0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

JBL LSR4328P Pak Reviews

4.5 stars based on 28 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Yuval Fuchs

    These monitors are a dream come true. Just hold the mic up in the middle of your room and they will recalibrate themselves based on your room's acoustical deficiencies. What's more, they actually come with an RTA mic in the box! But even more importantly, putting aside all of the bells and whistles, they just sound phenomenal.

  • Joseph Secu

    I do a lot of critical listening and now that I own a pair of LSR4328s it's allowed me to hear things in the songs I listen to day in and day out that I've never heard before. If you're looking to get an honest opinion on your mix, let these speakers tell you how you're doing.

  • Kenny Bergle

    Finally, a self-contained, simple-to-use, great-sounding studio monitor system that calibrates itself! What that means to the average home recordist is that the mixes made on a LSR4328 system will translate to other listeners the same as the mix engineer heard it. No more surprises like, "Whoa, what happened to the bass?"! Also it's a real advantage to have the intra-connectivity when it's time to go to 5.1 surround. The LSRs take care of all the woofer and tweeter calibrations and setup, AUTOMATICALLY (just add 3 LSR4328s and a LSR4312 and run the auto-setup program for surround)!

  • from Monroe,Louisiana March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist,Singer,Songwriter,Bassist etc...

    First thing you should consider

    Tired of making a recording and then getting in your car to listen to it only to have it sound totally different? Yea, I was also. Well, I listened to my salesman and bought these. The built in calibration system that adjust itself to your own unique environment is something you could only dream of at one time. The built in Crown amps and the digital converter will allow you to hear things in a song you have never noticed before. Even after hearing this song over and over. Play that same song on these. They are worth every single penny. To me, speakers are the heart of any audio system. These are truly for critical listening with a awesome flat response. Totally changed my recordings and makes your mixes not so hard. You will find yourself getting that sound much easier.

  • from Orlando, FL July 8, 2013Music Background:
    Sax/clarinet/flute/EWI/keys/MIDI instructor

    Wow!

    After toiling whether to purchase the subwoofer with these JBL LSR4328 Pak, I went ahead without it. Have been used to JBLs in the past, and they have a reputation for being 'colored'. However, these are very transparent.

    Easy to set up, and the software/microphone makes installation incredibly easy. The remote is also a huge help with flexibility for different situations in studio. Bass response is awesome for such small speakers, although I'm still considering the JBL sub in the future.

  • from KY June 29, 2013Music Background:
    bethcurrent.com

    Worth The Money

    They are everything JBL claims them to be. Can't go wrong with these monitors

  • from Bloomington, IN May 30, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    Great Speakers

    Went from Samson A5's to these. The low end and depth in these speakers is amazing. Proof that you really do get what you pay for. My mixes are 100x better now. My volume staging has become incomparably more accurate.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Producer, Engineer, and musician

    The cream of the crop!!!

    These JBL studio monitors are the cream of the crop. Listening to these speakers are like being immersed in a celestial atmosphere of glory!!! These speakers are very transparent, clean, astonishing high quality, and translate the sound of your mixes and masters faithfully to your car audio system and others audio systems as well. I own a pair of these and they work excellent. I highly recommend these speakers for professional or project home studios. TI have had my JBL's for three years now, and they are still amazing. Even when I watch my dvd's with the monitors connected to my computer; you can hear evrything. It is almost like being in a movie theatre. One of the most important tools you will use as a audio engineer, is your ears for crtitical listening for every detail and naunce to achieve a perfected sound. These monitors are the bomb and I will soon be getting the sub to go along with these...........

  • from United States April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Engineer, Professional

    EXCELLENT MONITORS!!

    Just got my pair of lsr4328p in today, plugged them in, calibrated them, I'm in heaven. Such a honest sound from these monitors. Unbeatable for the price.

  • from Cortez, CO USA February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Performer/SongWriter 20 yrs

    Being too good is the only flaw.

    My LSR's and I have been together since 2006 and the only drawback is that a client will listen to playback in the studio and then wonder where all the tones from the mix went when they are listening to their cd in their car or at home. Sometimes I'll have to shut the LSR's off and do playback on my KRK's or the PA System to show the client that I haven't left anything out of the final burn. At any rate, this obviously isn't a "problem" with LSR's so much as a humorous anechdote for all you producers out there. I Just had to write this review after reasearching all of my GEAR for insurance reasons and finding my LSR's on Sweetwater.com, rather than ebay.

    On a serious note: It's great to see that my 6 year old LSR's are still top shelf and in current production instead of being out-dated like so much other Digital Music Gear. I have yet to use all of the features on mine and it's great to know that I have a lot of technological head room for any future useage. For the price (which is actually a little higher now than when I bought mine) a shopper CAN NOT GO WRONG by purchasing LSR's.

  • from May 5, 2011

    Great Monitors!

    Sound quality on these monitors is superb, the room correction actually makes a difference and helps with correcting the problems in my room. Great for mixing all types of music. Since the addition of the subwoofer (the LSR4312) I have been getting very accurate translations on every mix! No more guess work, I get what I'm looking for every time. Great product JBL really did a good job with these.

  • from Stamford, NY September 30, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Engineer, Pro Musician, Student

    Simply Stunning!!!

    I first tried these out on a mix of original music I've been doing with my band. I was simply floored by the clarity and fullness in these speakers. I'm a production and engineering student at Berklee College of Music, and I honestly think, with no hesitation, that I've never heard anything as good as this in our studios with SSL and API consoles. The Genelecs and Dynaudios just seem silly after hearing this. That could almost be a problem... They sound too good! After trying it on my own mix, I tried listening to some music I like. I put on The Beatles "Love" CD. I listened from start to finish, practically in a coma. I was so hypnotized by the sound. I was IN the music! Don't miss out on these babies!!!

  • from Orlando Florida April 10, 2010Music Background:
    Recording, Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician.

    Best Monitors i've heard in Years!

    Okay, so I don't normally write reviews but after purchasing these I had to write a review about them. First off I am not bias at all I own, (2 pair of) Event Studio Precision 8, event tr8xl, Yamaha hs80m, mackie 824's and yamaha NS10's but I would have to say out of all these monitors, the JBL monitors are the best. There are things that I couldn't hear in the mix until i purchased these monitors now I wish I could go back and remix all of my old sessions.I know they cost a lil more than other monitors, but the money will be well spent. and if you buy these monitors make sure you buy the calibration pack, it makes the sound even better. these are extremely flat monitors and if your interested in getting the best mix spend the money you won't regret it.

  • from Staten Island New York November 16, 2009Music Background:
    recording engineer, teacher and musician

    absolutely trustworthy

    I've had a recording studio for many years now and I've always struggled with my mixes because of my monitors, and believe me I have tried many. I decided to treat myself to a pair of monitor speakers and so I launched forth to look for the best possible speakers I could find and yet not spend a lot of money. I heard about these particular monitors and so I called Sweetwater to speak to one of the representatives, he assured me that the speakers were absolutely great, he was absolutely 100% right. My monitors arrived quickly and absolutely in flawless condition. After installing them in my recording studio I did the calibration for my room, I was completely knocked out, I could not believe my ears. For the first time I had a pair of monitors that did not hurt me when I was listening to the music. I asked my wife to come and listen to them so that she can hear herself singing, she was amazed, and believe me that's a compliment. These by far are the most wonderful speakers that you can ever use for mixing. They are warm and absolutely trustworthy in every aspect for your music. oh let me not forget to mention that the bottom sound on the speakers are absolutely gorgeous they fill the room with such ecstasy. I am completely satisfied, I am done and my studio has had a tremendous facelift.

    Sincerely yours a JBL believer
    Jeremias Antonetty

  • from Silverdale, WA USA October 10, 2009Music Background:
    Wanna-be

    WOW!

    The only problem is now i have to go back and fix the songs I did on my old monitors! These LSR's sound great! I mean a huge step up from m-audio BX8A Deluxe. I dont know what I was thinking. Look Best advice, do it once do it right! Dead silent no power noise, fan noise, line noise, nothing. Weird to listen to stuff you thought you liked and now love due to great speakers. Room correction works wonders. The sub is not overbearing and I love the bottom port.

  • from Southern California July 23, 2009Music Background:
    Composer

    Astounding Clarity

    These monitors are really amazing. I went the extra mile though and actually calculated the correct placement for the best sound possible. Doing so took up my entire (rather large) living room but the sound is impeccable. I have the LS4328 PAK and (yes it's true I'm spoiled) TWO LSR4312's.

    Instantly my production quality improved. And what's even more interesting is that as they've been here, I've recalibrated them a couple of times, the accuracy seems to improve. I read something about "break in" online and I suppose there may be some merit to that. Hearing what I do and seeing what I'm seeing I'd say it's not entirely implausible.

    I'd also like to mention that I'm entirely digital with my signal. I'm feeding everything through COAX SPDIF. There is no hum, fuzz, hiss, or any other kind of noise when there is no signal. I have never been in front of any speaker, monitor, or other sound generating device that didn't have some kind of "powered on" sound. These don't. At. All.

    I can work on stuff ALL day. It's truly astounding. My former set would wear me out around two to two and a half hours. They also "felt" loud. These don't. I have a DB meter telling me they're at the right level for mastering and they feel like audible silk, even hours after working non-stop (long after I know my accuracy is gone).

    As I was saying before, my production quality has improved instantly. I have, with very little auditioning on this system, been able to take a track to CD and play it with ABSOLUTELY NO SURPRISES on car systems, home stereos, iPods, and cheapy boom boxes.

    I have some additional supporting equipment as well. I have the Primacoustic RX7's, monitor stands, and foam all over the walls. Mark Bruhn x1316 can help you get all that sorted out as he knows exactly what I put together.

    This is an amazingly clean, open, clear, present, and painless system. I couldn't recommend it more to anyone. I will be adding more tops for a surround setup at some point but this setup, as it is, has me ecstatic.

  • from N.E. USA January 25, 2009Music Background:
    solo guitar & vocalist, amature home recording

    An amature like me can get a great mix !

    I've had these monitors for almoust a year now. They are fabulous. I've done lots of home recording but couldn't get a good sounding final product from all my hard work. I was trying to mixdown with headphones, home stereo equipment, and even good computer speakers but the final result was lacking. Some recordings would sound ok in the car stereo but poor on the home system, some good on the computer but bad in the car, you get the idea, (you probably have the same issues). These JBL's cured that problem for me. The rmc feature really makes a difference. You need good monitors to get a good sounding final cut. Buy these and you'll have GREAT monitors and great results. Belive me, you won't regret it. I thought, as a total amature, I must be crazy spending this kind of money on a pair of speakers, I would have been crazy not too, they are worth every penny.

  • from Vahon Island October 26, 2008

    Great Monitors!

    Excellent monitors for the money. Having the remote control sure makes life a lot easier. RMC makes these work in rooms that would otherwise be unfriendly for listening purposes. These monitors are clear and accurate. Try them and see for yourself!

  • from near Atlanta, GA July 30, 2008Music Background:
    Television Production

    The best studio monitors I've ever used!

    I've been using Genelecs for the past few years, and have been completely satisfied with them. But when it came time to purchase a pair of studio monitors for a new edit suite (television), the features on the JBL LSR's really got my attention. I ended up getting speakers that match the Genelecs in sound quality, and have a great feature set too. The RMC actually works, and it's easy to use.

    I highly recommend these JBL's - you will not be disappointed.

    My salesman, Evan Gilmore (x1391), was very helpful. Give him a call.

  • from Columbus, Ohio May 7, 2008Music Background:
    Owner, Engineer of Rome Recording

    There's a reason these are becoming the new Industry Standard!

    I have had these for well over a year and enjoy working with them everyday. Our mixes greatly improved the minute we started using these. Their acuracy is uncanny. Very clear and open with excellent stereo imaging. While the are clear they aren't harsh. They are very smooth and deep sounding. I also find myself having a lot less ear fatigue since switching to these as our primary monitors. When you have a sound this good it makes mixing a lot more fum too. Whenever we aren't using them I'm pumping our favorite songs through them from my ipod (no EQ) to keep our ears tuned. If you want a Rap-type low end pounding you will need to add a sub or an EQ but I think they are very acurate just the way they are. I do use the internal EQ to add 2dB of EQ to the Low end and set them directly on my argosy console without pads under them. Be sure to follow the directions on using the Room Mode Correction. Mic placement is critical to the accuracy of the correction. Also be sure to use the RMC when the weather changes or anything in the room changes position. It only takes 30 seconds.

  • from Montgomery Al February 1, 2008Music Background:
    Engineer/ Producer

    These Speakers are Awesome

    These speakers Blow me Away. As soon as I got them without tuning them to the room they sound great. After I tuned them I have not had a bad Mix yet Thanks to my Sales Engineer Josh his ext. is 1263 tell him Albert Sent you

  • from Cleveland, OH December 24, 2007Music Background:
    Engineer, producer

    Great product!

    Awesome monitors.
    I found that they work best for me when on stands and away from walls. Stereo imaging is great on these monitors, and they are not fatiguing at all. An excellent buy.

    Also, they are great sounding by themselves, the RMC addition is just an added bonus. If these got stolen, I would definitely buy them again immediately.

  • from Tifton, GA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Freelance Recording Engineer, Musician

    Very clear, accurate, translatable, scary good imaging

    I replaced my Mackie HR824s with these. I've paired them with a KRK 12S sub which I had originally. I don't use the DSP room correction because the matching JBL sub is hard to find and because I use IK Multimedia ARC on my control room out in Cubase.

    They are incredibly clear and accurate. They absolutely blew the Mackies away. The Mackies absolutely suck in the mid-range and you might as well not use them (the Mackies) to try to set vocal levels in a mix or make critical decisions in the mid-range. Although I prefer using 5" speakers with limited top and low end to mix vocals, you could still get a solid mix with the LSR4328s.

    The most astounding thing about these speakers, besides the great mid-range, is the imaging. Sounds seem like the sound comes out 2 feet to the left and right of these speakers. The phantom middle of these things is incredible too. It seems like there's a speaker in the middle when using them.

    The Mackies beat these hands-down on low end, although the mid-range is 90% of the music. And the low-end on the Mackies isn't accurate enough to make low-end mix decisions. I disengage my sub and send full-range to these while mixing and engage sub to check my super lows. Works every time. Once you get used to these, you'd have to go up double the price to find a better monitor.

    I gave it 4.5 stars, only taking off half a star because of the low end.

  • from June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, Hobbyist home studio

    I like them a lot

    I have had these for years and I am very happy with them. I haven't heard a lot of studio monitors, but I like the sound of these a lot. I like the networked features and flexibility. The remote control is handy. I have the 4312 Sub too and I would recommend that as well. A lot of people mix without subs, but I don't like doing it, even though my room isn't as large as I would like. I had issues with these being damaged in shipping, so they may be a little fragile. Sweetwater is fantastic as usual by the way - they flew me out a new pair and paid for return shipping too. Then I had another problem, so they did the same thing again. Who does that?!

  • from Milwaukee, WI USA January 6, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Post-Production / Sound Design

    JBL LSR 4328 (5.1 surround system)

    After years of bashing JBL and their spawn due to an experience in the late 1970's with a poorly installed pair of 4311's, I've done a complete turn around. I've purchased 5 JBL LSR 4328's and the complimenting 4312 subwoofer for one of my audio post-production suites. The suite that I, in fact, use every day. Before this purchase I demoed every monitor I could get my hands on. Now to be fair, my budget wasn't tremendous but it wasn't rock bottom either .... I just didn't have the funds to duplicate the B&W 801 surround system in our other audio post room (we're talking over 30K here folks!). So with an open mind I eventually tried the JBL's. I was honestly shocked. These don't sound like the JBL's I remember. These are legitimate tools. Mixes translate as I would expect. I don't get fatigued after a day of editing and mixing. The sound is clean and detailed. The RMC works well, too. Nothing drastic but it does present a truer picture of the low end than without it. The 4312 produces a solid powerful low end and the bass management is simple and straight forward to set up. The bottom line .... these may not be he most stellar speakers you've ever heard (audiophile wise) but they maybe one of the best audio tools for the professional to come along in quite sometime. I'm not sending these back anytime soon.

  • from Manteca, CA USA November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, production manager, co-owner Neologic Studios

    Simply necessary

    If anyone is looking for a serious pair of studio monitors for critical listening: these are super detailed, and incredibly accurate for the price. There are a bunch of other companies out there like Genelec and Adam Arts that go beyond this price range to get the sound these can deliver. I've found this was actually the cheapest solution for a serious near-field monitor setup without a sub that gave good accuracy on the low-end and the built in support for room-mode correction. I don't have to tell anyone that RMC shouldn't be looked at as the solution to fixing room tuning issues, but it does serve a good purpose for getting around a lot of limitations.
    I have had to move these around from a couple locations just to test them out and overall the EQ curve tends to be a bit crisp on the high-end due to their design but that's easily adjustable. I've had a couple of engineers I've worked with complain about the high-end being just a little harsh with these so they usually adjust the EQ in the monitors themselves. I've actually found it to be quite balanced but present enough to know what you're working on in the top end. I do have a 3 db attenuation in my left ear of hearing loss but I'm aware of it, and even then these monitors make it very easy to fine tune critical EQ spots of mixes (especially for drums and cymbals)!
    The final results of my mixes and masters are night and day with these compared to beforehand. If anyone is looking to get serious. I'd say save your cash up for a pair of these, and hear the difference you've been missing!

  • from MN March 17, 2010

    GOOD ONE!

    I love these monitors! I've had them for quite a few years now-since about when they came out. After looking around my studio I realized these were my favorite piece of gear (and one of the few pieces of equipment that i didn't sell for something better.) The options to switch from spidif to AES to analog is great because I can monitor from different sources through the same speakers. The room correction is great! it helps in small rooms and the controls on the front and remote controller I use all the time. The only thing about them that is questionable is that the digital inputs have some noise on certain sound cards-usually the AES-EBU having more noise than the spidif. a lynx two/L22 and a prism orpheus had noise on the digital outs, but for some reason a apogee ensemble or digi 003 had clean digital outs into these monitors which is pretty weird as I would have thought the prism would have been the one with clean digital outs. It probably has to do with clocking as there's no way to set the JBL's to internal or external clock, or no wordclock I/O on them which may have solved the problems on the orpheus/lynx?
    Overall they are definitely worth it.

  • from Ellicott City, MD 21042 August 10, 2006Music Background:
    Music Engineering and Computer Science Student

    An excellent mid-level monitor

    I love my new monitors. I additionally looked at the Event ASP8's, which were also a great sounding monitor. I choose the JBL's because of their network control and array of input options. The RMC feature will also be great for my, uh...dorm room...conrol room. Anyway, these speakers are much louder than you should ever monitor, have incredible imaging (great localization of phantom images) and have bass control you might ordinarily find in headphones. To put it another way, the bottom end is crystal clear. One last thing to mention, the build quality and included accessiories are incredible. There are 2 long Ethernet cables, a 15' USB cable, power cables, as well as the remote, RMC mic and mic clip. Simply hook up your audio connections, RMC, and go!

  • from Dallas TX October 11, 2008Music Background:
    Recoding Engineer/Student

    good but,

    These monitors produce a very transparent and untainted sound.
    My only complaints, the software (Control Center) does not currently work with OS X 10.5
    After running the RMC it seems to take out too much of the low end than I would like. I would suggest buying the LSR4312SP Subwoofer with the LSR3428P

  • from Chula Vista, CA May 12, 2009Music Background:
    Home Studio Maven

    Close Only Counts in Horseshoes and Hand Grenades!

    I was looking to upgrade from a pair of active Behringer Truth monitors - which have served me well enough for tracking and mixing but were falling woefully short for basic mastering tasks. I A/B'd the LSR4328's with Adam A5's and they won hands down. The Adams sounded really nice but the ribbon tweeter seemed to hype the high end too much for my taste. Went home with the LSR4328's and spent about 5 hours trying to get the software to recognize both speakers. I'm in IT so I'm not a noob - I tried everything... Updated the firmware on both speakers, downloaded and installed the latest version of the software, switched the cables and the network terminators every way I could... Still no luck. I would've used the speakers without the ARC software and been mostly happy, but I was really hoping to be able to use the room correction feature. When I returned them where I bought them, the salesperson told me they had experienced a lot of problems with these monitors. (To be fair, he tried to warn me when I bought them but I liked the sound so much I disregarded his input.) Long story short, I went with the Dynaudio BM5A's for about $500 less and I haven't regretted it. I went from making like 20 trips to the car when mastering on the Behringers to like... one with the Dynaudios. I reeeeaally wanted these fancy JBL's to work, but it wasnt' meant to be. I do see a lot of other people having success with them though.

  • from Orlando, FL April 26, 2006

    Bomb

    I've been using the Mackie HR824's for years and needed a change. I just got the new JBL monitors are they're sweet! Right out of the 90lb box, they reek of quality craftsmanship. They're bigger (and heavier) than they look in the pictures. I was excited to hear what they had to offer, I bought on a recommendation. First off, the whole RMC thing seems to reall work. I was somewhat surprised. It goes through this wierd process of beeps and bloops and sets itself up automatically. It took out the low frequencies that were causing standing waves that were the fault of my little bedroom studio. You can easily switch between modes to listen to your music with various EQ settings and with/without the RMC. Digital speaker presets = cool. They get plenty loud and the high end is much, much less fatiguing(sp?) than the Mackies that would just plain hurt after a few hours. The software control is cool, but everything is accessible from the front buttons. And the moving meters on the front speaker panel are just plain dope. My only complaint is that the manual states not to connect the 1/4" and XLR analog inputs at the same time. You can switch between the digital inputs but not the analog ones from the front panel buttons.

Questions about the JBL LSR4328P Pak?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway