0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Martin LX Black Little Martin Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin LX Black Little Martin?

Questions about the Martin LX Black Little Martin?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from August 11, 2016

    Grandmomma

    Alexandra lived the little guitar. It was exactly what she wanted. She she played it last Sunday in front of the entire church as she was singing. It sounded great. Although she still treasures her full size Martin, this one is perfect for her dorm room at Liberty.

  • from Indiana August 3, 2016Music Background:
    Teacher/Performer

    Great Sound

    Received this as a anniversary present from my wife. For such a small guitar its has amazing tone and sound. Fits perfectly in a Corvette and I can take it when I give lessons and save wear and tear on my performance guitars.

  • from Erie,Pa. November 6, 2014Music Background:
    OLD PRO BEEN PLAYING FOR OVER50 YEARS..

    One Little Great Guitar !!!!!!!!

    This is the second Martin LX Little Black Guitar that I've purchased I think this is the best guitar on the market. It's well made and sounds great,just as good as an expensive one. Martin is the only acoustic I own. Don't hesitate to buy one ,YOU SURE WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED.

  • from Ambler, PA January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I love this guitar!

    I bought this guitar to supplement my Guild which I've had for many years, but now I find myself playing this one more often. It has remarkable sound for a small guitar, it looks great, and it's small size means it will be making road trips. The Gig Bag that came with is nice too. For the price and quality, you really can't beat it.

  • from Erie,PA. August 1, 2013Music Background:
    have played all kinds of music for over 50 years.

    Great little Guitar

    I've been playing guitar for over 50 years .I just happened to come across my second Martin LX guitar.I had forgotten that I had a black one.It was in a closet for about 5 years. When I got it out to play I was over taken by the beautiful sound .It was a bit out of tune but other than then WOW what a sound .I put new strings on it and then what a difference it sounded brand new like out of the box way to go Martin.I'M a martin fan for life.

  • from Tacoma January 13, 2017Music Background:
    Frontman for "Folsom Prism"--a Johnny Cash tribute out of Tacoma, WA

    Sweet Pop for the Price-Point

    I'm just not willing to take my SWEET, upper-end Martins on an airplane and let Skippy McSkipperson and his stoned buddies toss them about in Oversized Baggage Claims. So I needed something killer with a lot of sound and easily travel-able! Because I'm a HUGE Johnny Cash fan--I dig BLACK Martins and my wife surprised me on Christmas with this bad boy. I own a black D-35JC and a DCXAE, so this unit completes the trifecta of black beauties! I yanked'er outta the box Christmas morning, tuned it, and she (the little Mrs.) had to pull it away from me two hours later! It frets great. For its size--the sound is amazing. The inlays are smooth and the nut and saddle are perfectly placed. I purchased the hard case a week later and the flight attendants let me stow it behind First Class. Now when I'm traveling on business or in Maui for ten days on vacation, I no longer jones out for my guitar fix...my Little Black Martin is here to serve (that sounded racist; but you know what I mean!)! It's a very small campfire guitar--no eq--no pickup. It would also be PERFECT for a child to start out their first lessons with because of its size and easy fretting. You can't go wrong here...

  • from Elmore, Ohio September 9, 2016Music Background:
    24+ years playing live, in studio, around campfires, and in classrooms.

    Martin LX Black Little Martin

    I've owned and played this little guitar for 2+ years. I made the investment considering the amount I travel, camp, and teach lessons in a classroom setting. What I like: The quality. My guitar has endured -30F days in the back of my SUV as well as 95F days with 90+ % humidity in the trunk of a black car. Other than a quick re-tune my guitar has withstood the extreme elements and performed flawlessly. Well done Martin. Well done indeed. What else I like: It plays well. The neck shape is comfortable and the frets are finished very well. Impressive. What I'm not 100% satisfied about but can live with: The tone. My guitar sounds acceptable. It does not compare to a full-size, solid-top dreadnought. Given the materials this Little Martin is constructed with, it shouldn't either. It's better than not having a guitar when I go camping though, and I certainly feel confident that my Little Martin will continue to withstand the punishment that the North-Coast seasonal changes can dish out. The included bag is very well made and adds quite a bit of extra value. I'm very pleased with my purchase overall. Thank you Sweetwater!

  • from January 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby musitian

    Wow

    Just the most friendly guitar , it sound very well even if it is small and easy to take it anyway you want.

  • from Alexandria VA USA July 19, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist electric guitarist

    first guitar

    First instrument purchased for a teenager taking up guitar. Quality workmanship. Stays in tune. Projects loudly for a small body instrument. Also, Martin did not cut any corners on the gig bag provided. Would recommend this product to others without any hesitation.

  • from May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Martin LX Black Little Martin

    LX Black came in on time and I was able to play and enjoy it out of the box. The packaging includjng the sweet little treats were great. Great customer service and follow up from Sweetwater. Love you guys! Thanks much.

  • from November 11, 2011

    great guitar

    Compact and easy to take with you wherever you go.

  • from Florida September 13, 2013Music Background:
    Play piano since a young girl.

    Perfect for a beginner

    I have a friend who has a little Martin and I have been wanting to learn the guitar for years. I am a short person and this guitar makes it easy for me. The quality is excellent as well as the sound. Great size to carry to jam sessions with my other musician friends.

  • from Arroyo Grande, Ca July 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin LX black

    Great little travel guitar... finish and quality are very good. Sound like a much larger instrument. Smells like a Martin...

  • from Walkerton, Ontario, Canada June 15, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Amateur Recordist

    Great Little Guitar

    I've had this guitar for a couple of months now. It has really surprised me. It has also pushed me to learn proper palm muting to get the sound I want out of it. I originally bought it to travel with but I find now that it is the first one I pick up to comp or try something new. I'm thinking of putting a bridge pickup in so that it is easy to plug in. Right now I mike it to record loops and songs. A very versatile little instrument.

  • from United States August 29, 2014Music Background:
    50 yrs. professional

    Easily Worth the Prive

    For a cheap, made in Mexico out of no real wood guitar, it's pretty good. The neck is laminated, basically plywood and probably stronger than solid mahogany. The sound is as good as can be expected given the limitations of the instrument. It came with gorilla gauge strings which I replaced right away with blue steel bronze .011 first. As with any guitar, he tone is what you make it - but you can beat it hard to make it louder if necessary. Neck is good, no bad spots that I can find. Easily worth the price.

Questions about the Martin LX Black Little Martin?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close