0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

JBL LSR310S 10" Powered Studio Subwoofer Reviews

4.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the JBL LSR310S 10" Powered Studio Subwoofer?

Questions about the JBL LSR310S 10" Powered Studio Subwoofer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Hoppy
    from Vermont November 26, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer and Producer

    Not Enough Bass? You're all crazy

    I see a few reviews claiming they were underwhelmed by the bass this thing pumps out. First of all, placement in your room makes a huge difference. You have to be a good 5-10' back from the sub for the sub bass to fully bloom, but boy can it pump out a lot of CLEAN bass for a 10" speaker.

    I have gigged with this sub added to a 12" PA system, and filled a 50 person basement with enough bass for dubstep at gig volume, so clearly this thing is a beast. Buy with confidence, and place it appropriately in your room for mixing.

  • Alan
    from New York April 18, 2016

    Physically and sonically imposing

    This unit is much bigger than I expected. Definitely check out the physical dimensions before purchasing if that's a concern for you - fortunately it wasn't a problem for me.
    It sounds fantastic and works perfectly with pair of LSR 305's. Well worth the purchase.

  • Paul
    from Decatur TN March 18, 2016Music Background:
    20 year sound tech

    Awesome sub

    I have a pretty large room i bought this for. I installed a dolby 7.1system with all jbl control passive speakers and Chris helped me pick out everything i needed. System flat out rocks. First time i had it cranked up and fired up a movie 1 of our dogs and our cat launched out of the room and the pictures on the walls started moving. 1 is deffinately all you need and i had to cut power in half on back to keep under control.

    Only thing i would change is to have a piece of paper right inside of the box that states the bottom of the sub is exposed and to only place on even surface. When i took it out i placed it on the edge of my sofa and almost ruined it. Thank goodness it is a soft couch and alot of give or i would have easily put a whole in it right out of the box..

    Great unit lots of power even in my large room

  • MClass
    from NJ March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz, Pop, Latin

    Bass in your face!

    I have a pair of JBL LSR 305's and had been putting off adding the subwoofer because it seemed a little pricey in comparison. However, after receiving it, quickly I might add, then setting it up, I only wish I had added it sooner. It was so refreshing to have the addition of clear, confident and effective low end added to my home studio setup. Really a breath of fresh air and I look forward to using this powerful addition to my sounds. It integrated seamlessly with my LSR 305's, and I feel my investment was justified. Thanks to Sweetwater, and Greg Savino for your first rate service and quality, it's what keeps me coming back.

  • Paul M
    from Houston, Tx March 17, 2016Music Background:
    10 years of writing/3rd studio setup/Future Producer

    What have I been missing out on?

    I can't believe, I ever tried making/creating music without a sub. I fianally have " 3 way system". Takes out the lower lows from the smaller speakers, making both the mids and bass a lot cleaner, deeper and most importantly, honest. This is my third completley different "project studio" setup. Learned from mistakes from before, been two years of no studio, so this time I'm doint it right. Got the LSR305's, loved the look and sound, figured it made sense to go with the matching(in more ways than one) sub. It is big, but when it comes to sound, sound itslef is the most important thing of all. Very happy. Sweetwater is the best. Always get my stuff within 3 days, free shipping, great service, candy in the box. Thanks guys, this thing was rattling my house today. Now I have to make some acoustic room changes

  • MARK
    from IL April 15, 2015Music Background:
    MUCHO!!!

    BOOM!!!

    What can I say. If you're looking for a quality piece to round out your smaller studio and especially if you're working on techno/dance music this is a must to take the strain off your small monitors. Easy to hook up and delivers the power. Love the Ultra Low Freq setting to hear what the club experience may be before my final mix!!! Love it!!!

  • Bryan
    from Portland, Oregon March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    WOW

    Bought this sub to replace my gen1 version and the sound quality is night and day. Very clear and precise bass output as it's matched to a set of the LSR305's and couldn't be happier. Can't complain about the discount also as $299 vs. $399 is a no brainer ...")

  • Jaime
    from Atlanta January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Recording/Mix Engineer

    Exactly what I wanted

    I am music engineer (hip-hop/rap/r&b), and I do a lot of my mixing work at my home studio where my ears are most comfortable. I use Yamahas HS8 primarily for my mid and high range, and I was using a Yamaha sub HS10 with my setup (trying to keep same brand). Recently, I just got fed up with the Yamaha sub's inability to reach the deep low end (below 80 Hz), it would almost flutter in regions below that. So I went out and got the JBL, and WOW, what a difference. No flutter, nice, clean deep bass. It produces the kind of bass you will feel as well as hear..Its well worth the money, especially if you work in home studios or smaller "professional" studios. I haven't worked with the KRK sub at all, but this thing dances circles around the Yamaha sub in EVERY regard.

  • David Cunningham
    from Roanoke, VA January 2, 2017

    Great sounding sub

    Paired this with the LSR308s. Sounds nice and natural. Some seem to think this doesn't hit hard enough. Keep in mind, these are supposed to be uncolored and designed to help you mix. Its not like the sub in your car or the sub you use for your surround system. You may prefer your sub to be strong and in your face. Not everyone likes their sub frequencies set that high. Again, these are designed to help you mix a great overall accurate sound. I would have given it 5 stars if the xover was variable instead of set at 80 hz. Overall, good buy for the price point.

  • G Dj-p White
    from Chicago December 21, 2016Music Background:
    Producer

    Subwoofer

    Excellent sub woofer, replaced a Yamaha sub that I thought was pretty good until I came across this one. One of the best gear purchases I've ever made .

  • Bill
    from Helendale, CA March 11, 2016Music Background:
    Singer, Musician and Engineer

    Worth The Difference

    When I learned about putting a home studio together, the only conversation about speakers was to get the best near field monitors I could afford; I did. Years later I did a mix in the studio, which included EQ, and burned a CD. Then I took the CD and put it into the player in my front room where I have a serious PA set-up, including a JBL 18-inch powered sub-woofer.

    When the sound started I thought the walls would crack with all of the bass content! I needed to cut back on the bass in the mix but more than that, I needed to hear that content when I was mixing.

    The JBLLSR310S meets the need in spades by letting me hear the bass content in all of its glory. If it's too much I know to tone it down or, otherwise, to turn it up.

    I recommend it in the studio.

  • Sean McGrath
    from Dayton, OH December 31, 2015

    Astonishing

    I never realized how badly I needed a better sub until I tried this guy. Instantly my mixes gained clarity, Decisions about low end, high pass filtering, levels, and compression became instantly clearer. The entire mixing process is easier, more beneficial, and clearer. I am docking it half a star because it was initially underwhelming to listen to. I quickly became accustomed to the un-hyped nature of this sub and it definitely forces you to make informed decisions, but I was not astonished with its chest thumping abilities.

  • Scott
    from St. Louis, United States December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Teacher, Guitarist

    Solid Sub for a good price

    A solid subwoofer for a good price. I'm using this with the JBL LSR 305 speakers and the sub fills out the low end quite nicely. As a matched set with the LSR 305's, you can't go wrong for the price.

  • Customer
    from Salt Lake City, UT USA November 3, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Sounds great!

    I will also lower the star rating only because the JBL LSR series is supposed to be on the more "economic" end, yet this sub cost's as much as two of the 5" monitors from the same series, plus some ($400 as of 11/1/14). With that said, I love the sound that comes from this subwoofer. Paired with the LSR305 5" monitors it really is an all around great sounding setup. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Roey Haviv
    from Charlotte, NC March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist, Studio owner, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician,

    First!

    Works perfectly with my LSR305s
    Half a star down for the price not being as friendly as the rest of the LSR range.
    4.5 stars for being able to produce frequencies that would make you run to the bathroom!

    Not as powerful as the 200w rating would suggest (low end always needs much more power) but still plenty loud to compliment the LSR tops.

  • dodg1677
    from February 2, 2017

    Yes, it's worth the money

    I always intended to add this to my JBL SR305's but held off because of price and to see how they worked without the sub. I was pretty happy with them but could see how pulling the lowest frequencies out could help. Well I was right. It made everything sound more musical with a bigger sound at the same volume if you know I mean. I just use the system now as a hobby though I played (keyboards) professionally for about 35 years. I have a recent work station and I also use my Mac with Logic. The system is very sweet and cohesive sounding. Now I can sit down and play and concentrate totally on the music.

  • Customer
    from October 21, 2016

    Jbl sub

    Guess I had my hopes up a bit for a 10 inch sub. I use it paired with the lsr 5 in studio monitors and I must say it sounds amazing. Not quite as much bass as I would have hoped but great sound nevertheless.

  • Colton Krohn
    from Casper, WY July 15, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Engineer.

    Absolutely Stellar.

    First things first. If you have a small area to work in make sure you check you dimensions because this thing is huge. I was caught off guard by it's size. Luckily it worked out cause I have a giant room to mix in. This sub is great for the price. I run it with a pair of JBL LSR4326's and it keeps up with no problems. At first I was a little disappointed in the sound of this sub, but I think I was getting a little to hasty with setting it up as moving into a new room I had not set up any of my acoustic treatment and it just sounded muddy in a giant room with no treatment. However, once I got all my treatment up, paired it with a couple of Auralex propad decouplers and sub dude decoupler the set up I have rocks. Now I'm more than happy with the setup. For the price you get an absolutely stellar product.

    Pro's.
    -Large wattage, and solid woofer means it's super loud, this thing cranks.
    -Very sleek and looks great.
    -Feet on bottom for added decoupling.
    -Quality build as is always expected from JBL.

    Con's
    -HUGE. This thing is massive.
    -No adjustable crossover, so if you want to crossover at anything other than 80hz, you'll have to use an external crossover.... DON'T SKIMP.
    -Definitely not made to sound good in any condition. Will require a half decent room to sound the way it should. It definitely didn't sound bad to start without a good room but it was a little separated.

    Overall this is a great buy and I'm super happy with it. I'll probably never actually get rid of it.
    And as always Aaron Smith, my sales guy at Sweetwater is the best. Fun to talk to, good dude, and sweetwater kicks ***. I'm a loyal sweetwater customer to the end for sure. I have yet to be disappointed.

  • Rouslan
    from February 15, 2016

    Hits deep, but large in size

    After the LSR305, I anticipated the LSR310S to be somewhat small and light. It turned out to be huge - the 10" driver at the bottom has a good margin around it before the edge of the enclosure.

    Overall, bass is good and deep (goes down to high 20s). The enclosure is thin and knocking on it isn't reassuring, however, I can see internal bracing through the port, and the thin construction doesn't seem to influence the sound.

    Keep in mind that the driver is exposed and at the bottom.

    Overall good, but not great. Wish it was smaller in volume.

  • Maurice
    from Virginia, USA April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    l Love the low end

    I hasn't been disappointed yet from Sweetwater. When i press play the isn't a low frequency i haven't heard this sub not be able to perform. I'm excited for the new music coming with this piece of gear.

  • CJ
    from Phoenix, AZ September 17, 2015Music Background:
    professional recording artist

    not good. ok at best

    I just brought one of these home along with the lsr305's. Let me say this, nothing but pure disappointment. I've been producing for years and used many sets of monitors in my day. If you are in an apartment these would be fine but if you have a professional studio or nice sound room in a home I could not recommend these or their counterparts. They are both severely underpowered and I mean severely. I hooked them up and knew within 30 seconds that they were all hype and would be going right back where they came from. I also wanted to note that one of the lsr305 monitors was dead on arrival with the power light not ever coming on as well.

  • Jerry
    from Hanover, MD April 19, 2015Music Background:
    50+ years of trial and error with musical stuff!

    JBL LSR310S Underpowered, but I have a Work Around

    Sweetwater Rep, Please replace the Review that I submitted yesterday (4/18), as I judged this product unfairly, and have found that it can be acceptable under the right conditions.

    I have the JBL LSR305s, and while they are a good value for the money, the matching LSR310S subwoofer is NOT. Unless I received a lemon, which I don't believe that I have, this sub puts out very little sound in relation to the LSR305s because it is VERY underpowered. I bought it when it went on sale at a $100 discount, and I can understand why JBL was trying to clear them out! They're so underpowered that at first I could hear almost NOTHING at the 80Hz setting and had to use the extended low frequency to get any audible sound. I actually had to get on the floor and put my head in front of the sub to hear it! I am using Mogami Gold XLR cables and all of the connections and switch settings are correct and matched to the LSR305s in accordance with JBL's instructions. I was about to source an inline power booster to try to get sound out of this sub, when it occurred to me that, yes, the sub is underpowered, but MAYBE I could boost the source and work around this limitation. I discovered that if I reduced the volume (A LOT!) on the JBL LSR305s, and turned up the source, a Roland Quad Capture connected to my laptop PC, and THEN had the sub set at its highest volume level, I could get acceptable volume for a small room. Therefore, my disappointment with this sub stands, because it IS VERY UNDERPOWERED, but it is acceptable if you listen at low to moderate volume levels and use the work around that I just mentioned. Of course, if mounted at ear level you can get more volume, so for some out there that may be helpful. Overall, this is the most disappointing product I've ever received from the JBL brand due to its lack of amplifier power. The LSR305's are a good value, and I recommend them, but this sub doesn't have the power to let you hear the bass unless you REALLY turn up the source and cut the volume on the LSR305s. The sub’s speaker may be capable of high SPL levels, but you won’t get that out of the low-powered amplifier that comes with this unit. It may do the job in a small room, but it is not a good buy. BTW, these things are about as big as sofa end tables, and they have a large, flat, top surface, so if you buy one you WILL HAVE a place to set those ‘Teach Yourself DAW Software’ manuals.

  • Jeff McKenzie
    from Texas January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Inspiring Recording Engineer

    Not A good choice

    I thought this would be a nice compliment to my JBL LSR 5'' but not. Hooked the sub up and could not get the volume I needed to hear the low end of a mix. Return it and got another same problem. I am disappointed in this sub and JBL becouse I had such High hopes for this product.

Questions about the JBL LSR310S 10" Powered Studio Subwoofer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway