rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Martin LX1E Little Martin - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin LX1E Little Martin - Natural?

Questions about the Martin LX1E Little Martin - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Dayton Ohio April 13, 2017Music Background:
    Busker/Troubadour

    All I can say is... Wow!

    Been playing guitar for over 35 years now..

    Martin is known for quality, great sounding instruments.

    This LX1E holds that heritage without a doubt.

    The acoustic side is full and rich. As expected, more treble due to its small body and construction but even unplugged it is sweet perfume to the ear drum.

    Plugged in? It grows to double its size in sound quality. Full, rich, and satisfying.

    This instrument will more than surprise you.

    Highly recommended to all levels of player experience.

    Thanks, Tyler B. Sir, you never cease to amaze me in customer service.

  • from January 10, 2017

    Great Guitar with Great Service!

    When I ordered my Little Martin, a representative from the company got in touch with me immediately. They shipped it out to me right away and got to my house about a week later (I live overseas). When it arrived it came very well packaged and was ready to play. The guitar itself is spectacular. It sounds great, compared to my Mitchell, and the Fishman pickup and electronics work great. Another thing, it is quite small, compared to my full size Mitchell. It, I would say, is a little bit bigger than a baritone ukulele. But overall, the guitar awesome and the service was too!

  • from December 30, 2016

    Li'l Martin

    This little guitar is exactly what you would expect from Martin. Awesome sound plugged or unplugged. My grandson loves it.

  • from Ackerman, MS May 30, 2016

    I'm in love!

    First I have to praise Sweetwater for the way my order was handled. My very own personal Rep, Tommy was so friendly & helpful. I really enjoyed talking with him. My guitar arrived exactly when I was told it would and I could not believe how well packaged it was.
    The fact that it arrived arrived already set up was a huge plus. A slight tuning was all it needed before I was ready to play.
    Although I'm a a beginner on the guitar I've heard my husband and others play for over thirty years. Right now he owns a Takemine acoustic and a Fender electric. A friend of mine plays a Martin acoustic and Big Baby Taylor.
    When my husband played my new Martin LX1E Little Martin they couldn't believe the full rich sound they were hearing. Plugged it into an amp and my husband actually admitted that it sounded so good that he wouldn't hesitate to play it in front of anyone.
    I own a Loar 700 mandolin and a Cloud Nine Marimbula. Love playing both. I have really enjoyed playing learning to play my new Martin.

  • from Shenandoah Valley VA May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Folk 60s and 70s music playing for 50+ years

    Martin LX1E

    Recently I added a Martin LX1E to my small collection of Martin guitars (GPCA4R, and a 40+ year old D-18.) I had looked for a while for a good travel size guitar and had narrowed it down to the LX1E and a Baby Taylor. I read and listened to reviews and comparisons of the two. I settled on the LX1E and I am very pleased with my choice. I had owned a Baby Taylor and a 110 in the past. They were both nice guitars but I was never really satisfied like I am with th Martins. The LX1E is a nice travel size. The unplugged sound is very nice, but I was really blown away with the plugged in sound. I also like the feel of the LX1E. The weight and feel leaves you th impression that you are holding a quality instrument. Both the Baby and 110 I had always felt light. I felt that the guality was that of a cheaper made guitar. I would highly recommend the LX1E to any one looking for a small size (travel) guitar.

    Finally Sweetwater did an excellent job of preparing the guitar and shipping it in a timely manner (ordered on Thursday - arrived on Saturday morning via FedEx). It was first guitar purchase from Sweetwater and I am very impressed with their service. I would give them 5 stars. I usually always purchase from a dealer in Roanoke VA but they didn't carry this one. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from April 29, 2016

    Amazing Little Martin

    Great instrument--But plug it in and It will compete with any fullsize Dreadnaut in any money range --Love it. Thanks

  • from Florida February 15, 2016

    Martin LX1E little Martin.

    Everyone who listens to the sound of this Martin can't believe the sound coming from this smaller guitar.
    Beautifully designed guitar. Not just a guitar for a beginning student or young person,
    As a smaller adult, the larger guitars attempted to take over if I sat down not able to manage the sound box !
    I play with the "Big" guitars several times a week at jams and hold my own with this guitar.

  • from Md. November 20, 2015

    Martin LX1E Little Martin

    Asked my sales rep. Zach about this guitar and the Yamaha APX2. He suggested this one and I'm glad he did. Totally happy with it, the sound from this guitar is awesome. My brother who has played guitar for years was very impressed with this model. This would certainly be an awesome guitar for professional players or beginner like myself. It pays to buy quality instruments and it's very helpful to have an experienced person to ask about the products they sell. A little side note here, for months I was in search of a 2014 Gibson Melody Maker and Sweetwater had 2 available on line at the time, Zach helped me to make that purchase and I am grateful for that, all of the products I have received from them have been shipped in a timely and well packaged state.

  • from Culloden, WV November 19, 2015

    Martin LX1E

    I bought this Little Martin for my three year old Grand Daughter for Christmas. She has expressed a strong desire for a guitar and PawPaw just can't refuse her. I wanted a small bodied guitar that wasn't too expensive. I was most interested in playability and what it might be like three years from now if she actually does stick with it. I also wanted her to be able to connect it to an amp or PA. It meets all of these criteria. Unplugged it sounds like a small bodied Parlor guitar but it projects very well. I also purchased the Ed Sheeran X Signature Edition for her father. The Ed Sheeran Edition actually sounds bigger even though they are the same size. Sweetwater did a fantastic job getting this to me quickly, actually the next day. Thats fast!!! The set up was perfect and it plays so well. The neck feels great. I am confident my Granddaughter will love this little guitar. Her first guitar is a Martin!!! Yeah!!! Well done PawPaw if I do say so myself.

  • from August 13, 2015

    Martin LX1E

    The Martin LX1E is a great little guitar, worth every penny.

    This review is to let people know of the AWESOME customer service you get from Sweetwater.
    I had a problem with the top of this guitar, it seemed to separate a bit at the seam after 4 months or so.
    I talked to Colin Williamson at the service department and he told me that I had to send it in to the Tech support dept. so they could take a look at it to determine what should be done.
    I was sent a shipping label immediately by the shipping department. I had sent the guitar in.
    After a few days Javier Bayouth from Tech support informed me that a new guitar was being sent out to me as soon as they got one in and thanked me for my patience!
    Throughout this whole time Colin kept checking in with me to see how everything was going and if I had any questions.
    I now have another guitar and it looks and sounds great.
    I can tell anyone out there that if your concerned about purchasing any type of equipment from Sweetwater.....DON'T BE. You are definitely in good hands.
    I am so impressed with the people at Sweetwater that when I am ready to purchase a high end Martin guitar I will do it through Sweetwater without a doubt.

    Thank you Colin, Javier and the shipping department, you guys are the BEST!

    Sincerely,

    Anthony Stelmach

  • from Union, MS July 16, 2015

    Amazing guitar, very loud and clean sound!!!

    First of all, the service from Sweetwater and my sales rep, Chris Sanders, was absolutely flawless and the ordering over the phone of my specific guitar took all of about 3 minutes. Second, it was at my door, boxed secure in the case, within 2 days. Lastly, it was in perfect condition and almost perfectly in tune. So, I've always had full sized guitars, and I was REALLY surprised at the size of this little guy. Logically, I expected it to sound almost like a ukulele, but when I strapped it up and hit some chords, it sounded so clean and clear. It was WAY louder than I expected it to be, even as loud or even louder than my other guitars. Its appearance is absolutely beautiful and unique, and the aroma from the body's wood is pleasing. The gig bag is really convenient and looks awesome, representing my Martin guitar clearly. The tuner and electric capability work flawlessly. Overall, this little dude is becoming my favorite guitar and I would HIGHLY recommend it to beginners and experienced guitarists!!! :)
    \m/(-.-)\m/

  • from Richmond, VA March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Way too Much Fun!!!

    I just can't put this thing down! Had searched for one locally without much luck, then checked online with Sweetwater and got to see detailed pics of 4 in stock. Selected one with a pronounced wood grain pattern (very unusual for these) and it arrived on my front porch within 4 days! This little gem has that signature Martin sound. Don't expect it to rival a full sized guitar when played acoustically (after all, it is a travel/parlor guitar), but hold on to your socks when you plug it in. Wow...what sound! Hats off to the Sweetwater team for doing a great job setting up the guitar and making the buying experience worry free! I'll be a return customer!

  • from April 25, 2014

    Great Guitar

    This is a small guitar with a big tone! I had only played the acoustic model before I ordered this one and the acoustic electric model blew the acoustic one out of the water.

  • from KIMBERLING CITY MISSOURI March 7, 2014Music Background:
    HOBBY SINCE 1983

    EXCELLANT GUITAR

    VERY PLEASED WITH THIS PURCHASE. FIRST MARTIN AND NOT THE LAST FOR ME.
    EXCELLANT QUALITY. SWEETWATER IS A GREAT SUPPLYER OF GUITARS. PRICE IS RIGHT AND SERVICE AAA.
    MY ONE STOP SHOPPING FOR ASSESSORIES AND GUITARS. LOOKING FORWARD TO PURCHASING A SEMI-HOLLOW SOON.

  • from Minneapolis, MN January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Fine arts and lifelong amateur musician

    Great little guitar with big sound

    The guitar was indeed playable right out of the box - thank you for the extra care in preparing the order. I love the simple lines of this instrument, the solid spruce top without pick guard, and uncluttered fretboard with subtle side markers. It will be interesting to see how the use of synthetics and the laminate neck stand up to time. This little Martin sounds great played acoustically, bright and clear, and the onboard electronics really bring it to life!
    Sweetwater's customer service is beyond comparison. This was a small purchase, and my order was given a great deal of personal attention.

  • from Chambersburg, PA December 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sound, Great Experience

    First time with Sweetwater...Great Experience!...I even got photos of the guitar before it arrived, it arrived days earlier than expected, and they put candy in the box when I opened it...Sweet!(pardon the pun).

    The guitar is a little beauty with a lot of great sound and lively vibration in its body. I haven't even plugged her in, I'm so happy with the sound. If you've been considering one, I'd definitely recommend treating yourself right and getting one!

  • from Spain October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter / Pro Musician

    Great gear, great service!

    The Sweetwater team is just amazing. My guitar arrived in 4 days and it is just perfect. I am enjoying it so much! And the price... It's just the place I've ever ordered an instrument from.

  • from October 6, 2013

    Wonderful!!

    This is an amazing guitar. Great sound and build quality. The built-in Fishman pickup is excellent. Also, this guitar is really easy and comfortable to play, especially if you have relatively small hands. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • from Dublin VA September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Singer , songwriter, recording engineer.

    I couldn't believe it!!!!!

    This is one of those guitars where I didn't get to play it first before buying but a very good close friend of mine recommended this one to me because of my small hands. Let me just tell you.... DO NOT LET THE SIZE OF THIS THING FOOL YOU! You will be amazed at its sound , its quality of build. They say this thing is just a practice guitar. In my opinion its a solid performer as well. And its a Martin. If they are proud enough to stamp their name on it, I'm not ashamed to play it out anywhere. Get it, you wont put it down.

  • from Orlando, FL August 8, 2013

    Couldn't be better

    Awesome little instrument by martin! this is my first martin and id have to say... dont let the price and the size fool ya. If you're considering buying it, just go for it. No review is enough to explain how wonderful this instrument is. Great loud and very crisp sound. GO BUY IT! And no better place to buy it than Sweetwater! i read all about how great their customer service is. and my god do they go above and beyond. amazing customer service by sweetwater. they know how its done! extremely happy with my purchase!!

  • from Athens, AL October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Student / Hobbyist

    Quality sound, acoustic and electronic!!!

    Great little guitar! Electronics are awesome, especially built in tuner!
    Great service from Sweetwater.
    Martin is a great guitar with a solid top that provides consistent good sound.

  • from September 4, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist/Songwriter

    Only Martin For Me From Now On

    Was in the market for a new acoustic; was largely inspired by Ed Sheeran in buying this patricular model. Blown away! Puts my other full sized acoustic guitars to shame. Impeccable craftsmanship and tonality. I only play this one now for all work. You won't be disappointed!

  • from Altoona, Pennsylvania June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Advanced beginner

    A Sweet LIttle Instrument

    What a lovely instrument, easy to pick up and play right out of the box. I love playing my Martin Dreadnoughts and worried I'd sacrifice too much in sound for the size. But the spruce top adds an unexpected depth that makes up for a bit of thinness on the top, and the electronics make it versatile for songleading in any situation. It stays in tune very well, which I understand some parlor models do not. I expect to get years of great service out of the Little Martin. As always, Sweetwater's delivery and customer service were exceptional.

  • from Georgia January 14, 2016Music Background:
    Mandolin player, got this guitar for my wife

    Martin LX1E

    An excellent guitar for the money. Although I don't play it, I do listen. It has very good acoustic tone and absolutely wonderful sound played through my Fishman acoustic amplifier. Both my wife and son claim it is very easy to play. And as always, the high mark is the service received from Sweetwater, a 5.0 rating. Robert and the rest of the Sweetwater staff deserve the credit. Thanks.

  • from OWEGO, NY September 3, 2015

    Sweet Little Guitar

    I had the opportunity to try both the LXM (hpl top) and Ed Sheeran models in a music store. I hated the LXM and loved the Ed Sheeran. Comparing the specs, it looked like the LX1E was the same as the Ed Sheeran without some embellishments (and $150 less).. I wasn't disappointed. This is the perfect guitar for taking to the park, playing at the desk or on the patio. It sounds a little "thin" as you would expect from this size guitar, but plug it in and add a little reverb and it sounds much bigger.

  • from L.I. NY October 23, 2014Music Background:
    Playing since '86

    Little Martin LX1E

    A little bit fuller than the little baby taylor, But pluged in is where the little gem shines! Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, the built in tuner isn't that great and the neck was a little rough under the thumb. I lightly sanded it with 600 grit then polished with 000 steel wool and butchers wax. now the neck is just a slick as the rest!

  • from St. Petersburg, Florida USA February 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin LX1E

    I purchased the LX1E because I like small body guitars... and Iím cheap! I already own a LXK2, which is great for the humid weather down here in Florida, but I bought the LX1E specifically to set it up with Nashville tuning and to get amplified. I have to say that I'm very pleased with the set-up. It plays and sounds great unplugged... and blows peoples minds when itís plugged into my Behringer Ultracoustic Amplifier. Sweetwater's service and follow up was superb, as usual.

  • from Fort Wayne April 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar and Piano Player for 8 years. Church praise band and my own band.

    Martin LX1E Doesn't Provide Martin Tone

    Martins are the best acoustic guitars, maybe even instruments in the world. No doubt. However, with the decrease in size, the decrease in sound quality came too. This guitar sounds cheap and nothing like the beautiful resonance and clear cut wave of sound that comes from a bigger Martin like a dread or an Orchestra Martin. This guitar one has an overly twangy, cutting mid that is not to my liking. Just my Opinion

Questions about the Martin LX1E Little Martin - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway