rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Novation Launchkey Mini Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • Burney Warren
    from United States April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Bassist/Guitarist/Engineer/Producer

    Novation Launchkey Mini

    This is a fun little controller. It pairs nicely with ableton and opens up new production ideas/workflow. Plus, it's affordable, replaceable, and portable.

  • John Irby
    from Winter Springs, FL USA March 21, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer (retired)

    A Slick Little Controller

    The Novation Launchkey Mini provides a neat iOS little controller for the mobile musician. It may be very small and light, but it is surprisingly well made. The mini keys have good action, as do the pads. The controller pots have a solid feel and provide smooth control.

    The best added bonus (for me) was the free Ableton Live Lite. I'm a Logic Pro X user and wanted to check out Live before diving in head-first for Live 9. What I'm discovering is that Live is a terrific MIDI sequencer and a pretty decent DAW. Support from Ableton is great, too. But I digress...

    Just get this little controller. You will enjoy it.

  • Tony Mellinger
    from Chesterfield, MI February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    LaunchPad Mini

    A great deal for a great piece of equipment! I bought this for a small home studio and it works perfect for what I need it for. For those reviews that you have read about the bad connection with the USB mini, I believe they replaced the cable with one that does a better job. I have not had a single problem with it disconnecting.

    And you can't complain with all of the free software that comes with this guy. Honestly, a no brainer, Buy it!

  • paguitar
    from Doylestown PA February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Music hobbyist and student.

    Best Mini Keyboard

    After trying the M-Audio, Akai MPK Mini, and the Novation, the Novation won hands down. Best functionality and best feel for a mini. I found the Akai nice by the keys were too stiff and the pads not as responsive. The integration with Ableton is great and flexible with InControl is a nice feature. The knobs are solid and smooth. Very intuitive to use. My son is using the Novation Impulse 25 for an Ableton class and likes both these units and has borrowed mine to combine with the Impulse just for fun. The only reason it is not 5 starts is the same for all mini's. Make the keys a fraction large (maybe a 1/8" wider

  • Tevin
    from swannanoa, NC USA August 25, 2014Music Background:
    student, dreamed of being an Artist/Musician...

    #LaunchKeyMINI

    it holds perfectly in my backpack, with my laptop in it plus bluetooth speakers whenever i make my beats outdoors, its reliable its good for starters +thumbs up+ might get a bigger one soon

  • Traci Gagum
    from Durham, NC May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Amateur Recorder , Producer

    My favorite mini midi to date

    So far this is the only mini 25-key I've felt confident wouldn't break if I just stuffed it in my laptop bag. The pads are heavenly, very responsive and feel fantastic. In fact, I have the 61 key version of the Launchkey and they're not as responsive or nimble as these ones.

    The keybed is small fyi, in case some people are underestimating the 'mini' part of it. But if unnerves me how people can complain about the keybed size when there are so, so many ways to find that information out. Not to mention, again, it's the mini version.

    The only reason this baby doesn't have a 5 is because of the usb connection. I'm not complaining about the port, because in all honesty it's perfectly stable, and not flimsy at all. Very sturdy, and isn't sticking out of the keyboard. It's encased inside the shell of the keyboard.

    The connection is 95/5, sometimes it works, rarely it'll just stop taking commands when I'm in the middle of playing. I haven't really found out why it does this, but I'm going to replace them cable and see if that solves it. I don't know if this is just me though. But it works fine after unplugging and replugging again.

    Other than that I prefer this over my MPK mini 100%. The pads are poo and I had to open it up and glue the usb port so that it wouldn't fall out. It was wiggling a lot after just using it 6 or 7 times.

    Last thing that sold me was that even though it's the smallest and cheapest model in the Launchkey series it still had InControl and 8 100% functional knobs!

    I use Abelton and Reason, and this is the most functional Mini Key I've owned

    I hope I've helped anyone who was on the fence with this beast :)

  • Marcus
    from Orem, UT December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Decent keyboard with a couple flaws

    The keys and pads feel good and are very responsive. They are velocity sensitive, too. The keyboard is light, compact, and feels pretty sturdy. Everything is MIDI assignable (the knobs are what drew me to this unit over others) so you can compensate for the lack of a mod wheel using the knobs instead.

    It doesn't come with installation software. You have to register the product with Novation and download all the drivers and other software from the site instead. The registration forms were kind of time consuming, but once everything was registered, downloading and installing the software was flawless.

    My biggest issue with this keyboard is the mini-USB connection. It feels very flimsy and fragile. It has a tendency to disconnect from the slightest bump or movement, too. My rating would be greatly improved had they included a standard USB connection.

    The USB cable provided with the unit is very small, too. If you're using it with a laptop or iPad, you should be fine, but if you want to connect it to your desktop, unless your tower is close to where you'll be using it the keyboard or you have a USB hub that's easily accessible, I highly recommend you find a longer cable or another option to connect the keyboard.

    The keyboard offers "Launchpad" like functionality via their "inControl" feature. You can trigger scenes and clips in Ableton Live via these pads, however, this functionality is only available in Ableton Live 9. If you are using Live 8, these pads only function as additional midi keys.

  • Joe
    from Ohio October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Full time audio engineer

    Great for basic production

    The actual control is a nice size for throwing in a laptop bag. I create loops for church so this is great for at least getting some basic chord maps laid out. Ableton intro is very useful but not much for basic daw function. Simple tasks in pro tools are very difficult in Ableton. The looping capability is cool but I think that if you were to really take advantage of the software, you'd want a better controller and the full version of Ableton.

  • Customer
    from September 25, 2014

    Sad

    1 issue for me on this keyboard which I have owned for almost a year now. The mini usb connection is terrible. With the slightest bump the mini usb comes out completely or just enough for me to have to reset my daw for it to recognize it again. The quality is decent and I am happy with how it feels and plays at this price point, but with such an unreliable connection it has become a large paper weight. Going back I would have went with a device that had a different connector type, and they are out there even in this size format.

Questions about the Novation Launchkey Mini?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway