dean Markley CD30. I installed it into my custom yellow pine extention cabinet to replace a big Ben I unfortunately bought. The 1518 is extremely responsive and has the vintage tone you're looking for, 70s Rock, SRV, Allman brothers to Clapton. In comparison the Big Ben is extremely dark and mushy sounding, simply does not articulate enough for guitar lead playing. The 1518 gives you the clarity on the top and the bottom end, like you are playing out of a four 12 1/2 stack. Think JBL-130 tone with Creamback break up and depth. Extremely happy with The legend 1518. Highly recommend this product

  • from Van Wert, Ohio June 24, 2016Music Background:
    Music teacher/ guitarist

    Nice speaker, great value!

    The amp I put this in was a 1980 Fender 75. The speaker in it was ok, but I was hearing noises telling me to get a replacement before it blows. Enter the Eminince Legend 1518. It does everything the literature on it says. Smooth, even toned, with a bit of growl if you give it a push. (By the way, it can take it!!) I can gig with confidence with this amp/ speaker combo! Thumbs up, Eminence!

  • from Houston, Texas August 6, 2015Music Background:
    Lousy professional... but a great amateur!

    Great Speaker for Blackface Showman

    I have a 1965 Blackface Showman Head. I recently found a matching 1x12 cabinet with no speaker. After reading tons of reviews and suggestions for a suitable speaker I asked my sales engineer (Mark Bruhn} for a recommendation. The Eminence Legend 1518 was his choice. Great advice.. Great Speaker!

    It has a full range tone that brings my Showman back to life. Crisp, but not piercing highs, great mid tones and deep lows. And the best part was the price was under $100.00! I am so happy with the speaker that I am ordering Legend 1018's for my 63 Brownface Concert.

    Sweetwater has never let me down when it comes to advice and direction!

  • from St Petersburg, FL April 10, 2015Music Background:
    Player, Recordist

    Eminence Legend 1518 Legend Series 15

    Ordered an Excelsior from Sweetwater when they first came out and really liked it. Finally took the plunge and installed this speaker. WOW!!!! Dunno why I waited so long but it really took it over the top. The punch factor and perceived loudness are like night and day, like taking a heavy wet wool blanket off the sound. This Eminence 15"er really revealed this quirky but fine sounding amp. I couldn't be happier with this upgrade, worth EVERY penny.

  • from Redding, Ca February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician and recording artist

    Eminence Legend 1518 15

    I installed this speaker in a custom made cabinet for my MESA/Boogie Mark I guitar amp. It sounds great and has a nice full range sound and a good match for my hollow body archtop guitar. A 15 inch speaker for jazz style guitar is unbeatable.

    Top quality craftsmanship from Eminence which is exactly what you would expect from these guys.

  • from San Francisco, CA., USA October 31, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great speaker

    This speaker was an upgrade to my Fender Excelsior amp. Besides the amp mod kit and tubes, this speaker was the main piece to the puzzle. It blew away the stock Fender speaker and now this amp is world-class!

  • from Charleston SC September 17, 2014Music Background:
    harp player

    legendary

    I was just barely able to cram this into my Fender Excelsior but it fit! In the original screw holes! Noticeable improvements in volume and tone compared to the stock speaker

  • from Bad bad leroy browns was my dad southside chicago May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Player

    Night and Day difference

    Installed in a fender pawn shop excelsior. First off speaker weighs probably double stock. Was going to do the tube upgrade first. But havent yet. Was not digging amp when stock was going to sell it. Saw other reviews of the speaker bought have not looked back.

  • from Thomasville, NC August 8, 2013

    Excelsior Upgrade

    Excellent upgrade for the Excelsior amp. Tighter lows, crystal clear highs and excellent mids. I really liked the way this amp sounded with the stock speaker but decided to upgrade to the 1518. This speaker makes this amp one that will remain in my collection. Its not the typical Fender sound but if you like tube tone, you'll be blown away, especially with this speaker. Even with the cost of a speaker upgrade this is still a bargan in tube tone. Do yourself a favor, get one, put an Eminence 1518 in and treat your senses to something amazing.

  • from Claude, TX July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Play in Church.

    Perfect Upgrade for Excelsior

    I ordered one of these to upgrade from the 50W stock speaker in my Fender Excelsior guitar amplifier. The first speaker came in, and I installed it the same hour it was delivered. It had a problem, in that it would cut in and out, and had a lot of noise when the volume was turned to 12:00 or higher. I contacted Sweetwater, and explained the issue. Sweetwater sent a replacement speaker, and a return label straight out to me. I received the second speaker in 3 days. After I installed the second speaker, I turned the volume up to about 9:00, and it sounded great. I increased the volume, a little at a time, until I reached 3:00. I never run a new speaker over 3:00 on anything I own. I seldom ever play at anything over 3:00 on anything, even after it's well broken in. The noise was gone, the cutting in and out was gone, and the amp was clear and a lot louder! This speaker gave me exactly what I was seeking in the upgrade. The amps' tone has not changed, it's just louder than the stock speaker at any volume. It also has more clean headroom. It doesn't start to break-up until just about right at 2:30 with humbuckers. I have not heard it break-up at all with single coils, but again, I have not set the volume past 3:00. The amp gained significant weight with this new speaker, but it is worth it. The Excelsior has a unique voice, for a Fender. I liked the way it sounded with the stock speaker, but the stock speaker is not very efficient where this Eminence Legend is very efficient (103db). I wanted more volume, so I could possibly play out where I wouldn't be mic'd. This speaker will allow that, and keep the unique tone the Excelsior does so well.
    I want to thank everyone at Sweetwater, especially Kal Cantrell; my sales engineer. Kal made it painless for me to get the product I needed, in a very timely manner. Kal has helped me with other issues as well, and he has always been professional and friendly. He actually cares, and sees, that I am happy with not only the products I receive from Sweetwater, but from the service Sweetwater provides as well. I highly recommend this speaker for the Fender Excelsior, & Kal and Sweetwater for the great business transactions!

  • from Detroit October 18, 2013Music Background:
    crappy musician

    Does what it should

    Fenders Excelsior amp is probably the greatest thing that ever happened for this speaker! Since that amp was introduced they have probably quadrupled their sales of this product.
    For a reasonable price you can replace the cheap speaker that came with the amp, and in it's place you get 10 extra pounds and a lot more volume. And when your amp is only 13 watts, you want a lot more volume if you plan on playing with a drummer. The amp is now perfect for a small band.

  • from Mableon, GA September 15, 2013Music Background:
    guitarist

    Good 15" speaker

    I put this in a JBL 4625 cabinet. It sounds really good. All of the notes on my baritone guitars and my 8 string sound even. Sounds good on overdrive and cleans. It seems to be less sensitive than the combo speakers in my vintage club. I wish the highs were smoother but it's a very balanced speaker. Make sure you experiment with microphone placement.

  • from January 16, 2016

    speaker

    good functional speaker and best price.

  • from September 8, 2015

    Unresolved service but speaker ok

    Speaker arrived in less than satisfactory condition. Could not quite resolve with Service. Had to be creative and adapt to get it to fit and work.

    Speaker itself was needed improvement.

Questions about the Eminence Legend 1518 Legend Series 15" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway