0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

JBL LSR308 8" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 87 customer reviews
Questions about the JBL LSR308 8" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the JBL LSR308 8" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jonathan Casarow

    I use the LSR308's in my studio for mixing, mastering, and even composition. They outperform other monitors in their price range and in many cases, those at a higher price point. I really get a true representation of what's happening when using these monitors.

  • Carson McClain

    After doing a shootout against several major brand name speakers in this price range, the JBL LSR308 monitors won hands-down. I've now added them to my personal home studio as my main production speakers for electronic music.

  • from California May 19, 2017

    JBL LSR308 8" Powered Monitor

    Took the place of my BEHRINGER TRUTH B2031A . They work perfactly

  • from DFW Metroplex April 24, 2017Music Background:
    PHD in Virtual Pipe Organ design.

    Too Good??

    Using just two LSR308s and a subwoofer I was able to fill a church hall, with 150+/- people in it for Easter services, with pipe organ sounds. Plenty of gain, plenty of SPL but just a touch of THD at max SPL. The only other issue was the lack of low end roll off frequency to complement the 50Hz low pass filter and of course the room resonance being close did not help. I have 8 more going into a larger venue soon. Stay tuned.

  • from Brownstown, MI April 12, 2017

    Great speakers

    I've never owned this brand before. I have read tons of great reviews, and some very bad reviews. I could not be happier. The highs are crisp and clean, and the lows are not muddy. I would gladly purchase JBL again. I have zero negatives.

  • from April 11, 2017Music Background:
    40 plus years guitar

    JBL studio monitor LSR308

    Well I had some Alesia monitors that I thought sounded great. Used them and thought I was getting great mixes. I just on my own wanted to upgrade. I love jbl speakers, all my live stuff is jbl. So I decided to try these. The second I listened to my great mixes they turned out to be not so great. The jbl's revealed every bad frequency that had gotten thru. I remixed with these. Hey these things are true. Want some great studio monitors get these

  • from Venice Fl February 15, 2017Music Background:
    maker of

    Great sounding monitors

    I think that these monitors have an overall honest sound to them. Nothing in the sound is over exaggerated.

  • from Springfield ma December 31, 2016Music Background:
    Christian music

    love them JBL LSR308

    wow , they sound great

  • from December 30, 2016

    A Whole New World

    Sorry to steal a cliche from a Disney song, but these monitors have opened up a whole new world of sound for me. For years, no, make that for decades I have been using various speakers that were never intended to be used as near-field monitors. Now that I have the real thing, I will explain this whole new world.

    Here is the entire range I experienced within minutes of listening to them for the first time. I wanted to listen to familiar CD's before hitting play in my workstation so I started with "Uncharted Territory" by Don Moen.

    Reaction 1) Oh My! Oh No! (As my shoulders dropped).
    Reaction 2) It sounded as though Don was standing in the room right between the two speakers.
    Reaction 3) I have never really heard high frequencies like this before. There was a clarity that I didn't know existed.
    Reaction 4) The lower mid-range appeared muddy. Then it occurred to me that what I was used to hearing was probably distorting this range, and now hearing the real thing came across as sounding muddy. I have since gotten used to what this range should sound like and it works quite well.
    Reaction 5) I am so depressed. Can I go back 30 years and start over with these speakers? I have to re-learn everything. I need to train my ears all over again. (Shoulders dropping even more).

    All of those reactions occurred within about the first two minutes or so. I felt like I was being assaulted with one reality after another. After that first song finished playing I felt for sure it would be years for me to adjust my hearing. For 3 weeks or more all I did was play CD's through the speakers; listening over and over again to what music should sound like.

    I have now become completely at ease with what I hear, and it didn't take years. Mixing is not a guessing game anymore. It is simply a never ending learning experience!

    Some of you are thinking, "Well this guy never had anything good to listen through, so anything new would sound great". That is a valid point. For years I have looked into Focal monitors. But the price was beyond my budget, so I read reviews of any monitor pairs under $. There are apparently a lot of great monitors on the market which are budget priced. But when I read about the JBL LSR308 series, I knew this was it.

    The bottom line here is I have no regrets in buying these speakers, except that I should have done it sooner. Okay now, shoulders back, chest out, breathe deep, press play, ah YES, a whole new world. Thank you JBL.

  • from November 21, 2016

    Jbl lsr308

    Tienen todo lo necesario para lograr una excelente mescla

  • from November 15, 2016

    Great monitor

    These are a great value and sound amazing

  • from October 28, 2016

    Good, but beware

    So, these monitors are loud and clear, and will probably be everything you want, but you should first consider these things:

    1) they emit a constant and audible hissing sound that can be annoying over time. I don't think the electrical circuits in this thing are very high quality, because this sound persists no matter what I do, and yes, I've even tried that.

    2)They are huge. These things will take up major space on your desk or in your room.

    3) They sound sweet, but the frequency in the high end has a natural boost through these that make everything sound deceptively good. For mixing purposes, I'm going with the more flat yamaha hs series, but if you're mostly buying them for listening, these are the ones you want. And don't get me wrong. You can get pretty good mixes with the JBLs, but it might not translate as transparently as the yamahas.

  • from September 21, 2016

    JBL LSR308

    Sound amazing.

  • from Bartonville, IL September 18, 2016

    Bang for the buck

    In all fairness I have nothing to compare them to in powered studio monitor land. I've had all kinds of headphones, computer speaker systems, full room surround systems and even PA systems. I've recorded in a couple studios over the years and I do know that the point of a studio monitor is to hear the truth. These do exactly that, and they do it well. I have no business getting technical here so I'll let the other reviewers cover that. If you need high quality powered studio monitors for a decent price, this is one of the best options out there.

  • from Dallas TX September 16, 2016Music Background:
    Musical nomad

    Very nice speakers

    This speakers are everything I hoped they would be and then some. Very very nice. You definitely get what you pay for with these speakers. Very clear and concise sound across a wide range of volumes and music genres, and they will really crank up loud too and still sound pristine. The lows on these are incredible. They sound awesome with my JDXi, they really do articulate the EDM audio exceptionally well.

  • from Montgomery, AL September 3, 2016

    Wow! Just wow!

    Just for perspective, previously I only had studio headphones to use for mixing. Obviously I am not going to be an authority on monitors at that point. That said, I absolutely love these monitors. Playing my guitar through them, mixing songs, even playing games or movies, these are spectacular. I run them through a Native Instruments Komplete 6 . The sound is great from highs to lows. The lows do not distort with my 5 string bass. Very happy with these monitors.

  • from August 27, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer, musician.

    Better than price would suggest

    I have had these for over 2 years now and remain convinced that getting a better monitor at this price point is not likely. Maybe as good, but not better. As long as they're isolated and not too close to a wall (to prevent exaggerated low end response because of the rear ported design) they perform excellently. The best part about these monitors is the imaging. The "wave guide" technology borrowed from JBL's M2 reference line is the real deal. Since I do mostly acoustic recordings I would like more response and detail above 20kHz, but that is a relatively small complaint.
    Overall, very good!

  • from Ca August 22, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer

    Great starter

    For the price and sound quality you can't go wrong. It fills up the room with more SPL than I need, and the details are just great. If I had to do it again, there's no question about it I would get the JBL LSR308

  • from Daytona Beach, FL July 28, 2016

    These make all the difference!

    When my sales rep recommended these I did my research. Based on the three technologies being introduced; such as neodymium coils, slip stream bass port and wave table acoustic guides, I took a gamble. Every one of these improvements were genuinely noticeable! I find the bass shaping to be effortless, and balancing what I hear in the high end with the headphones causes my mixes to finally translate to high definition environments such as my car. Tyler really helped me out on this one.

  • from Falls Church, VA July 16, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur Mix/Master Engineer, Musician, Enthusiast

    Amazing.

    I switched from a pair of Alesis M1 Active's to the LSR308's, and the difference is simply night and day. I demo'd a bunch of different 8-10" monitors, from the KRK 8s to Events, to Genelec, Adam, Mackie and M-Audio, and the JBL's provided everything I was looking for: crisp top end, solid low end, and a tight, clear midrange at a price that isn't outrageous. Re-listening to a bunch of my Alesis mixes on these allowed me to hear details and artifacts that the Alesis just couldn't reproduce -- a truly cringe-worthy experience in some cases!
    My only (slight) quibble is that they don't play too kindly with unbalanced input (at least at my place) and had a rather annoying hum, but a pair of TRS-XLRs fixed the noise problem like a charm.
    If you're looking for a set of monitors in this price-point, I would very highly recommend the LSR308's.

  • from Waynesboro, VA July 13, 2016Music Background:
    Electronic Music

    Great speakers!

    Very clear sound reproduction. No audible hum at all. Great bass! Crisp and accurate. Amazing for the price! Blows away the M-Audio BX-8. I highly recommend these JBL speakers!

  • from wagenknecht June 15, 2016

    Thought long and hard

    I studied and studied on what monitors to get for my studio I had been running mixes to my house and mixing there on some speakers I know and trust.I am working a new CD for my own band right now and the minute I fired these up I could hear the upper mid range was to hot the detail was great! I plan on getting some other monitors to go on my desk and will try the 5 inch ones

  • from NJ April 5, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader - Life on the Vine Ministries

    I am blown away!

    Wow! These JBL LSR308 monitors are awesome. I cannot believe how much better they sound than my M-Audio BX8a speakers. I knew they would sound different but this is ridiculous. On sale I think they actually cost a little less now than the M-Audios ran me several years ago when I got them. They are so transparent and clear sounding adding absolutely no coloration to the sound (which now I can see, or rather hear, what others were talking about all these years with regard to the M-Audios). I always liked the M-Audios [they sounded great in the showroom compared to the other speakers that were setup at the time in a local GC here in NJ]. But these JBLs are killer for the price. The noise floor is so low you can’t tell they’re on even with the RME Fireface cranked up full. At a relatively high listening volume there is no harshness at all to the sound. Crystal clear, great imagery, amazingly transparent, and no ear fatigue! I have the RME totally flat with no EQ enhancement. Just listening to a few CDs tonight in the studio and getting blown away hearing things I’ve never heard before. Totally amazing. And the matching 10” sub-woofer is the icing on the cake! Very, very satisfied with this purchase. Thank you Sweetwater!

  • from Delaware March 14, 2016Music Background:
    keyboard & Bass

    JBL LSR308 8

    Thank you Patrick at Sweetwater for all your assistance in selecting these monitors. I was blown away with the highs and lows to produces. I wanted the sub woofer but I do not needed. JBL, Great product!
    I would buy again and again and again.

  • from March 13, 2016

    Can't beat the value!

    First off I was surprised at the affordability of these monitors in comparison to smaller sized monitors and how the positive the ratings and reviews were. Being JBL, I thought they were going to break the bank and be a $500 or $600 ea. purchase or more! That is why I purchased these. Second, when I received them I was shocked at the sheer size of these monitors. I thought I had made a mistake or been sent the wrong ones. I was kind of apprehensive about using them, but I am so glad I kept them. I don't believe I will need another set of monitors ever again. The sound of these is just awesome, so much flexibility in comparison to others on the market. These are clear and have a nice bass response and adjustable volume. I could have gotten the LSR305's and maybe upgraded later, but now I don't have to. Thank you JBL for making quality affordable products and Thank you to Sweetwater for carrying them and having awesome customer service

  • from Cheyenne March 13, 2016Music Background:
    Dedicated Musician

    GREAT FOR BRASS ENSEMBLES

    Purchased these to use with multi track recording of solo brass, and small brass ensembles including quintet and trio. Brass can be difficult to reference in a speaker, but these are very very nice. Pedal notes on the Eb tuba were clearly audible and accurate. High brass (trumpet and horn) are also represented well and cleanly. The trombone or middle register is well balanced and not colored as far as I can tell.

    Would have given this 5 stars if the speakers had a little more oomph in the wattage. Don't get me wrong, they are PLENTY loud enough, but a bit more wattage (100 per) would make the reference listening a little more 'relaxed' at upper volumes. I am pleased with these monitors!

    BTW, Sweetwater does follow up on the sale and make sure one is satisfied with purchase. This is a bit unusual these days, and was rather refreshing.

  • from Richmondville, NY March 7, 2016

    Extremely clear, transparent and responsive

    Extremely clear, transparent and responsive. Utilizing these monitors results in a product that translates well through multiple systems (car stereo, home stereo, "boom-box".) I would recommend these to anyone who wants to take their home recordings to the next level.

  • from Sharon, NH USA March 3, 2016Music Background:
    audio production 25 years

    JBL LSR308 8

    I haven't had a chance to get "blown" away with my new monitors but so far I am really impressed. I use them as near field monitoring and their richness and clarity are really going to help my mixes. These are second set of JBL speakers and for my room and finances these are the perfect solution!

  • from Knoxville, Tennessee February 26, 2016Music Background:
    musician-home studio recording

    Amazing

    I purchased a pair of these a: because of the price dropped and b: Sweetwater had an open box for even more savings. I had been reading reviews and I know JBL makes some of the best pro level speakers in the world because I've owned some of them, but in the past have not been impressed at all with their cheap speakers-both PA and studio--bad experiences--- Anyway, I kept reading these reviews and decided to give them a try, totally expecting to return them in a few days-but WOW-these things are awesome-I have been using Mackie HR824's that are very nice but weren't mine--I honestly like the JBL's better!-very wide dispersion-about half the weight of the Mackies-translate extremely well-two thumbs up!

  • from February 15, 2016

    Get the LSR305 + sub instead

    The LSR308 sounds almost identical to the LSR305 with a bit deeper bass and somewhat degraded mid-range. The lows range is somewhat disappointing, perhaps down to 40 Hz and nothing under.

    LSR305 have a flat freq. response, but lack sound detail. Given their price, are certainly the best in class.

    However, the LSR308 are noticeably more expensive with worse sound and still require a sub.

  • from baltimore January 25, 2016

    better than expected

    Before I purchased these monitors I read a lot of the customer reviews and some published reviews. They sound terrific better than I thought they would. Not sure I'd need the sub woofer but not ruling it out. My only negative; the power lead does not make a positive 'click' or feel locked when connection is made on the rear of the speaker like other equipment I own. I thought it was a defective socket on one speaker at first but they are both like it. The power lead just does not feel securely connected but so far so good. The reproduced sound is amazing with more than enough volume for a medium sized room.

  • from Lakewood, CO December 1, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, Studio Performer & Composer

    Every studio should have a pair.

    The LSR308's are an outstanding studio monitor. I use them on a wide variety of projects from sound effects & cinematic scoring to electronic / dubstep. They show a true transparent image of the mix that even some high end speakers can't. Large sweet spot and low end good enough that a separate sub is not required. People complaining that there is "too much low end" are placing blame on either a room in need of acoustic treatment or a mix that needs more adjustments. Simply, this monitor will show you the truth, if you don't like what your hearing then change the mix, not the speakers. You will not find a better monitor without spending considerably more money. I have multiple pairs in my recording studio, and video production studio as well as in my home theater.

  • from Texas November 27, 2015

    A quality addition to any home or project studio with a budget in mind. I have worked as a sound engineer in some of the top studios, including EMI. What studios used to use as nearfield monitors doesnt come close to what you get with these JBL's. Do yourself a favor and park out the money for these. You can turn them up plenty loud too, without distortion. You will not regret grabbing a set of these honeys.

  • from Tri-State Area September 15, 2015Music Background:
    Solo Artist and Student

    Good Stuff

    Unless you're a serious thousandaire, or trying to build some kinda superstudio like Steve Albini's or somethin, you really won't need anything else (except for maybe the LSR sub for the full range). Just straight up flatness and clarity.

  • from Boulder, Colorado August 3, 2015Music Background:
    DJ, Producer, Drummer, Fan

    Buy these.

    I've owned a lot of things in my life - clothes, cars, bicycles, and a lot of speakers - and nothing compares to these. I don't write reviews ever, but I had to for these speakers. I didn't even buy them from this site. I don't care if you have nice speakers, buy these also. I don't care if you already have these exact speakers, buy more of them. I have put them through every possible hazard and they are virtually bomb-proof. I have DJ'ed parties with 40-50 people and they worked fine. Their range is so incredible they blew away my mom listening to classical, my dad listening to jazz, my drug-addict roommate who blared EDM daily, and my own hip-hop loving self. They sound absolutely incredible. I have owned lots of speakers and headphones and the sound quality of these can't be matched for the money. Believe me - you will love these. No matter what genre you prefer, no matter what size room/volume you intend to use them for, no matter who you are, or how much money you have, you should buy these.

  • from July 4, 2015

    Great buy

    Way better than my behringer truth 2031a's. Wish it was a little more powerful but for the price, can't miss.

  • from July 1, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic music

    Enjoying

    The speakers sound clarifyingly wonderful love the lows and the highs I get and some punch when needed

  • from Burlington, VT June 26, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic Producer

    Get The Sub

    Great sounding monitors, definitely an upgrade from yellow cone Rokits. I have these running with the matching 310s sub and I'll never go back.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Mixing/Mastering for years

    They were OK.....

    I gave it a 3.5/5 stars because of my situation. Currently I own the previous generation Tannoy 601A Reveals paired with Yamaha 10inch subs. I been mixing and mastering in this for awhile and love them. I wanted to invest in something that would provide better accuracy and imaging. I didn't really get either. I kept A/B testing between my monitors and took several hour breaks on a fresh ears and I still going back to the Tannoy. When I mix with the Tannoy I hear what I'm doing and it reflects to other media pretty close in its price point.

    The JBL, I thought would be a better fit since all the hype on reviews and on forums. I prefer the Tannoy still. JBL, I think have a very harsh freq and very muddy bass. The imaging wasn't bad, but it didn't reflect to an upgrade.

    I say it was ok in my situation because if I had anything cheaper, I would choose these speakers in a heartbeat. I own lots of cheaper speakers and heard all the M-audio, KRK, etc. So if I was in that zone, I would def get the JBL. But with the Previous generation Tannoy, I really love them and goign to save more, and look into Focal.

  • from Jackson, NJ May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, experienced recording hobbyist

    Amazing upgrade

    My old monitoring setup for my home studio included entry-level 4" fostex powered monitors and matching sub. I thought it sounded pretty good, but my mixes are always a struggle to get to "real-world" matching sounds. Bounce track, listen in car. Bounce track, listen to on stereo. Back and forth, back and forth. My mixes always sound more dull when they were off my monitors. It was time for an upgrade.

    I've just unpackaged these and have been listening to music for most of the afternoon. I don't normally take time to write reviews, but I CAN'T get away from my computer because of what I am listening to is so good. The highs and mids from these speakers are separating sound I never even knew was in tracks to begin with. Its beautiful. The sweet spot is huge. The bass in less pronounced than with my sub set up, but that leads to a more full representation of the sound. All genres of music that I've tried so far sound great. For example, I'm learning how incredible the production is in the new Purity Ring album with the clarity and representation that these speakers are producing. Listening to 1979 by The Smashing Pumpkins was almost like hearing it for the first time. And also, listening to my own mixes, they sound as flat as they did when I'd listen to them in the car or wherever else. But my recording abilities aside, this is very encouraging moving forward that I won't get false hopes working on projects that I think sound awesome through my monitors, but sadly don't.

    Bottom line, fantastic upgrade for someone with a home studio, budget/small studio that wants to get fantastic representation of sound from recording, mixing, and to your ears. Great buy. My Fostex set up is on craigslist if anyone wants it. Listen to all the other reviews (which I am very glad that I did). If you are on the fence, DO IT!

  • from May 24, 2015

    Disappointed

    Compared to my M-Audio studio monitors, these are lacking quite a bit! I have had nothing but trouble with these ever since I bought them! Thinking of switching back to my M-Audio monitors. Don't waste your money on these!!

  • from Portland OR May 1, 2015Music Background:
    guitar, synth, post sound

    outstanding

    Sure seems like the biggest bang for your buck you can get on studio monitors, these things are classy (no silly yellow cones...) and sound freaking AMAZING.
    Music-wise, everything from Mozart to Lil Wayne sounds great with enough bass to fill up a medium sized room, and they're great on dialogue and SFX as well. I'm very happy with these, and you would be too. Why buy them from anywhere else... these guys are the best!

  • from Columbus, GA April 12, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer / Acoustician

    Good monitor, not just old for the price.

    First off let me say that I have the privilege of working in studios using monitors from a few hundred dollars to some of the best monitors in the world. When I began looking to outfit a simple, yet efficient home rig for a client for whom money is no object, I was looking for a few pair of monitors, both nearfield and midrange (her control room is tuned and is 18x28). I always recommend a pair of budget monitors along with high end monitors because the vast majority listen to music on budget equipment.

    These monitors are off the scale as far as budget monitors are concerned. These could have easily been priced at $500 per monitor. The design is elegant. The sound is surprisingly pristine. While most monitors that everyone wants, use class a/b amps, jBL saved money on the amp by using a class D that does give off a good amount of hiss, but it also keeps the cost down. The sound is balanced, clear, and distinctive with every instrument from timpani to piccolo, sub bass to synth. The speaker has a delay in powering on which causes your speakers not to pop. The monitor is surprisingly light for its size. The class d amp means those who are on a budget can save on the light bill also! While most monitors can product the low and high end, it's the clarity at 250-500hz and at 2khz-4khz that distinguishes this monitor from everything else in its class. I would take these monitors, hands down, against any monitor less than 1k per set. I know everyone is talking about the image waveguide, but the monitor is just flat out dead on in the frequency spectrum. I enjoy the yammys, Adams, genelecs, as much as the next man, but JBL I applaud you for a bold move in the budget consumer market. Guys, Stop trolling reviews and order these monitors. Your ears will be grateful.

  • from April 12, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Best in their class

    Placement is very crucial with these speakers. Make sure to have them spaced and aimed right at ear height to get the proper frequency responses. From the moment I plugged these babies in, I knew I had made the right choice. In my opinion, they should be ALOT more expensive for the quality you get.

  • from Santa Cruz, CA February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Recording, and Live Sound Student, Performer

    Great Value

    Installed these speakers for my home studio, and I am extremely happy with the results. I use them with my DAW and play guitar, drums, piano, midi tracks (bass heavy), and vocals through them with a great balanced response. The sweet spot is fairly wide so you don't have to spend much time getting the perfect angle of the speakers. While in the process of purchasing I was thinking about getting a sub-woofer, but I am glad I didn't because it wasn't needed. I record and mix in a medium sized room about 18' by 12' and they are more than loud enough, with clear lows and highs without having to boost the signal, so it gives a more accurate representation of the source sound. for 500 dollars a pair I would be surprised if you found a better set.

  • from Michigan February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Past pro musician recording for fun

    JBL LSR308 8" Active Studio Monitor work great with the 11 rack

    Great speakers for Mixing. Accurate sound reproduction

  • from Leland NC January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Studio Owner, Composer

    LSR 308s are a GAME CHANGER

    I was recently politely shoved into the monitor market as my Mackie HR 824s were about to die in the line of duty.

    I looked into absolutely every monitoring option from low to high end. In my opinion the over-saturated market place is filled with hype, rhetoric, and somewhat open ended promises that turn out empty.

    Having been on the Mackie HR 824 for around 6 years, I was terrified of making such a move, but something had to be done as I was on borrowed time.

    I could have been easily satisfied with grabbing another pair of Mackies off ebay......but the more I researched the more I wanted a BETTER solution to monitoring in my studio.

    After spending time on the phone with my Sweetwater rep Mike Harris, he and I decided on the JBL LSR 308s.

    His story was identical to mine in the fact he was on HR824 for years, and was also afraid to make a move on a new set of speakers; much less a "budget" product.

    After spending the past week on these monitors I could not be happier. Hype aside they are wide.open.clear.revealing.and honest.

    These monitors have cut my work time for mixes in half if not more. The mid range is nearly identical to my NS10s, and the low end extension and stereo separation are remarkable. I can achieve a balance on these unlike I ever could on the HR824, and using the NS10s in conjunction with the LSR308s have yielded my best mixes to date. No hype. No bull. I can hear what I couldn't before on an 8 inch driver.

    Between my NS10s and the LSR 308 I'm confident I can deliver a consistent and professional product without question. Thanks to Mike Harris once again for a great recommendation and making my recording life much easier!

  • from January 10, 2015Music Background:
    engineer, musician, techno geek

    Clear sound, clear price

    I was looking for an 8" active monitor with a flat frequency respone across the whoe spectrum. Also I was looking for the cheapest to largest freq response ratio and this goes from 37hz to 24kHz. The only other real comparable alternative was the rockit series, however, after seeing several complaints about them having certain freq hot spots, I settled on these. They had way better reviews as it was. After using them now for a few weeks, I got everything I asked for.

  • from Waco, Texas December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Radio/TV/Production/Voiceover

    Little Speaker! Big Sound!

    I love these monitors! Small package but a big sound with plenty of punch! I bought these for my home studio and I love them.

  • from Clayton, OH December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Actual musician, actual recording engineer, not a collector of gear for the sake of it.

    After using the same monitors for 20 years...

    I knew it was time to get a new pair, for comparisons sake if nothing else. I went to a music store and did a 'shoot out', and here's the key: *in the price range*, they are the best sounding monitor speakers for clarity and stereo field. Then I turned to the Sweetwater product reviewers and read what they had to say. I have learned to trust these reviews, and of course, my account manager, and the reviews were overwhelmingly positive. Except for that one guy who "collects studio monitors" and has a "tuned room", and just bashed the JBL's. But seriously, who invests in a tuned room, the buys a $400 pair of monitor speakers? So ignoring the obvious outlyer, and trusting the judgement of actual musicians and recording engineers, I grabbed a pair.

    As I mentioned before, I have used the same monitors - passive with a Hafler solid state amp - for 20 years. Simply stated, I have been missing out. These speakers are excellent, and well worth the small investment. Now I am saving for a pair of Focals, but that may be a while! In the meantime, I am back to enjoying mixing again.

  • from State College, PA October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician, songwriter.

    Great buy, cheap price

    Great monitors, I recommend these if you want the best bang for your buck. Very nice solid sound.

  • from Roseville, Ca October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Gospel, R&B, Hip Hop

    Great Sounding Monitors

    Great sounding monitors. Clear, precise, and accurate. Great price too.

  • from Seattle WA September 18, 2014Music Background:
    Composer - Film, Pro Musician, & Conductor

    Nothing comes close at this price !

    I've a/b these monitors, without regard to price, against monitors selling at a much higher price. Bottom line; you'd have to spend a great deal more to beat these monitors ! They have a sweet top end, with a relatively flat overall response. Excellent choice for pro and hobbyist alike !

  • from Lawrence, Ks USA September 18, 2014Music Background:
    musician, wanna be recording engineer/mixer

    Very, Very Happy....Finally

    Well - I've been on a mission to find the right set of monitors for me that work well in my smallish control room. I mainly use ns-10's, but have been looking for something that complements the yammy's. What i mean is - i wanted something that gives a different audio perspective compared to the ns-10's but still makes sense. I had a pair of proac 100's - i liked them, but it was still hard to make decisions about the low end - sold those. I went through a bunch of stuff after those, and then bought a pair of Focal twin6 be's. I really like the Focals', but i found them to not work very well in my room - i have to be pretty close to the speakers - the focal's worked better the further i got back from them. I would probably have kept them if i was in a bigger room. Got a tip about these JBL's from an engineer that i respect and took a shot on them. I put them up and within about a 2 hour listening session between them, the Focal's and the ns-10's - i put the Focal's up for sale and put up the JBL's in their spot and have never looked back. My mixes are translating better than ever - i trust what i'm hearing in the low end, and switching between them and the ns-10's - i have this perfect thing. The JBL's are great for hearing the top and bottom - i can get a good balance going very quickly - when i switch to the ns-10's, it's like a microscope on the midrange. I am very happy with my monitoring rig with these speakers. They have an incredibly large sweet spot and it's great when i have the bands/artists come in and listen because almost no matter where they are sitting in the room - the imaging is good and there's not like little hot spots here and there where the mix sounds totally different from two feet over. I love them.

  • from September 10, 2014Music Background:
    Former gigging drummer doing a recording project.

    Great Purchase

    I just started a home studio from scratch. I don't want to use all cheap junk just so I can afford to get everything right now. I was going to spend twice as much for studio monitors as I did on these but I'm very glad I didn't. I fully understand that the higher end speakers are going to sound better, but I am blown away by these. They sound amazing, and they're plenty loud. You definitely get more than what you pay for with these monitors.

  • from Austin September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    Awesome Monitors!

    I was looking to upgrade from my Fostex Monitors and these were a steal! Great clarity great bass! Thanks again to the great staff at sweetwater!

  • from High Point, NC August 16, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    It's True. They're Really That Good.

    Before purchasing, I always check the customer reviews. The ones at Sweetwater on the 308's were obviously quite good so I decided to buy based on the JBL reputation and the positive comments here.

    The 308's are simply outstanding, superb studio monitors. That you can have this level of sound quality in this price range is shocking.

    I have been auditioning music all day and am totally impressed with the JBL's. First, the full audio spectrum is represented in a very balanced, pleasing manner. Full, rich sound.The stereo separation and the distinct tone & position of instruments in the mix can be heard and seen., You can literally visualize exactly where an instrument sits in the left/right mix as well as its depth in the audio field.

    I found each monitor to be carefully constructed. Quality control is evident throughout. After experimenting with room placement, I found that the built-in eq filters were perfect in the flat (default) position.

    Since I generally mix at low to moderate volume levels, I found the sound to be balanced and the tonal representation to be accurate at both low and moderate volumes. A hallmark of good monitors is that they reveal nuances and fine details in a recording that most consumer level speakers cannot deliver. The JBL's definitely excel in that area. Songs I have been listening to for years are now heard with more clarity.

    To close, I really have to add to the general positive & enthusiastic responses of the majority of commenters. The 308's are a huge value. I highly recommend them.

  • from Roswell, GA August 12, 2014

    It' hard to believe, but these are the real deal.

    I own a pair of Dynaudio BM15a monitors that I've trusted more than any other studio monitor. I've needed a second set of monitors for a while to A/B my mixes and figured I would be spending at least a couple thousand on a good, honest, natural sounding set monitors. I started to see comments popping up everywhere about the JBL LS308's and I could never find one bad thing that anyone had to say. I thought people may be giving JBL the benefit of the doubt because they are good for the price, but the truth is these are AMAZING monitors that translate perfectly and will compliment any studio setup. Especially if you wanted to go with 5.1 Surround it's an incredible deal.

    If you have doubts because of the price, then let me clear your mind and assure you these are worth much more than the asking price.

  • from Chicago, IL July 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Thanks Robert!

    I was in the market for a new pair of studio monitors. Had been looking at two other well known brands. Decided to ask Robert at Sweetwater and he did not hesitate to mention these. I am glad he did. The clarity is amazing! For the price you can not beat them. I cant wait to buy the JBL sub! Even if you don't buy these buy your gear from Sweetwater! Great staff and so many great perks! Two Year warranty, Tech Support, and where can i buy something and get it the next day or in 2 days? For Free? NO where! Thanks JBL and Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Pembroke Pines, FL July 22, 2014

    Great Pair.

    For the price these can't be beaten. Great clarity.

  • from United States July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome set of monitors!

    This review is going to be concise, and I'll say this: if you have never heard a high bit rate lossless on a serious speakers.... you are wasting your life away! :-) These two ( buy a pair ) speakers are the best option for serious music creators.

  • from Logansport,in July 5, 2014Music Background:
    30 plus years as active musician 5 years home studio.

    Great buy at a lot more!

    Changes the way I hear my next. Love going back and listening to old recording.

  • from Central Illinois July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Playing Music since 1968. Former Union Hall and Orchestral Pro Trombonist. B.A. Music. Home Studio Guy.

    Amazingly Great!

    I recently did a live a/b/c/d of the new 8" KRK Rokits, Yamaha HS8s, Presonus Eris 8s' and JBL LSR308s at Sweetwater Music during their 2014 Gearfest. (Gearfest was outstanding and my Rep, Mark Bruhn, who is the greatest, gave me the new facility tour!)

    The speakers were set up in one of their Retail room set-ups for listening and instruction.

    The JBLs won hands down primarily due to their overall sound and an unmatched spatial depth provided by the new Tweeter Wave Guide.

    Comparatively, the KRK Rokits (have always) sounded muffled, the Yamaha HS8s sounded lifeless and the Eris 8's didn't have the depth.

    I bought the JBLs then and there, brought them home and continued testing them against my M-Audio BX8As V1 (not BX8s) and my rather new Yamaha HS7s.

    Interestingly, the JBLs match the majority of the HS7s sound realm but have added depth, better midrange and more (but not overbearing) bass response.

    The JBLs also match the majority of the M-Audio BX8As sound realm, but again have that added depth AND they add a nice chunk of midrange that has always been lacking in the M-Audios.

    Needless to say, the M-Audios and Yamahas are on Craigslist!

    Bob G.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer & Pro audio producer 10+ years

    Awesome deal and monitors

    These monitors are amazing. Way better than my last brand. On to of that, sweetwater gave l sold me these monitors brand new for an amazing price. The highs and lows are very accurate. I would recommend these monitors to anyone looking for a pair of monitors

  • from Fort Wayne indiana July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Jazz musician.

    Awesome!

    These speakers rock! I purchased a set for my set up in our basement studio. I'm running a mic, guitar and backup tracks. Great sound at an amazing price. No comiiants here. I even used them outdoors at my sons graduation party once and his band performed using them.
    From,
    EP

  • from Tyler Texas June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Memphis Musican, Song writer and Project studio

    JBL monitors

    I've owned Mackie, Alesis and have been around multiple monitors in larger studio ie Adam. These things are amazing for the price. You can get a better sounding speaker, but not at this price. Think of Japanese Tele vs American Tele. Think Buick vs Cadillac, Think these are price was a nice dose of quality..
    Bottom, you want to spend more then do it. You want a fantastic speaker at a great price,,, Duhh

  • from May 14, 2014

    Awesome

    AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME. I did not expect the quality and power from these things, and they are great budget wise!!!

  • from Fort Wayne Indiana May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Great Studio Monitors

    i went in to Sweetwater today to grab the Yamaha HS8's and the employee told me before buying to listen to the KRK Rockits & these JBL LSR's and after about 3 or 4 songs later, switching through the 3 speaqker sets, i was convinnced that these were better, good lows & mids and the highs came in so well over the bass. I love my purchase

  • from Colombia April 30, 2014Music Background:
    Sound engineering student

    Outstanding

    I've been using these for about 4 months, and i have to say i'm pleased by the quality of the results. At college, we have a studio equipped with high category system, including two Genelec 1032B and two 1238A three-way Smart Active Monitors of the same brand and the mixes translates really well from my LSR308 to that system, off course the triamplified system ends up showing me things i didn't listen back in my room, but in general, the mix is well transfered.

    One more thing to highlight is the amazing center image, and therefore the great general stereo image. You will get a total sense of what's in where and how is the balance on your mix thanks to that.

    For the cost, they are a great choice for first monitors.

  • from Howell, Michigan March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboardist (Piano & Organ) for 16 years, Director of Music at my church

    Great sound, even better price

    I have to admit, I was rather skeptical about purchasing a pair of these brand new monitors from JBL. I'm not a fan of being the guinea pig. Now, I'm glad I did! My Sales Engineer, Patrick Dennis, recommended these to me over the phone, after hearing them for himself.

    I'll cut to the chase: Best money I've ever spent on studio monitors. I think people tend to think that just because they aren't ridiculously overpriced, they won't sound good. I assure you, this isn't the case. The LSR308's hold up to my tough standards, and definitely don't compromise on that awesome (and highly customizable) sound JBL is known for.

    The high and low trim buttons are absolutely great, and helped immensely in trying to find the right balance in my studio (which is also my bedroom and office).

    The construction on these is SOLID. Against my better judgment, I've even used these as seats before. They are rugged, but at the same time are aesthetically pleasing, to take their place in any studio environment. All buttons/switches/knobs are sturdy.

    Sound: As I write this, I have my phone connected to my mixer, on Pandora. With the LSR308's, I can't help but tap my feet to the clean sound they emit. While not being much of sound engineer, all I can say is that these sound great. They make the sounds of my Korg Triton Studio come to life. There are times when I play a chord with a string ensemble sound on, and I just feel like I could melt. The highs are light and delicate (which REALLY does justice to any replicated grand piano sound), mids are solid, and the lows are above average for an 8" woofer. They actually SHAKE my desk, and rattle my windows at low volumes. My only gripe is that they could be a little more.. "beefy". Thus, why I plan on purchasing the brand new LSR310S sub from JBL soon, that was specifically designed to work with the LSR series.

    Fantastic job JBL. Thank you for making a quality product that sounds great, and is something that even I can afford. Highly recommended.

  • from Phila March 5, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Beautiful sounding monitors

    I purchased these monitors for my home studio. I was amazed at the wide open sound field, crisp highs, and low bass these monitors can handle. It was like night and day compared to my last monitors. I record a lot of analog synths so these monitors need to take a lot of abuse in the upper and lower range. So far so good with no regrets. For the price JBL has a winner here.
    Cons: I wish they had RCA inputs. I use a sub in my studio that has only RCA ins & outs so I had to use TRS to RCA adaptors for my setup.

  • from United States March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Performer, Composer

    Great Product

    These speakers are an amazing buy for the money you spend and the quality you get. I got them on a buy one get one half off deal and I couldn't be more pleased.

    The sound quality is superb.

  • from February 24, 2014Music Background:
    Recording hobbyist / enthusiast

    Better to Spend you Money at the Dentist

    Before embarking on this little fit of peak I should acknowledge a couple of things. First I am old, so old in fact that I can tell more ‘I remember when’ stories than Pamela Anderson. Second, I am spoiled, so spoiled that I collect studio monitors for fun running the gamut from old Urei 813s to JBL 4430s and just about everything in between. What can I say? I love studio monitors. So when JBL released the M2’s I thought “… great! JBL is back in the large form-factor monitor game… I gotta get me some of these…” That is until I saw the price tag at which point I bought a bottle of Scotch instead. Fast-forward a few months and low and behold JBL had implemented the groovy wave guide tweeter assembly (derived from the M2)_in a new line of cheap home-studio speakers.

    Then came the reviews… “Awesome… Great… Incredible” and a list of superlatives that would play well at an awards ceremony. Well, that was it… I called Sweetwater and they kindly shipped me a pair with their usual great (incredible actually) service and alacrity.

    What can I say? Never have I received a shipment of junk so incredibly quickly and professionally.

    Where to start? OK… First, one side was broken… At least in terms of the XLR jack… The phone input was fine but really? Once I got things hooked up using ¼ inch I ran some mixes and I was shocked. Not at the mixes… They are OK… But at the ridiculous, and I mean RIDICULOUS amount of bottom-end being pumped out of these things. Even after adjusting the low-end gain using the switch on the back I could not believe how much low end junk was pouring out. And not useful low end but round, vomit-sized gobs of low end which you couldn't EQ if your life depended on it (snooty alert – I have a tuned room). Now, I know folks love bass and why not, who doesn't? But bass would just as soon kill you as date you and these things could be hired as extras on a Piranha movie. This bass response was being generated in a free field several feet from all room surfaces (I put placed them where I usually have the NS-10s). To be fair I thought I should move them around the space to see where they could be made to sound passable. I could not find any location in the room where I could stand listening to them for more than a couple of minutes.

    Next, the must-vaunted waveguide tweeter and its ‘legendary’ imaging. I’ll keep this short. NS-10s image better than these do. Not just a little better but a lot.

    Build quality… I know these are cheap so its not fair to compare build quality to a serious monitor. I would have been more sanguine if the one side actually worked with the XLR input but never mind. All I can say is this… These are cheap crappy assemblies using vinyl over some form of light-weight casing (to reduce shipping costs of course) and my bet is that they will be dying left right and centre like t-shirt salesmen at the Battle of Gettysburg

    I know this is all so unfair. Most folks have never heard great monitors in a good room so I guess to that community I apologize for being what Spiro Agnew might have called an ‘effete snob’. But sorry, once you have had a great monitor experience there is no going back and these little JBLs are like going back to Magna Carta. I give these a two out of ten.

  • from Guilford CT February 18, 2014Music Background:
    experimentalist

    nice

    Bought on the merits of the provided reviews, never knew jbl made reference monitors. excellent, just excellent. as others mentioned, slightly colorless sound, but thats ok since they reproduce what you made and FORTUNATELY dont color the sound (too much). nice bass sound, good highs and clean mids.

    sweetwater engineer, jared was cool and provided me with balanced cables. well, cable, bought the other one later on. still excellent customer service.

    the good thing about these speakers is also that they are useable on low levels, and ow, dont forget one thing (i did). they are huge..... well im a european living in the usa, so the inches didnt really sink in until i got them.

  • from Columbus, OH February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Recently retired and disabled USAFVeteran jumping back into synth-based music for it's healing and therapeutic benefits--a bit more than a hobbyist.

    Just buy these...thank me later!

    Was time for an upgrade and spent quite a bit of researching before narrowing plethora of choices down to two or three makes/models. These just by coincidence were on a super deal in first leg of sale so I called my Sales Engineer, Nice LaMendola, whom interestingly informed me these JBL LSR308's had huge bang for their asking price, even if not on sale and on-par with the two much more expensive choices I had narrowed it down to.
    My needs are non-bass-heavy but rather, accurate, and flat for the all hardware synth based ambient and 'Berlin School' type soundscapes currently composing. Need not exaggerated anything--accuracy very important, keeping in-mind I have a mix from Waldorf Q, Virus KC, DSI Mono Evolver Keyboard, and the new Waldorf Pulse 2 Analog Synth...and a few other fun toys...so Nick very knowledgably convinced me to place the order for a pair of them, even advising on using MoPad XL's to decouple them from monitor stands. Sweetwater's deal of buy one and get second for half off was almost too good to be true!
    The JBL's are perfect for my application. Whether it's maniacal modulation sequencing, wavetables scanning, or lush strings to analog synth bass pluck sounds--I am totally BLOWN AWAY! Even at extremely 'neighbor-friendly' low volumes I can hear nuances while sound designing and playing I simply never heard before, let alone accurately. The growl of the Q Keyboard's comb filter and rip your head off distortion/feedback of Evolver Keyboard could make these monitors crackle or sound bad. Pretty amazing, given the price!
    What's cool about Sweetwater and Nick is they never try pressure sales technics rather, they respect a persons needs and even give lateral comparative product analogies. He informed me as well of the intense research JBL applied to these monitors directly from their very high-end monitors. All great stuff.
    These JBL LSR308's sitting on MoPad XL's atop monitor stands simply sound like the music is literally present and floating in the air with absolutely nothing exaggerated, yet very accurate.
    What else could a synth geek want? Just buy these and thank yourself (and me) later!!

  • from Seattle, WA February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Audio Mixer, YouTube Guy

    Incredible

    I replaced my old JBL LSR2325's and took a chance on the LSR305's and loved them so much I upgraded to the LSR308's. The high end detail is just incredible with these. The 5" version doesn't have the low end definition that the 8" version does obviously but man the detail and response of these is just incredible.

  • from Nashville, TN. February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter and audio book producer

    JBL LSR308 8

    "For the money" these monitors are far beyond expectation. Although not really great loud playback monitors. They are awesome for small room, home studio scenarios such as we have. We returned a pair of monitors we purchased a week earlier from a local vendor here in Nashville. we bought these JBL's from Sweetwater as a result of our consultation with their audio support staff. Thank You Sweetwater and staff.

  • from Greenville, SC February 5, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer/Producer

    Near field

    Good speakers for the bucks. Not disappointed in the first JBLs I've owned since the 4311s and 4313s in the 80s.

  • from January 31, 2014

    Fantastic quality for the money !

    These monitors put the biggest smile on my face when I first hooked them up. I had an 15 yr old Carvin SR5 set with DCM150 power amp and the difference is night and day . I'm hearing sounds I never knew exsisted in my previously recorded tracks. You can't beat the JBL sound and the price was so good that it's a Win-Win for anyone who gets a pair of these beauties . I got the 8 " LSR308s' so the bass comes through clean and warm . Everything sounds so rich in detail I just love working with quality that you never get tired of. Hours of listening with no fatigue just listening pleasure. What a great buy. Thanks Matt Emick for helping me with all the info needed to make the right choice for my studio.

  • from columbus,ohio January 23, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Writer

    Perfect

    Great sound quality. Mixes translate very nice. Bass is perfect, the high end is outstanding. I noticed flaws right away with these speakers that were not revealed in previous mixes with other monitors. I ordered 2 of these and one came from the factory with volume issues and the great staff at sweetwater sent a brand new replacement right away. Great monitors even better company.

  • from United States December 24, 2013Music Background:
    experimental electronic producer

    WOW

    After a year of eyeing the krk's (based on fellow producers opinions) i finally had to ask around to people who listen to speakers for a living, a friend led me to another friend who works for a distribution company in california and said he had just tested these when JBL had released them... My skepticism was high, because i had never heard of seen or used these speakers before. After a few a reviews on sweet water and a couple other sources i decided to pull the trigger.

    I'll get to the point, the lows are clean and powerful, the highs shine with no distortion and all of my mids i had been working with finally got an opportunity to be pulled in the right direction, im so impressed with these two speakers, I'm a Montana based producer and work from my bedroom (no sound curing) and even with this environment I'm able to get the clarity I've been needing. I'm now showing these two sound cannons off to every one i know!

  • from Tampa area, Fl December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineer, amp tech

    JBL LSR308 Monitors

    These are a replacement for my studio monitors. The old ones worked well except I had problems with the bass on mixes. Thus the reason I went with the LSR308's over the LSR305's. The first CD project (10 songs) that I mixed and mastered (with Ozone 5) using the LSR308's came out perfect with the bass. There were no problems with the rest of the frequency spectrum either. I have other recordings in progress for other clients and I expect they will turn out the same way.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA December 8, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer and Producer

    Innovation Manifested

    These are wonderful speakers for people who don't have thousands of dollars to spend. Especially at $400 per pair, I'm really not sure of any better value, and I know pretty much all speakers on the market.


    I would compare them to another pair of $400 speakers (not going to mention any names, they might be famous for their black and yellow color scheme). The JBL's just give you an accurate and transparent presentation of the audio, while the other brand gives you a wonky, unbalanced, unrealistic picture that is highly fatiguing and will not help you reach the next level.



    These speakers are not going to give you the silky highs of a Genelec 8040 or the resounding lows of a Focal Twin, but if you only have $400, I can't think of a speaker more deserving of your money.

  • from Peachtree City, Georgia December 2, 2013Music Background:
    personal enjoyment

    Monitor for practice sessions

    The guys at Sweetwater turned me on to this monitor
    after we discussed my needs and this speaker has really performed well for voice and guitar. For the small room I use it is ideal selection. I appreciate the guidance Sweetwater provided me in selecting an excellent monitor for the price.

  • from Lake Worth, Fl, USA November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer

    Great monitors!

    Definitely the best monitors for the price. Compatible with higher end monitors, save the extra expense.

  • from Klamath Falls, OR October 19, 2013

    Glad I decided to buy; recommended

    For the price, these absolutely get 5 stars in my opinion. Yeah it's $500 for a pair, but in addition to being very stoked with the sound and their true usefulness, I was actually fascinated by how good they sound and perform for the price. Are they going to fall apart in 90 days or something? Perhaps it's refined manufacturing in the engineering (and/or overseas production?) but these sound really good and seem very pro-level where folks spend many times more.
    I wouldn't say these are "revealing" in an extreme NS-10 way, where it is actually unpleasant to listen to for long periods; these are pleasant sounding and EXTREMELY CLEAR and full and balanced across the spectrum. You don't need a sub for these in near field. For me they sit along side auratones and I would recommend that or ns-10s to switch between.
    For small/project studio folks, these are also excellent speakers for playing product for clients--clear and precise (to show what you've done) but not violent to the musicality, and the HF sweet spot is more accurately a "sweet area" that several people in a small mixing room would fit in.

  • from Columbus, OH October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Professional live sound, studio recording & mixing

    Very nice!

    Very revealing, even at low volumes. I am very happy with these monitors, I have paid twice as much for monitors that were unusable! Plenty of volume and they seem to maintain their good frequency response and wide sweet spot at low and high volumes. For the price they are unbeatable. I compared them to KRK, Yamaha, Mackie, and similarly priced Adamson's. I felt like these were the most accurate sound for the price and they met my needs, which consists of mixing studio recordings for a wide variety of bands, mixing audio for video, and producing my own electronic music.

  • from Oak Harbor wa September 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    wow

    Thes spekers are used for home audio and thay are so Revealing that i think thay should sale for $3,000 a pair i just cant say enough good thinks about them.

  • from August 10, 2013Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Real bang for the buck

    Got these pairs of monitor two days ago.

    Tonal balance is nearly perfect. Also they have moderate resolving power, although it cannot compete with that of Solo 6 BE. Sub bass expression is not exaggerated but quite deep and tight. Bass and mid are mostly acceptable but high-mid to low treble sounds a bit sterile. Treble and top octaves are noticeably uncolored and neutral.

    But the most fascinating strength of this monitor is tolerance of sweet spot . Controlled directivity design enables not only wide sweet 'area' but also very lenient speaker placements.

    Without considering the price, I believe this monitor can favorably compete with most of great monitors. Therefore taking the price intro consideration, my verdict must be "bang for the buck".

Questions about the JBL LSR308 8" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway